Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de Candeloup 3 stars

19 Lieu-Dit La Benjamine, Chemin Augas, 64360 Monein, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Monein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, scenery, comfy bed, wonderful food and people who could not do enough for you. I had a lovely stay. I had dinner in the evening and it was a real treat, soup, then a duck main course and a apple and rhubarb crumble for pudding, simple amazing! A great stay in a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need to be very quiet and hope your neighbour will be also because you hear everything from room to room.

    Peaceful place with a nice view on the Pyrenees, charm of old house and owners friendly and helpful , honest home made food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place in the countryside , in line with my expectations, one point of attention : we were only 2 occupants and overall phonic insulation including between bedrooms is not highest level , should you be with a large noisy group I believe the stay would have been much different

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a friendlier welcome. We felt rather secluded until breakfast the following morning when we met Melanie.

    Melanie made us very welcome. The environment is very quiet but the village of Monein is nearby and quite interesting. Amazing church building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms. But this is pretty standard in France.

    Beautiful location, lovely spacious rooms, very friendly and helpful owners. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find a restaurant reasonably close by the hotel, and we ended up driving into Pau which is about a 30 minute drive. The attitude of the hotel seemed a little coolish to us...like we were sort of intruding on the owner's personal space. For example, there is a nice deck near the pool area but there is no seating. Also, there is a large room adjacent to the dining area which lacks any seating (I believe this space is used for a yoga class, but it would be nice to have an area to sit inside and read or lounge).

    Beautiful scenery and charming looking buildings. The price of the room seemed to be fair. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to read the full details of the confirmation (as we didn't) in regards to the evening meal.

    The location is very quiet and tranquil. We had a warm welcome from our host who showed us to our room and informed us about the facilities. There was an excellent selection at breakfast and was extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautifully well appointed small hotel. We were warmly welcomed, with our Golden Retriever too! The room was delightful, fabulous views, with a lovely shower room and ample hot water. Tea and Coffee were available to help yourself in a communal area, a real bonus in France! Good breakfast. A great place to stay on route or for a holiday. Gorgeous wines locally too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a little jewel hidden amongst Jurancon vineyards. Roger and staff are the friendliest and most welcoming hosts. The hotel is impeccable, spacious, clean. Kids loved the pool, the swings, the tree house. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way. Everything else brilliant.

    Beds really comfy, loved the self service kitchen for teas, coffee etc. Great yoga area. Beautifully converted barn and very interesting Explorer owner, you must buy his books!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien!!

    L’atmoshere de la region

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe some choice in sandwich filling for breakfast.

    It is a wonderful place to be. Quiet and friendly and beauti

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly welcome, very clean ns excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. The beautiful location with views of the Pyrenees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager very helpful and nice. Good breakfast and liked having tea/coffee making facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ground Floor Studio/Appartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really...

    we loved EVERYTHING!! staff is wonderfull, place is spacious, comfortable, clean, location is fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If your over 5'5" you will hate the bed. The wall between our room and the adjoining room was so thin you could hear every sound which made our night very uncomfortable. If soundproofing was addressed the hotel would be worth another visit.

    It a beautiful setting and a great concept. The host was helpful and friendly. It was close to an authentic French restaurant that was recommended by our host which we enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peace and mountains,good place to stay before crossing through pyreenes to Sansebastian which is a better way to see the country than down highway to biarritz highways in spain massive and empty

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Couple

    Great place. Very nice host who has done a truely remarkable job converting the old farm into this everso personal and wonderful hotel in a magnificant contryside in South of France. Wow!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is good and cheap, but we would prefer a bit more variety (e.g. with fruit from the region).

    We rented the apartment and a bedroom upstairs for the children. All vary spacious. The renovation of the farm is done very well, and its location is excellent with very good views all around. The couple managing the place is very helpful and relaxed. The swimming pool is excellent. We made many day-trips to activities in the Pyrenees.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What makes the charm of the hotel also brings some inconveniences. We had room number 3. There is a traditional small double bed (150cm) and the room (actually the whole 1st floor) has a wooden floor that cracks and seems to enhance all the noises. We could hear our neighbor walk as if he was in our own room. On top of that, we were blessed with a neighbor who snored loudly.

    The rooms are in a charming old barn that has been transformed in a spacious breakfast/diner room (downstairs) and 6 rooms (upstrairs). Downstairs contains a fridge and cooking facilities. There is a lovely terrace and a decent swimming pool. Parking is safe and convenient as you can park in the inner courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing location and premises!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant not open on Saturday night.

    Lovely location on the edge of the Pyrenees.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly family run. Quiet peaceful setting. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Good location dog friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location, the tranquility, friendliness of the staff, owners, decor, quality of furnishings, the friendly welcome

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location beautiful and excellent facilities. Would certainly recommend this property.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: