Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Esplan 3 stars

15, Place De L'esplan, 26130 Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Charming hotel, excellent food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no hot water in my room - though I let the water run for app 10 minutes. I had to have a cold shower from a very poor shower "head"

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Character, excellent food and staff combined to make our stay at L'Espan a memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hardly a thing

    The food and service was impeccable. Stephen at the front desk, in spite of language difficulties (on both sides) could not do more to make our stay comfortable. His thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    - Very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Door lock a bit hard to close and no lights outside the apartment, had to use phone torch when coming back late in the evening

    - Very friendly staff - Dinner menu for hotel guests really nice and very reasonably priced, changed daily - Great selection at breakfast buffet - Wifi works in all areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    The bed was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad dinner experience at hotel. I had to wait nearly an hour for the first serving (foie gras). The cheese serving with the most expensive menu was 3 standard cheeses like the ones you can buy in the mini-markets. 3 waiters to serve only 7 customers, but a lot of waiting time. Rated as a fine restaurant in Logis de France with 3 cocottes. To me it was only 1 cocotte. I was my first and last visit here.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, but the bathroom is outdated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place, but the bathroom is outdated. Clean though. I took a room "Charme", honestly, I have no idea what was so charming about it, it looked like standard motel room to me. Just a bit too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    We relocated tp this hotel from another property given location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bedroom and bathroom was old and dated similar to quality of 1-2 star older motel room.

    Location was superb

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    The building, the location, the character of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor to room

    The building, the location, the character of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Regular
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are old, breakfast too expensive.

    Agreable staff and comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good stop-over.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Very adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Average standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff helpful

    Informality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Lovely room and value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Location - interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff we met were very patronising.

    Location - interesting town. Food in restaurant very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Historical hotel in charming small city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The very nice people of the staff, pleasant and relevant - The beautiful medieval old town including the hotel - The city market

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in the center of town
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cadette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were comfortable but a little shabby and could have been cleaned a little better.

    The restaurant was very good and the hotel well-situated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.8
    Location, restaurant, staff and rooms ( the renovated ones)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower quality. Further the non-renovated rooms are really basic. The advice is to book a renovated one

    Location, restaurant, staff and rooms ( the renovated ones)

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.3
    Comfortable beds, good airco, good breakfast, nice location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rather poor choice for dinner, old plumbing gives an unclean impression, "sanitary smell" in room, table napkins in restaurant sticky.

    Comfortable beds, good airco, good breakfast, nice location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Hood location in the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom a bit outdated, and could use a new showerheas.

    Hood location in the centre. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    Food was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was lovely

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    The owner was very friendly and accommodating to our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly and accommodating to our needs

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous breakfasts

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: