Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gatsby by Happyculture 4 stars

36 rue des Frères Lumière, 69680 Chassieu, France

#2 of 4 hotels in Chassieu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1172 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    I have stayed many time at this Hotel and been very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed many time at this Hotel and been very satisfied. Unfortunately this Hotel needs a lot of maintenance work and certainly is not in tip top condition any more ...........It is a pity............

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Plenty for the kids to do and a great bar - limited catering during bank holidays
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During Easter/holidays there is no kitchen staff so all food is pre-prepared - the hotel is also a bit battle worn..

    Games room was great fun for the kids, the room configuration for families is very good, staff were nice, and easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel - would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel - would highly recommend. Returning customer and hotel remains at the highest quality. From check-in to departure - fantastic. Hotel easy to locate from main motorway, secure parking with plenty of space. Rooms are of very good size and very clean, Free WiFi with easy connectivity and excellent speeds. Restaurant bright and airy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options (cooked and continental style options and plentiful - staff on hand continually replenishing and making sure you are OK and helping if require any help). Hotel staff very helpful and pleasant. Would rate the entire stay at a 100% satisfaction level. Am already planning the next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Family-Room (two separate rooms with a hallway) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wastebin in the bathroom had been forgotten to emtpy. Loud street. Apart from those minor details, everything was wonderful.

    Great Family-Room (two separate rooms with a hallway) and dog-friendly Hotel. Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Hotel excellent - staff, cleanliness and breakfast great and all highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants near the property were limited.

    Excellent hotel. Very clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel having visited on several occasions each year and standards remain very high and does not disappoint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfy stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oh gosh, the ramen was a million miles away from what it should have been.. The biggest disappointment of 2018 so far.

    Staff were very welcoming and professional - thanks. The foigras was excellent at the restaurant and the ravioli was tasty too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant was good and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic, but OK. Rooms were OK but lacked character and small. No milk with tea and coffee, paper cups. Booked for 3 nights and free water was only given in the first night. If I had done the transaction in 3 separate bookings I would have got water each night. Little things make a big difference!

    Restaurant was good and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent hotel location for the EXPO
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were more than accommodating and the shuttle from the hotel to the EXPO is great. Food was great quality. Hotel felt very safe as a female traveller on her own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Great address for a break during the trip, nearby a higway, with a pool and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's great location for stop on longer route. The surrounds of hotel are maybe not so fantastic, because it's commercial corner, but there's silent and peaceful, and really nearby the higway. The family room, which we have had, was very specious and clean, there was an independent part for our son. Besides, the outside pool with a pleasent water and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    I have stayed many times in this Hotel with complete...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed many times in this Hotel with complete satisfaction. Unfortunately in my haste, I booked the hotel as usual, unaware the restaurant was closed for the month of August. This was brought to my attention by the extremely offhand Hotel Manager who gleefully went to great lengths on the Booking.com website to show the fine print stating the restaurant closed was during the month of august on the last page of the website . Who nobody who has previously booked this Hotel would have the time to venture as it is advertised as a Hotel - Restaurant on page 1. I have found better food trucks in Mexico than the one on the Hotel Carpark. The Hotel is equipped with a courtesy minibus and would it would have been a nice gesture to have had staff member run us to the Best Western Hotel restaurant 1 km away to resolve this misunderstanding. It should be pointed out not taxi were available locally, so walking was the only option. for disabled people like my wife who luckily was not travelling with me on this occasion. I think you should flag Hotel- Restaurants on your first page when the restaurants are closed. DO NOT HIDE THE FACTS...... I was not the only unhappy client, and this was shown by the somewhat Cavalier attitude of the Hotel Manager... Your comments please.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a hotel close to Lyon airport for one night. The hotel is well located. Facilities were really good and family friendly. The bowling lane and arcade were a big hit along with the swimming pool. Breakfast very good. Got a lot for the amount we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    J'ai passe 31 minutes dans le restaurant sans que le personnel ne m'addresse la parole! Incroyable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I sat in the restaurant and terrace for a whopping 31 minutes without been addressed by any waiter! It was not a busy night, and I do not understand what happened. Finally, a waiter, after 31 minutes, asked me if I was waiting for someone! I left without eating. Overall the place is not bad but there are much better choices around!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Won't Be Going Back, and Won't be giving good feedback about the hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1st off, they said they have a swimming pool...but we couldn't use it...they said they have a gaming room but its only used for people who booked the room...OVERPRICED Dinner, Almost all the staff didn't even try to speak English! We booked a Double bed turns out it was 2 single beds put together...Before leaving the Hotel they forgot to book the taxi ended up waiting 45mins... 4 Star For Nothing...

    the breakfast was good....one of the receptionists was very helpful. the room was always cleaned good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishment - boiler with coffee and tea in room - bowling and poolroom for free from 21h - small fitness (3 machine) - pool outside to use in summer period

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Besides location, it is very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Besides location, it is very nice hotel. If you have your own car, you have no problem at all. Concerning the price and quality, it is a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel on the edge of Chassieu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only room available was a touch expensive. Location for me was good but may not suit others.

    Good location for my needs. Lovely staff. Stayed before so knew it was a good hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Good and nice Hotel off center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit off center in an industrial area. I was there on a Sunday and the restaurant in the hotel (dinner) was the kind of "take some readymade food available and heat yourself in the microwave ...". Also in the whole town all restaurants are closed on Sundays!

    Spacious room and comfortable bed. Good breakfast despite the fact that there were only 6 guests in the hotel (eggs were made for me upon request). Nicely decorated modern hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.8
    Well located for eurexpo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. No warm food (not even eggs), coffee from automatic machine pretty bad. I appreciate they discounted the price of breakfast(full fare was 16 euro!!) After I complained. but complain was due yet.

    Well located for eurexpo. Parking. Restaurant for dinner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel near Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a "smoking" room (?) (it had a heavy smell even if we left the windows wide open for long time). There is no possibility for a decent dinner at the hotel.

    Nice comfort beds in a big room. Parking available all day long. Games (billiard, mini-foot, video-games) available. The breakfast was nice (could be improved though)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.0
    wouldn't visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was not good and staff during day not very helpful and no food available. Room 516 smelly

    Nights staff friendly did move us to better room after complaining about smell in room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Superb value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. We have stayed here before & would highly recommend it. There is a swimming pool for guests & this is great when travelling on a very hot(35°)day.Staff have always been very helpful & friendly. The room is very nice with great comfy bed. Love the coffee & tea facilities in room too. Eating at the hotel was a little too expensive for us but excellent dining facilities nearby. Great to have secure car parking too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    I loved the rooms we had two rooms but locked away in one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The opening times for the pool, 9pm is way to early to close the pool specially on a long hot summer day

    I loved the rooms we had two rooms but locked away in one corridor, we could sleep seperatly from the kids knowing that they are safe and cant come outto the main corridor , staff very nice and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and slightly expensive

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    very good bed;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good bed; calm hotel, good breakfest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and food not replenished very quickly

    Basic rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.0
    Nothing to get excited about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pictures on internet but it is far from what it seems and no where near a true 4 star Hotel

    Nothing to get excited about

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast, hotel with a theme, excellent cosmetics and value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    FACilites and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FACilites and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Hope to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing design and style of the hotel. Rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. Really enjoyed our overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Everything especially the lovely staff...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel - staff friendly, helpful and happy. Facilities were great. v. Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - but we have a car, so didn't matter too much to us.

    Absolutely lovely hotel, facilities and staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The bar and the playground is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and the playground is great. The hotel is clean and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - a bit far from Lyon

    Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening buffet - is not worth the money

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool only avaliable 1 day out of 5 and business people got priority over normal guesses for a lot of time

    Close to airport and stadium

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use pool because of private business function

    Very comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant hotel but it's on an industrial estate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pleasant enough but it's on an industrial estate which we hadn't realised!

    Friendly and helpful staff at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    The outside pool wasn't open till June.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside pool wasn't open till June. We visited on a very warm April day and it would have been wonderful to use it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel for family with kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, no places to eat around hotel

    Great hotel for family with kids! Bowling, arcade games, pool (although it does not open until May)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, only 12m ride to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd prefer rooms were non-smoking

    Friendly staff, only 12m ride to the airport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of bar drinks.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.2
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service. Good value for money. Very comy bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Stylish hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite was very small.

    A stylish hotel styling with helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent staff and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and comfort. Breakfast more than sufficient. Secure parking. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    3.8
    Keep away from here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Visit and you decide.

    Good shower

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarettes in rooms.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi, dirty rooms, expensive and no atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Nice Hotel, comfortable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No offer of airport transport

    Friendly and helpful restaurant service. Comfortable room. Good location for my needs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Reception staff (perhaps the manager) went out of his way to...
    • Group

    it was in an industrial area, not the nicest place to be, but that was minor for this specific weekend. (NB The Euro Champions Final was our reason to be there, the Parc Lyonnaise is only a short taxi ride away). You need to have a car, or be a good walker, or use public transport or taxis.

    Reception staff (perhaps the manager) went out of his way to be helpful. I was there at a very frantic time, yet nothing was too much trouble to help. Bar Staff and waiting staff were equally keen to help, despite significant pressure, and the odd difficulties and strains.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.9
    The fact that the family room had two separate rooms, and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    For an airport hotel, it is far away from the airport (20 min drive).

    The fact that the family room had two separate rooms, and the restaurant was fabulously decorate

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.8
    the Gatsby style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet was not working well at all, the tv neither, only few channels available, room service very long

    the Gatsby style

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.9
    Location bathroom price free parking fee
    • Business trip
    • Group

    They counted city tax improperly so we paid two times price

    Location bathroom price free parking fee

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    9.6
    Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Check-In/Out process very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.6
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean. Great restaurant and games room.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was far from Lyon.

    Breakfast was excellent!

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: