Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Élysée Hôtel 3 stars

2 Rue De La République, 36000 Châteauroux, France

#16 of 25 hotels in Châteauroux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Don't let the dark lobby put you off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first appearance the lobby area looks a little tired and the lift is tiny. If you're brave enough to climb the spiral staircase then hang on to the handrail as the steps are quite narrow and steep. Although the bathrooms appear to have been recently refurbished the bedroom areas are in need of a refresh, as the wallpaper and carpets have seen better days. For some reason we only had one mug between 3 and not enough tea and coffee for all of us.

    The 'Junior Suite' we stayed in had air conditioning. The double bed was comfortable and the pull-out sofa bed for my 6'2" 15 year old son was adequate. The toilet and bathroom facilities were very good and were a definite highlight. There was a nicely stocked mini bar with soft and alcoholic drinks although we didn't use it. Staff were friendly and helpful. For the one night's stop-over we were using the hotel for, it was fine, but I'm not sure I could have stayed for an extended length of time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Extremely convenient and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was very good

    The staff were very kind as I had made a mistake in the date of our booking and they were extremely helpful in changing the date for our stay to the day before. They were very accommodating to our needs and the breakfast was very good. the parking was opposite the hotel and extremely convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Air con in room was fantastic with awful hot temps outside! Nice comfortable big bed. Location was excellent. Free parking across the road in covered car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    The receptionist was very helpful, but was needed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was difficult to find when needed - it was necessary to telephone him, although at the reception area his desk was empty. There were a limited number of tea bags and no milk in the room. At breakfast he seemed to be unprepared for our reception at 9,00am, and needed to be asked for items which I would have expected to be standard fare. The jams were poor in quality and quantity, one being only like a liquid in the jar.

    The receptionist was very helpful, but was needed to compensate for things which should have already been provided.,.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The closeness to town was ideal. The room was lovely and the bathroom towels were fantastic, pure luxury. Great to be able to use the barn to put the bike in overnight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Located within minutes walking distance of all the sights...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t dislike this aspect, but for some the room might be small. I was able to fit my yoga mat on the floor and do my yoga in the morning, so it was big enough for me.

    Located within minutes walking distance of all the sights and restaurants, and the town itself is charming and historic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.8
    Not great, no staff available from early evening.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top fitting of the Grohe shower detached itself from the wall and the whole assembly lurched none inches forward at an angle from the wall . Somewhat disconcerting, I pushed back on to the wall fitting and got out quick.

    After the breakfast at the Kyriad in Chambery, the Elysee was very disappointing and poor value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    A good honest clean basic hotel very well located near the town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included in the rate. It was a decent but basic breakfast of tartine, croissant, coffee and orange juice, being charged extra seemed unnecessary.

    Friendly owner/manager. Clean and warm room and bathroom. Good location for town centre. Car park opposite (not owned by hotel) if required.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    A reasonable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the shower was broken, though the overhead one was fine. The breakfast was adequate but no choice, other than different jams and juices.

    The air con was efficient. The bathroom was very nicely done and had plenty of hot water. The towels were large. The bed was comfortable. The owner was particularly helpful regarding a restaurant on a Sunday evening. His suggestion was good. The wifi worked, though it was painfully slow. As I stayed on a Sunday and left early Monday morning I did not have to pay for parking in the covered car park opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Not a great place to stay in Chateauroux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, bathroom and bed too. Hotel looks old and would need a refurbishment. There was no one at the reception desk except when we arrived. We needed to talk to the person but he was never there, he gave us a code to get in. I understand that at a hotel there should always be someone available to help.

    Good location Clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is always something that could be better but spending 1 night only is not enough time to make any constructive criticism.

    Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was superbe with bread, brioche and croissants, fresh homemade jams and yogurt. Overall a very good experience. Would return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Great reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Régis is an absolutely magnificent host! He goes out of his way to accommodate. He's so cordial and polite and he has a great sense of humour, what a lovely man!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Quiet and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fault in that there was no bar or restaurant and I hadn't checked. But round the corner lovely, friendly bar and across the road a Russian/Moldavian shop with fantastic produce.

    The owner was very nice as were the people we met in the town. Very friendly. The room was quite small but very clean and had everything required. Initially I thought th,e place was run down but in fact everything worked well and was quite modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.2
    1 Our room wasn't cleaned though we stayed for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 Our room wasn't cleaned though we stayed for 2 days. 2. Most of the time there is nobody at the reception desk. 3. Seedy equipment in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.5
    First positive, but negative feeling after losing our coats in the room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in our room, although I asked for a room with decent wifi with my reservation. We forgot our coats (one leather jacket) in the dressing of the room, we send an email to ask if they had found it. No reply. After a few phonecalls they would go and check, no reply. We had to call back ourselves many times to hear that they did not find it... In other words it has to be stolen by someone of the hotel, there were very few hotelguests (2?) and our room was locked when we left. Very sad. I don't want to accuse anyone but just to warn people to be careful with your personal stuff in this hotel.

    Small hotel, our room was ok. Breakfast was ok for us, not a very large choice but the food they gave was good quality. Friendly service. Public Parking accross the street, free if you stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and would do it again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel owner was a great guy and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Chateauroux is a good stop on the way south. The hotel is a good value stop
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was bio. Home made jams and drinks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    For the price we paid it was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid it was good value for money. Located near to a selection of restaurants. Nice clean rooms and a very nice welcome on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    adequate
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service / reception. Had to visit reception on two occasions to have room key-card correctly formatted!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and room. Convenient position in town. Welcoming. Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location comfy room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and service poor but itv as not expensive

    Good location comfy room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was awesome, friendly and attentive. Property was beautiful. Super clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Good, air-conditioned room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, air-conditioned room. Basic, no extras. Good parking, free on Sundays.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Overall excellent comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi goes through a third party....not owned

    Overall excellent comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very accommodating!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel for a stopover close to restaurants and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel for a stopover close to restaurants and main attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    The Elysee is a small, well managed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Elysee is a small, well managed hotel. It is located at a convenient distance from the railway station and very close to commercial and old parts of the town. This makes it very easy to get around without needing to drive. This was our fourth visit to the Elysee and we will very boutiquelikely be back.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Central location for quick stop off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy at night.

    Central location for quick stop off. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Interior much more attractive than exterior.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.9
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was served with local produce.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.2
    Really appreciated having a kettle in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really appreciated having a kettle in the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely clean, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely clean, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.0
    Central location and free overnight public parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom not well cleaned Lift out of order

    Central location and free overnight public parking

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    Central, with easy parking, many good eating places and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central, with easy parking, many good eating places and watering holes nearby ! Very helpful. Thank you Élysée.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful owner.
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and helpful owner. Great atmosphere Perfect location Will definitely go back if I have the opportunity

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Great place for one night when heading south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place for one night when heading south

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    3.3
    Road works going on directly underneath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road works going on directly underneath. No air con meant windows open

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to town centre

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable room for a one night stay, good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English tv channels

    Comfortable room for a one night stay, good central location.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    The room and en suite were very nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is right on busy noisy road ..bring some earplugs.

    The room and en suite were very nice

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: