Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ferme De La Raterie 3 stars

1744 Route De Belle, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Wierre-Effroy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not really something we did not like

    Good breakfast and very nice staff, good working internet, we had a room on the first floor and although the booking promised a garden view it was not possible to look out of the window as it was too high. But further a great location nicely located about 15 - 20 minutes from all beaches but not the busy rush of coastal cities, a prefect beautiful maintained garden for enjoying a drink after a long day of photography. If we go back to the Cote d'Opale we will choose this hotel again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame their restaurant was closed, but it was New Year's Eve.

    This is a very homely farm. It would be a great place to bring children. We were welcomed by the small, furry, family dog who showed us to our room and also made sure we went to the right door for breakfast. Our room was comfy, if nothing special. However, the breakfast was one of the best we have had on this trip. The hostess was also really helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged twice(!) for a reservation fee(since resolved thanks to your staff) Had an e mail before the trip in French saying the restaurant was closed on Sunday night but open for breakfast on Monday.Suprised on arrival to be told restaurant was shut on Monday night!

    Nice situation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof beams made sleeping & use of bathroom facilities very difficult unless you didn't mind banging your head. Breakfast was on a tray in our room when we arrived about 5pm. Money for our o/night stay was taken from our card 8 days before we arrived.

    Bed clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had our room changed from a ground floor to an attic room, which was accessed up some steep narrow stairs. I had to carry our elderly dog up and down the stairs, hotel staff did not care of the danger of having to perform this task. None of the residents on this floor were happy with the access to their rooms. In addition there were two big cobwebs in the room, so you have to question the cleanliness. Hotel not value for money.

    Good accomodation on ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within driving distance of the beautiful cliffs and beaches, this hotel (which is actually a renovated farm) is located in a very calm and relaxing environment. The garden is calm, the reception of the owners is good, the breakfast has all to offer one could want for a short trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our double room was small with no view (not corresponding to the booking.com website pictures). Bathroom was even smaller (only a small shower, difficult to use with kids). Low value for money. No kids corner or playground.

    Nice quite countryside location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of toilet was under a beam so both my husband and I had to 'duck' or limbo dance! The shower was very basic. We couldn't sit up in bed as it was located under another beam. The TV 'promised' English channels but there were none. The restaurant was very expensive.

    Pretty, but remote setting. Crisp clean linen and fluffy towels. Free wi-fi, and secure parking. Liked having a kettle for morning tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Beautiful, French farm, delightful courtyard and garden area, just the place to enjoy an apero after a long day's drive. Due to the inclement weather we had to eat indoors, not that that was a problem as the dining room is typically French and charming.Our evening meal was delicious, and then back to our comfy room with TV and even a tray to make ourselves a hot drink. We use this hotel as our first overnight stop after crossing over on Eurotunnel. A little haven of peace and calm after struggling with the motorways of England. Breakfast the following morning was super with a wonderful selection to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging left a lot to be desired. Denied that we had paid deposit but this was eventually rectified as was the fact we were charged a la carte when we had ordered the menu. No help was offered with luggage and we had to negotiate very steep and we considered dangerous staircase.

    Bed was very comfortable.!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room in the attick. The bathroom was very poor quality. The toilet is situated right under a beam. Although warning i banged my head several times against this beam. The shower is of very cheap material, there is no hook to hang up some things, very basic place, poor ventilation. Furthermore we had to pay for an extra bed of which were not informed beforehand.

    Nice old farm building in the countryside. We enjoyed 'the food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor concern about breakfast but this was due to us needing to leave early to catch the ferry. Owner tried to accommodate our requirements.

    Lovely old farmhouse hotel conversion in beautiful setting. We were the only ones staying that night but staff and owner were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good choice for breakfast but the most expensive of our holiday. Need brighter bulbs in the bedside lamps for those of us who enjoy reading. As in most places you need a BSC in engineering before you flood the place or get hit by freezing cold or boiling hot water from the shower, however here it was ok once you got it right.

    Nice spacious room. The bed linen and pillows were very nice. Dinner was very good. Lovely large garden to sit in and enjoy a drink anytime.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was well in the country, it was very well presented, clean, quiet. Breakfast was ok but found well out of date yoghurt pots that had blown. Apart from that we would happily return for another stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    good cook! pretty high level of cooking; and good price for this level of nice dishes good choice of vines very nice place; beautiful garden with flowers; lovely when sunny; you can take your breakfast there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs complete overhaul, going through the motions - wouldn't eat there very poor value - local competitor shows how to do it - similar property , excellent food (and cheaper) - its sad but unless new ownership won't visit again. Room had a shower that looked like the builder from fawlty towers had erected the enclosure, a WC that could only be used sitting down - not many recent tripadvisor reviews - there is reason for that

    attractive old fashioned farmhouse property with large annex, very nice garden -

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism of the Ferme, just a bit of a heads up that not much English is spoken. We muddled through in good humour but will brush up on our French for our next visit.

    Very peaceful location yet 20 mins from the Chunnel. Very welcoming family and lovely dinner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no milk in room for drinks but other than that small thing everything was lovely

    Lovely and friendly couple and rooms were well equipped and bed very comfy loved the friendly little dog Restaurant food was excellent we chose set menu good value for money 29 Euros three courses

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom time warp from 60/70s. Loo in corner under beam,smelt of drains,outpipe stuffed with cloth/paper. Bed under beam,all electric sockets overloaded, bedside lights not plugged in crawled under bed to put on. Loads of cheap freebies do not make any difference to a room that doesn't begin to be basic considering the cost. Could go on ........

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit expensive as a stop-over B&B, as we were using the place. Off the beaten track somewhat. (To be fair we'd been before and it was our second choice because of these factors)

    Comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals not suitable for small children who are fussy eaters!

    Nice quiet location 25mins from the tunnel. Ideal stopover. Excellent evening meal but could be expensive for a large family group.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Typical French list of do's and don'ts e.g. "It is forbidden to bring any food etc"

    Lovely setting, garden, welcome. Just what we were looking for.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except I did find a couple of small pieces of plastic in my delightful framboisier dessert. I did point this out to the waitress but I didn't exactly get an apology and I do speak French.

    The hotel is situated in the peace and tranquility of the French countryside but is only about 25 mins drive from the Eurotunnel entance/exit making this an ideal location for a first night stop or a last night in France. We opted for a comfort room and indeed it was wonderfully comfortable ovelooking the beautiful gardens, with a large double bed and tea/coffee making faciliity, always a bonus. The evening meal served outdoors in a pagoda style marquee was absolutely delicious and the buffet style breakfast offered a superb choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    This was our third visit to the hotel which shows how much we enjoy the place. The gardens and rooms are beautiful and the evening meal absolutely fantastic. We have used this as a way of breaking up a long journey and it makes the onward much easier as you can relax and then enjoy a great meal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A perfect overnight stop with an excellent restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm. Fantastic dinner. Felt like home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Quiet surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only guest at the hotel, so very quite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to the main house with a rollator.

    Food good Accommodation comfortable Everyone helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower but that's a really minor thing.

    Staff were lovely and friendly, very welcoming of our dog too. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The setting is lovely, very quiet. The ambiance is lovely. Food very good and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was good and the pillows. Well clean and no problems with allergies.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine is very expensive. The twin room is up a very steep staircase and no help offered with luggage

    Beautiful garden,nice dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous grounds to sit and relax in and the dining area was beautiful. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location convenient for Calais and just that little bit special compared to staying in a chain motel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast! Great room. Very kind and very helpful owners. I love this place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive glass of wine ; small glass 7 Euro's

    Great location Great meal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small drab rooms Wifi poor Ordinary food,nothing special

    Close to Calais Pleasant rural location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A country setting, quiet, pretty Garden, helpful hard working staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great coffee and a good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    waterproof mattress cover under sheet was really unpleasant. noisy and sweaty - spoilt sleep. Shame because bed linen was top grade.

    Fab hosts. Beautiful gardens. Special ambience. Will defy be going back.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room price should include breakfast - the breakfasts were very expensive for what was on offer. This may have been because it was not peak season and therefore a full choice was not available.

    Lovely setting

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More facilities on site - comfortable chairs and lounge for socialising.

    The bed was comfy and the room offered everything needed. Staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The TV was supposed to have BBC, but it had been re-programmed to German stations. WiFi didn't work very well and we needed help to access it. Apparently often happens

    Very comfortable room and bed Everything we needed. We had a superior room on ground floor facing the garden - very good. Staff professional and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was an overnight stop. The room was fine but it was set in the roof space and had areas of limited headspace, especially in the bathroom. The restaurant menu was good, but the English translation was very poor and often incorrect. I didn't like to mention it in case I appeared rude, but they had Mouse on the menu! It should have been knuckle of lamb!

    An excellent restaurant, burning fires in the hearth (It was Cold, wet & windy weather). Very pleasant proprietors, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on first floor up a very steep stair with narrow open treads: treacherous for humans and terrifying for our dog! Make sure you ask for ground floor accommodation.

    Excellent dinner. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No UK TV although advertised. Breakfast should have been included in the price or charged less. I would suggest that there should be two breakfast menus as we do not eat as much as some.

    Remoteness but not far from Boulogne-sur-Mer.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    It was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were lovely with a view over the garden. The people were friendly. We wished we had more time to spend there.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our shower leaked into the bathroom below and the rooms smelled very damp - like it had been happening for a while. staff, when told, seemed un phased by the problem.

    Calm atmosphere and beautiful area. Very comfy beds. Excellent breakfast. Close to Euro Tunnel.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightfully situated in open countryside - a haven of peace and tranquility - and only about 20 - 25mins away from Eurotunnel exit. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was superb and excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems; but only ONE English Breakfast teabag!! Nevertheless, we survived!!! P.S. Please ignore my obsession with tea-making facilities!!!

    Delightful place to stay. Wonderful room and facilities. Nice gardens and grounds (pity we did not have time to walk around, but dashing for early morning Eurotunnel). Great car parking facilities. Great service and meal was extraordinarily good.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Couple

    It's a bit difficult to find; when we arrived at 5pm there was no one there and the hotel was locked. Eventually, after about half an hour of shouting, someone appeared from a nearby field who said that he was busy in the field but he gave us the key to our room, I have no idea who he was! Bed was VERY hard.

    Quaint. Food is fantastic and madame, when she eventually appeared, was charming.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was reached through a large room in an outbuilding .. The Food was poor and the wine list not extensive enough

    the farm building were attractive from the outside Owners sere very friendly

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hot food served on cold plates.

    Hotel's rustic ambiance

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unable to access BBC TV channels in room, despite them being listed.

    Location, charming property, excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many notices warning us what could happen if we transgressed.

    Really quiet and near the Channel Tunnel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly comfortable hotel. Good food. Quiet location yet near to main mootorway

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    Comfortable room, good bathroom,nice reception area, friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Like something out of a film. Just stunning!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We kept banging our heads of the sloping roof

    The quiet secluded location

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food very expensive

    Good accommodation

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place was beautiful the room was excellent. Lady on reception couldn't speak English but was extremely friendly and smiley.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location, facilities, a little piece of tranquility, we were treated as special guests, it was absolutely lovely

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic hotel set in beautiful gardens. Food was some of the best we've ever had. Very accommodating as we had two young children with us.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beware of the mosquitoes at night (June)!

    Charming style Good food Pretty grounds

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good overnight meeting spot for a group of friends before heading South.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor tea selection in room

    Peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    DINNER WAS POOR AND OVER-PRICED. NO KIR AVAILABLE AS THEY HAD RUN OUT OF CASSIS!

    FRIENDLY STAFF AND WELL APPOINTED ROOM

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evrything

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: