Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Foch 4 stars

59 Avenue Maréchal Foch, 6th arr., 69006 Lyon, France

#73 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 420 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    generally good locatiion at reasonable price with helpful staff and a reasonable breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were three of us in one room the sofa bed was very squeaky and it was a tight squeeze between against one of the beds. the room we had could have done with decorating to make look brighter inside

    the room was clean and reasonably quite at night the bar below the hotel was a nice place to start our evening. the hotels location was very good close to bus routes and metro station, close to the river and the old town just 15 minutes walk. the staff were helpful and breakfast was reasonable with reasonable choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    acoustic insulation between floors, given that it has wooden...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    acoustic insulation between floors, given that it has wooden floor, is very poor. couldn't sleep because although nobody was misbehaving, on the upstairs room, somebody was walking in the wooden floor until 5:00 in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    over rated
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the value is very expensive for the experience.. the towels were too old also the bed wasn’t comfortable.. the room wasn’t clean this much there was some thing strange made iches in the bed.. at all wasn’t good experience.

    the location in Foch street is the good thing and nothing else..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    I have overpaid my extremely unpleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have paid the breakfast I specifically stated I did not want to have. Moreover, rooms have no sound isolation. The floor in the room squeaks when person walks. Finally, housekeeping has not maintained the room (make the bed, empty the bins, change towels etc.)

    However, the location of the hotel is really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    I enjoyed it very much, but guests should be willing to be philosophical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If one is to be honest, to the seasoned traveller, this is a 3 star rather than 4 star Hotel. It is homely and friendly, but quite faded and tired in some respects.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel well placed and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration is looking a bit dated and access to the hotel is a bit complicated.

    Staff very friendly, it is a small friendly hotel, very good location close to the center of Lyon, but in the quiet residential part of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Location was great, wiyhin walking distance of the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, wiyhin walking distance of the train station, as well as the city centre and Old Lyon. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were so nice and helpful. It was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    The location was just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old and tatty furniture should be retired and replaced with items more appropriate to a 3 star hotel. Pretty well all of the door hinges and the lift could do with some oil.

    Good location, 15/20 minute walk from the old town. Parking just nearby. Easy to find, enter and leave. Room spacious and quiet. Comfy beds. WiFi good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location, comfortable, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving up by car to the hotel is a big problem. No parking space to unload because all street parking seems to be taken always. We had to park illegally, blocking the entrance to the underground garage where after checking in (several minutes, irritating other motorists), we got access cards and codes to park the car (17 Euros/night). The internet just did not work right in our room, I could not get on and needed to go to the lobby to get on the office internet. Suggestion to the owner: You have a unique place, but arrange for an unloading parking space for the hotel and get a modern internet set-up.

    It is a unique experience to stay at this hotel. It is on the third and fourth floors and has older style furnishings, high ceilings, large windows with nice curtains. It is cozy, friendly, quiet, and very relaxing. The owner, who is usually behind the reception counter, is very nice and helpful and speaks sufficient English. The beds are comfortable. The location is excellent. Subway/Metro almost in front of the house. Without the subway, just walk across the bridge (Rhone), 10 minutes, and you are at the Opera, City Hall, in the middle of stores, restaurants, museums; walk a bit farther and across the Saone and you are in the Old Town of Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in a great location in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    An older quaint hotel with a creeky staircase but had you feeling like you were living in a Paris apartment. Our room ( I think 21) had a balcony overlooking the street in what is a pleasant and safe residential area and only a 20 minute walk into the centre of Lyon activity. Below the hotel is a great little cafe Le Foch. Certainly a great place to stay when visiting Lyon with friendly and helpful staff ( especially Denis)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main entrance downstairs was confusing as it was empty and not inviting. It almost seemed like we were at the wrong place but after calling the hotel and getting the elevator upstairs, the hotel was very good!

    Main bed was very comfy and staff very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't have been any better as it was next to everything we needed. The hotel itself was well presented and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Very good stay on heritage building near old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really minor issue, but we could not find any door signage to indicate "do not disturb" or "please make up room".

    This is a basic yet very cosy hotel, very conveniently located near a metro station and at walking distance from Lyon's Old City. Staff was very polite, even with us arriving near midnight from the Alps. The hotel itself is on the second floor of a very old building, shared with other businesses. Yet, it has safety doors and you don't really notice other people once inside. Room is very comfortable and spacious, and although parking is not available on site, you can book a spot on an excellent subterranean public parking next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Quiet location with easy access to the Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No AC in our room and a squeaky fan, but we managed.

    The hotel is in an old building on the 2nd floor. Not high-end, but cozy and it had everyt5hing we needed. One block to the Foch Metro stop, you can get anywhere from the Metro. Two really nice restaurants only one block away. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    For few night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was poor compare to it's price. The price was not the same what was written in the room and what we had to pay. It was strange that we had to ask always to switch on or off the air conditioning, because they didn't give us the remote control... It was 35 degree outside.

    Well located, supermarkets nearby. Elegant and secure area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Lyon spirit off the tourist crowds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe wifi could be faster... and the items for breakfast not packed in small size containers (like the airplane food used to be when they still used to serve food on planes...) But who cares about wifi in such a unique place. Croissant was there and it was good.

    The hotel is located in a 19th century classic apartment building - the hotel including the breakfast room spans over its two floors. I think the ambiance here is very naturally "lyonnaise". I like the entry hall integrated reception and breakfast eating tables. The location is optimal. You are on the metro line directly connected to the airport tram.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Staff was helpful, and the bed and shower of good quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room with old movable ceiling plates (some of which broken), nothing special on the furniture, not user-friendly Internet wifi system (included in the price), overall basic for the price and the 4 stars...

    Staff was helpful, and the bed and shower of good quality. Good location for people going to the international city (not so much for those wishing to visit the old town).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Welcome was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Welcome was great. Staff really friendly. The facilities were more than adequate Breakfast was excellent. Hotel even phoned me when back in England to let me know I had left things in my room and had remembered me saying my son lived in Lyon and wondered if he could collect them.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    Don't expect a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was tempting but this hotel is far away from being ranked as a 4 stars. To be fair the staff personnel are extremely friendly but the facilities of the hotel are very old and completely not up to the level of a 4 stars hotel. Pillows are bad, door lock does not function unless you are a wrestler, reception is very small, hair drier barely works, no ear cottons, and the list goes on and on. We changed our room and the other one was similar with the same level (even for the move they were supposed to move our luggage but they did not) Thanks to the nice receptionist, we were allowed to keep the AC remote control in our room during night which was apparently "not allowed" according to the hotel policy!! The hotel occupies the 2nd and the 3rd floor of a residential building in a nice area. If you are looking for a 2 or maximum 3 starts hotel, and I am not confident saying 3 stars, this hotel could be ok. Just don't expect any sort of luxury in the room, the bathroom or even the reception.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Hotel's location is very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Location is good, about 20 mins walk to Bellecour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is good, about 20 mins walk to Bellecour. There are nice bars along the river about 10 mins from the hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable beds. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel within easy reach of the old city. Easy walking to bars, restaurants and cafes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice rooms comfortable beds but the stand out were the staff. Great customer service and always so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good surprise to see the vintage room style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly, the bed comfortable, bathroom large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly, the bed comfortable, bathroom large and clean, and the street noise was not noticeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location but not a 4-Star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was very uncomfortable, the breakfast was the same for 5 mornings, no changes

    Location, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Très bon hôtel, bien situé
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    Not 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4 stars

    Not 4 stars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Sa situation
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sa situation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.3
    Meh ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all just a bit old without the charm

    Location for price is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.8
    Lousy hotel, terrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is mediocre, breakfast is a joke ! It's barely a 2 star hotel, I have no idea how it was given a 4 star

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows. They were synthetic and terribly uncomfortable

    fine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice place to stay in Lyon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    I like the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    The personels is so smiling and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel can not be four stars. It is one star according to my idea

    The personels is so smiling and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location with very friendly and helpful staff, who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with very friendly and helpful staff, who directed us to a very good local restaurant just a block away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    The staff was amazing (thanks)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My mom of 70 + was with us...there is a lift but old and also steps to the second level of rooms.It's a bit dated but super clean & lovely. No real room service...but you can get drinks anytime from them. :)

    The staff was amazing (thanks)!!!!! The friendliest & most helpful of our 2 week trip in Europe! The location is super. Safe and a walk to many great shops , places to eat! Find selection for breakfast. Felt more like a pension.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.1
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located and close to a metro station which made it easy coming from the airport. It is more of a feel of a B&B. I am aware that hotels are pricey in France nonetheless I believe that 145 euros a night for this Hotel was way too much.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    The girl at the reception was amazing, really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The elevator is pretty small, but you have to use it if you have luggage since the hotel is actually on the second floor of the building. Also, you can hear all the noise from the neighboring rooms, like doors banging and kids fighting. The old town is a good 30 or 40 minutes walk away from the hotel. Not that important, but there was no fridge at the room.

    The girl at the reception was amazing, really nice and helpful. The location is not too bad, specially if you're coming/going to the train station by subway. The hotel is slightly close to the Opera and Hôtel du Ville.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was friendly. The location is good, in a safe area, walking distance from city center. The room was big and clean. We parked the car in the street, no parking fee.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    so called 4 star hotel, but the bathroom was small and the shower was very poor. Breakfast at 12 Euros was very expensive for nothing. Eat it at one of the near by cafes

    Great location. Good staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpfull,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Car -parking 7 floors under ground, and you have to give back the badge to the hotel after leaving the car-park. Breakfast 12 € is too much for this poor service. Low wi-fi

    Staff very friendly and helpfull, small room but very clean, Very good position

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    6.7
    Next to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are looking for a 4 stars hotel, forget it. Really small hotel. They'll charge you as a 4 star hotel but you'll not feel it like a 4 stars. There's not a 24h staff. If you're planning to come back after midnight, they'll take your fingerprints to access.

    Next to public transportation Bedroom is good enough Nice staff Great neighborhood

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    7.9
    The personnel was excellent, pleasant and really helpful,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The whole hotel is limited in the 2nd floor of a business building with a not so welcoming entrance and small elevator. The single room is rather small and with disappointing view. In general, though the service was good, I don't think this hotel has the extra characteristics for a 4-stars rating.

    The personnel was excellent, pleasant and really helpful, the room was clean and the hotel is strategically sited in a quiet area, close to a metro station and in walking distance from the city's heart.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Emily and Alex treated the 8 of us like old friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Emily and Alex treated the 8 of us like old friends. They were so warm and hospitable and made our stay extremely memorable. They were so welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. Everything was perfect in an older era style of motel. A great time for a short stay. Thankyou

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Older facility. Clearly more a 3-star property than a 4-star one.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    the staff was very kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    more space in the room (we asked for an additional bed and it was difficult to move)

    the staff was very kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly, the underground parking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi was weak

    The staff were very friendly, the underground parking was good, the room was comfortable and the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could have been a greater variety of fruit for breakfast.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    10
    Lady in reception was most helpful and accommodating, bed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lady in reception was most helpful and accommodating, bed comfortable, breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    6.7
    The location, very calm and close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WIFI, it was sad as we had work to do and could not use the internet in our room!

    The location, very calm and close to town.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    5.8
    It`s very difficult to find the entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It`s very difficult to find the entrance. Room was very narrow.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to change room because the air con was too noisy in our previous one

    Location Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.1
    Location, WI-FI connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small and dark.

    Location, WI-FI connection

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.9
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Staff were absolutely charming & super helpful &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were absolutely charming & super helpful & knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    The owner and his staff was really helpful and Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner and his staff was really helpful and Nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paper thin walls, very bad sound insulation, you hear almost everything from adjacent rooms and from the hallway.

    Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    Very close to Lyon center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very close to Lyon center

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Ottima location, hotel pulito e comodo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ottima location, hotel pulito e comodo

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    6.7
    Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Standard of decor in the room. Standard of bathroom

    Wifi Electric window blindes Bed

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.1
    garage , location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    garage , location

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and welcoming reception. Very helpful, knowledgable and clear with advice on getting round Lyon and where to eat etc.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    I loved how friendly and open the staff were, the décor of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved how friendly and open the staff were, the décor of the hotel, and just how amazingly clean the room was.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    6.7
    Hotel was cheap and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park was very tight and it was well worn

    Hotel was cheap and clean

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Non-soundproof walls. My children made other customers unhappy.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    The very friendly staff !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The very friendly staff !! Warm atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    10
    Emilie - the Reception Manager - so charming & sexy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Emilie - the Reception Manager - so charming & sexy

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: