Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Family Golf 3 stars

28 Boulevard Garnier, 17200 Royan, France

#3 of 42 hotels in Royan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Side Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect place to stay

    Wonderful rooms and great view of the sea. The staff was very welcoming and very helpful. All together a perfect and vey friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Side Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were bright, very clean and very colourful and charming. No aircon tho! Other than that everything was superb.

    Breakfast was lovely and served with great courtesy and charm. The atmosphere of this he hotel was really friendly and relaxing. It's location was excellent and the weather was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Side Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a note in the visitor information to advise of some possible noise from adjacent rooms, this was not evident on our stay but may be more evident when the hotel if busy.

    We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were all helpful and friendly, the room was a good size with a fully functional shower / en suite, the beach view was a delight and the breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries, bread and preserves was always available. The location of the hotel was also very convenient for shops, restaurants and the beach that made our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the noise insulation was non-existent and we could hear everything in the adjacent rooms and even the noise of the waves breaking on the beach with the windows closed.

    The room was fine, and the view over the bay was lovely. The beach was just over the road. Street parking wasn't a problem, but it was outside the tourist season.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good -- but perhaps just a little too expensive.

    The staff were wonderfully attentive. We were worried that there would be nowhere to park -- but this was not a problem at all. And it is great to have an elevator!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly can't think of anything to criticise

    Upgraded to a family room with terrace as out of season so not too much more but what an experience drinking a cold bottle of wine in the autumn sun looking out over the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer- Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tired and could do with an upgrade. The ensuite and toilet were separate and there was no handbasin in with the toilet which was unhygenic

    Location was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer

    Friendly and helpful staff at all times of the day. Excellent room and en-suite with wonderful views across the bay. Balcony big enough to sunbathe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was advertised 'with balcony' but it is tiny.

    We only had board at this hotel, so can't comment on catering. Room was comfortable and clean and we had 4 pleasant nights there. The sea view was great from our room and worth paying a little extra for. Only a short walk to town centre too. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This was a brief break after some long touring around Spanish and French cities. We wanted some sun sea and relaxation. We love Royan and this very friendly and well located hotel. We were made to feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room had a sea view, was clean and comfortable. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer- Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sound proofing although hotel literature warns of this due to it being an old building. Perhaps carpets instead of hard flooring would help, & sound proof plaster board to ceilings. Wouldn't stop me staying again though.

    Good clean hotel, friendly staff, great location & excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the family upstairs the soundproofing wasn't great - although to be fair it did warn you about that in the welcome book.

    The room was stunning lovely views and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a beautiful seafront suite. The staff were super friendly and accommodating and gave us lots of information about the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was some.

    The view from our room(24) and balcony could not be bettered

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer- Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff. Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the views, the staff and the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast expensive for what was available

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely sea view room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the street (especially the motorbikes); windows are not soundproof

    Wonderful view, nice design

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice seafront location, lovely bathroom and shower. The breakfast in the morning kept us going on the bikes all day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. Terribly hot at night. Provided with fans but noisy so hard to sleep.

    Excellent breakfast and extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid holidays times and weekends. Parking impossible then and all amenitites very crowded.

    Position and view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Side Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english language tv channels

    Staff, breakfast, cleanliness, bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom

    Everything excellent except see dislikes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar atmosphere

    Everything great .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Situation great Friendly manager and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was superb, and breakfast was excellent. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds and poor plumbing

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer- Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    non

    Staff at reception. Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The balcony, the sea view, the proximity of the sea. the proximity to bars and restaurants. Wish we had booked to stay longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chairs did not fit the balcony

    Good old fashion French hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient place. We had a little balcony facing the sea. Clean and cheerful. A bit rundown maybe. Great bed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room with Side Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge , tired bathroom

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean comfortable room with balcony overlooking the sea. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Sea Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place enjoyed and made us very welcome

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Clean and tidy rooms,very good and helpful staff,Location ideal and off road parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice, friendly and helpful staff! The hotel is located next to the beach and in walking distance to the town center. There is a secured parking space but it is also possible to leave the car on the side of the street (free of charge)

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the homely family feeling of Hotel Golf....the location is superb...lovely to hear the waves lapping at night and wake up to the amazing vista of the beach and bay....FAB!!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff and great view out of bedroom window across the bay. Breakfast was also good with fresh fruit juice and a good and yummy selection of buffet food.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really BAD matrasses!!! (My husband and I both had an awefull night because of back aches (which usually never happens)) Unfriendly and unpolite reception; Guy was freaking out because we parked the car on the private parking without reservation; breakfast not included and too expensive

    Located nearby trans-gironde boat, clean bathroom

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ideal location. Stunning coastal views from hotel and our balcony. Very helpful, friendly and obliging staff. Superb room service. Lovely en suite room.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel themselves make a point of explaining that there is a noise issue, with the structure of the building, which it is not possible to resolve and ask for people to be considerate of others. We did not experience any problems at all with noise from other rooms.

    The breakfast buffet was really good, lots of choice. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was attractive, lovely sea view and everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking bit of a problem if you have a big car, limited spaces for 7cars.

    very nice hotel, Well situated to all local amenities', very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very noisy and the facilities were minimal

    The people were excellent and really helpful - they gave us a suite because Booking.com had not shown that the room we originally booked was a side room

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-fi dropped frequently . Breakfast, buffet did not appear to be restocked which if you came down late meant poor value

    Great location , clean , staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    really small bedroom, wanted to order a glass of wine whilst I was waiting for my husband to get showered they said no I needed to order a bottle !

    good location, easy to walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked a kettle and tea faculties. I would like a little fridge. Also just having CNN in English on the TV is not enough for non French speaking patrons.

    Liked having a king size bed, a bath, hair dryer and terrace with an ashtray.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Family room with very little space in the toilet compartment. And access to the otherwise good bathroom was through the children's bedroom.

    Extremely nice view and location. Family room with a refrigerator, dining table, separate bedrooms and large angle balcony. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very nice breakfast buffet with great coffee. Private parking (Paid option) in the backyard with direct access to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach was univiting because the water was murky and brown. stayed for 2 days and did not go in the water.

    Hotel room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Short drive to town and restaurants. Across the road from the worst beach I have ever seen

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything from helpfulness of staff to quality of room to wifi signal. Great seaside-facing location only a few minutes from the main restaurant area. I was on a bike trip and they were happy to store my bike in a secure store room at the back.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Relaxed friendly, staff, breakfast & welcome. I am not going to put this comment "what didn't you like" but it is an older building well modernised but dependant on other guests could be a small noise issue that would not put me off staying again as we will probably do.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a balcony overlooking the glorious beach. The hotel was situated within easy walking distance along the seafront to the restaurants and shops. There was also a car park, although there were spaces outside in the side road in April.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    soundproofing

    location and balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good sea view, helpful staff, comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large and the bed very comfortable. Hotel right on the sea front and close to the town centre

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the friendly staff. close to the beach not far to walk to restaurants

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel was so quaint, and the staff were just fabulous

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely location and a very friendly ambience

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff. Location. Room decoration.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overpriced

    Nice location, in an old style building.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , lovely and helpful staff .

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location, superb staff. Will be using again

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff all seem proud of the hotel and are pleased to help the guests.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sa situation (proche bord de mer et ville)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not get Wi Fi to work

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right on the sea front and less than 1km to main restaurants and shops. Fantastic beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location ,our room over looked the bay so superb views. Will not hesitate to stay again

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All positive.

    Very helpful and friendly front desk staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and very pleasant room.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: