Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Parc 3 stars

Boulevard St-Guily, 64270 Salies-de-Béarn, France

#12 of 16 hotels in Salies-de-Béarn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Magnifique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The casino is a bit of an eyesore for such a beautiful building but other than that it didn’t affect me so not a complaint.

    Lovely, big spacious rooms. Mine had a lovely outlook and big beautiful windows/doors you could open up and step outside. It overlooked the park and got lots of light.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Felt pampered by the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Casino element was slightly strange. Interior hallways getting to your room were stuffy and claustrophobic, but once inside the room was fantastic. Meal was artfully presented in elegant dining room and a great value for the money. Only complaint about the dining room -it was stuffy (just open a window?) and for some reason the curtain near our seat was closed, blocking what would have been a wonderful view of the garden.

    Elegant interior with high ceilings, wonderful windows, relaxing views/gardens and a really comfortable bed. Love the regal touch with the carpet and curtains. Cute little town. Excellent bathroom. Young man who checked us in was delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Bright, spacious, comfortable and always my first choice in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would enjoy a few more vegetables with my dinner. It is a comment I make wherever I stay, vegetables are an integrated part of a meal, not just a decoration. Lived in France for 22 years and still annoys me!!

    I have to go to the area fairly frequently and find Hotel du Park always suits my needs. The associated Casino is a presence but in no way impinges on my visits. I also enjoy both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.8
    Not up to expectations, and therefore overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building was a grand building from the Belle Epoque, but it has not received the regular maintenance that it deserves. Instead of the elegance we had anticipated, it was more "faded glory". The beautiful floor tiles at the check-in were loose and shifted beneath our feet. The parquet flooring in the bar was also loose. The decor was dreary in the common areas, and the carpeting was worn. There was no comfortable public seating area. The bar was dark and was disrupted by the noise from the casino, a half-wall away. The restaurant was completely empty, and we took that as a clue not to eat there.

    The room was fine. It was large, with a wall of windows overlooking the park and thermal spa. The bed was large and comfortable with nice-quality linens, and we even had a table and chairs in the room. But we visited during a cold spell in December, and to keep the room sufficiently warm, we had to close the heavy drapes which also blocked out the light. The lighting was very poor, not sufficient for reading. And there was virtually no internet connection available. The bathroom was large and appeared to be recently renovated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Very clean and quiet hotel situated in a small but pleasant town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable. Quietly situated. Adjoining the Casino with plenty of free public parking opposite. Food in restaurant very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. When trying to find the hotel look for the Casino otherwise you can go around the town in circles like we did!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Has never let me down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, on this occasion the air-conditioning wasn't working. A noticeable but forgivable aggravation in the present hot weather.

    I have stayed there regularly, both business and pleasure, over many years since they rescued me with accommodation and a meal when I was stuck in Salies de Bearn due to bad weather - even though they were closed. Always a friendly stay with an enjoyable restaurant - never, however, been tempted by the Casino which looks like fun!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Golf Competition in Salies
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the air conditioning was out of order but I assume it was just a temporary hitch. Plus, as mentioned below, the shoddy taxi service. The hotel eventually managed to get hold of the taxi firm who said they couldn't make it because the taxi had broken down. Why didn't they ring the hotel and let them know beforehand? Never take a taxi in France, unless its Uber. The golf course wasn't the best either!!

    My taxi didn't turn up (never book French taxis if you can possibly avoid it!!) so one of the hotel staff very kindly offered to drive me to the local golf club. Very much appreciated. Good mojitos in the downstairs bar; reminiscent of our visits to Cuba.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    well worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel is in a excellent location.Food we had was first class and very reasonably priced.bedroom very modern and clean could not fault anything.We will return in the future.Very pretty little town with everything at hand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needed some updating

    Loved the history and the architecture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.9
    Average place old and smoking room not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old casino arratch noisy.

    Place was just ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Good t
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of functional air conditioning. General cleanses of the hotel.

    Room was spaciuous, staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Stunninglittle town nd interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Beautifull building - shame about the Casino use of the lovely entrance hall! Pleasant Restaurant to eat in or out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Very expensive hotel bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive hotel bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Hermosa arquitectura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hermosa arquitectura

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Lovely clean modern big bedroom with view of the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar lady needs to address her front of house attitude. Although the bedrooms are lovely the hotel areas are a bit run down.

    Lovely clean modern big bedroom with view of the park. Comfy bed. Breakfast was good value too. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming, smiling and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    The location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a bit tired and in need of a refurb but still clean and tidy. It did not have a fridge in the room.

    The location and view. It is a beautiful building

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Even though the hotel is a casino, the rooms were quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi connection was slow and intermittent

    Even though the hotel is a casino, the rooms were quiet and clean. The restaurant and bar are open at times when almost all other ones are not. The terrace looking out over the park is very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Spacious, well furnished and comfortable bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Spacious, well furnished and comfortable bedroom. Historic building (the old casino) which has been well modernised. Had a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    breakfast and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast and restaurant room size et design confort of the bed bathroom facilities car park room service historical building very well renovated except false balconies on the inside patio

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.3
    Staff were mostly indifferent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were mostly indifferent

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff Delicious dinner in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.8
    Overall not very clean or well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall not very clean or well maintained. Dirty, smelly carpets in the common areas. Everything needs a good going over!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Location and view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The casino, but I don't like to gamble.

    Location and view from the room. Also very spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds

    Nothing

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: