Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Port 2 stars

11 Bis Avenue Pierre Gueguin, 29900 Concarneau, France

#1 of 12 hotels in Concarneau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful very french hotel with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...all was great

    Location...overlooking the Port. The bed was really comfy. The bathroom was very modern with fluffy towels...lovely shower. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very enjoyable and reasonably priced. A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Delightful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was up a flight of stairs but it didn’t bother us at all.

    It was a delight to see the location upon arrival. I booked a room with a view, across to the harbour and so pleased I did so. The reception was warm and helpful. It’s a cosy hotel and full of local character

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    very clean and lovely comfortable bed and crisp linens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy if window was open, but when window was closed it was totally silent!

    Great room overlooking the port with a lrage window , which gave a pleasant breeze. Like sitting in a sidewalk café, except you were in bed!! :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Alex Moore at the Hotel Du Port Concarneau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Myself and my wife enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is situated right in the centre of town overlooking the waterfront. Rooms are reasonable and well appointed and the management were a pleasure to deal with.The breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and a reasonable price. All the main restaurants are situated within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    basic hotel in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms on the top floor - too hot (no AC), no lift. No parking - we had to park at the public parking ca. 1 km away.

    Location in the center of the beautiful city of Concarneau.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Concarneau is an attractive town especially the Ville Close just across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls are very noisy and start very early. Advisable to sleep with the windows shut as it does cut out most of the sound

    Very comfortable room, we had our two young grandchildren with us and they had a connecting room which they were very excited about. Good breakfast....which was free for the kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but will probably try and stay in hostel so we can make drinks and snacks
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise,mosquitos, no food in bedrooms. The food in the village is limited and only served at approved times so we were hungry all the time, no kettle

    Location, cleanliness, security, friendly and helpful owner, cute dog. Very close to great bus services. Nicest layout of a family room ever-kids separated by private vestibule ad both bathrooms Also kids loo was separate to kid shower Kids room very quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Unexpectedly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises from the road, although it is above a bar that wasn't open late and didn't bother us.

    On first entry I thought I'd made a big mistake but the cleanliness was impeccable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic, we want to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The location was fantastic for visiting the historic centre of town. Free parking across the road until mid June when it becomes pay. We could see our car from the bedroom and the port. Lots of choice of terrific eateries within 5minutes walk. The proprietor was so welcoming and let me practise my French with her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    This is a very nice hotel with a terrific host who is helpful and very friendly. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location next to the Ville Close. Good parking right across the street. The room was small but very comfortable. The host was wonderful and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Functional, clean and tidy. Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facilities in the rooms but this is common throughout France. Everything worked fine, all better than average and no complaints. Room was directly above a bar but that closed not too late (even on a Friday) so nothing to worry about.

    Nice room on first floor overlooking the tourist office and out towards the Ville Close. Excellent service form the Madame and brilliant location right in the centre of things. Very close to the town square - we ate twice at the nearby Grands Voyageurs and it was excellent both times. No secure parking but we parked our motorbike in the nearby bike park and it was undisturbed. Recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    good value and perfectly satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift, but stairs easy enough to navigate

    very large newly renovated room; great price; large twin beds very comfortable, staff very helpful, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely clean, well organised French hotel in a great position in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    The hotel was exceptionally clean and well presented. The owner was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very well situated for the town and was easy to find and the free parking in the town's car park opposite was a real bonus. I can highly recommend this small hotel to couples who want the best but on a budget.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Port central and good value, no problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near to Ville Close and great choice of restaurants and things to do. Great value and comfortable room, good parking opposite, quiet and central location and easy to find. Second year we've stayed on our motorbike travels so we could recommend for bikers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Not for the sound sensitive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the street side which made it almost impossible to sleep. There is no ventilation system so that the breathing air becomes very used when sleeping with closed windows. We broke off our stay one day early.

    The hotel is very close to what little happens in Concarneau. The owner was nice enough to let us cancel the second night we booked without penalty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked through booking.com the only room available, but when I arrived they got me a cheaper and smaller room, so I paid less then I expected. The hotel is perfect for people travelling with public transport, as it's right opposite the "Tourist Information Office", where the bus stop for Quimper, Rosporden and Pont-Aven is located. The "Ville Close", the old town is only 2 minutes away (by foot). The reception is not available 24 hours, but you get a door code to get into the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    The 'host-owner' is extremely friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small, but still comfortable - we did not spend a lot of time there anyway.

    The 'host-owner' is extremely friendly and very helpful. She helped us in finding the good restaurants in the middle of a lot of tourist-traps... Also she had a lot of good suggestions of what to do in the area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Central and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It fortunately did'nt bother us, but access to reception was ay a flight of stairs, and a further flight to the room. I don't recall seeing that on hotel details when I booked.

    Excellent location, comfortable, pleasant staff. a comprehensive choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant so relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee making facilities in room but this appears to be the normal for france

    Enjoyed the whole experience bed comfy and Madam was so helpful would stay there again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    We could not fault this hotel - excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all - one of the best hotels we have stayed in since we arrived in France about two months ago.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful - they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and hassle-free. The room was spotless and we had a great view over the river - close to everything - we did not need to use our car again. Car parking free, easy to find, and very close to the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. We liked the special touches, such as embroidered towels, and the hotel china with their personal logo on it. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel near the Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Our host couldn't speak English and we couldn't speak French but we all enjoyed ourselves. Would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Unbeatable location, tasteful interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside, it looks like a regular small hotel but inside reveals it has been recently — and tastefully — renovated. So in addition to the excellent, unbeatable location, the facilities are in good shape, the receptionist very kind, parking available right across the street and the price decent — which all make it a preferable spot to spend a night or two in this lovely town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay within a stone's throw of Concarneaus Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have a harbour view but our ajoining rooms faced the rear

    The owner was very friendly. made both us and our kids feel welcome. Though our room was on the third floor she had made us aware of this from the start. The room was actually two rooms with an ajoining door which was perfect for our family stay. Sh

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    OK for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly basic but clean. Breakfast room tiny ans cramped.

    Convenient, good view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Efficienza dello staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficienza dello staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    La situation proche du port et de la ville close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation proche du port et de la ville close

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noisy and lots of early morning screaming and shouting.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location right next to the entrance to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location right next to the entrance to the old town. Free parking overnight on the car park opposite the hotel. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok for overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Very hot. Toilet not ensuite for one room but you could cope for one night

    Clean and tidy. Near town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated room. Noisy, and exceedingly hot the night we stayed.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect little Haven in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is perfect and the Hote is lovey

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff was kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy bar nearby. Could not sleep at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and a very adequate little hotel, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and basic

    Location and the very friendly manager

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean comfy close and cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean comfy close and cheap. Friendly receptionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    It did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a two star absolutely nothing to complain about

    Very comfortable pillows. Charming, helpful, efficient proprietor - she also paints watercolours

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    entrance stairs steep

    pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money as convenient to facilities in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking. Nearest free car park was 1/2 mile away

    Location was the main consideration. Everywhere in town was easily reached by walking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside was loud on our first night

    Very good beds. Excellent bathroom. Really good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice room overlooking the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room overlooking the port.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    excellant large bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a bit noisey

    excellant large bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    More than a two star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean,nicely decorated, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel. Warm welcome, spotlessly clean, comfortable and a great breakfast too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    It was noisy at night, as it was on the main road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy at night, as it was on the main road overlooking the port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on a Bank Holiday Friday.

    Very friendly welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Convenient and comfortable one night stay in a picturesque coastal town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of any significance.

    The location is great for exploring the town. Very convenient car park across the road. Efficient check-in/out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Exceptional location in a superb old port town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi router not strong enough to reach our room so had to email important messages perched in the re petition area.

    Exceptional location in a superb old port town. Charming, simple and tasteful accommodation and very helpful, friendly management. Fabulous views, comfortable bed, convenient bathroom etc, free public parking directly opposite.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.3
    Owner, window view, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think you have to realize what you're getting--an old hotel with smallish rooms and doors through which you can hear more than you might want. I'd say a stay here is dependent upon the kindness and consideration accorded you by the people in the neighboring rooms, and whether they stay up late, gab in the hall, and clack doors late at night or early in the morning.

    Owner, window view, value for money. I slept great! (And cute dog)

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Very clean fantastic location, don't go on the festival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean fantastic location, don't go on the festival weekend in August unless you don't plan sleeping though. Really friendly helpful owner who made us feel very welcome

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Very central and good value with modern decor in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central and good value with modern decor in the rooms. It is in a busy part of town but still quiet enough on our two nights You can walk to the Ville Close and the Tourist Office is directly opposite. We parked our motorbike on the pavement across the street no problem.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    The manager was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs are the only negative and they are not that bad

    The manager was wonderful. We left phone chargers behind and she arranged to send them on to Ireland for us. She couldn't have been more helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    We really liked the owner and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really liked the owner and the location. The closed city was nearby along with many businesses and restaurants. The tourist bureau and bus stop were right across the street from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect place

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.8
    Location was excellent in walking distance of the harbour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no tea or coffee in my room.

    Location was excellent in walking distance of the harbour and the old walled city.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like, it is what it is.

    Fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Very clean and comforts would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very clean and comforts would stay there again

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Simple hotel in great harbour-side location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple hotel in great harbour-side location. Great value

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't work

    Friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room. Good for a day or two but not long term stay.

    Location. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    The white bedding and the beach hut for wardrobe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The white bedding and the beach hut for wardrobe

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    Lovely landlady, very helpful in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely landlady, very helpful in every respect.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Du Port traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: