Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Rhône-Alps hotel reviews
  4. Chassieu hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Gatsby by Happyculture

Reviews of Hotel Gatsby by Happyculture

36 rue des Frères Lumière, 69680 Chassieu, France

#2 of 5 hotels in Chassieu

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 927 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    6.7
    Convenient triple rooms! Swimming pool ideal for hot days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No refrigerator in the room. For the Lyon visit too far, in an industrial area.

    Outdoor pool kept the children busy, beach towels provided at the desk. Triple room convenient with a single bed in a separated room. Parking for free. Restaurants and bakery-café only few meters away if you don't wish to eat in the hotel. Enough towels provided.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    4.6
    The hotel has so much potential. It's a shame it's run by people with no commercial sense.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed there as it was close to the Groupama Stadium for the Ed Sheeran concert, capacity 55,000 people. The hotel bar is open until 1am on weekdays and 11pm on weekends. Yes, even when one of the world's biggest stars is playing three consecutive nights down the road!! The breakfast service was shocking with food disappearing (along with the couple of staff they have) very quickly. At one point, they refreshed the bacon bowl with five strips of bacon. No bread, no water, no milk... The pool was also closed.

    The hotel looks great and has a great theme, but the people in charge don't have a clue.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.1
    Nice looking property but reduced facilities on weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is not open at weekend, bar closes at 11pm it seems facilities are fully open during wee days which is not made clear before arrival. Pool was closed and it was not mentioned to us either. I booked a family room to get 2 singles and a double as I was travelling with friends but we were given 2 rooms with a sas in middle with 2 double beds. This is not a true family room and if I was travelling with children we would have had to do 1 adult + 1 child per room which is not ideal but ok for 1 night. We went to reception and the receptionist was very eager to help to move us to room with single beds, a older woman got involved out of nowhere and starting talking to the receptionist about rooms but she did not say hello or made high contact with us. Very rude behaviour really even if she was trying to help. She seems more senior or experienced. breakfast at 15 euros per person is very expensive for what it is. At that price I expected a real cappuccino/hot drink, not a machine one!

    Nice looking hotel theme on the 20s. Love the golden gun lamp at reception, welcome drink at reception was nice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive dinner at the on-site restaurant, several alternatives nearby.

    Very clean & nicely decorated, room was decent size & felt comfortable. On-site parking was good & convenient. Good breakfast. Short drive (15 min.) to the airport with nearby gas stations to refuel before returning the rental car. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.1
    Nice place but needs to improve for a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shuffle service wasn't provided as announced. No shuttle to a mall or city despite the isolated place where the hotel is. No formal restaurant open. Breakfast very poor, fruit wasn't fresh!

    Food truck outside was amazingly delicious. Games for the kids were a good addition to the stay. Staff helpful and kind .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    4.6
    Not a great location and the staff was not able, and some not interested, in offering options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not well stocked and there was no urgency to make sure more food was brought out. And it was only one hour into the service. The elevators were out when we arrived and my husband can not do stairs. The room they offered was on the 2nd floor which ended up being 3 full flights of stairs and two twin beds.

    The staff was kind but was not able to really address our concerns or offer any concessions when the room we received was not what we reserved.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    6.7
    I have stayed many time at this Hotel and been very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed many time at this Hotel and been very satisfied. Unfortunately this Hotel needs a lot of maintenance work and certainly is not in tip top condition any more ...........It is a pity............

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Plenty for the kids to do and a great bar - limited catering during bank holidays
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During Easter/holidays there is no kitchen staff so all food is pre-prepared - the hotel is also a bit battle worn..

    Games room was great fun for the kids, the room configuration for families is very good, staff were nice, and easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel - would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel - would highly recommend. Returning customer and hotel remains at the highest quality. From check-in to departure - fantastic. Hotel easy to locate from main motorway, secure parking with plenty of space. Rooms are of very good size and very clean, Free WiFi with easy connectivity and excellent speeds. Restaurant bright and airy. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options (cooked and continental style options and plentiful - staff on hand continually replenishing and making sure you are OK and helping if require any help). Hotel staff very helpful and pleasant. Would rate the entire stay at a 100% satisfaction level. Am already planning the next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great Family-Room (two separate rooms with a hallway) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wastebin in the bathroom had been forgotten to emtpy. Loud street. Apart from those minor details, everything was wonderful.

    Great Family-Room (two separate rooms with a hallway) and dog-friendly Hotel. Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Hotel excellent - staff, cleanliness and breakfast great and all highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurants near the property were limited.

    Excellent hotel. Very clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel having visited on several occasions each year and standards remain very high and does not disappoint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfy stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oh gosh, the ramen was a million miles away from what it should have been.. The biggest disappointment of 2018 so far.

    Staff were very welcoming and professional - thanks. The foigras was excellent at the restaurant and the ravioli was tasty too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant was good and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was pretty basic, but OK. Rooms were OK but lacked character and small. No milk with tea and coffee, paper cups. Booked for 3 nights and free water was only given in the first night. If I had done the transaction in 3 separate bookings I would have got water each night. Little things make a big difference!

    Restaurant was good and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent hotel location for the EXPO
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were more than accommodating and the shuttle from the hotel to the EXPO is great. Food was great quality. Hotel felt very safe as a female traveller on her own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    8.8
    Great address for a break during the trip, nearby a higway, with a pool and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's great location for stop on longer route. The surrounds of hotel are maybe not so fantastic, because it's commercial corner, but there's silent and peaceful, and really nearby the higway. The family room, which we have had, was very specious and clean, there was an independent part for our son. Besides, the outside pool with a pleasent water and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    6.7
    I have stayed many times in this Hotel with complete...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed many times in this Hotel with complete satisfaction. Unfortunately in my haste, I booked the hotel as usual, unaware the restaurant was closed for the month of August. This was brought to my attention by the extremely offhand Hotel Manager who gleefully went to great lengths on the Booking.com website to show the fine print stating the restaurant closed was during the month of august on the last page of the website . Who nobody who has previously booked this Hotel would have the time to venture as it is advertised as a Hotel - Restaurant on page 1. I have found better food trucks in Mexico than the one on the Hotel Carpark. The Hotel is equipped with a courtesy minibus and would it would have been a nice gesture to have had staff member run us to the Best Western Hotel restaurant 1 km away to resolve this misunderstanding. It should be pointed out not taxi were available locally, so walking was the only option. for disabled people like my wife who luckily was not travelling with me on this occasion. I think you should flag Hotel- Restaurants on your first page when the restaurants are closed. DO NOT HIDE THE FACTS...... I was not the only unhappy client, and this was shown by the somewhat Cavalier attitude of the Hotel Manager... Your comments please.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    10
    Great hotel close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a hotel close to Lyon airport for one night. The hotel is well located. Facilities were really good and family friendly. The bowling lane and arcade were a big hit along with the swimming pool. Breakfast very good. Got a lot for the amount we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.9
    J'ai passe 31 minutes dans le restaurant sans que le personnel ne m'addresse la parole! Incroyable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I sat in the restaurant and terrace for a whopping 31 minutes without been addressed by any waiter! It was not a busy night, and I do not understand what happened. Finally, a waiter, after 31 minutes, asked me if I was waiting for someone! I left without eating. Overall the place is not bad but there are much better choices around!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2019

    5.8
    small room , No
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    small room , No Refrigerator

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    10
    Fantastic family room with 2 proper bedrooms & great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic family room with 2 proper bedrooms & great location on way home from Alps

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms quite warm.

    Comfy beds.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    5.0
    Déception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is mediocre and too expensive for what it is.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minimal food at weekend

    Decor convenient for the motorway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    The rooms, pool and games room were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was very expensive and choices of food and drinks were very limited

    The rooms, pool and games room were great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were small and slightly expensive

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    8.3
    very good bed;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good bed; calm hotel, good breakfest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was basic and food not replenished very quickly

    Basic rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    5.0
    Nothing to get excited about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice pictures on internet but it is far from what it seems and no where near a true 4 star Hotel

    Nothing to get excited about

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Delicious breakfast, hotel with a theme, excellent cosmetics and value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.2
    FACilites and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    FACilites and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    9.6
    Hope to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing design and style of the hotel. Rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. Really enjoyed our overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing...

    Everything especially the lovely staff...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel - staff friendly, helpful and happy. Facilities were great. v. Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location - but we have a car, so didn't matter too much to us.

    Absolutely lovely hotel, facilities and staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    The bar and the playground is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and the playground is great. The hotel is clean and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location - a bit far from Lyon

    Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening buffet - is not worth the money

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2016

    10
    Reception staff (perhaps the manager) went out of his way to...
    • Group

    it was in an industrial area, not the nicest place to be, but that was minor for this specific weekend. (NB The Euro Champions Final was our reason to be there, the Parc Lyonnaise is only a short taxi ride away). You need to have a car, or be a good walker, or use public transport or taxis.

    Reception staff (perhaps the manager) went out of his way to be helpful. I was there at a very frantic time, yet nothing was too much trouble to help. Bar Staff and waiting staff were equally keen to help, despite significant pressure, and the odd difficulties and strains.

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2016

    7.9
    The fact that the family room had two separate rooms, and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    For an airport hotel, it is far away from the airport (20 min drive).

    The fact that the family room had two separate rooms, and the restaurant was fabulously decorate

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    5.8
    the Gatsby style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    internet was not working well at all, the tv neither, only few channels available, room service very long

    the Gatsby style

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    7.9
    Location bathroom price free parking fee
    • Business trip
    • Group

    They counted city tax improperly so we paid two times price

    Location bathroom price free parking fee

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2016

    9.6
    Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Check-In/Out process very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2016

    9.6
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean. Great restaurant and games room.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was far from Lyon.

    Breakfast was excellent!

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Gatsby by Happyculture Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: