Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Du Havre 2 stars

11, Rue Du Havre, 14000 Caen, France

#30 of 63 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    For an overnight stay to catch the train no other choice available but to suck it up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, no lift, teeny tiny shower. In fairness, even if the room size and description is disclosed , you don’t really know how small the rooms are till you get in one, and in addition to your luggage there’s not enough room to wiggle or move around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall, very pleased with accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for breakfast, but I did not think that it gave value for money. Had to ask to refill the croissant basket twice as for the amount of guests having breakfast, there was never enough croissants or orange juice. Other than this I was very happy with the general service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3h of wifi a day.. why in this time would you limit this? Shower was great but toilet did not give a lot of legroom, had to leave door open.

    Room was small but comfortable. Shower was great. Hotel looked very nice and clean. Did not have breakfast but the area looked good. Was able to buy some bottled water at reception which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room and bathroom. Communication possible only in French.

    Nice location, parking spaces right in front of the hotel. Mini-crepes for petit-dejeuner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Much more modern, attractive and clean than what I expected for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    Modern, attractive furnishings. Impeccably clean. Excellent condition of everything: bed, pillows, shower. Room nicely set up and cosy. Conveniently located. Breakfast was complete.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Worth more than the official 2* rating. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    4th floor with no lift would not suit all guests.

    Facilities were all to a high standard. Host & hostess were very helpful. Town centre location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Overnight value stay in pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, spotless, with free parking right outside if you can find a space or parking meters on the opposite side. I had a tiny double bed room but I was on my own and it was fine for an overnight stay..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean if small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi uses a login and cuts you off after very little data usage (stopped working after 1 YouTube video and login said "data exceeded")

    Clean if small room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet access limited to 3 hours per day was not best for my smart phone connection. The bath room was extremely small

    very close to train, all of the sights in the city, amenities, restaurants, and public transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.8
    Ok stay, less value for money
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Less Value for money. No elevators (although informed in the ad already), but for a single bed room for 2 people, they booked for the 4th floor, No elevator with luggages after a 450 km drive was a pain

    Food, reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service, clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should've stayed in bayeux. But this hotel was excellent.decided to eat breakfast from small pastry shop around corner. Cheaper and more bread for your buck.

    Excellent service, clean facilities. 10 minute walk from train station. But if you are in Normandy for d day beaches, you're better offer staying in bayeux, as buses and tour guides operate from bayeux rather than caen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.5
    Good hotel with bad wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible wifi. Had to sign in with name, address, email address, etc. Could use internet for about 15 minutes a day, then would get message "daily credit limit reached" then would have to wait until after midnight before internet available again.

    Convenient location, very clean, friendly staff, free parking usually available, good breakfast. No lift, but we were warned about that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Basic hotel, excellent value for money - just don't turn up late!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked an extra pillow! Also, our ferry was delayed by over an hour which meant we didn't arrive in Caen until 11pm, which of course, meant that we could not check in to our hotel on Friday night - leading to a search for and, of course, the cost of another hotel for Friday night.

    I liked the fact that we could walk everywhere - didn't even have to rely on public transport. Parking on the doorstep for our own car was an absolute bonus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Room was small but clean, with good facilities and good value. Also, good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small.

    Room was small and compact but very clean and had all you needed. Free parking was hard to get but if you waited till the evening there were spaces available right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Internet is slow and works with vouchers. Free unlimited internet should be offered.

    Nice location. Clean and comfortable. Free parking. Decent breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.5
    The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and were always ready to offer advice. It would be difficult to better this if you are looking for a city-centre, budget-priced hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.4
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Hospitality was not good, the stuff who seemed to be the owner of the hotel didn't let a friend of mine to come into my room for some minutes. They said they have their own rules and visitors are not allowed to enter even for a short time. Overall, the staff was not good and did not give me a good impression. - The reception and the hotel close at 10pm, so don't forget the entry code - There is no elevator in the hotel - The stuff still work like the old days, registration and check in are done manually in papers, and they don't have a computer... - The last very bad point is the absence of air conditioning, I know that in Caen it is always cold, but that time when I have been there (from July 4 to July 8), it was very hot, and the room was hot as well.

    - Near the metro station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Short stay in Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty parking. There is free parking in the street outside but really difficult to get a space. If you park anywhere else you have to pay.

    Quite central and easy to get around the city. Very clean and tidy with really good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    The welcome could have been better - 'if you want a bargain price - the 4th floor is what you get!'
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a pity that access to my room was impossible before 14.00. Similar hotels in Caen allow access from midday. I arrived from Tours, as I do every month at 12.00 AND A REST IS ESSENTIAL before I am on duty at 16.00. On this occasion I was v. tired and had no chance to rest. When asked I was told by the staff v.much -' take it or leave it' ( you go back to the former place!) Why are the French so insistent on having their lunch break at the expense of their customers? And as It was virtually impossible to find anywhere open for lunch - at a reasonable price, in the centre of Caen for lunch on Sunday. I found it most inconvenient. The room could have been more accessible or a questions asked as to what would be helpful. The hotel has no lift and I was put on the 4th floor,I am elderly, have had an AVC and had a heavy case. Despite me pointing this out no help was given or any concern shown that I was on the top floor. I didn't find the staff very helpful in this regard. The 'no smoking signs in and around the rooms and corridors with threats of fines - and I am a non- smoker who also dislikes the smell of tobacco- did not give a very welcoming feel. I thought all hotels were non smoking anyway these days! One bedside light didn't work.

    Though there is no lift to the top floor it was a comfortable and convenient hotel with an excellent breakfast and very clean room. The fixed soap bottle in the shower was particularly convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Had a decent 1 night stayover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room With Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With bicycle bags (any heavy luggage), a grueling hike to the top without elevator. I'm a trained athlete, I wonder about those who are not. Was a little concerned about bike safety, but back parking lot is adequate with precautions.

    Location ++; breakfast was decent; staff was fine; I thought ressonable price in Caen given its location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location and good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We travelled on motorbike and parking was easy, free and right outside the hotel. 5-10 minute walk to the city centre, chateau and port areas. For a budget hotel it was great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    Good location close to the Chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was alright. No elevator in a 5 floor hotel. Free Wi Fi is only for 3 hrs a day, you will have to pay if you want more.

    Good location close to the Chateau. Value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    It's true what they say: you get what you pay for. Next time I'd pay more for another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the fourth (top) floor and the hotel has no lift. That was bad enough, but as the mercury was nudging 30 degrees, by the time we made it to our room carrying a suitcase, we were drenched. There was a fan provided in the room which helped cool things down a little. To be fair, for the price I wouldn't expect air conditioning. The bathroom was minute with a tiny shower which meant washing your "bits" was impossible. However, what concerned me most was there didn't seem to be a separate fire escape. The signs indicating the fire escape route simply pointed to the main staircase - there was no alternative that I could see. Assuming I'm correct (and you can hardly miss a fire escape) I do not understand how the place has been allowed an operating licence.

    Free parking right outside was a real bonus. The hotel was clean and tidy, but the décor is in need of freshening up. In terms of value for money it was good as we only paid 66 euros for the night, which given its location is cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room No tea & coffee making facilities

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    ok good location very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi only worked first night

    good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking can be difficult.

    lokation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    A good hotel which we would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast made from local produce was excellent as well as proximity to beach. The owner was charming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise

    Location and parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff is very nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and equipped with basic facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    5 euros per day needed for baggage deposit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    5 euros per day needed for baggage deposit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Very small, intimate hotel with small rooms, but great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small, intimate hotel with small rooms, but great location makes up for it. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Attractive, clean snd friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean with nice decor. Friendly welcome. Straightforward check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect money value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, extraordinarily gentle staff, splendid view from the chamber, comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with not much privacy

    Staff very helpful. Clean but austere. Great location. Parking not bad but on street, not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Tiny Hotel with a good location and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny Hotel with a good location and helpfull staff. Spotlessly clean. Bedroom just about big enough to store myself and luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel for visiting town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. The wifi was very limited in terms of data, but was OK whilst it lasted

    Location for town visit and with acceptable car parking available

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't park so had to pay for parking, room was very small and the price went up when I went to pay on the day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    It ticked all of our boxes for a short stay in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It ticked all of our boxes for a short stay in the heart of Caen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel to explore the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly located, very professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea making equipment in room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location in Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy due to location in the town centre.

    Very cosy and clean room. Helpful and polite staff. Fresh croissants and baguettes for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room With Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    8€ for the breakfast is totally not worth it Couldn't access the WiFi throughout my stay

    Location was good Room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in the hotel making it difficult to get luggage up to the bedroom.

    Location was excellent very central to everything for walking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Spotlessly clean, modern, quiet, good value for money,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences.

    Spotlessly clean, modern, quiet, good value for money, helpful and friendly proprietors. Would certainly recommend this hotel, and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Nice hotel, very clean, free parking, 5 min walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice hotel, very clean, free parking, 5 min walk to the city center, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.9
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. Tight on space. Fishy smell in the hallway.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    No lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: