Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fasthotel Caen Memorial

19 Rue Du Clos Barbey, 14280 Caen, France

#33 of 38 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 418 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Big mistake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the shower. One night the toilet wouldn’t stop running and at night there is no reception, so no one to contact. Third night there were youngster running and shouting and smoking weed in the hallway untill 4 in the morning, again no one to contact. The bed was just a wooden board with a thin mattress on it, so super uncomfortable and I’ve gone home with major backpain.

    Staff was friendly Good location Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    I was able to check in very late despite there being no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was able to check in very late despite there being no staff by using the automated key safe. All clean and perfectly adequate. Can't comment on staff or the restaurant as we woke up after breakfast had closed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    The receptionist had made a mistake and not left our key for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist had made a mistake and not left our key for our arrival - heavily pregnant and with so kids - turning up at midnight... well, his kind of mistake was not ok. With no emergency number to call - we had to buy another room. Fortunately I had the cash but it could have been a different situation. The next day we had our money back but offered no free breakfast or anything in way of compensation. I was unimpressed with the lack of empathy shown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    It is clean and the staff are helpful. Very handy for the ferry but too noisy to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are paper thin so you hear every noise from the rooms adjacent and above. We could even here someone's stomach rumbling. There were four of us in two rooms and none of us got more than 2 hours sleep

    Bed was comfy, room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny room tiny bathroom horrible odor in the room insects inside the room the bed and pillows uncomfortable

    not very far to the high road nor to the city center wifi was good self check-in service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, easy access, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't work out how to get the aircon to work, and it was very hot....

    The room was just fine for a late arrival, quick stop after arriving on the ferry and before getting on the road to our holiday cottage in Brittany. We chose not to have breakfast here (and that was good as we all slept in past the breakfast time!). The beds were on the firm side, but everyone slept well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a no frills hotel, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was clean but very small.

    It was a no frills hotel, comfortable and clean. It is really just for you to have a good rest at night after being out or having travelled the whole day. Absolutely nothing to do in the hotel except for watching TV in the room. No fridge, no kettle in the room. There is a supermarket and a couple of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    All in all a good place once you have found it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little on the small side, but served its purpose. We did struggle to find the hotel it was not in my Sat Nav, and it is not really signposted well. Its just behind the Super U supermarket, near the Ibis Hotel.

    Very clean room and the bedding was clean and fresh, the staff were helpful. There are some restaurants close by we went to one that was a steak house, you can see if from the Super U car park. The food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    CLEAN and fairly comfortable.OK for one night/passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows. Small room quite bare and austere.Noisy. People moving about upstairs and on the stairs.

    The automated check in made it possibke to check in late. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Useful good value overnight stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little characterless, and is not in a particularly attractive location

    Purpose built modern hotel with friendly welcome and good breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    You get what you pay for. No issues at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to remark. Basic room but the price is also basic.

    You get what you pay for and as the name says, fast hotel. Self check out after 8pm and a basic room for a basic price. No issues at all and a nice restaurant, supermarket, petrol station, etc right in front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Small family room with the basics needed for a good nights sleep. Friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfy beds, automatic key dispenser to check in, lovely breakfast and friendly service. Pillows were a little flat but extras were provided upon request with no hassles. Bathroom was tiny but adequate for the price paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Practical and clean overnight stay. Would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff who answered questions re late arrival and also loaned us jump leads to start the car the next day when the battery was flat. Comfortable and practical accommodation on a budget. Nothing flash but fine for one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.0
    Value for money but poor sound proofing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't expecting to meet no staff. Key was from machine and back in the box. Very bad sound proofing. From above and outside. No remote for the TV. One English language TV station would have been nice.

    Clean and convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfectly adequate for an overnight stay but no more. Some command of French needed.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First there was the problem of payment being taken in advance at double the quoted price & from my sterling rather than my euro account. This was resolved through Booking.com & the refund was paid promptly but of course I paid exchange rates in each direction. The booking was cancelled at the same time but thanks to Booking .coms timely intervention that problem was resolved too. However, a few days before travelling it was not what I wanted. The rooms shown on the booking info didn't correspond to those offered ie 2 single rooms &, I thought from the description, on the ground floor. The access machine was very confusing. It led me to believe I'd got one double instead of 2 singlerooms 'till I persevered & found there were 2 double rooms,in fact. However, these were on the 1st floor accessed by a steepish set of stairs impossible for the dog which had to stay in the car even thoughI paid for it. The hotel was on an industrial estate along with others & it was not easy to find in the dark.

    Room was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay as was the site. Manager was perfectly reasonable when approached in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location for travel by car and visits to Caen and Normandy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to keep the window open as the aircon was broken. The bathroom was very small.

    Very good service. Recommended a restaurant to eat Galettes, it was excellent, restaurant name La Ficelle in Caen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Suitable but uncomfortable due to the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Air conditioning unit was not functional, nor was there the indicated remote control which may have corrected the situation. With the blind lowered to block the light, it also blocked the air flow from the open window. Weather was very warm, so this condition marked our otherwise enjoyable stay. I wouldn't dismiss it as decent hotel.

    Hotel was clean, bright, easily accessed, freshly painted with a spacious and convenient parking area. Breakfast, at extra charge, was adequate but limited in choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    A great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be better sound proofed (seemed to be wooden floors). Toilet/shower typical French fibreglass cubical, but OK.

    Really good beds. Clean and fresh room. Parking was near the room with a security gate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Just what it says....a cheap clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was a bit dim, couldn't get connected to the WiFi. Bathrooms were compact, but well laid out. I liked them!

    New concept hotel for me and I liked it! Inexpensive modular rooms with minimal interaction with the staff. In a word, cheap clean accommodations. Great location for the Normandy coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Caen
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't have breakfast as catching the ferry, breakfast started too late, they should accommodate for this as being a ferry port they must have many visitors that need an early breakfast

    staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, safe, clean and well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very limited and there was no facilities for making a hot drink.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy, just what was needed after a day out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.0
    Not good for tourism, hard to get to, in industrial district. Photo on Booking.com is misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone there to accept you at least, instead of a kiosk.

    This place was in an industrial district with very little cultural appeal or access to eating establishments. We ended up just paying for the second night, but finding an AirBnB instead as I didn't want my parents to have to stay at that place for two nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Clean tidy helpful staff well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean tidy helpful staff well located

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room - bathroom very small. Difficult to shower kids.

    Clean beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plastic mattress cover that meant a hot and sticky nights sleep. Walls a bit thin!

    Clean sheets and excellent towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect budget pit stop when drivning long distance with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean convenient and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, good bed
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Douche cabine, door must open for ventilation (smell)

    Clean room, good bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Good clean rooms at a very good price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor security no cctv in car park or hotel area ...

    Good clean rooms at a very good price ... easy access to location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.3
    So bad we went somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No receptionist, no evening facilities, location poor

    The whole experience was terrible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean comfortable room, ideal for a stopover after the ferry crossing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very helpful staff and nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice receptionist to greet us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of guests stomping up the stairs

    Access to the Caen museum Good price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good place to stay for one or a few nights. Very clean and family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cheap booking but very comfortable bed and clean room. Very friendly Staff. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice bright room and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning

    Nice bright room and good value for money. Supermarket and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom.

    Good value for money. Clean and basic. Handy location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Smart, friendly and comfortable. Flakey croissants 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, smart, friendly and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    Room was cramped with dim lighting. Facilities basic. OK for the price.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather cramped, little bigger than the double bed. Shower/WC was also cramped. Room lighting was dim

    Comfortable bed. Clean facility

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    2.5
    We was totally disappointed, hotel's description of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We was totally disappointed, hotel's description of a family room tells about two rooms, but you get one :-( You can stay for 10-15euro cheaper with the same comfort in Ibis or Premier hotel.

    We was totally disappointed, hotel's description of a family room tells about two rooms, but you get one :-( You can stay for 10-15euro cheaper with the same comfort in Ibis or Premier hotel. WiFi was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    6.7
    Convenient to our destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor noise control between units, we were annoyed by next door banging on floor for walking around. Poor/non-existent availability of fast food outlets within walking distance.

    Convenient to our destination.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.1
    The room was nice, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was poor, bread (baguette) was stale (how can you get stale baguette in france!!!!), crosissants were definitely not fresh, milk tasted sour, staff seemed less than interested, not worth euro 5.50.

    The room was nice, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Price, Family room, Location close to highway (for a...
    • Family with young children

    bathroom a little bit narrow

    Price, Family room, Location close to highway (for a stop-over night on the way to Bretagne), Poivre Rouge Restaurant in walking distance, easy check-in and check-out

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Stayed to be close to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed to be close to the ferry. Very basic but a lovely large comfy bed and very clean. Good for sleeping in the day aswell as you can make it very dark.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast and the bed - reasonably clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The noise levels from the surrounding rooms - no noisy insulation - the floors are very noisy and affected sleep

    Breakfast and the bed - reasonably clean

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.2
    good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    good value accommodation. Easy to get to from the ferry. We just stayed as a stopover between ferry and main holiday. Bunks were good for the kids. I had my own pop up cot so didn't ask the hotel for one, but plenty of space in the room for it.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    The secure parking and the daily maid service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was situated in a commercial area with other b&b/guest house provision. This meant that it was noisy with traffic and people.

    The secure parking and the daily maid service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    6.7
    Nice breakfast for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not a building just container-like rooms. Location is remote . Room is like a ship cabin.

    Nice breakfast for the money. Secure parking. Helpful attendant. Close to the highway.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    easy to find, cheap, clean, convenient - very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we booked 2 single beds (+ bunk bed for the kids) but got a double instead

    easy to find, cheap, clean, convenient - very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.9
    Easy stopover from ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Basic but reflected in price.

    Easy stopover from ferry

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    7.5
    The cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was a stale, unclean smell in the reception area.

    The cost.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.1
    It was just an overnight stay, receptionist was pleasant and...
    • Couple

    It was just an overnight stay, receptionist was pleasant and informative. Accommodation was comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    A fair way out of city but on 2 bus routes so once you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fair way out of city but on 2 bus routes so once you sorted out how to get into the city a breeze.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    6.3
    Cheap, clean, staff helpful, good restaurant 3MNS walk away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cheap, clean, staff helpful, good restaurant 3MNS walk away, For a stopover enroute from ferry to Germany, its cheap, clean and practical.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    5.8
    The bed was the most comfortable I have used
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No room to use the toilet shower was unable to turn round washbasin very difficult to use

    The bed was the most comfortable I have used

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: