Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Georges VI 4 stars

Rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France

#39 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to all facilities , to beaches , shops and restaurants friendly and helpful staff, this is a small hotel and the atmosphere is really nice and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might have an issue with small room, but as a single traveller no problem. If I’m being picky got light pollution from hotel sign and opposite business. Ask for rear rooms

    Location, very attentive staff, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really nice hotel. When you get in, you can already feel the ambiance and we really liked the old furnitures. The employees were super-friedly and open. When we arrived, they gave us a map and marked the "must have seen" points. They also recommended us a restaurant, right at the other side of the street, called l´équinoxe - the food there was great! The room was really nice, big, and it even with a bathtub. Smaller problems were instantly solved by the really motivated staff. The hotel is a really special place and we´re looking forward to come back asap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. We loved Biarritz. The weather could have cooperated more, but having dinner in the old port, under cover, in a rainstorm was part of the adventure!

    Owner snd staff were tremendously helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Stayed here for one night before getting the bus to San Sebastián. Very nice hotel and centrally located. Near the beach. Small room but comfortable. Lovely lady on reception. Breakfast good. Many restaurants to choose from surrounding the hotel. Really enjoyed Biarittz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A superb hotel which had an extremely nice aura about it. The owner and staff were friendly, professional and accommodating. The location of the hotel was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel and the town. The hotel was very clean and all the staff were polite and happy. Unfortunately we didn't eat in the hotel but i'm sure if the food is like the standards of the hotel, it would be excellent. Thank you for a wonderful stay. :)))))))

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like having a separate wc with no wash basin. I did not like being woken several times by the noisy street outside. I would recommend a court yard view room for this reason.

    Very large bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room on Interior Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small side, but location and staff more than compensated.

    Location was perfect, short walk to main town, no sea view from the hotel, but could hear the waves in the morning. Lovely little room off the patio. Very quirky hotel, compact but lovely. Would stay again. Quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room, would have been nice to make a cup of tea in our room.

    Room very well presented, very clean and fresh. Location was perfect, close to beach and wonderful cafes at the doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very nice hotel and a very nice location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing good to say this hotel needs to get its act together

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. I

    Location and a fridge in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Gorgeous couple run the hotel which is located near the beach and is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, lovely personnel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful friendly staff. Excellent location, good value for money. Adequate sized, air conditioned room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of the old city. Close proximity to the beach and restorants, shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy early morning.

    Helpful staff and very good breakfast. Centrally-located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room on Interior Patio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and always cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. Also, this hotel is in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, small hotel in the best localisation in Biarritz. Very clean and quiet. Receptionists very nice and helpful. I strongly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking Room was small

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location Lovely terrace on 1st floor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not take breakfast as it did not look appetising.

    Location brilliant. Staff excellent. Comfort excellent. Particularly enjoyed the little courtyard, ideal to take some time to chill. Also the rooms were spotlessly clean Lovely stay

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You will have to phone for a key if you get there latter than 22 h.

    Location is really good; we did not hear any sound at night; parking was free (autumn) and recepcionist very kind!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How this hotel can have 4 stars we will never understand. The hotel facility is antiquated, the rooms are cramped and badly in need of refurbishing,bedding is a box spring and mattress on the floor, nothing about the place comes close to 4 stars.

    The Staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only small bad point is that the cleaners serviced the rooms, even when the Do Not Disturb sign was on the door...

    we stayed here twice on a trip to Biarritz and San Sebastian. This hotel was absolutely amazing, the staff were so helpful at every point during our stay, breakfast had a variety of fruits, meats, pastries, juices, teas and coffees. The rooms were serviced impeccably.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel, great location and renovated clean rooms. We loved the small patio. Friendly, helpful and serviceminded owners and staff. We really recommend this hotel, they made our stay in Biarritz something to remember.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities, did not expect this for four star accommodation. Otherwise perfect for our needs.

    Comfortable room, if a little on the small side. Location - excellent, not far from lovely bay with good beach and bathing facilities and a short walk to the Grande Plage and Virgin of the Rocks.. Lots going on around in the Old Port area where the hotel is situated, very lively, but double glazing was extremely effective with good air conditioning. Helpful and pleasant staff, excellent choice at breakfast, very friendly and welcoming hotel and our week's stay was a pleasure. Tip from hotel owner for long stay parking: purchase a 7 day parking ticket for 12 Euros for the public car park very near the hotel, at the pay machine. This will be classed as a resident's ticket and you can use it as such, coming and going as you wish (spaces permitting).

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only negative thought upon arrival was that bedroom size was limited - but this is typical of our experience in French hotels

    Small f.amily-run Hotel Could not be more helpful and friendly Located approx 100 yards from beach cove Restaurants conveniently close Shower particularly good - new and large Breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything about our stay at George VI at Biarritz was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. In particular, the person in charge went out of her way to be exceptionally helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    According to the Pictures of booking. com, we have had the Impression of a more luxurious hotel on top of the hill, just in front of the beach! At the end, it was smaller and we had a small room in the Patio.

    Good old style hotel. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hand shower proved difficult. Very tight as bed occupied all available space. Manager could have been more proactive in advising our train options on Bastille Day, we waited 3 hours at station for train

    Close to bars, cafes, shopping and beaches. Put on the aircon, close the windows and we enjoyed a good night sleep.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would suggest the rooms towards the interior patio for those who are easily bothered by the noise, as the rooms with balcony are towards the mais crowded street. On the other hand, the side ocean view from the balcony is worth all the noise :)

    Wonderful small hotel,2 min walking from the beach, very clean, free wifi working good, comfortable beds, room not that big but with a spacious bathroom. Restaurants and shops all around. Helpful staff. Definitely will be coming back.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    15 € per day for a small dog is far too much. In addition the tourist tax quoted on Booking.com was incorrect. It was 2.20 € per person per day. THIS SHOULD BE INCLUDED in the price of the room. In addition while the room was clean there is no hand basin the w.c. so you have to walk around to the shower room to wash your hands. The beds have old fashioned sheets and blankets which were tucked in so tightly that every time you got into bed you pulled out all the bottom sheet etc. The room was very small with no chair other than a single dining type chair to sit on so you end up using the bed. Finally a real moan. The only reason why we booked this place was because we had a convertible car we were in and wanted private parking (15 € per day). It is NOT private parking. It is a reserved bay in a large PUBLIC car park. We would never have booked if we had realised.

    The location was good and the room quiet. Decoration was recent and everything was quite fresh.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very cold during night, especially in winter coz it did not have any heating. The bathroom was divided in two separated room, one for the shower and the sink, the other for the other processes :) The breakfast was very good, but expensive, especially if you are not informed about it's cost.

    The staff was friendly The place was good located

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked tea / coffee facilities.

    A lovely place to stay, near beaches and town. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Less choice for breakfast, Small rooms

    Good location (in the middle of the center), A smaal but a good shower.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All was good. Very friendly stuff. Good location, near the ocean. Great hotel in great place. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bedroom for a 4 stars; the most car park places are public; no staff to help you to carry the luggage.

    Good location, wifi and staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    kindness of staff, good location, great breakfast, quietness

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, polite and helpful staff. Good location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a 4 star hotel - rather 2 stars. Room was very small and air condition not very comfortable

    Great location, nice and clean small hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet hotel but close to beaches and centre of Biarritz

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to park

    Perfect location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff are truly excellent, so friendly, and go way above and beyond to help in any way they can.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    The location near the old port.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal touch The quirky but well appointed building The friendliness of the team but particularly Fabien

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING

    EVERYTHING!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: