Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Flandre Angleterre 2 stars

13 Place De La Gare, 59000 Lille, France

#39 of 53 hotels in Lille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    We booked this hotel partly because they were down town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel partly because they were down town and had a free parking (my husband is partially handicapped). Even though the day before our reservation we still received an email from them, advertising their parking lot, we could not access the hotel or park close by because of a yearly huge festival in the city. Really, they could have warned us! It felt like false advertising.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - the bedroom just needs two small side tables next to the bed - that was the only thing missing really.

    Proximity to the attractions, the town, shopping centre, eateries, restaurants and the station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Across the train station Lille-Flandres
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of the renovated room and quality of the bed and beding. Around the clock welcoming receptionists. Right in the center, walking distance with the "vieux Lille".

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice room. Shame no air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that this hotel (or the duplex room at least) isn't air conditioned. We got so hot that I opened the window overnight, and got so many mosquito bites I had to seek medical attention. Bear this in mind if you're traveling in the summer!

    Nice room, and lovely bathroom. Useful to have a mini kitchen in the duplex (as we travelled with small children). The beds were comfortable, and it was in a good central location by the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Was ideal for us using both local and Eurostar train networks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor lights were sensor triggered and didn't activate immediately. So you were left in pitch blackness when entering the corridors, felt a bit unsafe.

    Location, location. Opposite Gare-Lille and short walk to Eurolille. Couldn't be more central. Rooms well sound proofed. Couldn't hear road works outside. Air conditioning a blessing in the heat wave Europe was experiencing. Lift meant no dragging heavy bags up stairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    Duplex room not worth staying in summers!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we reached at 3:00 PM the reception told us to wait one more hour as the room was still not ready! The hotel is under construction and there is no space to even stand at the reception. We took the duplex which has no ventilation and feels like furnace as there are no ACs and windows open in the street so you can not open. There was loud drilling sound since early morning. Requesting reception to stop the drilling noise temporarily also did not help! At Euro 175 a night, you expect a working hair drier at least if not air conditioning! I was given a brand new hair drier but strangely someone at 11:30 PM was knocking on doors to ask to return it when you are deep in sleep!!!! Not to forget, the entrance is not the same as the hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    I have often to go to Nantes for Work,had to take train to Nantes for reunion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in inovation ...no problem as the staff was nice .... I could not use the shower because there was not enough pressure en the water was cold . This is not so funny to start your day :(

    The staff, Train near to the Hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Below expectations. Unfair to make customers pay that price in a building under renovation..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the building was completely different from what we expected. There were electrical cables hanging over our heads in the entrance over the stairs and in the breakfast room. Rockwool sticking out (not sure how healthy it is to breath that..) and pipes. The breakfast was minimal.

    Position was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location & friendly people, nice architecture.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be frank the room is really too small comparing to all hotels in China and they're decorating on those days, so it's a bit noisy but we can overcome within short time. Anyway, generally speaking it's ok.

    Thanks to all the staff in this hotel, they are all very friendly and warm-hearted. Especially for Michelle who gives me many useful suggestions and make me feel home. The location is quite good near to the Flandre railway station & subway station, very easy to travel out, many restaurant s & pharmacy store nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value little hotel in handy location for a short stay in Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a busy location and street side rooms can be noisy. Bring ear plugs. No lift in operation so expect to have to walk up stairs.

    Great breakfast - fresh and plenty of choice. Comfortable beds. Even though there was building work going on it didn't affect sleep or breakfast. Really close to Eurostar terminal - 5 mins walk - and to tram and bus stops and also to central Lille.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff was quite helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While booking we were not told that the hotel is being renovated, it was quite a mess. NO ELEVATOR AND ROOM WAS ON 3RD FLOOR WITH KID.

    Staff was quite helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Functional and really handy for town station - will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bozos in the next room pre-loading till midnight then crashing back in at 0700 after gawd-knows-what shinannegins on the town!

    Just a cheap stop-over we have used before, so no great expectations. It's right by Lille Flandres station so really handy for catching an early train, like the TGV direct service to Bordeaux bypassing Paris.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Towels were not clean while the radiator never worked during...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were not clean while the radiator never worked during my stay, I was freezing. In the morning, I found bugs in the bathroom too. The area is very central however there are people begging for money EVERYWHERE. Wouldn’t go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, but a little disappointed this time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior double bedroom had a rather nasty odour in the bathroom, which we were told was due to old plumbing. A rusty plug hole in the bath didn’t help. We asked to be moved and were given a classic room, but no discount, even though the move wasn’t our fault. The hotel is due to be refurbished this summer, so hopefully the bathroom issues will be resolved!

    The staff are very friendly & helpful, and the location, near stations and the centre, is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    More like a hostel than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a non smoking hotel however there was a smell of smoke throughout. There was also works going on within the hotel that we were not informed about which started as early as 5am.

    The hotel was a good location from the train station and a few restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Really close to the train station and walkable distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, you can barely walk around the bed. There's no sound insulation from the corridor, you can hear everyone walking by.

    Really close to the train station and walkable distance from the center. Good enough sound insulation from the street, you could barely hear he noise of the bars on a Saturday evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A very good,small, hotel that is professionally well operated and the location is outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very convenient to the Euro Train station. Not a far walk at all. (and we are seniors) And it is close to the city center. Friendly and helpful staff, fluent in English. There is a lift, it is small but works great. Small but clean room with an excellent bed. Great view from the fifth floor. A great city, we are so glad that we visited it and the hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Short and sweet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in overlooked a busy road and I didn't sleep well. Lille is a busy city so perhaps they are all like this?

    I was only there a few hours Sunday to Monday. The staff were all very nice and made me welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Great view of Gare De Lille Flandres from my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Great view of Gare De Lille Flandres from my room. Friendly staff who were very accommodating even though I don't speak French. A few minutes walk to the centre. Close to both major railway stations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was a duplex and it was like a little apartment. It had a small hob, kettle, microwave & fridge. The bathroom had an excellent shower and there was also a second toilet separate from the bathroom. Near to everything, and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff. OK facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had no air conditioning so it was really warm. Also the bathroom was nog verry clean.

    The location is perfect, all the main attractions are in walking distance. Also the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location and room was clean & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy area due to lots of traffic all night

    Great location and short walk to restaurants, bars & beautiful buildings. Across the road from the Lille Flanders train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Swings & roundabouts.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee making facilities in room unless you pay extra for an upgrade. Upon upgrade you lose your view & gain the said facilities but room at at rear of building, dark & fells like being underground .

    Location was great. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Minimal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny with barely enough space to walk around the bed. One towel in the bathroom. Front desk staff had no idea where the Hertz car rental office was and sent me down a side street which was a poor listing on Hertz part. Turns out it's inside the station near track 2. A two star property at best.

    A short walk from the Lille Flandres train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable and convenient hotel for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A coffee/tea maker in the room would have been nice but seems to be rare in France anywhere - the cheap wine almost made up for this!

    The situation on the Place de la Gare was ideal for transport and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Location was great: right next to Gare Lille-Flandres,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi signal was extremely weak from the bed. The corridors and stairs were cramped - I was lucky that the hotel was almost empty! The walls were fairly thin and I could hear the doors and bath from other rooms quite clearly.

    Location was great: right next to Gare Lille-Flandres, access to both metro lines. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and cozy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to Lille Europe station, Gare Lille Flandres. vieux Lille and Place du Theatre. Had a great time exploring the Christmas market. The staff was very friendly and spoke both English and of course French. Paid extra and enjoyed breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't have a proper shower just an shower attachment that could only be used if you sat in the bath as the ceiling was too low to be able to stand.

    The hotel was in a good location for walking to everything. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Plenty of places to eat local to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.5
    Handy to station for trains although I didn't realize...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night with window open. It was so hot had to choose noise ! Next night a fan was supplied. Big help.

    Handy to station for trains although I didn't realize there were two stations. Both handy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Very practical location near Lille Europe station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise levels at the front.We had bedroom at back which was much more quiet, but still a bit noisy.On very warm night small room is almost too hot to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Terrific place in centre of Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking the car is very expensive and far away. Travelling by train is more easy.

    Familyroom super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit uncomfortable and there was no elevator due to construction

    Good location and nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    It wAs a terrible experience for me and my child. No lift,no window in room.reception refused change
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have mentioned that there is no lift and that hotel is on poor conditions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Lille is a beautiful city, it worth to visit it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom needs maintainance

    location, the receptionist was super friendly and helpful, the room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and a friendly welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities were rather mediocre.

    Friendly welcome and helpful staff. Rooms aren't luxurious, but value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location and quiet room, and the free drink in Best Western bar (for energy saving) was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to take a few stairs with suitcase as the lift stopped just before the level of room-.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    aintersting vist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the bed was allright

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Everything was Very good The Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Hotel is well Situated Close to Lille Europe and Flanders. It's Also close to the Old Town for Sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great Location and Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location and Breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renovations to the bathroom would be recommended.

    The staff is very kind en very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The location, the helpful kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot, there was noise in the corridors.

    The location, the helpful kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Location very handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water boiler in the room and coffee or tea...

    Location very handy Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    The staff were really polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    in the heart of the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot, aircon would be a good idea

    New and super clean room, in front of train station, very near city center, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Will highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All OK for duration of stay.

    The breakfast was very good. Bread was fresh and Tea hot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    credit card hold which is still in place after almost 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    credit card hold which is still in place after almost 1 month. Should come off after full payment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice quiet hotel near train station and close to shopping area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could need a renovation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel just in the heart of Lille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    good value-for-money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Double room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single rooms were more basic

    Double room was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Location great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    IT WAS A NICE STAY IN A GOOD HOTEL THE STAFF WERE GOOD I MAY GO THERE AGAIN NEEXT YEAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE HOTE;L WAS NICE AND THE FODS WAS NICE

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful weekend,loved the Christmas market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking

    Central location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Wifi is too slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is too slow

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    3.3
    The Hotel was absolute rubbish especially considering it cost €164 per night without breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All of it. We are in the middle of claiming a refund.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.8
    The centre of Lille but not the best part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy location and small rooms

    Good Breakfast and friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small places

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Definatley Go Back.😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    free Wi Fi Staff were Friendly. Breakfast very good. well Located near 2 railway stations. Good Mini bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff. the hotel is just by the train station. very clean and a very good value for money. it is located at a 10 minutes walk from the city center and vieux lille. would definitly recommend it Ralph

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.5
    It was very convenient for the station and the tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It doesn't have any atmosphere - quite soulless. But all I wanted was a clean, cheap hotel. The room was very small but it was comfortable.

    It was very convenient for the station and the tourist information. The young man on the desk was very helpful with directions.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast was good - a reasonable spread of choice though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only mild minus point - no hot milk for the coffee

    Breakfast was good - a reasonable spread of choice though for my part I normally confine myself to gorging on croissants and pains au chocolat. Bread and croissants of the high quality normally encountered in France.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    10
    The location is great near both train stations and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is great near both train stations and the staff was very helpful. This was my second stay at this hotel because it is very close to Grand Place, the shopping mall, museums and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    6.3
    It is close to the center of Lille and 2 minutes away from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are small and whatever sound you make in the room can be heard in the hallway since there is no sound isolation

    It is close to the center of Lille and 2 minutes away from the metro

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    3.8
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - never had such a dark room - room was disgusting (bedside tables covered by dust, bathtub was disgusting on the first 2 nights) - restaurant atmosphere (for breakfast) was depressing and I am not even talking about the "waitress" that was supposed to attend customers - never saw such tight and scary corridors (as in horror movies type of corridors)

    the location

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    4.6
    A family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small alley of hallways to get to our room. Breakfast wasnt worth the price. Very central but the city (and location near the train station) didnt feel very safe for walking around much less with small kids.

    A family room

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our Superior bedroom while decor and comfort of actual room was good, accessibility felt very unsafe. After requesting a low floor we were put in the attic with no opening window and unsafe inadequately lit spiral steps leading to the room. Dangerous for us let alone any elderly or less mobile people. The hospitality tray had one flimsy plastic cup and the triple room we booked and requested to be close by, wasn't and had no hospitality tray. While I realist a request is just that, my main concern is the steps leading to the attic room which were dangerous.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    Location close to the train stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very small room & tiny bathroom Expensive for what it is Noisy

    Location close to the train stations. Easy walk to attractions, shops & restaurants. Very helpful , friendly staff!!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Much more to see than I had expected - cathedral, Grande...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Narrow space to get into and out of shower. Could be a squeeze for someone obese.

    Much more to see than I had expected - cathedral, Grande Place. Lille is *well* worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.4
    The bed was comfortable and the staff tried to be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were in the quadruple room (top floor), and just under the roof, for an awfully hot room and lots of mosquitos in the night. All the hotel is quite old and needs a reform. Wouldn't recommend.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff tried to be helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    5.8
    Maybe the friendly guy at the checkin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Has no air-con ; so had to try sleeping with windows open and that was a nightmare ! And the breakfast was very average too..

    Maybe the friendly guy at the checkin...

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.8
    It was very close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hallways were very claustrophobic. Rooms are tired and small. Breakfast was not a good value.

    It was very close to the train station. Staff was helpful. Breakfast room was okay

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.4
    Close proximity to cafes and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To leave this hotel you have to work your way through drunks and aggressive beggars( just outside the door) The elevator is tiny and like other reviewers said the single room is tiny. Walks paper thin.

    Close proximity to cafes and train station

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    6.3
    The receptionists were friendly, helpful and offered us 10%...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived at the room it smelled like a recently used toilet and we had to throw the windows open to get rid of the smell. It was much smaller than we had anticipated and there was very little space for luggage. Reception repeatedly called us in the morning to ask if they could clean the room and knocked on the door in spite of the Do Not Disturb sign being on the door handle. We reserved a parking space in advance, as it is listed as being 'on site', but when we arrived we found that the parking garage was located two blocks away. Not on site as advertised.

    The receptionists were friendly, helpful and offered us 10% discounts at local restaurants. The hotel is very centrally located and generally quite quiet if you ask for a quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    6.3
    Excellent position, efficient and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi free but not accessable, small breakfast room on the first floor within the passage of all those who want to gain the exit (seams like rush hour in downtown)

    Excellent position, efficient and helpful staff

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Flandre Angleterre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: