Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Village Catalan 3 stars

Aire Autoroute A9, 66300 Banyuls-dels-Aspres, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Banyuls-dels-Aspres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 453 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything we need close buy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow on the bed.

    We love the fact that we can park the car in the garage joining our room we don't have to worry about it. We love village Catalan.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Vastly overpriced and mis-sold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not realise when I was booking this that it was a hotel on a motorway service station. The pictures made it look much lovelier than it was. Eating options : at the motorway service. This was an experience in itself. Hugely expensive (it was the only place available in the area) Do your research before booking this and ask yourself - do you really want to stay at a motorway service station at a very high cost.

    The car was secure in the garage. The sheer experience of it. However at 200 euros for a night we could have stayed somewhere seriously plush.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Clean, and efficient. Ideal for me travelling through for the night.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea / coffee facilities room.

    Clean, good for pets on ground floor. No facilities in room though, would have been nice to have a coffee / tea facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.0
    Very convenient location and the high price reflects this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite poor (faulty shower)

    Very convenient location and the high price reflects this. Facilities/rooms are very basic but adequate for one night. The pool is lovely though and you can buy breakfast/meals at the service area quite cheaply.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel With a Nice Pool for Children and With an Incredible Staff Team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the airco but that was not a problem and Madeleine acted straight on it by proposing alternatives and by being proactive on having it fixed first thing first in the morning. What a service this Hotel Village Catalan!!

    Mostly I enjoyed the staff, they were incredibly welcoming, friendly and efficient. We also like the location, a perfect halt on Spain way! A place we will for sure come back in a way or in the return. There is little percentage to have an email from hotel staff when booked though Booking.com. Sabine took the time to ensure us we will have a baby bed and felt welcomed from start. On the Check in, Madeleine was super super friendly, really! She helped us with side request with a natural friendliness. On the checkout, we received complimentary milk for our baby. Merci beaucoup Hotel Village Catalan for this relaxing night on our way to Spain A bientot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and Comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel entrance within the complex was a little confusing in the dark.

    The location is excellent for a one night stop on the border between France and Spain. Very safe and secure, having the garage for the car. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    When you have no choice, ok for one night stay but not sure to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The directions to get to the hotel is confusing and our GPS can't find it. The bathroom is small and the motion detector light in it is rather a problem because it woke me up so much that I couldn't fall asleep soundly afterward. The room needs to be modernized and refreshed to march the price, please!

    Two real beds, instead of 1 bed and 1 sofa bed, for our group of 4. The rooms are good in size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Good clean efficient room , particularly with useful attached garage.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    After 500 miles (800 kms) of driving it was a happy and good experience to reach this hotel.. I have stayed here before and knew that the nearby restaurant would be closed late on a Sunday evening, so had a hot meal at a motorway cafe en route. We had booked a room with garage attached which , on a dark cold night, made getting to and from the car to the room with basic luggage and our dog really easy. No kettle or beverage facilities in the room but the receptionist helpfully made us tea / coffee, after we arrived late in the evening. Very clean with stylish modern decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    The location was good and the secure garage was worth paying...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant was very poor and the breakfast expensive. There were no staff around when we checked out.

    The location was good and the secure garage was worth paying for. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC did not seem to work very well. The room was cold. In the bathroom, it would be nice to have more shower gel

    Very convenient location. The room is ample and clean. Perfect for a one-night stop if you are driving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    the accomodation is average but the attached garage made up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    the accomodation is average but the attached garage made up for this the ammenities are very good the location is perfect distance for us to tavel to our villa in monte pego alicante spain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a room with an attached garage this was excellent the room itself was quite average but the garage was a1 the hotel needs to be signed better when going towards spain a bit confusing needs bigger bolder signs to the hotel we will definitly use it on a regular basis

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Take care of the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take care of the shower. The floor is dangerous when it is wer. A friend of mine just fell On a showerfloor in a hotel in germany and he died because he broke his heap and ....so maybe lay something please

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More amenities in the rooms, like a kettle perhaps? Very difficult with small children that we couldn't make bottles for them. The baby beds provided also didn't have mattresses.

    We liked that it was close to the motorway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    A good place to break your journey
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we always stay o/n here on our journey as placing is convenient and lots of space to walk dogs. But this time was much better. we had a large room, large bathroom, all newly refurbished. Staff v helpful. Much improved from previous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.4
    Ask to view the Shower/WC in the room, before accepting placement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New rooms shower/WC layout. The toilet in two rooms we used going and coming back from hold. We're put in the wrong way either that or a dwarf was the architect. Suitable for a 5 year old to sit on but difficult for grown ups in particular if you are very tall or overweight. You have to sit sideways resulting in the toilet seat now at an angle . Need to be a contortionist to fulfill the requirements. Previous years we used the new upstairs rooms and they were fine. There was also an odd drain odder both visits Thought also the cost of the breakfast was far to high for what was being provided. Had a three course meal later in the day for 4€uros extra

    Members of the staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Convenient, pet friendly family owned hotel, with a swimming pool and covered private garages
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    I was able to arrive straight off the motorway, being a repeat visitor I felt comfortable as a solo traveller, was able to stay with my dog, borrow a luggage trolley to bring my dog's bed, feeding bowls etc etc and the night manager while clearly surprised at the amount of paraphernalia was welcoming and helped me in with the loaded trolley. I have booked a garage before, but on this occasion didn't because the area was not as busy as in high summer. The rooms I have stayed in have been recently refurbished and the beds comfortable. I keep intending to swim in the pool and not getting around to it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    location near highway is ideal for the traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift :-) interesting in 21st century, breakfast was rather poor (for 11,5 Eur), the night reception didnt respect the price from Booking, but at morning we sorted out, got back the difference, its average but clean.

    location near highway is ideal for the traveller.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Bed only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed only. No tea or coffee making equipment in rooms. No bar which is a shame, it has a nice outdoor area in which to sit and sip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    Ok facilities poor expensive room very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From motorway difficult to find and also from motorway you cannot park outside

    Convenient for motorway

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Garage attached to room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly.

    Garage attached to room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for short stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities in the room.

    Good route location. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant everything is always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We love this hotel also feel relaxed about the car being very safe in the garage joining our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great location clean comfortable and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location clean comfortable and great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stop over on route to spain
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was quite expensive

    It was calm and you have a shop and a restaurant close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy access from the motorway, good restaurant adjacent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    Somewhere to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Easy access secure parking
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access secure parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Friendly comfortable and warm
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant for us travelling home to Spain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice and quiet place for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick access from highway, nice and quiet place for a night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities in the room, no bar, swimming pool dirty

    Nice location, secure parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    very secure parking but my sat nav would not accept village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    very secure parking but my sat nav would not accept village du catalan it took me to bayus the hotel needs to be signed better off the A9 motorway

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow would have been great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    the best stop during the transfer from Italy to Menorca
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage
    • Stayed 1 night

    garage attached to the bedroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Perfect en route Mallorca - uk celery over
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    Recent refurbishment a big improvement and had been much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not as good as it used to be.I have been using this hotel 20 years for the price there is still room for a little more such as improved breakfast and perhaps tea/coffee in room

    Recent refurbishment a big improvement and had been much needed. Location is this hotel's big asset.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    Reception person, luxurious style of hotels layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New area wifi not available. Heating didn't work that well for worming the room . Hair dryer didn't work. No lift for use to first floor. Difficult to carry cases up and down two flights of stairs. Older persons would need help.

    Reception person, luxurious style of hotels layout. Breakfast . Easy to find

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    Ideal location for us driving home to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with a kettle in the room!

    Ideal location for us driving home to Spain. We had a room with a garage which was perfect as the garage backed on to the room. Had a good shower and the bed was very comfy. The staff where very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Basic facilities but very helpful multilingual staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Basic facilities but very helpful multilingual staff. More than adequate for short stay. Small fridge in room would have been welcome.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    6.3
    Swimming pool and air conditioning very welcome in 35 degree...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had expected to be nearer the town. Should have read the heading that it is set on an autoroute rest area, as we were staying several nights

    Swimming pool and air conditioning very welcome in 35 degree C heat . Possibility of secure parkimg in a garage.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar in hotel, outside eating areas most closed at 2pm & lack of vegetarian options. Very windy location so too cold to use pool. Difficult to get into location premises.

    Clean, comfortable & friendly staff. We have no pets at present but very pet friendly. Main shop in village great. WiFi good but would be better if could access in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    7.5
    Location superb to rest on journey Almeria/Luxembourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have now shut the restaurant! There's a self service which is rubbish.I've just driven 900 kms with 900kms to do the following day so a decent meal is the minimum request. Next time I'll stay in Argeles.

    Location superb to rest on journey Almeria/Luxembourg. Also possibility to rent garage, so no need to unload car just for 1 night.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    5.8
    Position right next to motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely basic. On our outward journey we stayed in a different hotel for half the price and with much better rooms, breakfast etc.

    Position right next to motorway

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    5.8
    Location and car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet so cramped - have to sit on sideways. Shower has enormous step up. TV screen smaller than laptop screen. Very expensive.

    Location and car park

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.1
    Stayed many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lot of work going on to the place seemed quite empty and untidy. Road works on motorway made access difficult.

    Stayed many times. Always friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    5.8
    The hotel was easy to find.
    • Couple

    We thought the room was Spartan. There was nowhere to get a meal

    The hotel was easy to find. The staff were polite.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    This is a good place to stay on the way from Spain to France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a good place to stay on the way from Spain to France. It is the first French location on the motorway in France.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    very helpful and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very helpful and welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.0
    Convenient stop en route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired decorations no coffee or tea making facilities in room. Wifi only in lobby.

    Convenient stop en route.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Whole holiday village feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Whole holiday village feel

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.5
    No Wi-Fi at the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Wi-Fi at the bedroom. The curtain in the bedroom let the morning light in

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was small with three beds...just like a dormitory. The curtains had holes in, the chair had a stain on it and the bathroom flooded.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.8
    no refreshment facilities, in house,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no refreshment facilities, in house,

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.3
    Travelling home to Spain it was the perfect place to rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really it was all good

    Travelling home to Spain it was the perfect place to rest with a secure garage for our car

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: