Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Mercure Paris Ouest St Germain

11 avenue des Loges, 78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France

#9 of 12 hotels in Saint-Germain-en-Laye

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 316 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Its ok but nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very small. The Windows do not have an anti insect net. We were two people and we only got one key card. Main entrance door is not automatic, so when you arrive with many things you will have a problem. Mini bar had only one water. Elevator makes strange noise which is very scary. Ash tray infront of entrance, smokers allowed on terrace.

    Cleanliness and brightness. Terrace and gardens. Tea kettle. Quiteness. Rain shower. Separate toilet. Plugs and light control next to each bed side. Many pillows. Elevator. Nearby castle and forest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, hotel was OK. Main areas look good and relatively new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was almost gone when we arrived - I hope that it would be filled up as there was still a lot of time left before breakfast was over. Facilities in the bedroom where limited, bathroom was small and extractor fan did not work so the bathroom got very steamy when using the shower

    What was left at breakfast was nice. Good coffee and tea in the breakfast room. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet. Good points were also the refurbished main areas in the hotel itself which were nice, open and fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.7
    staff are very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of the room i was given a handy caped room and the toilette facility was for Handicapped.

    staff are very nice. check in and check out location of the hotel .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.7
    The room doesn't have very good sound proof facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room doesn't have very good sound proof facilities. I could hear very clearly each time when were people using the stairs. Some pre-packaged breakfast had mould

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    6.3
    COMFORTABLE & CHARMING BUT COULD BE BETTER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apart from the hotel's 'charm', location, parking & pleasant staff, if still seems to lack something that other Mercure hotels and other similar priced chain hotels have. The wardrobe in our room was missing a handle, the bedroom door stay prevented the door from opening fully, there were only paper cups for tea/coffee, there was no bacon one morning for the American or English breakfast, our bathroom had peeling wallpaper around the window. On 2 previous visits, we've had to draw attention to a disgusting room (drainage) smell and our bedroom door didn't lock and wasn't dealt with during our stay. If the sorts of issues I've highlighted were addressed, it would become a much better place to stay.

    We've stayed here a few times because we often visit friends who live invSt Germain en Laye. We like the location of the hotel and, in it's own way, it is 'charming'. This time it was for a wedding and the hotel offered reasonable value for money. Our room/bathroom (although s standard room) was actually more comfortable than previous visits.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    10
    Friendly boutique hotel in peaceful Paris suburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked to have had shampoo and hair conditioner provided, but I came prepared with my own. Though the shower gel worked for me, I prefer using a large bar of soap.

    I was traveling alone. The staff were always helpful and welcoming to me. I very much enjoyed the size of my room and room amenities...it had everything I needed. I found the food more than adequate for my needs. I qwould return and recommend it to friends who don't wish to stay in the heart of congested Paris.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.7
    Ligging en aardig personeel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They planned a wedding party that started around 11pm and lasted till 1am. The event was straight underneath our room. We understood that this happens nearly every weekend. So, we suggest that you check their planning before you book! Another point for improvement is the bread and vinoiserie during breakfast: Poor quality.

    Ligging en aardig personeel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    8.3
    Quaint yet savvy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight smell of cabbage in the bathroom and the addition of an iron and ironing board in the room would be beneficial

    The staff were accommodating and friendly! Cute hotel in an amazing location :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    6.7
    Decent experience but too warm in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WAY too warm in the room. The window was impossible to open, and not possible adjust temperature. This destroyed the whole experience

    Nice room, big TV

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and a beautiful location looking out on trees everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited space to put clothes and possessions away tidily. A few hooks for things would improve that problem.

    The kettle in the room was a bonus. We could make tea!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower gel for my two day stay! Not able to gain internet access - name/room number did not match. Female member of staff on reception when I arrived on the first evening was NOT friendly and seemed not to want to speak in English!.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    Very useful
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restaurant in evening

    Quirky

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    Lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of character

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add to this as everything was perfect. Look forward to the next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant and the bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    5.8
    location was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room small

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.9
    Quiet part of Saint Germain, yet very accessible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are really small

    Quiet part of Saint Germain, yet very accessible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very Clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.2
    Situation excellente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Situation, services, calme

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast.....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    8.8
    Staff very kindly ordered pizza in for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Travelling on bicycles it was to far from town. Also no food available. Definitely not fabulous!!!

    Staff very kindly ordered pizza in for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing for the moment

    Everything is perfect... I will let my friends know that hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.7
    Lovely vintage Hotel within a nice area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet and floor were not really clean and the breakfast was just below average.

    The look from outside and the general location was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Large room, very clean, comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    4.6
    Short but not sweet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room Stupidly small shower Very poor restaurant choice, food not great and very expensive

    Breakfast acceptable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.5
    hot breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    scrambled eggs too runny

    hot breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.6
    Spacious rooms, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better, the selection was poor

    Spacious rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    9.6
    Everyone was helpful and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have used coffe available in lobby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    10
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's so quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    10
    Clean, spacious, comfortable bed, great location, nice decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small elevator

    Clean, spacious, comfortable bed, great location, nice decor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    7.1
    Walk distance to the castle and city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast.

    Walk distance to the castle and city centre. Modern furniture. Small room but sufficiently equipped. Wifi ok. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2016

    7.1
    The reception staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the worst-fitted out Mercure privilege room we've ever stayed in. The room itself is very big, but workable for only one person. The wardrobe had the rail fitted from front to back so getting clothes in and out very difficult. Plenty of room to have it run sideways like conventional wardrobes.Only 1 chair, then in a huge bathroom, no shelf along wall for toiletries (shelf under basin needed for towels). A 2-seater couch could easily have fitted at base of bed, and there's plenty of room for another chair. We both have to travel with laptops, so one of us had to sit on bed to work. Disappointing for a lovely hotel.

    The reception staff were great. Gent behind bar 1st night wonderful, but gent doing food service next 2 nights was off-hand.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    9.2
    Clean, beautiful location, good value for money, wi fi in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Night receptionists need to smile more and be a little more friendly and welcoming .... and some more outdoor lighting needed along paths to buildings, especially the very last building as its so dark down there.

    Clean, beautiful location, good value for money, wi fi in the room had good signal, 10 minute walk into the town for cafes, bars, restaurants etc, opposite beautiful park

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    7.5
    Delicious pumpkin soup served in the restaurant - but that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No other food available on weekend evenings - not surprising as no-one seems to venture in this direction then! (towards the forest as opposed to into town).

    Delicious pumpkin soup served in the restaurant - but that was the only hot food on the menu on a very cold January evening!

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    5.4
    Location was good and there was some old world charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Owing to RER delays, i arrived after midnight my last night there only to discover the hotel locked. The night clerk was nowhere to be found. I felt very sorry for the young couple with a toddler in the same boat as me. No apologies -- just more rudeness. The next day I was charged for 2 breakfasts I did not have. The room is next to the street and a loud, idling diesel interrupted my sleep. I won't be back.

    Location was good and there was some old world charm. Dieudonné was very helpful my first night.

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2015

    9.2
    Nice Location, Look of the overall hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Not a great choice of food for evening meals. Not a lot of choice for cook breakfast. I wouldn't say its worth paying 17 euros for breakfast with so little on offer.

    Nice Location, Look of the overall hotel

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2015

    7.5
    Well-appointed, clean, comfortable room, though the bathroom...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant service was very poor, because the number of staff available for service was inadequate. Restricted choice of food and a fairly dull selection for a restaurant in a premier part of France.

    Well-appointed, clean, comfortable room, though the bathroom was a little dated. Good location. The breakfast was good too.

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2015

    8.3
    Room was clean modern and tidy and even has a little fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is expensive

    Room was clean modern and tidy and even has a little fridge. Small room but that was not a problem. The breakfast is nice and has a bit of evrything. During the weekend the breakfast buffet has long opening hours (till 11!)

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2015

    7.9
    This is a "makeover" of a hotel I have stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I requested coffee for my room (the kettle and tea were there and decaf) which took the major part of the day; it took 2 days to get me a plastic "glass" and a bar of soap for my sink. They need to attend to the small stuff in that they did such a great job with the big stuff.

    This is a "makeover" of a hotel I have stayed in for 15+ years -- quite a treat to see what Mercure has done -- rooms, public rooms, bar, breakfast/lunch area -- well done.

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    9.2
    Overall the hotel was excellent the facilities were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    My only one problem l had was on the final day l had to wait so while before l got the bill as the reception was one the phone for some while and queue started so l went to my room and waited 20 minutes before coming down again. This time l paid promptly.

    Overall the hotel was excellent the facilities were very good, and the staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2015

    7.5
    We have stayed here before and the location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The coffee/tea making facilities in the room were poor. Having to use paper cups and the very poor quality tea and coffee offered was sad.

    We have stayed here before and the location is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    9.2
    We came back from a party at the middle of the night, at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We came back from a party at the middle of the night, at around 3am. Told the receptionist that we were starving, but had no food, could he give something for us? He hesitated for a moment as the kitchen was obviously closed, but then he took us to the dining area, uncovered some fruits, yogurt, juices, cheese and bread and told us "feel free to help yourself". Even didn't accept money afterwards, when we wanted to pay and said "oh, that food there is actually for myself to grab something during the night shift, so it's free"... we were speechless. A perfect example of the highest level of hospitality. Glad we stayed there. Will definitely do next time.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    10
    convenient for local restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower bizarre

    convenient for local restaurants. Stored bikes. Good for Avenue Verte

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    7.9
    It was very close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi access was poor.

    It was very close to everything.

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2016

    6.7
    small canelets at breakfast apreciated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    difficult to have the invoice right from the first try

    small canelets at breakfast apreciated

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2016

    7.9
    The refurbishment work looks good so far.
    • Group

    New bar furniture - uncomfortable and hideously coloured

    The refurbishment work looks good so far.

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    8.8
    Nice comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Cleaners coming into the room as I was about to get into the shower

    Nice comfy room

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    6.7
    The room, the bed and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Slow WIFI, no toothpaste.

    The room, the bed and the location

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2015

    9.6
    Newly refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Newly refurbished. Quiet location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    9.6
    5-10 min walk from centre and station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    5-10 min walk from centre and station Friendly staff Nice décor Comfy room

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Mercure Paris Ouest St Germain Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: