Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Du Mail

8, Rue des Ursules, 49100 Angers, France

#2 of 27 hotels in Angers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 747 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Only concern was that we were expected to hand over car keys...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only concern was that we were expected to hand over car keys for compulsory valet parking and car park management - not keen when driving expensive sports cars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Central hotel in Angers town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that there were no coffee or tea provided in the room. I would have liked a proper shower rather than a small bath and shower attachment.

    A smart old building very near the town centre whilst remaining quiet. Good to have parking in the centre of town. Loved Angers town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, central, with larger rooms, with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was older, no AC, the fan rattled, there were light stains on the flooring. Whacked my head hard on the low entry doorway to my room. Consider adding a small bike rack or other hard point in your parking courtyard to enable a guest’s parked bike to be locked up during the day (when the courtyard gate is open).

    Charming, clean, efficient, friendly and helpful staff, central location, good breakfast.. Thank you for providing an alternative to secure my bike.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was excellent, parking was convenient, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly pricey compared to others we saw.

    Everything else was excellent, parking was convenient, room was comfortable and we'll appointed. The bathroom was clean and modern. It was the perfect base to explore the town and was great for a nights stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report!

    Location is excellent. Facilities and general aspect of this family hotel certainly make it an ideal place to rest. Bedrooms have been carefully designed so that they not only look good but are very comfortable as well. Beds are more than comfy for a good night rest. We have been to this place many times... certainly would not even bother looking somewhere else. The owners are highly attentive and would go overboard to give you the information or help you need. Breakfast is a continental one and is plentiful. Can't wait to be there once again after Xmas. In a few words... a lovely place and nest!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing other than location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above, was a somewhat depressing experience, would not recommend if you ended up in that part of the hotel, it needs refurbishing

    The outside of the hotel is very lovely and so are some of the common areas but sadly we were in a depressing part of the hotel up two long flights of stairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    An OK place, great location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very, very small and the toilet seat loose.

    The hotel is situated in a great location. Parking is available which is good for this city centre location. There was a 7 Euro charge. The building is old and full of character, but lacks facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent at 11 Euro. Our room was quiet as requested and the bed comfortable. An extra pillow was available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift had to climb two big flat gets of stairs. Limited bathroom assesories. Big selection for breakfast but poor quality.

    Good position. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Lovely sized room and bathroom and a historic building all combined to make our 1 night stopover very pleasant. Fantastic restaurant just around the corner as well as the market on Sat morn too. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing however the reception by the staff was very good and it is a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, no air con, towels stained, no safe. No coffee facilities

    Parking and hotel location excellent. Reception upon arrival was very good. Beautiful building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Funky and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here more than once - which hopefully says it all. Friendly, funky interior and friendly staff make it a great place from which to explore Angers or simply use as a stopover. Also, in our opinion the best croissants of any breakfast, anywhere!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Boutique hotel in the heart of Angers offering good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is rather small (but well equipped) and the breakfast room a bit noisy (e.g. in case of loud guests, families etc..). The parking can be a bit tight if many guests wish to use it at the same time.

    Hôtel Du Mail is a good hotel with a great location. Thats about as short as can be summarized. In the heart of Angers this hotel is a nice quiet place to start your discovery of the city. Although in the centre of the city (right behind the city hall) its easy to reach from the highway. The buidling is beautiful and although its somewhat old and has a history, the rooms are refurbished and well equipped. Paid parking on the property is available and closed off for the night. Breakfast is of good quality and offers a nice selection. All in all a good price-quality ratio for a boutique hotel in the city centre!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Quite an old fashioned place however the rooms were nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite an old fashioned place however the rooms were nicely renovated. Would recommend the room without the extra expense of the bath as it means you don’t have a shower option

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location right in the City Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Access is a bit tricky off a one way street. But there was free parking.

    Great location right in the City Centre. A lot of old world charm. Lovely staff. A very decent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel felt a bit impersonal. Our room had a bath but not a proper shower. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. It didn't really have any friendly communal areas/lounge except for a few patio tables outside which no one seemed to use.

    Location great. Best thing was the quaintness. It Had the chic of an old Parisien type hotel in a pretty old coutyard on a quiet little street in the middle of Angers and with parking. Room was comfortable and clean. It was definitely good to have the parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small. And on the top floor, without a lift to take us and our luggage there.

    Friendly, family-like atmosphere. Also, the location is very central, very convenient for walking around the old town. And not too difficult to find out, easy to get there even with a larger car. The parking is well managed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This lovely family run hotel is situated in a perfect location for the centre of Angers, with parking at the hotel a real bonus. Everyone was very friendly and provided heaps of useful information about the city and restaurants. Our room was spacious and spotless, with a very large and comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was good value, plentiful, fresh and tasty. Some areas are being renovated, but this did not detract from the charm of this interesting, old building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Look no further... this is it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You simply cannot fault this family hotel! Superb!

    A super place to unwind...friendly owners and close to everything. Rooms are excellent and slept like a baby throughout! Breakfast is fabulous and parking is easy. Easy access to hotel and reasonably priced! Look no further... every time I drive to Angers, I don't bother looking for any other place! Why should I ? As everything is already there...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Stunning boutique hotel
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel but if I was going to be picky it would to say that coffee/tea making facilities in the room would have been nice and also a shower screen.

    Picture perfect boutique hotel. Lovely room with huge French window/doors with shutters. Quiet location but yet couple of minutes walk to everything you need. All rooms decorated differently. Ours was black and gold and the bed was extremely comfy. Great location, close to bars and restaurants. Extremely friendly staff. Would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautful 1st floor and very nice people worked with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too hot. No air conditioning. Should at least get a ceiling fan. Had window open but no circulation and people were very very loud all night so betwwen heat and loud drunks it was not good.

    Beautful 1st floor and very nice people worked with us. Charming atmosphere on the first floor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Charming with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like.

    Charming with great location. Excellent on-site parking is just what you need on a road trip with a warm Border Collie! All good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great city centre hotel with secure parking for motorcycle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from people out on the town went on well into Sunday morning (7am) and could be heard from hotel. To be expected from a central location in a large city.

    Very friendly staff who came out on arrival, nice room which was very clean and secure parking for motorcycle. The hotel is in an excellent position for the city centre shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Lovely central location and really friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have liked tea /coffee making facilities in the room

    Lovely central location and really friendly helpful staff. Car parking on site was a bonus too. Plenty of choice for breakast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    comfortable, central, perfect for stay in Angers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our first visit, and Hotel du Mail already feels like a family favourite. Location great - both to get to from the highway, but also 5 minutes from the big Saturday market and the centre of Angers. Our room was very comfortable and being able to park in a closed urban courtyard is a real advantage. We travelled with our dog and there were terrific urban walks right outside the courtyard gate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay in Anger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location for a short stay in Anger. Wonderful staff and reception was very welcoming. Secure parking for our motorcycle was particularly useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall a pleasant stay in a friendly hotel bang in the centre of Angers, yet really quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very nice but rather small. I banged my head on the corner shelf above the wc.

    The bed was very comfortable with nice quality linen. The breakfast plentiful with coffee a step up from the usual hotel coffee. The man organising the breakfast and serving coffee was very smiley which is always welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    The place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was the second time at Hotel du Mail, and as always the place is a fantastic hotel to stay in... rooms are simply perfect and the whole place has a relaxing atmosphere. If you are coming to Angers... word of advice: don't waist it on any other place... this place is simply perfect! Great location, great staff and owners, peaceful and comfy if back in Angers, this would most definitely be the place we will stay... but Spain is calling for the rest of the yesr... so it won't be this year....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    The room itself was very lovely with a nice decoration.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was way too expensive. Furthermore as a person with limited mobility, I did not appreciate having to pay a 50 % surcharge to have my breakfast served in my room.

    The room itself was very lovely with a nice decoration.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfy well placed hotel but awful black and white decor in room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of black and white room was awful. Obviously done by a straight man with NO taste!

    Good hotel and comfortable mattress. However, the black and white decor and the general decor of the place was awful. We were grateful that we could bring our small pet dog so lots of positive points for that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Anjou' s Elegance...and good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You simply cannot fault anything...

    If you are looking for luxurious SIMPLICITY...then this is the place! A home away from home... then once again this is the place! The whole place breathes excellence! Location is fantastic, the rooms very homy, the architecture of the building screams Anjou. Breakfast offers more than enough to satisfy even the most demanding. Staff could not be better... owners were highly professional and welcoming. Enough parking to accommodate you car! glad we came through the doors.. in fact we have decided not to go anywhere else when in Angers...why would you bother with anything else...?The place is simply perfect! We will be back..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Rooms / bathrooms were beautiful, newly renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs / hallways were outdated but I'm sure those will be renovated once all the rooms are updated.

    Rooms / bathrooms were beautiful, newly renovated. The Reception, breakfast room, parking were also very nice. The staff was absolutely helpful and very happy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    We stayed at Hotel room nr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at Hotel room nr. 1 Lovely and large room well decorated. We wanted a room without micro wawes (wifi) from mobile antennas a.s.o. This room is on the ground floor. Perfect for us. Very close to the town center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Angers is a really lovely town and worth a visit. Hotel du Mail centrally convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bedroom was quite small and although the building is very attractive, updating the decoration/carpeting of the corridors much needed. The pillows were very uncomfortable and particuarly in need of upgrading.

    Tucked away in a relatively quiet corner of this vibrant and pretty town. The hotel is an easy walk to the centre with lots of cafes/bars/bistros and shops and with some really lovely French architecture. Overall, the location, ease of secure onsite parking and a pretty building were the main pros for this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place. The building has been beautifully renovated with great styling throughout. The room was spacious and the shower was excellent. We were able to walk to the main sights of Angers and there were several restaurants nearby to choos from. The continental breakfast was nice too,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Well-situated for exploring Angers on foot, but our 'superior room' left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a 'superior' room, and the bed was comfortable and the room was nicely decorated and clean, but there were no other facilities available, such as for tea/coffee making. There was only a small hand-shower in the bath, which meant that you had to kneel down to use it, and no screen, which resulted in water spraying everywhere.

    Situated right on the edge of the old town centre, this hotel is ideally placed to explore Angers and its many attractions on foot. The staff were very friendly and there was secure car parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    My husband and I were traveling with another couple. The rooms they gave us were perfect. They both had windows to the courtyard but were very quiet and had blackout shades. Our friends even overslept! The rooms were huge and beautiful as were the bathrooms. Loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great! We will come back and stay in the Hotel Mail!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the Hotel is perfect. Only a few steps to the Theater and all of the sights. The Service was very very friendly. They did everything to help us, give us informations about near by Restaurants or how to reach special sights (for example the destillary "Cointreau"). Breakfast was great too. The best thing is the parking of the cars inside the relatively small court yard..... somehow it worked and it was very helpful as there is no parking close to the hotel. It was a great stay in the Hotel Mail! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Cost us 121 Euros for a basic room without breakfast or parking which we thought was very expensive
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea, water facilities. VERY basic toiletries (2 small soaps and almost empty shower gel container on wall). Everything was 'extra' (dog 10 Euros, parking 7 Euros), breakfast extra. We needed to leave early the following morning and were told we couldn't park in the hotel car park as they didn't open the gates until 7.00 am - therefore had to park on the road outside.

    Room size was good, very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    charming hotel in beautiful surroundings of Angers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charming hotel in the heart of Anger facing a quiet street but within walking (5-10 minutes) distance to all major attractions of Angers (historic sites, restauarants, shops, river side, bars). hotel is run by extremely kind and helpful couple.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommendable for visiting the city of Angers and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but confectionary stuff.

    We had a superior double room. Nice size, good queen size bed. Modern equipment. Bath rather small with tub/shower. Quiet location. Could sleep with open window. WiFi good. Secure parking in the courtyard of the convenient and easy to reach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Angers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, a great hotel.

    Fantastic place to stay in Angers. Location is perfect, the building beautiful, rooms were extremely comfortable, breakfast delicious and the staff incredibly welcoming and friendly - the perfect place to stay in Angers, which is a fabulous city. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location but impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to make or get a coffee or even a glass of water other than tap in bathroom. Gravel car park. Double parking of cars.

    The location was fab right in the centre of town. Parking limited and you were blocked in. OK if staying overnight but not really if you wanted to go in and out. Room good size and well decorated but no other facilities. No bar, nowhere to get a coffee, no coffee maker in room. Efficient but not overly welcoming, felt impersonal, not somewhere I would want to stay for several nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Quiet central hotel with great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor, but ground floor windows opened onto central Courtyard where smokers tend to sit outside windows.

    Superb central but very quiet location, a couple of minutes from Place du Raillement, in Old City. Could lock bikes in main Courtyard. Very clean room and bathroom. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Central to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception was rather indifferent towards us - unusual in our experience before in other hotels and in subsequent hotels. Our room was much smaller than the website suggested. At the very top of the house, in the rafters literally, there was no air con, an extremely hot day, and almost no ventilation options as neither the roof vent nor the small window opened more than a crack. The fan in the room was working, but quite useless. If you stay here, and overall it is very convenient, check where your room is first!

    The property is in the centre of town but very quiet. The entrance is impressive. The breakfast room and reception area are very lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    A nice welcome for two tired cyclists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was hoping for better coffee in the morning given that it is quite a posh hotel. Also, it's always disappointing in France not to find a kettle and tea in the room.

    A nice welcome for two tired cyclists. Lovely room, good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Super friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had black mold. Mattress was not in great condition. There was no AC, and it was 95 degrees outside.

    Super friendly owners. Pretty, old building. A nice large room with big windows and recently remodeled.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    A charming, hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful, comfortable room. Excellent location in the city centre with parking. Gorgeous, peaceful courtyard to sit in. Would highly recommend and would return if in Angers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to break your journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were three couples with three cars and the parking arrangements were quite restricted but with a bit of help from the staff things were sorted out OK

    Only stayed one night but position of hotel was great to view Angers and the local restaurants were within easy reach. The accommodation was spotless the staff cheerful and very helpful. Continental breakfast was all that was needed. Staying just one night on a journey to the Dordogne didn't really give us a chance to explore the town but we will come back and will stay in this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Delightful period residence, now a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found stairs difficult and no lift. Think we could ask for ground floor another time. Floor of shower slippery when wet and soapy, a mat would help. Family food smelled good, wish they had a restaurant!

    Warm welcome and supply of good local information. Map of area supplied. Parking in the lovely courtyard was very convenient and worth the charge. Good Wifi in our delightful bedroom, newly renovated bathroom with efficient shower. Lovely crisp white bedding and comfortable bed. Typical toilet in a cupboard. Recommended restaurant very good and breakfast very good, things constantly refreshed. Quiet area but short walk from centre, bit cobbly for my wheelchair!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect city-centre hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality is very good for the price - no complaints.

    Very comfortable and pleasant, modern-feeling hotel in a nice old building. Ideally-situated in the centre of the city. Very helpful and friendly staff, really nothing much to fault. Secure off-street parking an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel in the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making facilities in room would have been nice.

    Room beautifully decorated. We liked the coffee served at breakfast so much that the owner offered to go to the wholesalersand and get us some to take away with us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent centre for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, so close to the centre but still with a very private situation. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Angers itself is a lovely place with plenty to see. Spent 30 minutes people watching in the Place de Raillement!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Angers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really.

    The location is convenient right in the center ville. The parking is extremely convenient and secure on site. The staff is a father and son team. They are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Best Centre Ville Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift could be difficult for some travelers.

    Wonderful hotel right in centre ville of Angers. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast. We took Angers' new tram system back to train station. Very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Best croissants in France- not kidding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator but the staff is very willing to assist with baggage. There are two rooms located off the courtyard for anyone who needs handicap accessibility, or would prefer no stairs.

    Best croissants in France- not kidding! We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 20 years and have never been disappointed. They have recently remodeled the hotel in a very charming way. It is in an 18th century former mansion, you enter via a courtyard through large iron gates. It is a very French experience, located in a central part of the city but also feels tucked away. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable and quiet location, with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location for the centre of Angers was perfect, close to all the shops and visitor sites. Parking on site was a bonus, and the rooms were very quiet. Good nights stay in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and an ambience to satisfy anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the new minimalist style that sent the spray out into the bathroom but no too badly.

    We were greeted by a lovely, and very helpful receptionist. Our recently updated room was stylish, roomy and very clean. The bed was very comfortable too. Location great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    A beautifully quaint hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gorgeous, quaint hotel with staff that made us feel very welcome. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean - wish we could've stayed longer!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    My wife is washing her horses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Hilarious conversations with the owner, neither of us had the others language. The location and that it had parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Centre very quiet location with secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Centre very quiet location with secure parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Good central location with safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems logging on to wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and pretty surroundings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could have more time to spend in this area, as it was only a stopover on our onward journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes

    Bed was extremely comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    bed was comfy, staff friendly, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was as we expected. there was nothing to dislike.

    bed was comfy, staff friendly, very clean. good position. Lovely city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Good sized, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast €11....too expensive

    Good sized, clean room Excellent location close to centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    It was very hot weather (32C), so the lack of air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot weather (32C), so the lack of air conditioning was a drawback - otherwise an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower room and toilet.

    Lovely breakfast though fairly expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Historic building of great charm ideally located for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sitting room/lounge

    Historic building of great charm ideally located for sight-seeing. Off-street parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is difficult to find if you have an old sat at which we have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com described the room as ground floor but we had a room on the third floor not the hotel’s fault.

    Good position in the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice location - very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing hotel in good location for visit to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and relaxing hotel in good location for visit to Angers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast

    Near city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok for one night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and claustrophobic . No lift. Rather expensive .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, value for money and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, value for money and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Friendly staff, central location ideal for exploring

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: