Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nice Excelsior Centre ville 4 stars

19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France

#41 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 993 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because I reserve hotel with 4 or 5 stars everytime, I have not seen any dirty hotel like this. Dust and dirt was everywhere including bathroom. Room was very small for 3 people.

    Close to train station. Breakfast was quite good compare to unhygienic room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room. The bathtub was chipped which made it look a bit dirty (although it wasnt).

    Nice design, pleasant atmosphere. Coffee & tea making facilities (not necessarily a given in France). Relatively close to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want the place near beach, not the best choice.

    Location. 3 minutes from the train station. The room is typically small but family rooms are separate places from the hotel. we can have our own garden outside (but, with many mosquitoes(!) in May. Really nice staffs and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have wifi for the 3 nights that we were there and nor did their “Handy” Phone work - was put down to technical issues and that’s it. Location is very close to the station but could be much better. Room size small. Overall feel okay. Certainly not value for money. Nothing 4 star about it.

    Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lift isn't on the ground level , you need to have few step up for reception & lift , a small lift

    It nice theme hotel rooms decor with colourful picture , location in the centre of nice , tram is nearby , its good quiet place for staying , breakfast is acceptable , comfortable bed , specious room , overall its value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not a lot wrong with our stay if I was picky I would say the shower door was faulty but I got the impression it would be fixed for the next customer.

    We arrived early and we were able to get into the room which was great. It was a big airy room with a quirky decor. It is very close to the train station and the trans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no body lotion / tooth brush or slippers in the room or free bottle of water which should be a basic in a 4 stars hotel

    the back garden is really nice and relaxing and a good place to work

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed. There was a lot of noise and we could hear everything in the hallway (chatting and vacuuming very early in the morning every day) and through the ceiling (footsteps and things moving/falling during the night), which made sleeping through the night impossible. The "king bed" was actually two single mattresses pushed together, and there was no hot water the first evening.

    Staff is very helpful. Location is convenient, very close to the train station and walking distance to the promenade and shopping areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls/floors seem to be quite thin. You can hear other guests moving about quite a bit.

    Very close to the station and only 10 minute walk to the promenade. Lovely decor with comfortable and very clean rooms. Smells beautiful too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great for arriving on the tgv however isn’t in the prettiest part of town. Head south east though and your soon in a nicer area

    Very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of choices at breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On 2 out of four days the breakfast was poorly managed. On one day already at nine o'clock there was not any juice left, some other products were also missing. I would expect a bit more from a four star hotel.

    Good location - a 10 minute walk to the seaside and only 2 minutes from the railways station. Friendly reception staff. Spacious room. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathrooms especially the toilet closet...

    A Very fun and eclectic hotel! Great breakfast with an awesome coffe machine... Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bear in mind this is more of a minor gripe, I found that the water temperature a bit cooler than what u would like. I still had a good warm shower but I prefer the water a bit hotter. But its not something that diluted my experience in the hotel.

    I loved the overall theme in the hotel. it really sets it apart. However the service we experienced from the hotel staff was amazing for a 4 star hotel! It pretty much felt like 5 star service! Plus the little area with freshly baked croissants, sweets and water in the lobby is a very nice touch. Rooms were clean and the location is quite central and right next to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barely any clothes drawers.

    Nice Excelsior is a short walk from the train station Nice Ville. The tram and airport express bus are similarly accessible from the hotel. A supermarket is nearby and a good number of food take out places are within the vicinity. The room we got was spacious enough to roll out a yoga mat. 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The disabled room I had for the first night (I didn't ask for it and was a bit disconcerted when I learned I had been allocated it) was ok only; there were a few minor issues that could have been improved on. The lounge was nice and homely, though i felt that the seating could have been improved on - and I also felt that the lighting in it was too glaring: four 300 watt halogen uplighters in a smallish room is a bit much!

    There is a nice lounge/library! The hotel is only 100 metres from the main line rail station and airport bus stop, but doesn't feel like a travellers' stopover at all. I found it civilised and tasteful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was lukewarm and the shower pressure could have been better. But minor points.

    Excellent customer service. The staff were professional, helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful with good options to choose from. I particularly liked the free handy you had use of for the duration of your stay. It was very useful to have free internet when out siteseeing. The location of the the hotel is ideal, close to all the main areas of Nice and easy to find next to the main train station. If I return to Nice I would happily stay here again and have recommended the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was amazing! Front lady was super nice and told us about Nice with her much hospitality. She marked several places on the map and recommend us a few restaurant which was so good! Hotel decoration and room theme was excellent and we enjoyed a lot staying in this hotel. Very close to the station and 10min walking straight to the beach!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more information available as to how close it really is to the railway station but that access is by steps difficult to access with luggage. Watch the taxi drivers at the station. Ours covered his meter and charged us 20 euros for a very short if convoluted trip!

    The girls at the concierge desk/ front office were brilliant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I didn’t find the hair dryer in my room. But I’m sure that if you ask to the receptionist he will give it to you.

    Receptionist was really nice and kind. Thank you !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single beds put together.

    The welcoming was very friendly and helpful. The room is bigger than a standard hotel room. The hotel is 5 mins walk to Nice train station so it's convenient if you wish to travel to other cities using trains. Tram is 7 mins walk to reach other areas of Nice. Parking is at Gare Thier (next to train station) for approximately 25 euros a night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel located in the city center right next to train station Nice Ville and few minutes walking distance from shopping street.Very friendly staff specially lady in the reception. Will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Peaceful room, very good double bed, clean, warm at night (heating ok in November), friendly staff - excellent and very good value for the money. I truly recommend- and it is close to the station and in a walking distance to the old town as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    City tax is on an expensive side, the same goes to paid car park and breakfast. Wifi didn't work for me, I couldn't log in on my tablet, it was a real disappointment. Somehow my partner managed to have internet on his mobile phone, which was ok but not great.

    Very comfortable bed, great bathroom, all very clean. Perfect tea nad coffee facilities in the room. Free mini-croissants, candy and flavoured water at the reception is a nice touch! 3 min. walk to the train station, good location in the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing about the Excelsior in Nice was the gorgeous duty manager Marine. She was so warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful! The charming boutique hotel was located in a convenient location a very short walk from the station. We had a car so the hotel organised a parking space for 18 euros a day at a parking station close by. The main shopping street is about 5 minutes away and the main beach is located about a 10-15 minute walk away. The hotel provides a lovely breakfast with a good selection of fruits, yogurt, cheeses, cold meats, bacon, sausages and eggs........was a great way to start the day! Another great benefit of the hotel was the proximity to a very authentic French restaurant called The Voyageur Nissart. (3 lovely courses for 18 euros)......delicious food and definitely worth a visit or 2! Our family had a very pleasant time at the Excelsior and would definitely stay at the hotel again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing and helpful. The room with the toilet and the one with the sink and shower were very small. Hard to close the door when on the toilet. But the room was tastefully decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were polite and spoke great English. Held our bags on check out day in a secure luggage room so we could explore before a late evening flight. Lovely clean room with balcony over courtyard was perfect. Great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing- there could be a chair (not a stool) in the room. Breakfast could also be made available at an earlier time esp for those who are required to catch an early train.

    The room was very comfortable/clean and the bathroom was big. I like how tea/coffee was offered in the room. Location is fabulous as it is right across from the train station. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. High recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money. The hotel was overpriced. Room is a bit outdated. Cold water in the shower for long time.

    Good location, close to the train station. Personnel was very helpful/ friendly. Breakfast was ok, good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no car parking at the hotel, only in public parking (18-25 EUR/day)

    Clean, design, near the railway station, not far from the center of city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pics provided are not reminiscent of the room provided. It seems that booking.com customers do not book the room in the main area of the property but instead in a small courtyard around the back. The rooms are clean and tidy but not what you expect for the money being paid. To say we were disappointed is an understatement.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At first, we had the Classic Double Room located beside the lift where a speaker system is located that played loud music quite early in the morning. It felt like someone is playing music inside the room. No soundproofing whatsoever, you can hear everything. It almost felt like there are no walls or doors. Also,this room is very small with a very tiny bathroom. If you want to stay here, I would not recommend this room type at all.

    After an awful night staying in their Classic Double Room, we payed an extra fee for the second and third night, to changed our room to the Superior Double Room, and all our issues were resolved. The location is great, very close to the train station and walk able to the beach. The staff were lovely and very helpful. They provide cold water and some lollies in the afternoon at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wish there had been a mirror near a socket. I found it hard to blow dry my hair without the help of a mirror.

    Breakfast was lovely. Fresh bread every day with cold meats and ham. Coffee was very good and lovely fresh orange juice. Hotel was so near the railway station and only a 15 minute walk to excellent shops and restaurants. The Old Town of Nice was just amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Really couldn't fault the hotel. Very quiet and slept so well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, breakfast not very good - served in small room. Have to park at train station - difficult to get back to hotel to pick up luggage on exit. Area around hotel not great.

    Friendly professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival and check in, we were told that the closest car park for our van height was the AIRPORT!!!!!! After driving around for an hour, a staff member from the IBIS Hotel pointed us in the direction of the train station (250 metres away) where lo and behold, plenty of parking for our van. (We did have a parking space booked at the hotel but we didn't fit). A party checking in before us were turned away with the same comment. If the staff member had offered to make a call or offered any assistance in finding a car park, no problem, however on querying, "NO", you won't fit, "NO", no car parks around here will be able to take you. Very poor impression on check in. No help to the room for luggage, DEMAND of immediate payment of room in full as a preauthorisation hadn't gone through. Rooms not cleaned properly on a daily basis. I could go on, but the above is plenty to ensure that we wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

    Great location and within walking distance to some great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey for a quick overnight stop, We didn't feel we could take full advantage of the place.

    Attractive decoration, nice, calm central courtyard, easy access to local restaurants and to Nice Station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so beautiful, especially the rooms. It was very clean and tidy. The hotel staff were lovely and helpfu and the breakfast was good tool. The location of the hotel was great, very close to the station and bus stop from the airport shuttle. It was far enough away from the main restaurants for it to be quiet, but close enough to walk there and to the beach. We loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much that we didn't like...we just wish that the hotel had a swimming pool and restaurant for evening food!

    The staff were amazing especially sandrine! They were so welcoming and friendly and helpful!! We most definitely would stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used a small real office desk and abit more cabinet space; for 10 days stay and 2 people in 1 room, we had to live out of the suitcase for some things

    Great place, location and value for money - would stay here again if I visit Nice again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steps at the entrance to take to arrive at the reception (with the luggages)

    The room design was quite quite cool! Spacious rooms and very cool design. And the location very close to the main train station of Nice has been quite comfortable since we had a train the day after.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walk to the main tourist area was a little far (especially on the way home after a long day in the heat), but honestly, it was nice to be in a quieter neighbourhood for the evenings. The pullout couch bed for the kids was a little creaky and uncomfortable.

    The hotel is a beautiful space to come home to after a long day of sight seeing. Great air conditioning, clean room, a comfy bed, strong wi-fi signal, an excellent shower with great pressure and lots of hot water, and a wonderful courtyard with a bar. Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Great storage in the room for longer stays. Buy the breakfast - so yummy! A three minute walk from the train station was so nice upon arrival and make for easy departure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is extremely small, especially the shower and the toilet. I am average height but I cannot imagine a taller/ bigger person to fit in the toilet or the shower. I asked reception for Iron and they told me they have given all away to the guests so do not have anymore which is not convenient and hotel should come up with a better system. I was told that I can check later on during the day.

    Good design, great location. The room was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was initially difficult, just to go in and check in. We had to find a place on the street and the hotel is only accessible on a one-way, under a tunnel at the train station. Once we finally got there, the proprietor said that reserved parking was fully booked (I didn't know we needed an advance parking reservation) but he was very helpful securing us a safe place at the property next door at the going rate. All's well that ends well.

    Location was walking distance to the promenade and restaurants, but not right next door. That kept the price lower I think. Very convenient to the train station. Small room, tiny WC, but clean and comfortable. Nice decor. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but it looked nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great, well presented hotel near to the train station. Train stations not often the best locations but Nice station is tidy enough, unlike the disgusting Gare d Nord in Paris. Short walk down to the beach and lively town area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recommend advance booking the train station car park (2 minutes walk) if you come in the car, as there is no hotel parking

    Very nice hotel in good location for centre of Nice. Very friendly staff and great decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having a room by an elevator, I wore earplugs to make sure I didn't hear anything. Business people need a desk, the room had a tiny one.

    The decoration was impressive. Option of having an express 6 euro continental breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Only slight improvement is to have a proper desk and chair in the room incase someone wants to sit down and work on the computer (not sure if all rooms were set up this way). The one thing that bothered me was a foul smell that came from the shower drainage daily (worse 1st thing in the morning) and smelt like sewage. The smell went away after you first ran hot water through the drainage before taking a shower - not sure what the smell was. Nothin to do with the hotel, but more of a word of advise on security. My husband who was flying in a nearby village drove to Nice to spend afew days with us and he told me that when he was driving into the city near the train station there was traffic (stopped at a traffic light) and apparently there were some drug dealers making a deal (it was around 7:00p.m., in bright summer daylight)! He was quite scared and thankfully nothing happened - just a word of caution to be careful and to be vigilant not to be caught at the wrong place, wrong time. We didn't experience any security issues even though we had been warned of pick pockets.

    We spent our summer vacation in Nice for about 10 days and I can't say enough about our experience - it was great; weather was fantastic, although abit hot on some days. Hotel was great and very clean - within walking distance (about 10mins) from the promenade. Lots of restaurants in the promenade area. Hotel was located a few minutes walk from the train station, but not too close to hear train noise or deal with people to/from the train station. Train station has public parking for those who want to drive and stay at the hotel. Overall, my stay was great; the staff were very friendly - the gentleman (unfortunately I didn't get to find out his name) who worked the evening shift was exceptional - he helped us out alot with suggestions on what to do, where to eat and gave us details and map of directions. He suggested a 1-day (9 hours) van tour (8 people) that covered Monaco & MonteCarlo, Cannes, St. Paul de Vence, perfume factory. He made the booking for us and the van comes to pick you up from the hotel. The tour was good to get to see the cities & villages with max. 30-minute stop-overs. It's a good tour for those with limited time to see all these places or if you want to decide if you want to spend a day in one of the cities or villages later. After the trip then you can decide to go later (by public or rent a car) to spend more time in one of the places. The gentleman at the hotel (at his own discretion) even printed out a bus schedule for us to go to St. Paul de Vence; St. Paul the village was fantastic, beautiful in the countryside and located on top of a hill; we saw it first on a stop-over on the van tour and made 2 separate trips by public bus to go there - it has lots of nice little shops & art galleries. It's also the place where Marc Chagall is buried (we visited his grave) after we saw his fantastic paintings in the Chagall Museum in Nice. It's straight-forward to get to St.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not that you see in the pictures at all. Furniture in the photos seem to be brand new and luxury but they are old and disappointing. The room is not that big , and its smelly.

    The location is perfect. Just 2 minutes from nice ville centre gare. And 15 min to the beach and the area full of restaurants and bars. Bed was comfortable and the shower was really good. Staff are very helpful and kind specially erally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is convenient if you arrive to the central train station (3 min walking) but the area is not great. We arrived early in the morning and asked for an early check in but the room was only ready after 3 pm.

    The hotel building is a beautiful old house nicely decorated which creates a good atmosphere. Our room was spacious (important when you are 3 in a room) and it included a coffee maker and teapot (no charge for it), nice bathroom and all the toiletries. The breakfast was also good, many things to choose and freshly prepared. The staff was friendly and helpful, they all spoke English. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First the room had awfal smell The refrigerator was not working and they do not want to fix it The door for the room was broken it was not close until we call them to do that The bathroom is not good The location soooo bad it was far away and nothing enjoyable beside this plus could not find a car parking near it They don't have restaurant to eat in

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was really well, except that they did not have tea and coffee facilities in the room. The first morning we just wanted a cup of coffee so we went down stairs, sat in the lounge area and ordered coffee and tea. When we checked out we had been charged for this. Disappointed that a 4star hotel does not offer complimentary tea and coffee.

    The hotel is really close to the train station and tram stop. And only 10 - 15 minutes walk from the beach. It is really well located to reach most areas with ease. The rooms were really neat and clean and the bed was very comfortable. There is a seating area outside which is nice (front and back) with a bar. Really can't vault them on service, really friendly and willing to help. Even printed our boarding passes for us when we couldn't.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting is too dark, room is too small, the housekeeping is no goods, have not refill the tissue, shampoo and bath gel.

    Only the location is near the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault we could find with the hotel was the size of the toilet in our paticular room (it was separate from the bathroom) which was about the size of a little cupboard, but it really didn't affect us too much and didn't hinder how incredible the hotel was.

    To sum it up briefly, we adored everything. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even letting us leave our bags after we'd checked out since we had a late evening flight. The breakfast was really good and there was a generous selection of food and drink to start off your day. The location was fabulous. A simply 10 minute walk straight down to the beach, and only two streets over from the main shopping avenue (which again lead straight to the beach). The room was air conditioned and had the cutest little balcony, perfect after a long day of museums and walking, and the bed was very very large and comfortable! All in all would 100% recommend this hotel for couples or friends or even families. It's just gorgeous and really amazing and definitely made our trip to Nice even more exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the whole room large and spotlessly clean. They even left a personalised welcome message on the bed on arrival which was a nice touch. They organised a taxi for us from the airport and when we got off our cruise they were happy to book another to get us back to the airport even though there was nothing in it for them. First class service and I would recommend it as an ideal place to stay in Nice. It was also very near the station if you want to explore the region by rail.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a bit far away form the old town and this is where the most is happening in Nice. So about 30 min walk. the rooms are a bit outdated, the bathrooms in particular.

    The bed was definitely comfortable and it is a cute hotel. However, we originally booked a regular room, which was very, very small. Not worth the money, but we got upgraded for a suit which was very nice. We got upgraded because the outlet in the bathroom was open and it was right by the shower, you could see the cords sticking out, which is extremely dangerous. So the staff was nice enough to give us a better room. I would not pay the money they are asking for the suit though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel at nine thirty in the morning and e-mailed ahead to see if we could book in early and go to room.The receptionist replied there was an extra cost of 15 euro but when we got to Reception, Alexandria waived the charge and was so helpful with info on where to go and what to see.The room was large and spacious with a balcony as promised and the whole hotel decorated different and beautiful. The welcoming letter was a lovely touch on the bed.Air conditioning was super and beds fantastic. Breakfast was first class and when we got there early they gave us some breakfast which they didn't have to for free.All the staff were kind helpful and courteous and went out of their way to make us feel welcome we would recommend this hotel very highly.this hotel is only 200 metres from airport express bus stop no 99 bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you bring a vehicle (car or motorcycle) you need to make a reservation to park in a designated private parking garage. The staff said the streets were not safe to park a vehicle. I understand that it's France and hotel staff might not be as engaging but hotels are hotels any where in the world. There was a complete lack of engagement from the majority of the staff. A four star property should be able to at least ask you how you're doing when you walk past the front desk on your way to the room. This doesn't matter to some but most of traveling for vacation enjoy being greeted. The rooms were the equivalent of a Marriot Courtyard, functional and comfortable but compared to other hotels of similar price, location and rating it wasn't that great.

    The hotel is centrally located and it's a nice walk to anything you would want to see or do in Nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room with the wc separate to the rest of the ensuite, in a room so small you couldn't shut the door. We asked for a room change and got one that was even smaller but with a slightly more acceptable ensuite. The strange furniture had drawers that were not designed to open, so wasting what little space there was. Don't recommend this hotel at all. Outside at night there were a lot of groups of men just hanging about. We didn't feel safe at all.

    Handy for the station. Breakfast at €15 was acceptable. Nothing else

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got off to a poor start as the hotel offered us a chance to pay for an upgrade,which I immediately accepted,only to be informed that this was not available-VERY FOOLISH.I would have disliked the bedroom even at a low season rate,which naturally was not available on the Monaco GP weekend.I travel extensively in France,mostly 3-5 star hotels,but this room had unpleasant furniture which was not customer friendly,packed into a tiny space! I would not stay there again.

    Very helpful staff & the breakfast was really goodincluding freshly squeezed orange juice & outstanding coffee.The quality of breakfast greatly exceeded that of the bedroom! Loved the proximity to the main station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was really nice, well decorated, like all the hotel on the travel theme. It was very quiet and pleasant for us to stay there. There is also a little garden where you can have a drink. The breakfast was really good (large choice of food) and you can take it a bright room or on the terrace. This hotel is well located, near "Promenade des Anglais", the Massena square, the beach...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single room was relativ small.

    The personal was very helpfull. Room-dekoration it's really nice. Location of the hotel is very good, in walk distance to train station, beach an city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small.

    Very convenient for my arrival and departure by train. Clever use of limited space and room decor was cool. Welcoming and helpful English speaking staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small

    Nice, clean and modern design. Location is good, near all nice restaurants and train station. Can walk to Old Town and shopping belt of nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet is very tiny (there's only enough room for you to sit but you knee will probably still touch the door if you are as tall as me!) The decoris nice, but its getting old (wall papers is peeling at the bottom, not a big deal though) in some areas

    Its closeness to the train station, restaurants and shops. The decor is also nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the greatest for the price you pay.

    Hotel was very easy to get to by bus from the airport. The bus drops you off less than a block away. The hotel is located near everything and a few steps away from the major train station. The hotel was clean and well designed. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfy and the room was huge. Clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Rooms rather small and noisy in case you get to have noisy neighbors because the walls are thin. Breakfast was ok for a day or two but rather too monotonous for a 4 day stay! Not a great variety.

    Acceptable value for money spent. Beds are comfortable and design of the hotel is interesting and charming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little rapport with staff, no lounge, Toilet and shower room very small my knees hit door of toilet!!!!!!!

    Location, Quiet neighbourhood , near train station, Walking distance to town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minute room with toilet so small that one could not even sit down in it. Very hard mattress.

    The hotel is close enough to Nice station to be able to wheel cases there and back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike with this property

    Good location to train station & short walk to old town & waterfront. Clean & comfortable with an interesting interior

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water would have been the icing on the cake.

    Large room with sofa bed and comfy bed. 2 doors onto balcony so plenty of light. Furnished and decorated in a unique style. Good size bathroom, robes and slippers. Good breakfast and a kettle in room.bo

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was there were no L'occtaine products as explained in the description but it's only a minor error.

    Loved everything about this hotel. Breakfast was fab, beds were comfy. The staff were extremely helpful, happy and never failed to greet us at reception. I will definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee, like in most hotels of this category, comes out of a machine and is not like real fresh coffee.

    We had a clean, bright superior room on the 4th floor with a very comfortable bed and wonderful towels in the tiny bathroom. Everybody was polite and professional. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and spoke perfect English . It's location is 2 minute walk from the main train station and 10 minutes from the promenade and main squares .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware that the hotel doesn't have facilities other than breakfast - no other meals or a bar. But plenty of places around to meet these needs.

    Very good location just down a quiet road from the station and close to buses and trams. Staff were helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't great but worked well in the hallway outside our room!

    Good location, convenient to get to the main shopping street and train station for travel to other cities. Staff could not be more helpful. Decor is great and so is the breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has a very convenient location - 5 minutes walk to the Nice train station and about 15-20 minutes walk to the Old city and Promenade des Anglaise. Room was nicely decorated. Staff was very responsive and kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: