Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Fontainebleau Ury 4 stars

Route Nationale 152, 77760 Ury, France

#4 of 6 hotels in Ury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal was disappointing with an unordered meal being brought to the table, whilst the second was only average.The correct meal arrived when I had almost finished my meal.Added to this there was a significant and unacceptable delay in providing the full glass of wine . The most significant issue was, however, security.On two occasions someone entered our room. The first whilst we were taking breakfast and the second whilst my wife was in the bathroom. We stay in quality hotels throughout the world and I must say that this hotel did not in any way upto its potential. Very disappointing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Novotel rooms have got smaller over the years we have been using them and the general experience is not as good as it used to be. For example only one sachet of shampoo and shower gel provided, no shower cap etc. in restaurant menu was limited and no butter was provided with the 2 bread rolls we were offered at dinner. breakfast was expensive but good provision.

    The pool and the sauna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to change those old mattresses. I had a WiFi security issue, I am still waiting for their answer as how come that we could link to an another WiFi but Novotel’s without password

    It is a wonderful place to stay, it is lovely, there is a big park, the hotel design is unique

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's vital that you enter the precise address into your satnav. We had quite a search for Ury and this Novotel. Maybe e additional signage at roundabouts in the vicinity would help.

    Great ,quiet location -off the beaten track. We arrived mid evening and wanted supper. The restaurant had a reasonable range of menu and thew costs were reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall it a bit pricey for what's offered (dinner was expensive; only paper cups provided in room for tea/coffee; no bath tub (just a shower);

    Buffet breakfast was not cheap, but it was very good - and we especially liked the facility to make freshly squeezed orange and/or grapefruit juice. Also, many entertainment facilities (pool table, putting carpet, large TV in lounge area, spa, etc).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this is a very large porperty and our bedroom was at the end of the hotel and we had to walk and climb stairs with heavy luggage (no lift/elevator).

    The bar and the beautiful place to enjoy with friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the check-in process was efficient, it scored few marks for charm and friendliness. At dinner we were given very small portions and did not consider it good value for money. Breakfast likewise at E 16.50 was poor value. The bacon was of the American streaky type and very fatty. (As far as bacon is concerned hotels should take the British example as standard).There seemed to be a lot of flies in the dining room.

    The rooms were spacious, well equipped and comfortable (though it was just a little disappointing that one could not get BBC World Service on the TV). A wonderful site. The hotel is situated in a lovely rural area (it would seem ideally suited to walkers). There was a family ambience with games, and outdoor pool available. It is also sympathetically designed and decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not appreciate that the pool closed already at around 19.00 at night, as it was very hot during the weekend that we visited. I did not appreciate that the staff in the restaurant during both evenings that we had dinner, forgot to serve, were very late taking our orders, and generally non-attentive and non-cooperative.

    I liked the location and the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Later breakfast finish time during the week i.e. at least 10 a.m. We booked a twin bedded room. One of us had a lovely big double bed and one had the sofa!...

    Comfy beds. Good selection of food for breakfast. Lovely warm outdoor pool. Super massage in spa. Very enjoyable evening meal and wine. This was our second visit this year and we would happily visit again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst coffee I have ever tasted at breakfast. I thought the dinner was over-priced and not very tasty and the restaurant tables are rather crowded together. Smell of drains in our bathroom. The hotel is actually not in Fontainebleau but some distance away, just outside a village, and is rather difficult to find. It could do with better sign-posting.

    I liked the table football and the pool table in the foyer. The bar area looks good, with very funky chairs but they were actually really uncomfortable to sit in. Room was quiet and had a nice view of greenery. Parking is easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok with fresh eggs but bacon and sausage were not cooked properly and the coffee not great. How difficult is it to do a good breakfast? Very big hotel, would be a nightmare at peak season.......

    Nice rooms, good beds, secure parking, clean and good staff at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs were kept in the rooms and were wandering around the restaurant and hotel which I didn't like and was unaware this was the case when booking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having been in this hotel many times, I am disappointed that the restaurant has not improved its décor, comfort, or menu. Unfortunately, the restaurant is showing the signs of time albeit the food was not below average in taste, presentation, etc. But, the menu could use some changes and or additions. Surely not a gourmet restaurant at this point. Although the breakfast offering was reasonable, in my judgment, it did not match the quality or variety of many competitors based on observations in over a dozen hotels in the month of March 2017. The toilet arrangements, in a separate, very small room of sorts, leave something to be desired. The concept is fine; the area dedicated to the function inadequate in my view.

    Room was clean, neat and comfortable, and the bathroom had been renovated in the not too distant past. Parking is free and readily available. Although the hotel 's location is not the best for many things, it is convenient, if you have transportation, to Fontainebleau and its storied chateau. Reception staff was courteous, friendly and helpful in our dealings with the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper coffee cups in the bedroom, and considering its rural location it's a tad pricey.

    The complimentary drink was a nice touch. The dinner menu was much better than expected. Quiet location, nice terrace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have benefited from some vegetables and for the price perhaps some smoked fish and a greater selection of cheeses.

    We stayed three adults and a child in one room, which was a little crowded but worked. The heated outdoor pool was nice and warm in November. The hotell is located on the edge of the forest which is full of pleasant walking paths.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff could have been friendlier, they were just doing a job. A bit above the rest. No ramps to wheel suit cases, only stairs

    The waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside it looks awful, very old fashioned and run down. Inside they seem to think a bit of modern art justifies the price. Very much overpriced for basically an uncomfortable bed. Staff were indifferent and unhelpful. Food very expensive. Located in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast at £16.50 was one of the highest we've paid and not worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room often not cleaned until 5pm +++ at night had to sit in bar area until 6.30 one evening waiting for room to be cleaned.

    Service in the resteraunt excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway is a little bit tired and there is no elevator at least we couldn't see it. Even though the hotel is just a groundfloor and first floor it would have been nice to have an elevator to go up with our suitcases.

    The room was spacious. It's nice to have swimmingpool outside and a terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Overall re-fresh of the place would do no harm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabric of the building requires attention!

    Lovely restaurant and good food. Staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location for bouldering in the forest and for trips into the village of Ury and Milly La Foret

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice room and bathroom. Excellent that we could take our dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff a bit surly

    Secure rural setting. Well appointed and decent sized room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooking my own eggs was really nice, lovely idea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got sick from the chocolate mousse in the restaurant

    Kids entertainment and staff helpful with extra requests

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could have been a bit cheaper

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor quality dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the easiest of places to find

    Very clean and bright airy hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged twice!

    Charged twice by the hotel and English speaking staff couldn't understand a word I said!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired around the edges

    Good breakfast,-loads of open spaces good swimming pool friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service was awful. We gave up and left without having a sweet or coffee.

    Comfortable, clean, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to upper floor. If I had realised I would have asked for a ground floor room

    Nice little bar and decent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location if you don't want to stay in Paris

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious grounds a be lovely interior

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome. Food and drink. Warm outdoor pool and sunbeds. Clean and modern. Nice grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff should have known more about the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of space around the grounds, hotel was nicely laid out, spa looked really nice even though we didn't use it

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar area marked by 'design' rather than comfort. A missed chance.

    Very good breakfast offer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible lobby design. breakfast not included.

    The room facilities. good dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired property in desperate need of an update. The large back garden is more like a field with lots of broken sunbeds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ordered a gluten free roll with dinner - it never arrived.

    Very good facilities and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area not clean

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed And 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is very good and provide good service. Outside pool area - not too big but nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very quiet at all after the neighbors Wake up

    Lovely pool and gardens. Close to motorway exit

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I've stayed here a few times and was a bit puzzled that the superior rooms appear to be smaller than the standard room I previously had - this wasn't ideal given we were sharing the room with our two small children. The room was also far too hot, and this is a minor niggle, but it does slightly annoy me to be given one tiny bottle of shampoo and shower gel for a family of four.

    The food is good across the board, and the bar staff are very friendly. There are some great facilities such as the fully enclosed pool and spa. I was there for a family bouldering trip, for which this is a great location right next to Trois Pignons.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    you could smell the restaurant everywhere in the hotel. the restaurant looks like a school canteen. cheap and white. I did not like this at all. food etc is ok

    the room is ok

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa is small and very very poor. The swimming pool is not clean enough. No slipper no bathrobe in the room! I travel for spas, and this one doesn't meet my needs. I was in Novotel Quiberon it was great, the spa and treatments was amazing and one of its kind. While here in Fountainblaeu is disapointly poor

    The complementary bottle of water and the coffe kit. The room is clean and good

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very good but other meals were very ordinary ;I did not like the use of frozen vegetables and tinnned fruit especially in September.The 35 hour week is having a devastating effect on the French kitchen.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I arrived with my group of friends on a Satyrday late afternoon, and there was no restaurant service. We were tired and hungry, having driven up from Frejus. There was a buffet outside which we didn't want. The only option was bar service or room service. I ordered a hamburger in my room. I was totally disappointed with my visit.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't catch her name but young dark skinned receptionist was rude on one occasion when I asked for help.

    Guiseppe and Maxime stood as the best members of staff

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel held 450E deposit off our debt card upon arrival and although we paid the bill in full the next morning they didn't clear the deposit and are still holding it despite complaints to yourselves

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Security is nonexistent. Some one was given keys to my room without any checks. You can literally Ask for Any room key and it's given to you. Will never be staying again.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room not ready for more than 40 minutes despite arriving well after earliest check-in time. You could see others were even later. Breakfast poor quality compared to cheaper hotels on same trip, taken in gaudy room with barely comfortable chairs.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Screaming kids everywhere, running up & down the corridors at midnight! The breakfast room was dirty & tables not set properly.

    The hotel is in a great location, close to Fontainbleau. The pool was in good order & clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was not ready, luggage stored for us but new shift at reception couldn't find it. Large number of young trainee staff who needed some help from more experienced staff. No taxi available on arrival in area so caught a bus and had to walk a km to hotel. Cost of the return taxi was double the price quoted by the hotel and it was a hotel taxi!

    Nice area to walk, good rooms with plenty of space and nice bathroom. Given a welcome drink on arrival because our room was not ready.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No rooms available at checkin, Next afternoon still no rooms available...No excuses from staff or manager, Poor service at terrace, Lack of maintenance on outdoor facilities, Poor quality of food in restaurant.

    The location is great! Nice and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked hotter water in urn to make tea. Also room on top floor at end of corridor.

    Room spacious and modern. Facilities in hotel good for families. Good choice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    pleasant staff,facilities very good. Restaurant reasonable and breakfast very good.Beds extremely comfy, the place is quite and secluded for somewhere so close to main road system.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The menu could be written better for non French. Drinks in room could be better, cardboard cups and very small amount of milk, was very poor.

    The location was very good for overnight stay on the way to Brugge

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff Room really comfortable Had had a trying driving around perimeter of Paris so this hotel with its country location was balm to our frazzled brains

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The hotel has a modern funky interior that works extremely well. It is light and airy while feeling relaxed and inviting, the facilities were good and staff made us feel welcome. We would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    none

    clean

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and available. Good restaurant with afordable prices (except the wines)

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very confortable. nice atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was overpriced,not great and service was slow in spite of having so many staff on duty.

    The room was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior room with 1 double bed and 2 single bed via Booking.com. We received a normal room with 1 double bed and a couch.(for 140.-€)

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Convenience to motorway Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel in good sized grounds near motorway but in country and very peaceful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flys and wasps all over the food

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet is separated from the bathtub and sink.

    Good clean standard hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff. The swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Requested a ground floor room with having the dog, this was granted, lovely room, very comfy, everything we needed.food and service first class.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Novotel Fontainebleau Ury traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: