Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel L'Etoile Bleue 2 stars

1 Rue Miguel de Cervantès , 33700 Mérignac, France

#28 of 33 hotels in Mérignac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, no frills motel close to Bordeaux Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real complaints !

    This more of a motel than a hotel (that's not a complaint !) and it is very convenient for Bordeaux airport (about 7mins drive) and at a good price. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are functional and pretty basic and do need a little freshening up, but as I was staying for one night and arrived late evening, the room was fine for my needs. Continental only breakfast fine. While it looked like lots of people were staying, the motel was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.3
    I do not like staying on an industrial estate and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room reeked of bleach. It was like a garden shed with a bed and corner for washing. We complained and paid to upgrade to a "comfort room" which was a bit bigger and had a duvet but smelled of boiled cabbage. Very basic but clean.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Plus Double Room for 1 or 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    English speaking personal, booked room was free of charge upgraded to air conditioned one. Close to the location (5 minutes drive) a huge mall is located with Carrefour supermarket. The hotel is just 5 minutes from Bordeaux belt motorway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    2 nights stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fried breakfast and no fridge in the room to keep drinks cool on a extremely hot day.

    The pool and the lay out of the hotel.. the grounds we lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    OK for an overnight prior to an early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievnigh nighttime noise from other guests. A group arrived about 11.30 and spent the next two hours calling to each other, standing outside making noise and running from room to room. Reception shut so no-one to call.

    Clean, good location, friendly staff, good room, restaurant fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    I would stay here again, was cheap and cheerful but the staff really made it better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jug of milk for cereal and coffee in the restaurant had gone off. The shower was fluctuating between too hot and then freezing cold.

    The location was great and the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Ok for the money, but wouldn't recommend staying more than 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area smelled dirty, as did our room, although initially the smell of bleach overpowered everything! The bedlinen was immaculately clean, but the mattress was far too soft, and there was only one pretty flat pillow each, and neither my husband nor I slept well, and woke up with backache. Towels were pretty thin! We were assured by the gentleman at reception that the restaurant opened at 6 45 am, but when we arrived at 7am, there was no-one around, the door was locked and the lights were off so we were obliged to start the day without even à cup of coffee ! Not the best way to start à long day.

    The parking was very convenient, just in front of the room. The shower was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay. Close to local shops and restaurants. Friendly. Basic. Would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows did not lock. I would not leave anything precious in and felt a bit uncomfortable therefore overnight with kids as it was too hot to close the windows but the door could easily be opened by reaching in through the window. They struggled to keep up with restocking the breakfast buffet to keep up with guests. A bit of ham or cheese would have been nice (rather than just jam and cakes).

    Very basic and a bit tired but very clean. Easy access off the motorway. Quick easy check-in. Friendly staff. Pool was open until 22.00 and from 9am. Not big but great for a splash after our journey. Simple breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Good place close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I have to go by taxi as stupid Europcar didn t keep my rental long enough. Taxi was upset all the way because it was too short. Drove fast, complain all the road. Typical French taxi attitude - Room is soso for a family with 2 kids. Too small. Even difficult to open the suitcase

    - Staff was nice and helpful, either at reception or cleaning lady - Breakfast is nice and the outside eating place is great if sunshine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Better rooms okay and fairly close to Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms First room didn't have air con had to upgrade at extra cost! Second room had air con. Impossible to sleep in a small room with no aircon. Wasn't clear on booking.com that some rooms did not have air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Okay stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu limited and very poor quality.The wine in carafe to be avoided as it was poor quality. the breakfast was very basic.

    The hotel situation for our travels South to Spain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Good CHEAP hotel with easy access nice and quiet very good for the two night I stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could say was anything less than good was the WiFi because it dropped out for me a few times but I stayed two night so it was important to have communication to be fair it may have been something the staff at the check in could have dealt with but I was too lazy to go there. It did work but it dropped out too many times for me.

    Bed was clean and comfortable the shower was more than adequate. The audio visual was good too. It was really good to be able to park my car immediately at the door of my room. I have to be honest when you are paying €33 per night it is very difficult to find a fault with the room I was provided with.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Close to airport and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a stop close to the airport. Great to be able to park right outside the door to unload the car before returning it . Breakfast was very good too for 7 euro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Great location near Bordeaux airport, very helpful staff.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needed some fresh air as they has a strange smell.

    Great location near Bordeaux airport, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Probably better in the Spring and Summer.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and cold.

    Dinner and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    Expensive and uninspiring for this very basic accommodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Double Room for 1 or 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Hot drink facilities, Resturant to be open.this was a Friday night. No where near to get food etc

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was good & it was conveniently located near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and very basic.

    Breakfast was good & it was conveniently located near freeway exit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Our stay was ok. the restaurant was very good the food was good. we would book again a better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room required a bit more sparkle and freshening up

    The room was smelt slightly musty and it was drab. The television did not work ( no signal )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Basic and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sitting outside with a beer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location and good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 to 2 people
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedspread was old and had seen better days

    Convenient location and good parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    the location was a bit further than I would like from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location was a bit further than I would like from the center of the city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Being able to park outside our door was a huge bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been good to have been able to open the window.

    Being able to park outside our door was a huge bonus. We were able to keep our dog with us and the grounds surrounding the hotel made taking her for a walk very easy. The room was small but comfortable and clean and with a little re-arranging of the chair there was room for the dog basket. The receptionist on duty when we arrive made us welcome and a beer and wine in the bar was most welcome after our long drive, in the rain, from Spain. The hotel was easy to find (admittedly with the sat nav) and convenient for the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    The staff were really kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were really kind and helpful. We had arrived late and after the restaurant had closed but on both occasions we were provided with an excellent and very delicious meal. Thanks very much for making us feel so very welcome this was much appreciated after two very long journeys

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    It was great that you had your own front door (motel style)...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was great that you had your own front door (motel style) as when you have a dog with you i find this is the ideal set up. The room was great, wifi fast, and i liked that there was a central bar/restaurant area - although i didn't get time to use it. The staff were really friendly and gave me tips about where to walk the dog locally.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Family of 5 (2 adults, 2 teenagers and a 3 year old)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family of 5 (2 adults, 2 teenagers and a 3 year old) travelling to the south of france this was a perfect stop over, parking out side our two rooms, dip in the pool to refresh after being in the car all day before a lovely dinner, good night sleep on a comfy and clean bed, and breakfast before hitting the road again - will stay their again in the future

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.3
    Great location for our 1st stop on a 3-Day trip to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room, Beds & Décor very dated.

    Great location for our 1st stop on a 3-Day trip to the Algarve - Very easily accessed from the motorway and close to town & restaurants - Basic but very clean - does what it says at the price

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    staff very helpful nice restaurant shame it didnot open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    walls very thin had to go out for food sunday night

    staff very helpful nice restaurant shame it didnot open weekends but very busy so they open it up saturday night

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Location for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty basic, especially the bathroom. A bit noisy from the nearby road.

    Location for an overnight stay

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.5
    Good coffee and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so much what we didn't like but this is a basic hotel, fine for a night!

    Good coffee and nice people. Well located and good value for money

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.9
    independent access in chalet style block,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very hard to find for first timer. My Garmin Sat Nav did not recognise the address as given on web.

    independent access in chalet style block,

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    We stayed at this hotel while traveling through to Spain,...
    • Family with young children

    We stayed at this hotel while traveling through to Spain, the hotel was really good for what we paid. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Gardens and small pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Intermittant lack of hot water in shower. Shoogly toilet! BUT Staff tried their best to rectify.

    Gardens and small pool. Breakfast alfresco.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    5.0
    Cheap motel on way to Spain conveniently situated close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very comfortable and smelt strongly of smokers.

    Cheap motel on way to Spain conveniently situated close to motorway. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.3
    the food, friendly staff, friendly to the dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Water seeping through the wall leaving a very damp patch on to the floor.

    the food, friendly staff, friendly to the dog

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    wifi basically does not work in the rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi basically does not work in the rooms!!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Great location with a pool nice owner excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location with a pool nice owner excellent price

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent budget hotel, clean rooms and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Excellent budget hotel, clean rooms and good food.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    4.2
    wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pool under construction, very poor breakfast, if you without car very bad location, noise in morning from 8am

    wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Peaceful location with easy access from main ring road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connectivity poor from the room.

    Peaceful location with easy access from main ring road. Comfortable bed. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Easy parking, no noise, very relaxing stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cant think of anything for what we paid

    Easy parking, no noise, very relaxing stopover. Just what we needed to break up our long jorney down to spain

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    6.7
    Leaving
    • Couple

    Impossible to find. Had to employ a taxi to show me the way

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    5.8
    Very basic accommodation close to airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic accommodation close to airport. Okay for one night to link with late flight. Otherwise nothing to recommend.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    5.4
    Hotel 10 minutes close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed is mall

    Hotel 10 minutes close to the airport.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: