Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fouillade 2 stars

11 Place Gambetta, 19400 Argentat, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Argentat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 270 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    brilliant central location- room was absolutely spotless...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check out - sadly the "au revoir" was a little brusque & aggresive - an interrogation & refusal to accept we had not taken breakfast - but all was resolved eventually

    brilliant central location- room was absolutely spotless -tremendous attention to detail -seen lesser standards in a 5 star - the receptionist that greeted us was charming - overall would recommend and Argentat is stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    pleasent but short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late opening its doors couldn't check in untill 1710hrs.

    Its location and the room was quite comfortable. Breakfast was nice and plentyful with a regional flavour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very nice place and the food at the restaurant is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice is not fresh and there is always the smell of food in the corridors of the Hotel.

    No eggs in the morning but the bread is fresh and there are mermelades, cereals, fruits and other.You won't be hungry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Quaint village hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beveridge making facilities in room and as we stayed on a Sunday the hotel facilities were closed from after lunch albeit managed to be furnished with a cup tea early evening by owner.

    Quaint village hotel. Good parking and location. Lunch was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    What could have been impressive given the location, was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (on third floor-no lift) was claustrophobic. The restaurant on the concourse in front of the hotel went from empty to completely full in ten minutes. We weren't warned of this or even asked if we wanted dinner when we checked in, consequently the Maitre d' was very reluctant to seat us. The food was good but we didn't get everything we ordered.

    The town of Anrgentat, particularly the Quai was beautiful, and the short drive up to the Dams and the exposition terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    great tourist stay over to see the upper dams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    english speaking news channels on the tv

    location of the hotel in the center of the town. good parking very close in a public car park no charge. recommend the food as all the locals seemed to be eating there in the evening. substantial breakfast , with options for ham / cheeses if required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Very pleasent and stress free stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At checkout the credit card machine would not accept anyone's credit cards but we were advised to get cash from the auto bank next door. Not a big deal really.

    Food was very good. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant of hotel was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photo of hotel on booking.com is not hotel Fouillade. This hotel is localised in the center of Argentat NOT on the borders of the Dordogne.

    Restaurant of hotel was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    No parking on these premises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spartan and no frills. For the first time in France the staff seemed frustrated with our lack of English. Despite what their information said, there was NO parking on the premises and we parked about 100 metres away. Luckily I thought to ask, and made sure I understood the reply, about where we had parked, as our car would have been in the middle of the fortnightly market the next morning; perhaps we'd have been towed or fined. The staff didn't think to tell us this.

    Very good location on the town square

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Classic, old school French establishment, with excellent owners, kitchen and staff; becoming scarce.
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No bidet in the bedroom bathroom, very unusual in a building of this époque in France. Very squeaky floorboards in my room and outside in the corridor, woke me up a few times with other guests accessing the room across the corridor from me.

    Consistently good quality restaurant with some old French favourites, very well prepared and cooked. Menus are excellent value for money, especially the €17 one. Ate in the hotel restaurant 4 out of our 5 nights. Waiting staff, friendly and efficient. Been going 117 years in the same family, so bit of a rarity these days, well worth a visit. Monsieur who is head chef and owner, looks older then his years, not surprised, he works like a Trojan, as does his wife. Great couple, great establishment, well run and can thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    5.4
    Nice Simple Hotel in Central Location of Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being asked to pay the night of arrival "because the lady wasn't working the next morning"and not on departure, when there were staff on duty. Attitude of some members of staff was not very welcoming

    Locality was handy for the town and restaurants. Short walk down the walterfront cafes and bars. There was a plentyful breakfast for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A very well positioned hotel on the main square of the village with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small with a very small bathroom.

    We ate in the hotel restaurant on two nights of our 3 night stay and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.5
    The hotel is in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enaugh parking at the Hotel

    The hotel is in the center close to attractions good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    nice hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect for break no faults

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent food and delightful ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and delightful ambience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    A comfortable hotel in the centre of Argentat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant, welcoming hotel and staff. Room was very clean. Very good location in town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location. Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charming location on town square. Excellent restaurant on premises. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    Quaint country hotel in pleasant setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint country hotel in pleasant setting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    great inhouse restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great inhouse restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    The food in the restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little drab though has been updated recently. The bed was hard. Steep stairs to the room on second floor. 'Private Parking' is listed but is a 7 minute walk away in a house garden and not secure (though proved to be fine).

    The food in the restaurant was excellent. Also a good breakfast. Staff are helpful but as linguistically challenged as we are!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Perfect location in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom supplies - little sachets of hair & shower gel just not big enough!

    Perfect location in the centre of town. Close to everything. Very clean and comfortable and extreme;y good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    For an economical hotel, I thought the room was great -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have had a kettle in the room, but thats being a bit fussy.

    For an economical hotel, I thought the room was great - quiet, clean, breakfast was great. Hard to fault.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    perfectly good, comfortable room, with nice big bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was a little plain, and veggie options in the restaurant were non existent.

    perfectly good, comfortable room, with nice big bath. The staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    Very importantly, the food prepared by the kitchen was...
    • Couple

    The heating in the room was insufficient even though we perked it up as much as we could. The floor of the room next door (or was it over room 1) was as noisy when walk upon and could wake people.

    Very importantly, the food prepared by the kitchen was excellent. The breakfast was excellent, regrettably on day 1 not enough fruit and yoghurt was available. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to help.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    This hotel had some excellent quirkiness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    This hotel had some excellent quirkiness. It was sort of 50's artist / Renaissance. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We had the en suite bathroom and it was nice. The proprietor seemed gruff at first but as we tried to chat with him in our poor french he became quite friendly. Some have complained about the closed restaurant, but apparently his partner - the cook - is out having chemotherapy so he gets our sympathy vote. He directed us to the only place in town that was open, another Auberge, and we had a fine meal there. He allowed us to store our bikes in a basement room, and in the morning after coffee when we came down he had already hauled them back outside for us. So kind.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    5.4
    Good location, good size room, fair breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived 3pm on a Monday to find all doors locked and the place closed up. Finally someone came at 4.30 to open up but not very helpful (spoke no English). Restaurant closed that night; very little else open around town. Breakfast very basic

    Good location, good size room, fair breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    5.8
    We stayed there as a night stop between Sarlat and Le Puy En...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel frontage is on the main plaza but none of the rooms face the plaza and are on back side. Room was noisy with no AC. You will surely need an AC in May June July August. Long corridors and stairs to carry you luggage Not value for money.

    We stayed there as a night stop between Sarlat and Le Puy En Velay. We booked a quad room for 82 €. It is on 1st floor corner and has a window that opens on the side road which is very noisy at 6.30 am too when a garbage van passed. Argentat is a very small place and the price looked a bit high compared to that as there are better places available at lower costs in other prettier villages.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    A lovely old family hotel right in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pushy staff.... We had barely arrived when we were being pressured into having dinner in the hotel. When settling the bill, I presented them with the Booking.com voucher which they then set about querying the price quoted. Eventually, after quite a bit of huffing and puffing they accepted the amount quoted..

    A lovely old family hotel right in the centre of town..

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    6.3
    The food in the restaurant was very good and well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a good start with rubbish spilt on the road and footpath outside the hotel. Staff not very friendly. Breakfast ordinary to below average.

    The food in the restaurant was very good and well priced. Room clean and ok for a 2 star. WIFI worked well.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.7
    In the centre of village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift. No staff available. Restaurant closed. Not much English speaking so very difficult to communicate.

    In the centre of village. Walk down to the river to eat, beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Great position in the town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great position in the town square. My dog was very welcome. But the outstanding part is the food.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    good food at fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good food at fair price

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Town centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was good value

    Town centre location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    Location, room, food, service, attitude - all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, room, food, service, attitude - all good. Right in the centre of town and reasonably priced. Close to other bars, restaurants, shops etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    A quaint hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All ok

    A quaint hotel with helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    The food just the best regional food, duck,beef,walnuts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few problems with shower

    The food just the best regional food, duck,beef,walnuts desserts they did all brilliantly

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Fouillade traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: