Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Edmond Rostand 3 stars

31, Rue Dragon, Castellane et Préfecture, 13006 Marseille, France

#47 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    A nice, quaint, but clean and comfortable room, even if I was right under the roof...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure in the shower could have been a LITTLE stronger; but then I need that kind of waking up, or that water-massage at the end of a hard day...

    A nice firm mattress...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    More of a backpackers than a hotel spend a little more and stay closer to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is more of a budget backpackers than a hotel. Very thin walls, you can hear everything as if the other guests are in your own room, my friend could even hear what the guest next doors friend was saying on the other end of the phone. Our room wasn t cleaned as we were told they only have one cleaner for the whole hotel. Our security blind broke on the first day and the guy who fixed it on day 2 left oil etc all over the floor which wasn t cleaned. the beds are so basic and uncomfortable. The young members of staff in the evening were great but unfortunately the older gentleman who greeted us on arrival was very unhelpful and quite rude.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice at breakfast and seemed very little out (unsure how many guests there were). Lift tiny no good if you had a large case struggled with one person with small trolley case

    Very friendly staff clean rooms and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Good stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, doesn't have special parking place (you should use either street parking (with payment) or parking places)

    Centrally located, cheap, clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Affordable and close
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head couldn't be fixed in place. because of its weight, it would go down.

    Early check-in was possible. Not expensive and walking distance (20 min) from St Charles Gare and to downtown (5-10 min).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but for such an old town it is to be expected.

    Very friendly staff and excellent location. We were even provided a very easy to follow route to get to the hotel from the airport and restaurant recommendations before we arrived in Marseille.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    budget & comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    elevator only to 3rd floor. If you have big luggage not get a room on 4th floor. Too small elavator max. 2 person without any luggage.

    near to center, quick check-in, warm room in the winter, good wi-fi comfortable bed. small room but OK for one.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water cooker on the room would have been nice

    Nice room practical room. 2 person bed was nog very big, but comfortable. Bathroom was really nice and new. Walking distance to the old harbour, but even better with the (free) bikes from Marseille. Good communication with the hotel via mail

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.1
    Useful for one night - Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little limited. Could be better. Tiny Lift, Only one person a small case. Not ideal if you have children (we didn't have ours with us luckily. Parking the hire care was hard / expensive.

    Clean room, good bedroom and shower. Useful for a quick stop over. Staff were friendly - spoke english which was nice, as my French is basic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.9
    Good break in Marseilles. We enjoyed Hotel Edmond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately our room was on the fourth floor, so very hot, and with sloping ceiling, so that my husband had to be careful of his head! There was a good fan, but the air-con not functioning very well. There was not enough space either side of the bed. It would be better as a single room. We met the very new owner, who was in the process of organising better air-conditioning and making other changes.

    Overall, we liked the simplicity of the breakfast - quality not quantity. We liked the bread and the good quality ham. Also we loved the orange cake and the Moulinex orange squeezer. Great to have fresh orange juice. The bottled juice was also fine and the new Nespresso machine coffee. We found the staff very helpful. A member of staff kindly showed us a larger room which we would choose for another stay. The location was good for walking to restaurants in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    5.4
    Wifi worked well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is so small it can barely fit one person at the time Room are very very small Air conditioning doesn't work well at all and it's very noisy we changed the room and it wasn't much better Area is Noisy during the day

    Wifi worked well Bathroom are new and very clean Location is ok too

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    The location near the Rue Paradis and Zakarian/Shariff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location near the Rue Paradis and Zakarian/Shariff fontaine (from Mayrig movie) - important objects for Armenian tourists The staff was really friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice decoration and atmosphere on the common parts.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and bag luminosity at night.

    Nice decoration and atmosphere on the common parts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff, comfortable bed, cosy room (very clean).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, comfortable bed, cosy room (very clean). Very good bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Good room design and the cafe is really sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast doest deserve 10 euros, only basic hams, bread or yoghurt.

    Good room design and the cafe is really sweet. Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a citytrip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. You have to walk a view streets to park the car in a parkinglot.

    the market on sunday and its near by the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Good position, clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is a little small

    Good position, clean bathroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel a real joy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, clean rooms and close to tourist attractions

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    Very nice location a comfortable bed and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big windows and very fast internet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    Perfect location, nice place for few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi zero in the room.

    It's own style.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Nce hotel tucked away in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non functioning A/C

    Excellent location in antique quarter.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Wifi Was poor Elevator

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff member waited for us an extra two hours as our train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is a bit off the beaten path and I would have had trouble finding it without a travel partner that reads French.

    Staff member waited for us an extra two hours as our train was very late. The manager had provided the staff member with a note in English for us with all instructions. Room was very clean and great for one night.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.8
    Close to the metro and not far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Close to the metro and not far from the centre. Staff helpful and friendly. We stayed across the road from where reception was on the top floor (room 6 I think) and it was a great room. Bed comfortable, clean and probably the best bathroom we have had in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Easy to find, Boutique Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some parts appeared to be partly renovated. Dark carpet made it difficult to see treads on stairs.

    Easy to find, Boutique Hotel. One block from tram and walking distance from metro as well as harbour. No pets allowed.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable walking distance to old port, good tram and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Being charged €3.50 for a half litre of fizzy water, the only size available; surprised that the bar did not stock anything alcoholic; room had not been serviced after first night between 0930 and my return mid afternoon for a siesta. But was fine thereafter. I would return.

    Comfortable walking distance to old port, good tram and metro communications, non touristy area so local bars and restaurants charged "local" prices.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.5
    Bed very comfortable, bathroom very clean and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not very good, very little choice

    Bed very comfortable, bathroom very clean and efficient

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was a bit poor - too small choice for 10eur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit poor - too small choice for 10eur.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    4.5
    the size of the lift tiny
    • Solo traveller

    the size of the lift tiny

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    Staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water for 2 days.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    position, facilities, excellent breakfast
    • Family with older children

    position, facilities, excellent breakfast

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: