Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Parc 3 stars

23 Rue Kleber, 68800 Thann, France

#5 of 6 hotels in Thann

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you complain that wifi is not working since several days, they answer in a polite way that you're stupid and the bandwidth is 3 times bigger than everywhere but in the meantime technical work is done by people on the wifi dispatcher in the hall (the last day when I had to leave, wifi was working and no commercial gesture was done --> even giving you a coffee for free to apologize was not done). As I'm working in the IT field, I really know how to manage such elements. Secondly, I requested to modify the title of my invoice for professional purposes. At the reception they told me it was not possible but the 16 euro breakfast per ay was included even I never took any breakfast during my stay. They had to cancel all breakfast applied for no reason as I checked my invoice. This means, if you don't take care about your bill, they apply additional things you never ordered. This is a way to manage things I don't appreciate. Last but not least, everytime when you meet someone, they push for consumption (breakfast, ,diner, etc.)

    Nice hotel but pictures of all rooms are done to give feeling of bigger space. Bathroom is max. 4m² but pictures makes you feel that size is more than double.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. The shower did not have hot water even after 15 minutes. The receptionist said, that this was known. The sauna was cold and in a really terrible state. Breakfast was quite simple.

    The style of the hotel and the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged a breakfast I never had. At checkout it took two people 10 minutes to try and delete the charge from the invoice. When I returned home I found out the credit card had been charged for the breakfast anyway. Seems from other comments this is not the first time this happened. Also, the smell coming up the staircase from the fitness/spa area was less than inviting.

    The room as such was more than o.k.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 3 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly, the spa out of order, we were charged 10 euros for a glass of local wine. The staff really tried to have us on half board even though we had politely declined.

    The garden surrounding the hotel, the size of the room, the quietness...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much too expensive for what it is. We stayed in multiple hotels in Alsace during this trip and this was the most expensive - even more expensive than the one 100 m from the cathedral in Strasbourg - for no visible reason.

    Nice historical building and park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night because it is close to Mulhouse airport. Family room very small and crowded for family of five. The bathroom door handle was broken and kept falling so we could not close it hermetically until one of us got stuck inside the bathroom... very uncomfortable! In addition we had to pay extra payment for the third child which no one mentioned while booking the hotel at booking.com so eventually it was very expensive even without breakfast. The hotel looks nice inside and out but we did not enjoy our stay for all above reasons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not use breakfast . Price at 16 euros p person was too ecpensive for t a *** hôtel

    Loved the setting in pretty garden with pool . Staff pleasant and efficient very good restUrant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious and very nice decorated. Breakfast was great and staff was very friendly. We had a late arrival (reception was already closed) and the staff instructed us perfectly how to get to our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not friendly at all & even the guests attitude is very bad, I found someone knocking the wall between my room & his room in a very bad way because I was talking loudly in the phone, I know it's not good to talk loudly but I didn't feel myself because I was talking to my colleague at work but the neighbor guest attitude is so much bad & reflecting about everything bad in this hotel. The swimming pool also is full if insects & I've stated this to the staff without any serious action to clean it. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

    Only The Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was confusion over the booking reservation name which would have been avoided if they'd looked at the sheet I'd provided more carefully eg looked at the Booking.com reference number. Nevertheless, they sorted it all out and it wasn't an issue - just an opportunity for them to do a bit better. The staff were helpful, we enjoyed the stay and will go back.

    A short walk from the centre of the picturesque Thann. A beautiful old building with an incredible history. The breakfast was excellent - their egg custard tart was incredible. So much to eat for breakfast, I couldn't try everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was very small (Small bed as well) and due to a few days above 30 degrees outside could very much use a fan or aircon. Breakfast was decent but too expensive for what you get 16 eur pp: same every day, no fresh fruit or diversity of cold cuts / meat / cheese, scrambled eggs every day etc. Overall a bit overpriced (simple gin tonic 11 eur, bottle water 5 eur). Jacuzzi under maintenance during or stay in July 2017.

    It had a great outside area including swimmingpool and garden. The reception guy was funny and friendly. Location was good. We liked the style off the interior.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior 3 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully remodeled old manor house with extensive grounds, pool and elegant dining room. Walking distance to central Thann and its beautiful cathedral. The breakfast was extensive and delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's a bit tight. Torn towels in the room. There was just one glass in a room for two. Unconvenient small sink. It's difficult to use hairdryer in the bathroom due to skewed ceiling. It'd be nice to have bath robes. As it's historical building there is no elevators.

    Pompous decoration of hotel's lodging and rooms. Pleasant English speaking receptionists. Free parking. Convenient bed. Good Wi-Fi. There are sauna and hamam with own towels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. No lift. Reception staff could have been more helpful.

    The setting and the restaurant. Superb meal with excellent restaurant staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    super nice location, with a certain grandeur of the old times to it. the restaurant of the hotel is outstanding and the staff very friendly. enjoyed it to the fullest! nice to know: fausto copi stayed at the place and you can book his room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee below standard; room/bed was small; no extra bed for child; there were no gluten-free options for breakfast; because of this we wanted to eat elsewhere but breakfast (already overpriced for what it was) was automatically added to the bill; staff were generally unhelpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI: Room 105 had great difficulty in getting a signal, if at all. The staff denied the fact, which was not at all appreciated. The solution I found was to go into the corridor to get a signal and then return to my room. And then again, the signal/access was very poor and precarious. Bathroom: A nice size, without a bath but with a good-sized shower. Basic toiletries were provided, i.e. 1 shower gel and 1 shampoo, two tiny soaps for two people. The towels were fresh. The cold-water tap kept running unless you found out how to shut it off. The staff knew about this but apparently, the washer still hasn’t been replaced. Bedroom: A bit on the small side for an over-priced superior room, but quiet, overlooking the garden. The two small chairs provided were very uncomfortable, no padding so your leg circulation was compromised if you sat for more than 10 minutes. The television was very small and too low to watch from the bed in a comfortable position. Worse to come, no quilt!! The bed comes with a dirty double-sized bolster pillow (to be shared) that had no pillow case and was simply partially covered by the lower bedsheet. Disgusting! Two small clean square pillows were also provided. Since there was no quilt, the bed had an upper sheet, but it was only just big enough to hang about 10cm on either side, with a thin blanket placed on top. An additional blanket was in the wardrobe but seemed suspect since it wasn’t wrapped. There is no immediate lighting in the corridor leading from the bedroom, unless you venture into the main corridor to trigger the “automatic” lighting. Immediately inside room 105 the carpet its ripped. This room has an expensive mini-bar but only one glass is provided. Breakfast: Our experience went from bad to worse. A good choice, but many items were missing at the same time. Day 1, coffee like sludge, no eggs, bacon, bread or fruit juice.

    This hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Thann within easy walking distance to the town centre which is worth a visit. There is a pleasant garden area with a terrace, exterior pool, children’s play area and a table tennis that has seen much better days (like the hotel in general). Free parking is available, but with limited spaces. Our expensive superior room was reasonably large and overlooked the garden. The bathroom had no bath, but a good-sized shower which was practical. The towel-rail heater being the only source of heating was sufficient since we had mild weather, but is questionable during cold spells as is often the case in Alsace. Very basic toiletries were provided but - one bath gel, one shampoo and two tiny pieces of soap for two people. There is a good choice for breakfast at €16/person, provided you arrive at the right time, otherwise you have to wait up to 10 minutes for a waiter or waitress to bring bread, eggs, bacon, juices or ither basics. Very amateurish.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the bathroom (flushing wouldn't stop) - noise kept us awake as from 6:00 am.

    Period features well maintained - without the feeling of the hotel being dated. Dinnner was super.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything.

    The staff was wonderful; the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were ornate, and clean. It was like going back in time. The bed was more comfortable than many we've slept on in other places in Europe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as we were only staying one night on our way to Italy we went for the cheapest room which was very tiny and very hot at night they offered us an upgrade for an extra 50 euros which I didn't want to pay for one night if staying for more than one night you definately need a bigger room;

    location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the Reception desk spoke English, but the lady at the breakfast room spoke only French.

    Nice one night stay. The city centre is very close - only 5 minutes walk. The breakfast was really good - we enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't speak French!! The staff unsold our room on arrival and it became quite expensive.

    Lovely quirky hotel. Excellent position for route du vin. Shame we'd only booked for 1 night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot

    Dinner was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet location. Staff very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice old town house, fantastic interiour, very friendly staff, excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning; high temperature in the room

    close to the towncenter; located in a garden with swimming pool; free but crowded parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room with terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Marvelous terrace on the room, good bed, nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior 3 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive compared to quality and choises

    The menu in the evening was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent reception from the hotel's owner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the owner was really nice and ready to solve immediately any kind of problem in a nice and perfect way. strongly suggested!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet yet short walk to centre and short drive to the Vosges. Plenty of character and good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather expensive for half board for 2

    Most welcoming, lovely quiet location,attractive ambience, above average food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Magnificant accommodation, quiet and charming place. Delicious dinners with very nice local wines.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner/wines (halfboard) was really good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast . The fitness and spa facilities were ok ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jacuzzi not working. One evening steam room and sauna not either. Fixed menu (no choice) dinner. Expensive.

    Outdoor Pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • small economic double room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    Comfortable bed, Fantastic restaurant, friendly staff, Wonderful Venetian decor

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small room was really small.

    Enough parking space, quiet surrounding - it is really a small castle in a parc! Short walk into the city center. Nice furniture.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a bit strange that the biggest part of my stay the reception was closed and you could only let yourself in by the backdoor. The breakfast is expensive, but you do get free cockroaches for that price.

    The rooms are nicely decorated in typical older French style. The location is quiet and just 5 minutes walk from the center

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs when you are lugging heavy suitcases! We were in a superior room on 1st floor, no lift. Not much luggage hanging space. Shower requires clambering into a huge bath.

    Comfort, a spacious room, hotel full of antiques and period furniture. The restaurant was closed but looked beautiful. Very quit time, only a few guests. Very helpful English speaking, Polish- French receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating in the bathroom works with a timer, thus it is cold when you want to shower. Also regulating the water temperature is hard

    It is situated, as he name indicates, in a small park and thus quiet. The building and rooms have a typical French atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was rarely anyone at the desk during the stay. Reception area was locked at 7:30am on Sunday morning so we couldn't check out properly and had to leave by the back entrance.

    Building was a beautiful old manor house

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal was excellent. The Hotel has many unusual features - amazing chandeliers, statuettes, etc. which all add to the charm of the Hotel. Very central position to walk into Town.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our rooms were a little small ,but there are bigger ones available ,and we will have one next time .....and there will be a next time .

    friendly staff,great value

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very pricey for an "off season" rate hotel. Booking.com provided one price and staff immediately attempts to get you into a pricier room with food included at a much higher rate.

    The chef is quite good, even with the "set" dinner menu. Very old, elegant hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely charming hotel and restaurant whose owner was most welcoming and charming too. It was set in a beautiful garden and had a lovely swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool is not heated, very cold even on a hot summer day. Only one option was available for dinner, and it was expensive.

    Beautiful hotel, sort of like a palace. Fantastic breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages, champagne, fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh breads, fruit, spiced apples (10 € for kids, 16€ for adults). The hotel is near the amazing Parc Wesserling, a garden wonderland for kids and interesting textile museum. Several restaurants are nearby, so we did not have the hotel's pricey dinner (which offered outdoor dining and live guitar music and was quite popular with other guests). The staff was very kind. There is a playground with sandbox and table tennis. Lovely garden, too.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Most of the staff was not at the level of the place, so the senior staff had to take over. So at breakfast, missing items were barely or not refilled, which is a problem in view of the quite high price of the breakfast. For children the price of dinner and breakfast was in our view too high (35€).

    The hotel was charming, nicely decorated and although the room was small, it was comfortable. Also good play possibilities in the garden for children and nice swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful room, well furnished and laid out. Really comfortable bed. Superb shower and en-suite room. The decor and grandeur of the hotel was simply amazing

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wellness area was okay but unfortunately there were only two sun loungers and no other possibilities to sit down in the region of non-operation. The price of the breakfast was not in relation to the selection and quality of the food. The eggs had a bad quality.

    The Hotel presents itself in a very nice atmosphere with a beautiful large garden and parking place. Our room was quite small but absolutely sufficient for two people. We liked the antique furniture throughout the hotel. The staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    16€ even for a good breakfast is too much. Only one menu for 42€ too much for me also. Lucky we got a room they miss manage our reservation. My colleague got sick and didn't have breakfast but they didn't propose to reimburse it.

    Good wifi Good bed Quiet place

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.1
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    this is an hotel of immense character set in the foothills of the mountains in a lovely walking area with excellent transport links

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous dinner, breakfast and staff, lovely pool.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel with outdoor pool. We had an excellent evening meal in the pretty garden.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly welcome

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorly equipped bathroom

    Location, atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed too short (for a person of 1.80) and squeaky

    View of the St. Theobald church Nice terrace Pool

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very long stairs and no air conditioning.

    Beautiful small hotel in a park like setting, without being too fancy or fussy.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is situated in quiet street, very nice environment, close to city center, very kind hotel personal.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed, it was old and tilted. There was a big pit in the bed where people before us were

    ambiance

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast expensive

    Sauna/gym/Jacuzzi facilities Friendly staff Clean rooms Complimentary tea

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Intet

    Fantastisk have som vi havde for os selv

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom was a little small.

    Loved the setting and the food.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The dinner was amazing, owner was delightful and very warm and helpful! Will definitely be staying there again

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was not told that in the morning at check-out is necessary to wait until 8,30 time for the invoice. It is nice to know it at check-in.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Browse Hotel Du Parc traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: