Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Esplanade 2 stars

1, Boulevard Leblois, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#72 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1981 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    - Room is nice and clean and bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bathroom was way too small - Breakfast options were very limited - Walls are thin, I could hear the people next door talking

    - Room is nice and clean and bed was comfortable - Hotel staff was very helpful - Location is not very far from city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soup was provided in the bathroom.

    Very good location. Tram stop just outside the hotel. Easy to reach both the city center and the European Institutions, ECHR, European Parliament and Council of Europe on a 20 min walking distance. Nice, clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location with parking available on the road outside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a double room but a little on the small side and the decor and fittings were modern but basic. There was no air con and we had a balcony window on the front of the building which has a busy road junction outside so it was noisy if you left the window open during the night

    The location of the hotel was great as almost next to the tram into the city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    A simple but nice hotel, not far from the sights in Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It has 'Parking' shown as a facility when you book, but this is public parking which you have to pay for between 9.00 - 19.00 and can only stay for max 5 hours. It does say this on description if you look in more detail, but I missed this as I had used the booking.com filter to find only hotels with parking during my search - and it comes up when you do this. As mentioned we were given a space, but there was only 1 free in a tiny car park when we arrived so I think we got lucky. Also the carpet in the corridors could really do with replacing.

    A simple hotel which provided us with exactly what we needed for a 2-night break in Strasbourg. Clean room with a comfy bed and the shower was really good. Staff were lovely and gave us a parking space outside the front. Location is good - right next to a tram stop to get into town centre quickly, or you can walk 15 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was cheap (8.5 Eur) but not very good. I would advise not to take it. Building is outdated.

    Staff was friendly. Quiet location, just steps away from the botanical garden. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Immediately after we checked in and entered our room, staff entered our room with the keys! She said sorry but we can be naked when she entered in! The room was so dusty and dirty. The shower was so narrow. It is near the tram station but so far from the city centre. I can't suggest this hotel!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    we slept very good, had good and fresh beds every day, room was nicely cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had to wait for warm water for a long time, there was only cool water in the beginning

    the beds and pillows were very good, room was with good temperature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the neighbouring room who had a kid who kept screaming and shouting. Even the adults were shouting as well. Fortunately they left around 9pm and we had some peace. We could hear the doors closing and opening and people talking next door or next building.

    Staff were very nice. They provided coffee and tea in the room.room was comfy and location was good.just a tram ride away from Gare Central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Very basic, but a good value for money in Strasbourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic, but a good value for money in Strasbourg. The staff was very nice and they rent out bikes for 6 euros per day which is really a great way to discover the city. Also by bike from the hotel to the city centre is just 5-6 min!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like Esplanade Hotel Strasbourg. Its a fantastic place to stay in Strasbourg. I am recommending everyone. I am particularly impressed by the hospitality and cordial staff members.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    bed was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. breakfast was not good. 2. The washing basin was broken and looked very dangerous. 3. we can clearly hear all the sounds from next room.

    bed was ok. it's near the old town area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, very thin walls and maybe windows made it hard to sleep. The hairdryer in our room was very weak and not hot enough to dry hair.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, let us leave our bags throughout the day we arrived and left. The room and bathroom were spacious, lots of room and comfortable beds! Very close to tram stop made it really easy to get about.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is perfect to see the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too loud. You could hear the cleaning outside of your room, the cars outside on the streets!

    The location is perfect to see the city. The tram is directLy at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for 2 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not really intriguing. They need to improve to have something freshly made in order to justify 8.5 euros.

    Location was quite convinient as it had metro station right next to it. Tram C from Center will directly take you to esplanade stop. Neighborhood is quiet and peaceful in the night. Although my room was facing the road, did not hear any street noise. Heating system was exceptionally good. I had to turn it off every night to sleep else it was as if being in a furnace :D. Room was spacious and all the time there were nice and welcoming English speaking staff members at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location for budget traveler with car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was supposed to be queen but only a full so very cramped sleeping with my husband. Pretty soft (old?) mattress. Very small bathroom.

    Great location by tram just two stops from old town. Across from bakery (so we skipped buffet breakfast) and homey Italian restaurant. Plentiful, affordable metered street parking in residential/school neighborhood. Hotel's facilities are very clean but worn. We arrived a little early so were put in room with a full bed and a twin instead of just the queen bed we'd reserved. Great wifi. Friendly staff gave great food & tourist recommendations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very clean , comfortable rooms. Very nice pleasant staff. On main tam routes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i cant fault this accomadation it was perfect for my needs.

    very clean and very nice and helpful staff. Not a 4 star Hotel thou perfect for short breaks. I have stayed twice as it near the university and i was visiting my son. Perfect location to all tram lines.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely cold. The radiator was not working and there was no heater/AC in the room. In addition to all that coldness, hot water was not running. The house keeping staff was so loud and impolite in the morning around 7 am, even though there was the "do not disturb" sign on my door.

    The frontdesk staff was so friendly and polite. The hotel is so close to the University which is very convenient for international visiting professors and students.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The perfect hotel at the perfect place for the perfect price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was clean, easy to find, staff was helpful, parking was great, close to the city center. I would not call it romantic but it was good for every day lodging.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.3
    so so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi is very bad. And I booked a triple beds room, but one bed is barely broken so my friend's back painful during the days we stay. The cleaning lady or suppler didn't supply the instant coffee and tee every day.

    Heating is good. The room is clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Oh, Strasbourg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toaletries OK. Staff was not fond of many words. The elevator was kind of rump. And the doorkey did not work in the second day. I was closed there.

    Nice location, close to TRAM, European institutions, beautiful churches, restaurants of all kinds. Walking through Strasbourg from the Hotel Esplanade proved a very romantic experience. For this, I decided to prolongue the stay for another day. Accomplished room, with a comfortable bed and a simple, but functional, bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Value for money in a relatively expensive city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drove and the parking issue is not as easy as made out on the booking.com website. There is only street parking available on meters, or with a 24 hour pass purchased at reception. Not so easy with pigeon French and receptionist with no English and no knowledge of the parking system. The description of the parking needs to be more expansive. I book properties knowing that I can drive and park easily and more importantly securely. Metered street parking is not secure.

    Location out by the University and an easy walk into town was great. Breakfast in the morning was decent value for money. The hotel is an independent, a little dated but has had some reforms which bring it satisfactorily up to date.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Not a bad idea if you have little time to spend in the room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean with clean bedsheets and toilet, that's all. The television can not stand without support and forget it If you don't speak French. There's no table, the only stand can not accommodate the TV and tea tray.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Simple, clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were very thin (which might not be a problem for everyone) and there was no shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Tea and coffee in the room was a welcome surprise. But the greatest perk was the central heating which kept us toasty after a long evening trawling the Christmas market in the snow!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    This hotel made our 3 day trip very enjoyable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative about this hotel.

    Loved this hotel! Very nice room, friendly staff and great location for our visit to Christmas markets. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    About what I'd expected for the price during the Christrmas Market period.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor was a little tired - too much black paint doesn't help; tv could have been better; persistent rattle from window every time wind blew. Needs some tlc and it will be fine.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very convenient location for university.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    3.3
    Hotel is shabby and dirty. Ok if you get a good deal and treat as youth hostel type accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was shabby and dirty! If you got a deal and paid a youth hostel type price I guess you can live with it, but for 50EUR or more the standard should be higher.

    I only went there to sleep between two busy days so didn't mind the dirtyness etc too much - but really. Not much positive to say apart from free WiFi and a standard bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    No soap given on a holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ran out of soap. Seriously?! We came for one night, a holiday when even the shops are closed and the hotel couldn’t offer a simple hygiene item like SOAP! I felt disgusting. Literally felt dirty and unhygienic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Good price, good location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not the most comfortable. Maybe ok for one person. Breakfast a bit expensive for what it is, but having read the hotel's comments on other reviews, I have a feeling this might be typical in France. Overall though, the price we paid for the room was very good, so can't really complain.

    Good location right next to tram stop, and just a few stops from the centre of Strasbourg. Staff very friendly. We got there early but the friendly guy on reception let us check in. The hotel and room was clean. Room was warm thanks to an extra heater we had. Shower was really good. Nice view from top floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Perfect centric position for incredibly small price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow at the evening when everyone was in.If you are in a bussiness trip and need to work with the internet in the evening it might be problematic.Although I worked after midnight and early in the morning and the connection was good then. You can hear each and every step of your neighbours. The breakfast buffet might seem very plain to you.But still there is everything to have a good meal,just be creative. You have to wait around 5 min in the morning before the waters starts being warm in the shower.

    The best place for staying in Strasbourg - cheap,centric location and nice rooms. I was pleasantly surprised to find an acommodation for such a low price in the hotel in Strasbourg few days before arrival.I stayed in a room for 3 people.They change my bedsheets and towels every day!!! It is possible to use the iron from the reception that is big plus if it is your bussiness trip.The guy at the reception was the sweetiest person ever!Very nice,responsible and helpful. Next to the hotel there is a tram stop,15 min direct tram to the railway station. In the surrounding cafes,restaurants and supermarkets. I highly recommend the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great location next to a tram stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to a tram stop. Good bars and restaurants within walking distance. Very comfortable room, and we were allowed to check in very early, which we really appreciated after the night bus from Paris!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, very kind staff, basic accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit more of maintenance (not of the room itself but of the bathroom) should have improved the rate. The price was relatively high (but many hotels were full booked that week, because of the European Parliament monthly session)

    Good public transport connections (tramway lines). Not so far from the center. Very kind staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Reasonable but can be improved for sure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is not isolated from external noise (neighbours, street, corridor, etc.). Three single beds in the room, whereas I am alone. This reduces the space. The bed was too warm for a good sleep.

    Instant coffee and mugs were provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.6
    They let me park for free on their property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To hot, no air con. Very dirty and dated, no wifi. Broken shower. Noise outside all night from yobs and tram line.

    They let me park for free on their property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    Worse experience ever. Please reconsider your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, noisy room, we could hear flush noises all night long. We stayed in room no. 28. Worse was bathroom, clumsy and pathetic. Hardly space to stand or even take standing shower (only tub). Window was towards rear of building and sadistic view. Highly discourage people to stay more than 1 night. Perhaps other rooms are better. They have no parking space of their own and cars are parked outside on street.

    Location outside of city center, yet close. Parking is cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. Bathroom needs a renovation, the bed (double room) is too small for two people. No AC, under the roof it was quite warm...

    Directly at a tram station, good connection to center and other places. Quiet room to the back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable - great location for Strasbourg centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. For a budget hotel, it was excellent.

    Very clean, very friendly staff, great location - 5 min tram ride from city centre and trams very frequent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception desk was very bored and bitter. We arrived one hour before official check in time (14.00). Despite our kind request she did not want to hear about allowing us to check in a bit early. Almost all the room keys were on the dashboard at the reception desk when we arrived, so I find it really difficult to believe that there was no room available at that time. Apparently her shift was ending at 14.00 so she did not want to bother. So we wandered around in the rain with our backpacks... Other than that, the room was in a shabby condition, with stains on the walls and table, hair and dust all over the place. Walls are very thin and you can hear noise from all sides. Difficult to get a good night's sleep.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Good enough accommodation but do not expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not very comfortable and the room was generally rather dirty.

    Room was spacious enough for 3 and it's really easy to find parking along the street outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Reasonable good hotel, short distance to tram to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C in the rooms, the breakfast was expensive, but very simple

    Reasonable good hotel, short distance to tram to the city center. Plenty of parking in the street outside, helpful staff in reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    simple hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very good location: tram stop is just few meters away, you can get to the city center by foot in 20 min - breakfast was fine - the hotel offered a storage toom for bikes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value, clean, good location, not new, but well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price range no issues.

    Good location - right by the tram stop, near universities. 7 mins or so to get to old town. Not city centre though. Very nice personnel! Definitely clean, but the facility far from new or modern, but well kept. Comfortable bed, good breakfast. We recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    I really like this place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really like this place! They give you what they offer. Relaxed retro atmosphere, very friendly and proffesional staff. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, as you can walk to all important institutions such as the Council of Europe, on one side of the city, and to tourist attractions, such as Le Petit France, which is in the opposite direction.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    A very good hotel near to Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were really no bakeries nearby for breakfast; you had to walk a ways. There was one across the street but it was closed down. A gas station across the street sold food items and had an expresso machine, but when in France who wants to eat at a gas station? There was a pizzeria and restaurant for dinner very close. Many places in Strasbourg, though, and it is only a 5 minute tram ride or 15 minute walk. Also, no shower curtain in the bathroom but that is only a minor inconvenience.

    The hotel receptionist was very gracious and kind. I arrived early (1100) in order to park my car and walk around Strasbourg for the day. She allowed me to park in one of her reserved parking spots even though check-in wasn't until 1400 hrs. Also, I didn't want to pay the 8 Euros for the breakfast because I'm a light eater. She let me have a free cup of coffee. A bonus was she also spoke good English and helped me get directions on how to get around town. Also, I was surprised how quiet the room was as it was in close proximity to many others. I could hear people coming and going in the hallway but other than that nothing else. The room wasn't too cramped and was good for just wanting a place to spend the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    OK. Convenient location, friendly staff, good wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air co, so slept with windows open... can be quite noisy from street/tram. Could really feel the springs of the mattress. Bedroom floor and bathroom door could be better cleaned (haven't seen any detergent in a while), but over all ok.

    Very convenient location, several trams stop right next to the hotel. Universities around the corner, with several students places (bars and fastfood) too. Excellent free Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    For 45 euro a night it's a place to sleep. That's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated, the bed cover was stained, the bathrooms are severely dated, the walls need some paint. Looks more like a hostel than hotel.

    It's relatively easy to find and they have reception all night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite 'tired' eg. Worn out carpets, missing door handles etc

    Friendly guy checked us in and spoke good English, bike storage facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    See Strasbourg!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was ideal for exploring the city. Good transport links and if you wanted to walk you could. Nice park and gardens only 15 minutes away. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Good value for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The matress are quite old. For a couple of nights you can manage it, but if your stay is a little bit longer you will not wake up totally rest.

    Good location within walking distance to the city center. Besides there is a tram stop right in the corner. it is possible to park your car in the street just for 3 €/ day. Request the staff of the hotel a day parking card.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location, only 10 min walking distance from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfy and ok for one night but hotel and interior is all a bit old and not in the best shape. Had a window to the street which was a bit loud at night.

    Good location, only 10 min walking distance from the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location and quality-price ratio, old and not-so-clean rooms, poor breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is quite poor (no vegetables at all, one kind of cheapest cheese only etc.), definitely not worth its price. Luckily, I could cancel if for the remaining length of the stay. The staff is quite nice but pretty incompetent, I've asked for something related to the invoice in the e-mail before, upon the arrival and in the last night of the stay, and still last day in the morning the invoice wasn't correct nad the staff would be surprised with my question ;). The rooms are not very clean and everything is clearly really old, especially the bathroom.

    Good location, especially if you need to get to the European Institutions. The tram stop could not be any closer. The quality-price ratio is fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    the hotel was value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i must be check in after 2 pm

    i take tram to hotel directly,feel convenient to look around the city by tram,but the bed so soft make uncomfortable,simply breakfast but i accept based on the room price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Awesome Strasbourg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is satisfactory; it needs to be renovated soon though.

    Very well located, next to the University and at reasonable walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an older hotel, which has been modernized and has clean comfortable rooms. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I took the continental breakfast, which was good for the money. Also, and importantly for me, it is less than a block away from a tram stop There are a couple restaurants directly across the street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Good location, all the essentials are there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing major.

    Although hotel a bit dated, and needs a new stairs carpet, room was spacious, light and very clean. Shower pressure really good. Facilities are functional, no frills but that suits me fine. I don't go to a location to spend time in my room! Staff lovely and friendly. Location was perfect as I wanted to be near the university. Tram stop outside so local travel very easy. Convenience store, a couple of restaurants and tabac within 100m. Flagged as 2 star but much better than the two 3 star hotels have stayed in in Strasbourg during the last 6 months. Room cleaned every day unlike the 3 star hotels! Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Good location but need to improve in their beds quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable and it was impossible to sleep as you will falling constantly into the center.

    The hotel is very well situated, just 15mins walk from the centre in an area easy to park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    Good balance between price and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaner but it was aceptable. The hotel is noisy, walls seem to be made out of paper.

    Good balance between price and quality. The hotel has several train stops near by. It is easy to park the car in the surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the side of the road. Loud when the window was open but hot inside when we closed it.

    Near inner city, you can walk there or take the tram. Lift available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.3
    Location was fairly nice, rooms were quiet and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking next to streets with continuous time limitation, below decent breakfast (but not that crappy like in FR normally), cheap-o bed sheets (only one sided for blanket -yack-)

    Location was fairly nice, rooms were quiet and warm

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.8
    Hotel Esplanade Strassbourgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely horrible breakfast, I have rather canceled the second one, as the price of 8,5EUR did not fit, what we received. We have to ask for a bakery. Cheese and ham was not fresh and very little. I have never seen such a strange thing. In the hotel it was very noisy. Travelling with a lift with crowds of dirty laundry during the day. No parking at the hotel, only on the street behind the hotel.

    Good location close to the city center, right in front of the hotel is public transport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.3
    Very good deal for the money paid.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking lot insufficient but, with staff's help, manageable. V. convenient street paid parking in vicinity, anyway (3 euro/day).

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Wifi OK. Location v.good. Good public transportation coannection and in close walking distance from European Institutions.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.4
    Can be, if there is no choice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall feeling - not comfortable: cold room, bathroom stinks, ran down, no place to put clothes/shoes at the entrance. Wardrobe was placed in difficult accessible place, in the furthest corner of the room.

    Location, tram very close, we parked outside with no problem, dog was allowed, staff were very pleasant. we felt very welcome, given the map and explanations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.0
    Location is okay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the room, rooms were old with noisy doors and beds. Shower was accumulating water and bathroom didn't have a holder for toilet paper. Rooms were really noisy and breakfast was okay.

    Location is okay And it was cheap

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Cons Average Hotel. Friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is not near many attractions or center of city. The facilities are rather old, only breakfast is provided at an extra cost. Over Christmas period the town was basically closed and it was very difficult to find meals so you needed to go all the way into the center to find something as hotel did not offer alternate options.

    The staff were all very friendly. My room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.3
    The room I got was big.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are run down. The hotel is being renovated. I'm sure in a short time, they will have renewed the rooms.

    The room I got was big. They provided a kettle, coffee and tea. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you need to be near the university, the location is superb.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Good location, good food, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the stairs, as we normally do if possible, but they were poorly lit at night-time and painted dark brown in colour. Even a white stripe at the edge of each stair would be helpful.

    Buffet breakfast was generous. Very good coffee. No problem when we added a third person to our party for breakfast on 3 mornings of our stay. Convenient to the Observatoire tram stop.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    Affordable hotel for tourists intending to visit the city and come to hotel only for overnight
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    poor Wi-Fi signal, bathroom sink extremely small and difficult to use, appartment is not very clean

    cheap, tram very close to the hotel, friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Near Univ. Strasbourg. (But Wifi not functional. Breakfast poor.)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was very irregular, constant disconnections. Not functional for intensive use. Breakfast rather poor. i.e. No fruit.

    Location near university of Strasbourg (school of management). Room was on the corner, quite spacious, with plenty of light (4 windows).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little bit of noise since it's in front of the street but overall nothing too hard to deal with.

    Really close to the university, friendly stuff, clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Don't expect anything from this location. Its dirty, smells bad, the rooms are really really bad. Ma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect anything from this location. Its dirty, smells bad, the rooms are really really bad. Mattrases awful. Bathroom facilities are really bad. Almost afraid to take a shower or use the wc.

    Location. Really close to the city centre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Great value nice hotel with walkable distance to Strasbourg old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the bathroom was newly renovated it was missing a toilet roll holder, shower head holder and tissues would have been nice. The wood floors were quite dusty and the walls had some marks that should have been cleaned up. The hotel internet was very patchy and weak so it was hard to get a signal but our room was better than other rooms. There is no elevator but there are many floors so I wouldn't recommend taking too much heavy luggage with you. There was a city tax of 80c per person added on top of the room rate at the end of our stay.

    We had room 36 which was a nice room with a big bay window. It had a newly renovated bathroom and comfortable bed and overall great value for money (€39.40 total including city tax). It costs €1 for 3 hours street parking and something like €3 per day. Strasbourg old town is not so far away and easily walkable. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.3
    Low Cost Alternative in Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not really have a parking garage (only 2 space which are occupied) but plenty of space around on the streeet to park and you can get a day parking ticket from the reception so you don't have to come back every 3 hours. the bathroom for me was uncomfortable, the toilet wash basin etc.. the room was a bit warm. I guess the hotel needs a bit of renovation. the breakfast was quite poor (but what do you expect for 2,5 eur pp ??) we could not make internet work!

    The Hotel has a good value for money ratio. If you have limited budget and you don't have high expectations or intention to stay in the hotel ( which you should not do in any hotel in Strasbourg - better to be out!). The lady in the reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.4
    It is a fairly good hotel but take your fan with you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a horrible experience for me in the first 2 nights of my stay. I was placed first in a room looking at the main street where the tram runs. The temperature was over 30 degrees C and no AC or fan was available. The noise from the tramway was awful and I could not sleep for one minute. On the next day I was moved to a small room with no fan either. In general, the rooms have old furniture and are not clean. There is 0 sound proof in the hotel at all. The elevator was out of order, which makes it difficult to carry luggage to up-stairs.

    The location is good and the staff are nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No working elevator. An entire floor is in repairs, dusty and dirty. No selection of guests, during our stay there was also a large group of young teens staying who wouldn't stop making terrible noise and running up and down the stairs and between rooms with no one from the staff caring about the ruckus. Several guests were very angry and had to confront the group to get some sleep, terrible situation, not the place for such a teen vacation.

    Clean and comfortable room. Night staff was very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    4.6
    value but shortfalls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking you have to park in Street at nearest space then pay 3e per day. Lift didn't work room on 4th floor & 33deg heat. Basin all cracked and dirty. No a/C in room but had shutter thankfully. Very noisy as trams pass outside and middle of student area but all part of life there.

    Staff very helpful. Had 3 separate beds! Not far from centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    5.0
    not for long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it needs renovation. there was no internet connection at all in spite that was included to the description of the hotel and a username and a passcode was provided to us from the reception.

    good position.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: