Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Du Théâtre 3 stars

3 rue du Pont St-Marcel, 57000 Metz, France

#20 of 25 hotels in Metz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1125 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and parking ( locked motorcycles away for us )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air didn’t work and very noisy room over looking the street - could be a really good hotel with some money spent - expensive budget hotel and couldn’t buy a coke or water in the evening - just had a couple of cans of beer on offer. Paid for premium room - just a standard room in my opinion £100 for no air con and no bar or food available is too much

    Location and parking ( locked motorcycles away for us )

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    An amazing experience-A hidden Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a weak internet connection but we were very happy with everything else !

    The staff was absolutely sweet and hospitable! They made us feel like home and gave us tips on what to visit while in town! The rooms and the breakfast hall were so unique and the architecture was one of a kind ! We will absolutely visit again !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel was excellent, very near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money paid I was expecting better than a budget hotel, the rooms were very basic and no better than a budget hotel could offer. The reception area was lovely and very disappointed with the room

    The location of the hotel was excellent, very near to the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.5
    DO NOT STAY HERE - the owners need to undertake a major refurbishment - NOW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is very tired, with wall coverings coming off, laminated floors lifting, carpets filthy and a odour you cannot escape from. The breakfast at €12 per person is also much too expensive for what you get.

    The location as it's right in the middle of the older part of the city close to restaurants, the main tourist attractions, and cultural centre. Parking could be very difficult but the hotel provide a parking place which is a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Central stay at reasonable price - with incredibly friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is old and so is the air condition - neither is working perfectly well :)

    The staff is super friendly and the location is incredible. It's not a place of luxury and one i'd pick for a week stay, but for a short stay to explore the city it's great. The hotel is old, so be aware of that and don't expect everything to be super high level and working properly, but it's good value for money, the breakfast is nice and the location simply outstanding and central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel. Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room had lots of traffic noise all night. We couldn’t close the window because it was too hot.

    Second night in the room that faced the pool was much more peaceful that the room that faced the street. That room was very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprised that payment had to take place at the hotel, - had been of the understanding that rooms were prepaid at the booking. It was no problem, just a misunderstanding, - as long as i'm not charged also via booking.com

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Unique theatrical setting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor on upper levels seemed unfinished. Some leaking pipes and extract fans not working in the bathrooms.

    Great location, parking garage, unique decor at entrance level, good breakfast. Welcoming, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean and spacious. The hotel is in the very center and very close to all attractions. From the window of our room we were enjoying the beautiful Cathédrale Saint-Étienne de Metz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    It wasn't our first stay here, we returned because Metz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall hotel condition could use some refreshment. But the great staff, soft bed and spa bathtub really made us enjoy our stay! We will definitely be back :)

    It wasn't our first stay here, we returned because Metz is a lovely city with very friendly citizens, the hotel location is great, it has a free garage, the beds are clean and soft and we even could enjoy the spa bathtub!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice but worn down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is little worn down, the furniture basic and kind of ugly, the air in the room was stale. I would say the hotel is close to it's expiry date, that's why low prices. The pool on the picture belongs to someone else I think and produces some (water running) noises.

    Location is great. Probably the best. Especially connected with a parking garage, so I left my motorcycle there and roam the city on foot. They don't make a fuss if you leave your vehicle in parking few hours after you check out. Rooms are generously sized and stuff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old, the water from the bathroom was flowing on the carpet near the bed. The wifi connection was really bad. And for two persons only three small towels were not enough.

    Destination is perfect, close to the city center. Inside with antique furniture is very nice too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    simple hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was poor, in my room I had no wifi, only in the entranceroom with poor quality, breakfast was very simple, not much variety (12€)

    the room was simple with a nice view on the cathedral, good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairwell to parking garage was disgusting. Shower didn't work. Bed was a little hard.

    The free parking is nice if you park somewhere outside the hotel first, get directions from front desk, then find the hotel parking garage. The bathroom was heated which is good for traveling in the winter. The lobby was nice. Good location. Right outside a beautiful church. If you are driving, the biggest perk is the garage because parking in the city can be complicated and quite pricey. It's nice to park your car and relax the rest of your trip, as everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay just before Christmas 🎄
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a bit poor, and the hotel may need a refurbishment. There was a bit of outside noise, due to its central location

    Very good location. We had a spacious room - we had the family room, which is great for five people. The breakfast was great and good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - we were offered a better room with poor wifi and so we chose to keep to the first room. Cleanliness is doubtful - there is an awful disgusting smell in the stairwell apparently from the wallpaper. I mentioned this to the front desk and was told that they could not change the wallpaper. Access by car to the underground parking is extremely steep and narrow.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    We actually liked it a lot but see more potential for the hotel as a whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fab and spacious and linen towels all good but thr corridors were dull and smelt dirty. The hotel foyer was big and could be stunning but lacked some inspirational decor or something the car park was convenient but a bit quiet and isolated from people if youre alone

    The hotel was perfectly situated and a beautiful old building with some character but it felt a little bit sad i dont think it would take much to make it really cool - for example it was Christmas everywhere else but not inside the hotel There was just no atmosphere or life there sadly -it needs a little hug in places and some cosying up !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stained carpet in the room, corridors and staircase smells horrible and rugs falling of the walls. Needs to be refurbrished.

    Very good location. Right next to Cathedral.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the hallways is atrocious, and the room smelt damp. I wouldn't recommend staying here, even for the location. It's not worth it.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Convenient place in Metz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive breakfast, Hotel absolutely needs refurbishment. Fire exits are not safe!!!! Inflexible staff when asked for a room change.

    convenient place in the city, nearby cathedral and restaurants, free parking (unattended)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Carpet not fit for my garage, stained and totally...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet not fit for my garage, stained and totally unacceptable for three star hotel. Towels of poor guality and corridors in need of major upgrade. Cannot recommend for these reasons.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.8
    1 star hotel with 3 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stained carpet in the room, sinking mattress, spider web on the ceiling above the bed peeling wallpaper, weird smell in the corridor... I should have done my homework and read more reviews. The hotel advertises itself as "non smoking" although when I asked, to be sure, for a non-smoking room I was told that people could smoke if they wanted to and there is nothing the hotel could do about it... First time I hear that. No idea how the hotel got 3 stars. Tellingly the reception did not ask: "how was your stay?" when we left... Probably immune to to it.

    A 1 star hotel masquerading as a 3 star hotel. Never seen such contrast between the public area and the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect start for city visits, just a few steps away from the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities in the rooms and levels are old and have not been renovated in a while. The parking is scary, and don't go with a car higher than 1m90.

    The hotel has cachet, it is old and the receptions area has this old fashionned elegance. We had a great deal for the breakfast and kids ate free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smells a lot of pi in the corridors and in the stairs!!!! Awful!!!!!!! The "wallpaper" was falling down and most of everything was discussing! The only thing we thought was nice was the location in the centre of Metz. This "Hotel" must bee renovated as soon as possible!!!!!!!

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is a basic, good value for money, with ease of access to the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is rated 3 star, but we did not think it was such. That said, we do not want too be too critical, other that it may want a bit of a makeover.

    The hotel was well situated for the town, with excellent parking facilities Accommodation is basic. Room was slightly small and also basic, but for being in the middle of town answered the need for local access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    location is perfect. faded glory but charming nonetheless
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room décor and cleanliness. Room TV signal very poor

    location. underground free parking. Faded glory but nevertheless charming lounge and dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    It was on our way home to England and conveniently located near the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed very run down and neglected. It could do with a complete refurbishment. The first floor stairwell and corridor smelt which was quite unpleasant. The hotel was quirky but BUT that is not an excuse for a shoddy finish. The swimming pool overlooked a canal full of rubbish and a seating area that was falling apart.

    The location Easy to walk into the Town where there were plenty of shops , bars and restaurants. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    Tired & in need of a robust maintenance programme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was dreadful. We have a large vehicle & it was almost impossible to access the steep ramps & right hand turns to the underground park. In the carpark there were mattresses & clothes on corners, it felt very insecure & potentially dangerous. I would not have gone there alone. The hotel must have been splendid once upon a time but it is now tired & neglected. Flickering lights in the corridors, fire break glass detector hanging by wires, impassable staircases ( wallpaper falling & left). Not sure what's going on with the skirting boards which are being covered & falling off ( see photos )The infinity pool is not in use & littered by hoses & is used by the local pigeons for bathing. The view from the bedroom overlooked a green inlet of water littered with empty bottles, cans etc,bordered by empty & redundant buildings unkempt & unused, the whole scene is NOT what is advertised. Felt really sad as this hotel must have once been truly outstanding & has the potential with investment to be great again.

    The bedroom was lovely, bed crisp & clean & huge ! The location was as good as it gets, a few minutes to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking very tired and dreadful smell of stale tobacco. Didn't have breakfast but was charged £6.00 for two cups of tea.

    Traveling by motorbike and they were kind enough to make sure we had secure parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    A bad choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception and breakfast are had a strange smell, as did the corridors to the rooms. The stairs wall coverings were in places hanging off due to damp. The under ground carpark, which was a public car park, was dubious for security, the barrier wasn't in operation and it looked like some homeless people slept there.

    The actual room for sleeping was clean and reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    After a horrendous journey through Switzerland the staff at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was a bit creepy!

    After a horrendous journey through Switzerland the staff at the hotel were extremely understanding and helpful, even at 11pm!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, superb location. Worth getting the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel for families. We stayed in the family room which had loads of space. The children loved it as it was under the eaves of the roof. We also used the pool which was great to have on a hot day. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, cosy rooms, good neighbourhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel was a bit stuffy, a lack of fresh air. Perhaps open a window now and then? Bed could be better, but ok.

    Nice hotel, our room was really spacious. The bathroom - with bath tub - was good as well. Nice and quiet neighbourhood, just outside the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Location is only good point but would not recommend this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty , unkept and in need of a full refurb . Car park not secure

    Location is only good point but would not recommend this hotel and should not be on booking .com . Staff where nice .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    Empty swimming pool !! Dirty....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised pool was empty, I only booked this place because of the pool. The whirlpool bath was disgusting and when run was full of mould bits. The staff spoke English to start with but as soon as you complained suddenly could not.carpet on the stairwell walls peeling off and a strange smell. The floor in our room was lifting and I cut my foot on it. Pics of floor and bath to follow.

    The property is located in a good place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Parking was easy and secure.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The local restaurants stopped admiting after 9-00 pm and on our return journey we did not arrive before 9-00pm due to really bad traffic delays.

    Parking was easy and secure. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    One night was enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to try 3 baby beds until we got 1 that we could set up. Had to run down the reception each time and were left alone to figure it out. Not ok when traveling with a one year old.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    The room was huge and lovely with spa in the bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors were a bit spooky as well as the staircase. Change of wallpaper on-going and swimming pool empty... not really worth the money spent...

    The room was huge and lovely with spa in the bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful experience in top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have plugged in the egg-boiler so you don't have to go on all fours, unless it's 'typiquement Francais' and you're expected to 'caqueter' (cackle) with it.

    The staff is very open and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.9
    Horror and allergies - stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was horrible! The hallways reeked of the sackcloth (!) wallpaper. Not just a funny smell, but a horrendous stench that gave me allergic reactions. The smell entered the room through the hallway. The bathroom was even worse. The room itself was in a late '70s early '80s decor. It was quite big split over two levels. The shower head reached my chest on its highest position. There was human faeces in the parking garage. The cans in the minibar smelled like sackcloth. Our breath smelled like sackcloth for entire day after sleeping here.

    The hotel could be good, if they put some effort into it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location and period atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised with wifi in all rooms, unfortunately not my room. When I enquired about an alternative room, I was told not possible , although many keys were in view at reception, implying many rooms were indeed available.

    Good location and period atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    A hotel from the past!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and slightly worn-down, but if you can accept this, you will find that the hotel has its charm!

    Fairly close to city centre. Good parking in garage (as long as your car is not too big...). Despite noisy traffic outside hotel, the room was quite calm thanks to modern 2-layer windows and AC.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning did not work so we were offered a second room only to have the same problem. The Hotel smelt musty and the whole place is in need of a lot of TLC. The car park entrance is very narrow for a large vehicle.

    Great location to explore the City and free parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    The location was fantastic, just a short walk into the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room could have done with a little tlc round the edges, but I've seen far worse. Could have done with coffee making facilities, as early risers we need our coffee fix before the breakfast room was open.

    The location was fantastic, just a short walk into the main part of town and the cathedral. The staff very helpful. The room was very spacious and the bed oh so comfy. It was also good to have the loo separate from the bathroom. Our a room was at the back, so nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Swealtering hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website said there was Air conditioning... very important because it was so hot outside! No AC ... the room was a sauna... we asked for a new room at the front desk but no AC in all rooms. Too late to find new hotel. We sweat soooo much... even w a fan!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice and pleasant staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot ! Breakfast was indicated on the site as included but in fact was not . It cost 12.50 euros EACH which being such an exorbitant figure we did not take it . The shower was broken from its fitting but functioned as a hand unit. There were no grab rails around bath to assist those less able . The aircom did not work on an evening of 32 plus . The road was very noisy so open windows to relieve heat added another issue ! The main issue was parking . I was directed to a car park adjacent to the hotel . It seemed to be an ex paying public car park , entry via a steep ramp . On reaching the bottom I encountered a sharp bend which I could not negotiate in my car . I then had to back up the narrow ramp which took a mighty (and smokey) toll on my clutch . A near escape since I could have been stuck down there and/or have a burnt out clutch . The staff member was not at fault cleArly unaware of the potential access problems . If your car is longer than 6 feet or wider then 4 don't use it ! The location was a bit run down and not attractive but handy for the centre .

    Nice and pleasant staff .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Metz - a great town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in need of a complete upgrade and looks tired.

    The hotel is located in a central position within walking distance of the old town. Parking is on site but underground with access in a neighboring street, the access to the parking is awkward but manageable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Needs some renovation to restore a former glory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some TLC and maintenence as the decor is getting tatty and the carpets are in need of replacement. The air-conditioning was also broken leading to an uncomfortable night in 30° temperatures. The pool has been out of use for some and I suspect it will be too costly to reinstate. A great shame.

    The hotel was very convenient for the city centre which was a 3 minute walk. The staff very kindly opened the side passage to allow me a secure space for my motorcycle. The beds area comfortable, and the room generally tidy and satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Close to cathedrals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC so could have used a fan in the room. Hallways smelled very stale/musty. WiFi didn't work in our room due to many stone and concrete walls.

    Close to cathedrals. Breakfast available onsite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.0
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thoughts, shabby grandeur, that ceased when exiting the lift to dirty smelly carpets in the hall. Room adequate for an overnight stay but in all, it felt like a student let. It was very shabby. Bed soft, pillows soft, all too soft but perhaps that is picky. It didn't live up to the pictures. Not sure off their definition of a spa bath, obv not the same as mine. The Moselle backwater outside our room was stagnant and I sincerely hope was the source of the multiple bites on my face that appeared overnight and not anything I was sharing the bed/room with.

    nice clean white bedding. Clean white towels, if a little thin. Welcoming receptionist with perfect English helped the booking in and finding the parpark easier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Reasonable value, but renovation required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel must have the tightest car park in France. Be prepared for fine maneuvering if you have a large car (SUV). The rooms and grounds in desperate need of renovation.

    Close to the Old Town. Make use of the breakfast option as it is worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.3
    Most disappointed in Metz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised free on sight secure parking. This was not true. Public parking nearby was underground. I had requested Renault traffic van parking. It would not go in . Reception very offhand and quite rude. We did not stay. Park in the street she said or go!!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.3
    Only acceptable if very low price & for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - rooms are really old and need full restoration, pool was empty and looked old, view on the river was not enjoyable because the river is dirty, no air dryer in the room

    - location right next to the historic city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    Quirky hotel ideally situated in the town centre with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is quirky, I did feel the room was a little tired and could use a freshen up. Air conditioning also didn't not work which meant we had to keep the windows open and accept the traffic noises at night.

    Quirky hotel ideally situated in the town centre with an abundance of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit expensive and they broke into our car in the parking lot (we had left our suitcases there) but staff helpful after the event...

    Great location... HUGE room with jacuzzi which was great with three kids

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I stayed for a weekend excursion. The location could not have been better - close to the everything. Breakfast was very good! The staff was excellent and very helpful. Room was comfortable and typical size. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.3
    Good breakfast and nice personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are OK, but the hotel is really dirty. I am sorry to say that, because the hotel very well placed, in old town, there some restaurants and bistros near the hotel. Unfortunately you cannot have a diner in the hotel. Parking is public only, and you are scared to enter in, there are some homeless people with tents in behind of the parking, its look a little bit scary. This hotel is splendid but need to find some investor!!!

    Good breakfast and nice personnel. Piano in the morning for the breakfast, this was really pleasant. Everybody is really nice!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Hotel in the centre of Metz, on walking distance of pubs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a turnoff was the breakfast for 25 euro for 2 people. Thats a lot for coffee and some slices of bread. But I should have asked the price in advance. Despite the price it was a good breakfast with good coffee .

    Hotel in the centre of Metz, on walking distance of pubs, restaurants and the cathedral. Clean room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    3.8
    There is little or nothing to like about this property
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where shall I start. Rooms are poor, badly lit and bulbs didn't work. It's a dim miserable place. Lacks any atmosphere and feels cheap. Don't believe their photographs - it's all theatre - made up props and no substance. Bed is uncomfortable, noisy traffic in the morning and windows are filthy. Breakfast by 9:00am is empty of food and only after complaining can you get some.

    There is little or nothing to like about this property

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location and if you are lucky to get a nice room it is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways are very run down and it doesn't smell nice. Wall paper is peeling off and the carpets need cleaning. Our friends room was also slighlty run down, very soft mattresses and overlooking a dirty bit of canal, they were not so happy

    The location is great. Our room was very nice and clean, although our friends weren't so lucky with theirs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.3
    Clean, Comfortable, Spacious - Would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I read the reviews AFTER I booked. I was a bit concerned, but as it was a last minute reservation, and they could accommodate 4 of us in a room, AND had convenient parking, AND were in a great location, we decided to stay. I AM GLAD WE DID!!! First, the parking was NOT scary as others mentioned in previous reviews, no graffiti nor did we ever feel trepidation about leaving our car there. Secondly, the hotel did NOT smell funny at all. The stairwell walls are covered in Jute. Jute has a distinct earthy/organic odor. The only place you can even smell the Jute is if you use the stairwell. There is a lift/elevator however so it's not even necessary. Thirdly, our room was incredibly spacious!! Every bed was very comfortable, it was quiet at night so everyone slept wonderfully. Lastly, it was so convenient to walk everywhere. We would not hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Once a gem, now a bit sad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smelly place. I failed to note that pets and smoking were allowed and well, it certainly smelled like it. The rooms are spacious but worn down and not a lot of love going into the place. It is the kind of place you imagine was once quite nice and then fell into hands that no longer cared.

    Spacious rooms and location were great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.5
    After booking and paying the stay with booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    After booking and paying the stay with booking.com, the hotel ask for payment again at check out. Unfortunately I trusted the hotel staff and paid again. I realized the error later at home and informed the hotel. Since now I am waiting for the promised bank check to fix the double payment (2 weeks later).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.0
    The room was ok
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was poorly explained, very dingy, badly signed. The communal carpets, stairwells and corridors were desperately in need of refurbishment/replacement. Dark, dirty and smelly!

    The room was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Amazing value and perfect location in Metz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful friendly and profession al. Although we did nit need to use the toiletries, very good selection. All food tastey and filling. Coffee really good. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    Ok but a bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor - especially for 12.5 euros a head and the hotel had a generally run down feel. Hadn't expected that from the photos.

    Very short walk into town, friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Staff is very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is free underground parking available, which is a good thing, but it's very spooky there and lots of vandalism. Every time we visit, we are worried one morning the windows of our car will be broken.

    Staff is very friendly! Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom, breakfast was also good : we enjoyed our second stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    Too much wrong to compensate for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, not a superior room by any measure and way smaller than our first visit. Two light bulbs out and our and room was dark. Bulbs could not be replaced as it was a weekend. Receptionist gave us the option to move and 10 euro off. Wobbly pavement on their stairs still not fixed from last year. We shall not return. Hessian covering in halls gave it a strange smell

    Staff did what they could, location close to centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Nearly perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities score driven by the smell in the hallways. Appeared to be covered in layers of Jute or Hemp, a noxious smell that almost made us leave until we got to the excellent room.

    Nice staff (they even let us use their freezer to make ice cubes for our canteens for our bike tour!). Room itself pristine and airconditioned. Pool on site (90 F that day) and excellent bike storage. RIGHT at start of Moselle bike path, and excellent Breakfast. Staff a big plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    5.4
    Do NOT book here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is free but the feeling of the parking garage gives you the idea that it might be the last place where you saw your car. Although friendly personel, they aren't the brightest. (Tv wasn't working, fixed it eventually myself) WiFi is NOT working in the rooms and Poorly in the lobby. The corridors were extremely smelly thx to the "wallpaper" (thick carpet) that came of most of the time. The place of the hotel however is good but definitely no value for money. Oh he they have a swimmingpool, but couldnt find the intrance. I still think it is part of the neighbours.

    Area of hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.0
    will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned. Smoking smell in corridors. dirty carpet in room. insufficient lighting. Parking for small cars only. Building needs renovation

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but still needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park whilst free was particularly dark and uncomfortable. The pool, which we were looking forward to, was unavailable.

    The location on the side of the river is very nice and close to Metz town centre. The hotel is a very nice old building and is undergoing some redevelopment. The staff were friendly and helpful, changing the room immediately when the AC didn't work.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.8
    Very dated and worn decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark was awful, really dark and narrow so difficult to manoeuvre. The access to the lift frrom the car park was covered with rubbish. The whole hotel was very run down and outdated, in our bathroom the skirting board was failling off and a big gash out of the sink unit, the chairs very worn. The public corridors had lots of the wall covering falling off and the 'infinity' pool was not one would you want to venture into.

    Size of the room was good and it had a spa bath.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location, rooms ok, food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was out of action and looked like it had been for a very long time!! If we'd known that we would not have booked here. On complaining we got a free breakfast so some compensation.

    Good location, rooms ok, food was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.3
    This is a very strange hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel has a nasty smell, not sure what it is. The wall covering in the communal areas are falling off the walls. The car park is underground and dark, I was very happy to find my car was ok the next day.

    The Hotel is very close to the town centre. The room was large and clean, it was a little warm but noisy with the window open.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Du Théâtre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: