Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madame Vacances Hôtel Le Mottaret*** 3 stars

Chemin des Chardons 7, Meribel-Mottaret, 73550 Méribel, France

#19 of 56 hotels in Méribel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    For value, atmosphere and location - superb. Staff great. Looking at booking 20 of us next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room and beds could have been a little more spacious. But nit picking.

    Young staff, created a relaxed, but efficient enviroment. Nothing was too much trouble. Good vibe around the place - guests mixing with staff and each other. Great buffet, both for breakfast and dinner. Very handy and helpful ski rental place. We even got a coffee and packed lunch to send us on our way at 6am when we checked out! Would definetely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great skiing, fab location, delicious food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heard from one of the staff that they're going to build a swimmin g pool in a few years time... that would make it better! Can't wait til it's finished!

    Staff very attentive, couldn't do more to help. Food great, particular starters at dinner. Oysters, Langoustines, Smoked Salmon, Foie Gras, to name but a few of the amazing things to eat! Bedrooms very comfortable, stunning views and ski in, ski out location hard to beat!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    A Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst place I’ve stayed in since joining booking.com. Totally mislead by the photographs on booking.com. The standard room is not as the pictures shown. Doors and frames were painted purple, our room or red, kids room. Everything was chipped, side tables and paintwork as well as very dusty. Bathroom had been renovated but it was dirty. Looked like the tradesman was in a hurry to complete it. Lighting under the bathroom sink had loose wiring. Had a door nail to hang one of our towels, the other had a proper towel hook. Did not replenish soap or other toiletries such as toilet paper. I asked why the rooms were in such a bad state as it’s not the same as advertised. They said, renovated rooms are for superior rooms only. I considered upgrading until I saw the boot and ski room. The boot room was old and smelly, it did not keep our boots dry. The ski rack area was in a different room in the basement. Only way to access was via very steep stairs. Breakfast was ordinary, runny scrambled eggs, oily bacon, canned fruit and frozen berries. Hot tub too small. To say that the facilities were below par is not an understatement.

    Location, could ski in and out. Staff were very nice. Good bread at breakfast. Nice bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Really nice hotel and staff just a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom a bit small especially the separate toilet. Evening meal was average. Expensive for the room the room

    Staff super friendly, twin room nice. Breakfast very good. Bar/lounge area very nice and relaxing. Nice hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    The entire staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was perfect

    The entire staff were fantastic. Regina operated the front desk amazingly and helped set up a shower room for us on the last day, which allowed us to check out and ski for a full day before coming back to shower and catch our flight. Thierry and Lawrence were fantastic and very friendly bartenders making all sorts of different cocktails off the menu and telling us where all the best evening spots in both Meribel and Mottaret were. Tanguy ran the restaurant very well. The food was excellent, with lots of options. Agata and her houskeeping staff were super efficient. The night porter Dilyan also helped a couple of us when we came back a bit too drunk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Lobby with the fireplace, good food, the location and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure about quality of cleaning. I’ve seen a good result after my reclamation, thank the girl on reception for the fast reaction.

    Lobby with the fireplace, good food, the location and a kindness of receptionists. Maybe I would like to stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    10/10 would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    tv signal in room wavered 46 inch pasonic was great tho

    shower was new and powerful,staff extremely helpful,lounge area and bar perfect and breakfast was great...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant hotel for teenagers and young people. Perfect location. Bit Fawlty Towers on occasion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Management seemed a bit shambolic. There were always people complaining about something The staircase from ski boot room to ski room was treacherous, no-one was clearing the snow and ice. We booked and paid extra for 2 superior rooms but all the double rooms were the same. They had lost the key to one of the rooms so we didn't get access until 5pm The housekeeping staff seemed a bit under staffed

    The bar staff were fantastic. They made New Years Eve the best party ever. Completely impromptu but an overwhelming success. The location is perfect. The bar area is really nice, comfortable, spacious and warm. The hot tub was fantastic for the teenagers The beds were very comfortable and firm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Areas to improve - Mattresses too hard heating in rooms - too hot or too cold in older part of hotel Lift did not work - needs fixing for luggage Boot room - poor

    Good Location- ski in and out access to town easy Friendly staff - excellent New Year party! Breakfast really good Rooms clean ski room good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, lovely location. Will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BreakfAst a little disorganised. Coffee machine not really up to the job and neither was the toaster. Porridge some days but not others. Buffet food not hot enough and orange marmalade would have been nice. Crepes would have been nicer kept warm. Staff all lovely though

    Complimentary tea and coffee and pastries a nice touch. Staff excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Good hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot tub is right next to the main entrance and road, not really a problem just seemed a bit odd at first.

    Good location, comfy beds, great shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There's free muffins and donuts everywhere...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we weren't very happy with was the time of breakfast- from 7,15 to 9,15. At the snowy day we wanted to wake up later and usually in hotels the breakfast is served until 10. Late sleepers have the possibility of breakfast at the bar, but it's not the same. But some guests came for breakfast even at 9,20 and the staff was very nice and let them eat their breakfast after the "closing time". As described above, you will not be hungry, you have the possibility to eat at the bar or take some donuts on the floor but if you want some warm food you have to wake up earlier.

    We've had superior room and it was very nice and well equiped with new furniture and a big TV. We appreciated tea,coffee and donuts on each floor but the water was cold in the afternoon when we cane back after ski. But,it's only a detail, when we asked for a hot water at the bar they gave us as much as we wanted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.5
    Excellent direct ski access to the slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was consistently poor. Desserts regularly ran out, leaving little choice, if any.

    Excellent direct ski access to the slopes. Great views from the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money, better options around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room (double instead of the triple booked) uneffective staff (reception, bar, etc.), poor value for money

    Friendly staff, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location in Mottaret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location in Mottaret. Great value for money. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Super-friendly staff, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some issues communicating prior to stay via booking.com.

    Super-friendly staff, great food. Few meters to piste.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    We had a nice long weekend in Meribel de Mottaret
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was super kind, helpful and also cosy. We slept in the newly renovated room, which was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty rooms, not the room I thougjt I had booked!!

    Great staff. Good testaurant, with snow wonderful location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.0
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not very clean, very bad wifi connection, modest food

    Central location (city center)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    Great ski-in ski-out hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Mottaret
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit shabby upstairs.

    Loved the ski in and out, pool table, jacuzzi, staff, singer , bathroom, bar and lounge!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    5.8
    Location was good, nice view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Items and facilities listed on booking.com which make or break a booking were NOT present in the accommodation!!! the TV's in ALL rooms didn't work! when we asked the manageress all she said was "mine doesn't either"! (speechless) for a superior room which we had it was tiny with small twin beds pushed together, no bath as advertised! The ski room Is next to the public bar outside and every time we deposited our skis it was wide open! also the boot room had no heated boot rails. we found the hotel public areas quite "chic" but the rest of the not so public areas (accommodation etc) needs serious updating to make it a value for money booking.

    Location was good, nice view from our room. nice décor in the bar and reception, tired elsewhere. good veranda bar. nice junior staff. Breakfast was ok, hot food undercooked. low food stocks, Get in early!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were a little small on the ground floor and not wheelchair friendly...but this will change with the new building works

    Staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble...

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Great atmosphere in the bar, sunny terrace, live music, cakes every afternoon and lovely room with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    Food was good and the hotel was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Food was good and the hotel was comfortable. What made it for us was the staff, they were all wonderful and great fun too. Nothing was too much trouble. The new bar/ reception made a really nice apres- ski venue. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday !

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.2
    Great lounge with a real fireplace and incredibly friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The organisation of breakfast and dinner could be improved - it took time to be seated, get cutlery and coffee mugs, the coffee was always running low. If logistics of meals are improved this hotel gets a 10/10 from us.

    Great lounge with a real fireplace and incredibly friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was really good - both for breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    6.3
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was extremely small for the price we paid - effectively room for a double bed and that was it. Also it was impossible to open the window for fresh air as the balcony which presumably used to be there had been taken down and the window/door sealed up.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    8.3
    Ski in, ski out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No boot warmers in ski room.

    Ski in, ski out. Hearty breakfast (full English and continental offerings). Complimentary coffee, cakes and fruit on every floor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Views down the valley from the room. Comfortable and modern design hotel room. Cosy lounge and bar area. Close to restaurants and bus stop.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic position right on the slopes with access the the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing that would have added real value would be a ski boot warmer which would be a useful addition.

    Fantastic position right on the slopes with access the the vast 3 valleys ski region. Ski shop in the same block for easy and reasonable cost hire (25% discount for guests). The refurbished rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size with plenty of storage. The food was really great and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful, they were fantastic. All in all a top destination in every sense and that is why we are booking to return in 2017.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    6.3
    Staff were friendly, helpful and easy going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms disappointing. Good effort with the Decor but wasn't quite right - silver painted doors? Bit shabby in places. Just not high spec enough for the charges involved

    Staff were friendly, helpful and easy going. Nice atmosphere around the bar and lounge.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints

    Great staff. Front desk was very informative and called Hertz for me to confirm a reservation. The bartenders were very friendly and nice to chat with. The free breakfast was much better than I envisioned. A typical "free" breakfast in Europe is a croissant and a hardboiled egg. This hotel had a full breakfast spread which surprised to the upside.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative was actually finding the hotel when we first arrived. Suggest they provide a better instruction on how to locate.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. the local ski bus was a 5 minute walk away giving easy access to Meribel. The hotel itself was right on the slopes and could ski down to the lift/

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Staff couldn't be more helpful and wishing to accomodate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were transferred to an alternative studio apartment next door due to a late flood of a few of their room. All worked out well and we were upgraded to full board to address the inconvenience (without having to ask)

    Staff couldn't be more helpful and wishing to accomodate

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.1
    location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food really much worse in 2016 compared with former years, especially no vegetarian choices anymore. Also the lunch is mainly now fast food and not real healthy food anymore

    location is good staff is friendly and supportive

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    The hotel manager Virginia was amazing and really made our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some maintenance is required to complete the recent renovation i.e. door handles towel racks which are new bat loose

    The hotel manager Virginia was amazing and really made our stay feel like a 4* hotel due to the warm welcome and service of her staff and her in particular. great bar and great location.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    8.8
    We stayed at the Hôtel Le Mottaret for 3 nights shortly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed at the Hôtel Le Mottaret for 3 nights shortly before Christmas 2015. The Hotel had just opened and we were one of the first guests. Location: The Hotel is located perfectly in the middle of Meribel-Mottaret, right next to the piste (Ski in/Ski out, just a street in between). The parking spaces in front of the Hotel are a bit limited but just around the corner is a huge parking space. Staff: The Staff of the Hotel is one of its biggest assets. Everybody bye met was always nice and willing to help. Especially the Manager Virginia was extremely friendly, forthcoming and there whenever we needed her help. She gave us good tips and went over and beyond. A great host! Rooms: The rooms of the Hotel were quite ok. Most importantly they were clean. Some of them have been renovated recently with quite modern bathrooms (make sure you catch one of those). Beds were comfortable and they even offer several choices of pillows (anti-allergic, down, etc.) Bar/Lobby: The Bar is quite nice and offers a variety of beverages and alcohol. We had a quite nice time there in the evening with the other guests. On top, barkeeper and staff was, as always, very nice and friendly. Facilities: The Hotel has a nice outdoor-terrace (which is used over the day for BBQ lunches, etc. In addition, the Hotel has a hot tub in front, which we used extensively during our stay. Food: We only had breakfast and lunch at the Hotel. Both was nice. Especially the breakfast was good as a nice mix of “full english” and french (Baguette, variety of cheeses, etc.) was served. Also here, staff was always very friendly. Overall, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    8.8
    The food and bar is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They are in the middle of a long term renovation. It is being done really well but there are areas that look a bit shabby compared to the rest. It is a very minor gripe, and everything is still clean and tidy.

    The food and bar is exceptional. Go all inclusive if you can. The staff want to help and will be as chatty as you invite them to be but still leave you in peace. The location on the slopes was exactly what we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness & helpfulness of staff & all inclusive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi only in public areas, but this was a minor issue compared to the overall excellent experience

    Friendliness & helpfulness of staff & all inclusive deal

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    7.5
    Location very close to the slopes and a hire shop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some of the plumbing is very "French" and basic compared to UK hotels of a similar standard.

    Location very close to the slopes and a hire shop. Very friendly and responsive staff. Free, effective wifi good standard of food included

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    7.9
    Staff were great, very helpfull nothing seemed to much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinners main course was not good the rest was lovely. They tried to make the main course to complicate.

    Staff were great, very helpfull nothing seemed to much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous staff - couldn't have been more helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    tired decor - but quite amusing - velvet walls and leather clad fireplace

    Fabulous staff - couldn't have been more helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.8
    Location excellent, staff very helpful and sociable, food so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent, staff very helpful and sociable, food so good!!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    8.8
    Brilliant staff, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Brilliant staff, helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.3
    The staff were exceptionally helpful & friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None

    The staff were exceptionally helpful & friendly ... Just can't say enough about them.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    Location: 20 meters from slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: 20 meters from slopes. Staff: very helpful and nice. Excellent ski room, boots room. Brand new bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent service of the young management and its team, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    guest rooms are a bit small

    Excellent service of the young management and its team, good food and perfect location close to the slopes

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    6.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ski-room and bathroom.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.2
    The location and the extremely friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little or no wi-fi at times

    The location and the extremely friendly and efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bad quality of wi-fi

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.9
    Location, food, service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was poor.

    Location, food, service.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    3.8
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EVRYTHING

    NOTHING

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: