Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Duguay-Trouin 3 stars

11 Quai Duguay-Trouin, 35260 Cancale, France

#9 of 13 hotels in Cancale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 312 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay Cancale is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue was no one on reception when we arrived at 2pm went away and came back 2 hours later still no one then finally after calling and ringing the bell someone appeared I think they were cleaning upstairs. Still we got our key in the end and could relax and unpack.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.8
    Very very poor in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome - unshaven and disinterested proprietor Room access - 3rd floor via a spiral staircase and no obvious fire exits Very tired hotel - no staff in attendance after 7pm Suggest you remove this hotel from your recommendations We only stayed for one of our two booked nights - I could go on!!!!

    The only good point about this hotel was its location in the port area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly individual and good fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking tap on the washbasin which needed a towel all the time to soak up the water.

    The rooms are highly individual with electric shutters for the windows, thermal whirling baths, beds where you can adjust the angle! and the breakfast was delicious: croissants, baguettes, assorted jams, fresh fruit, dried figs and fresh dates, apple puree, fromage frais, hot chocolate or fresh coffee - a feast. The hotel overlooks the bay and the breakfast room has stunning views. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something which is highly individual.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.4
    Well located but shabby in all aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was not amicable, fortunately he went on vacation and his wife took over. The first impression we had is that we were in the wrong hotel and wanted to leave, but stayed as we had no alternative. Breakfast was poor. We got a room on the second floor without a lift-no one took the initiative to help with our luggage.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is right next to all the restaurants and bars,and the oyster stalls are not far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we did not get the room with a sea view that we asked for,apparently there was a problem with the room,although it did seem as though it was occupied whilst we were there.

    The location of the hotel is good,and the room we ended up with was alright even if it did have a view of a wall.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Very, very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location with great sea views. Breakfast was also excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Bijou little hotel on the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, quaint dinning room, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Close to bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay parking only

    Close to bay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely delightful location, charming and tasteful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely delightful location, charming and tasteful accommodation, fabulous views, well designed room and facitilies, very helpful staff, good breakfast , comfortable bed and convenient bathroom and toilet facilities, good WiFi, all in all a very enjoyable experience

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    The very nice chat I had with the proprietors, real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A longer stay...

    The very nice chat I had with the proprietors, real Cancalais, the landlord, true to the reputation of Cancale folk, may appear austere at first, but get him on maritime lore and he has many things to tell, he is a REAL seaman. In fact he is a former harbour pilot, the elite of the merchant navy. We liked the fact that we were in CANCALE, not in an impersonal box in an anonymous part of "anywhere, world"... The rooms are cozy and very nicely decorated, just nice. Just to put things right:I have no relation, family or businesswise with the proprietors!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    5.8
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff. Very very obnoxious man handling the front desk. We were getting ready to check out by the 11am checkout time. By 11:01am when we were already getting the suitcases down the stairs he came yelling and screaming at us and he cancelled our key card access without realizing that we had not gotten the rest of our luggage out of the room. Then he screamed even more when we asked him to open the room door so we could get the luggage out. He continued screaming as we were checking out. We did not even know what his problem was as he did not speak english (or spanish or german, which were all the languages in our group) and we did not speak french. He did not even took the language barrier into consideration and kept going on and on yelling about something, which we think it was that we checked out right by the checkout time. Definitely we are not coming back to this hotel. We will return to cancale, but there are many options that have better staff. We had a great experience in the hotel next door during dinner and breakfast.

    the view

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    5.0
    Interesting room with 3 windows and electric blinds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No where to store bicycle. Too many artefacts (teddy bears, mannequin etc) in the bedroom. The water did not stay hot. The TV sound was regulated it was impossible to hear.

    Interesting room with 3 windows and electric blinds

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Amazing sea view and spacious room very characterful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast room was lovely but breakfast itself was nothing special.

    Amazing sea view and spacious room very characterful. We were allowed into our room early to drop our packs off which was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    There's no indication anywhere that this hotel's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's no indication anywhere that this hotel's address is at LA HOULLE Cancale.We came from Chaussee de Sillon,St Malo where we saw bus No.8 going to Cancale. This bus takes passengers all the way to La HOULLE. At SNCF St Malo, inquire about the bus going to Intra Muro,St Malo where Bus No.8 departs and runs all the way along Chaussee de Sillon

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    3.8
    Only location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception service was bad. I asked him to accept 30minutes delay for the check out, but answer was NO. And, For Wifi, it is not free from 2nd code, euro 5/ea.

    Only location was good.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    5.4
    The hotel was clean and the room spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose this hotel, on Valentine, for its spa bathtub. Unfortunately the bathtub didn't work and, worse, there was no warm water!!! When we called the manager, he told us to wait because all the guests were probably taken their shower at the same time. Even if we were having a shower at the same time, we all should have warm water anyway!! I have been in quite a few hotels but this is the first time I didn't have warm water. We were really disappointed and we don't recommend this hotel to anyone!

    The hotel was clean and the room spacious.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice position, right in front of the sea, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice position, right in front of the sea, close to the restaurants. Beautiful view from the breakfast table.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    2.9
    Leaving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bedroom ,small bathroom. totally not a hotel more like a third rate guest house.

    Leaving!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Review what i noted before

    Nothing

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: