Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden Saint Martin 2 stars

35 Rue Yves Toudic, 10th arr., 75010 Paris, France

#785 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1485 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Regrettable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty! It had cobwebs and dust. Wardrobe was filthy I wouldn’t put anything in it. The bathroom was tiny. No air conditioning in the rooms but then couldn’t accommodate with a fan. Wasn’t happy at all so they moved us to another room on the 6th floor with lift only going to 5th this room was a bit better and is actually what you see on website!

    Had a balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Close to metro and places to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, very very basic and noisy. Not a great area, location was by canal that was dirty and a lot of homeless people around.

    Close to metro and places to eat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Avoid! Not like pictures. No AC. Scam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listen to me: Do not stay here! First of all the rooms ARE NOT like shown in the pictures which for me is a scam. I chose a double room according to the picture because that’s how I choose a hotel but it was totally different. It was super small and dark. The bathroom is so small that even the shower curtain will stick to your body while you try to take a shower. There is no AC!!! It’s an oven inside there. So hot. There is just an old style fan that won’t help to make you feel cooler. Also, at night the receptionist leaded us to think the breakfast was free so we went on in the morning and had breakfast to then realise it was not free but we were already eating. And the money for it it’s totally not woth it. Poor breakfast for a high price. I had never paid so much to receive so little in my life!

    It was 2 minutes walk from the closest metro station wich is nice. Also there were nice restaurants and markets. Lot’s of people around at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel provides coffee, tea, hot chocolate in the lobby/restaurant free of cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot during my stay in July. A very small portable fan was not enough to cope up. It was difficult to stay in the room because of sweating .

    Behaviour of staff. Location was excellent. Metro, bus , tram are easily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    Bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had BED BUGS in the room The street outside has two restaurants which close after 1.30 am so it is very nosy and impossible to sleep. Moreover, it is impossible to close a window because there is no air conditioning in the room

    Stuff was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.5
    The room was on the ground floor and there was no wind or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the ground floor and there was no wind or air conditioning. A small standing fan was provided for the ground floor rooms and our family staying upstairs had no fan. The staff was quite unhelpful and the hotel was definitely not value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The best week away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small lift, WiFi wasn’t the best but didn’t spend enough time in hotel for it to be an issue

    Good location, close to lots of restaurants, metro and shops, we stayed on the very top floor (room 62) and our room was clean, light and a perfect size for 2, it also had a great view! Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    A short stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms while clean and tidy were a little small, and the area surrounding could be quite noisy until the early hours of the morning.

    The staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was good value considering the prices for similar in local cafés.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    The reception staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tight and stuffy. No air conditioning and street outside was very noisey until quite late, so opening the window to let air in made sleeping difficult. The shower was a bit of a joke with its size, very tiny, the curtain would always be sticking to you and bending over to wash legs would result in accidentally bumping the shower off. The small size of the room wasn’t a big deal, but it was pricey for what we got. Not much room to put luggage for two people. Overall it was ok, but I’d probably go somewhere else next time I visit Paris

    The reception staff were very nice and helpful. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and the best staff always ready to jump in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the room on the first floor, and the smell of the mold was evident when we walked in, but it wasn't a big deal. The room was bigger than we expected, it was clean, but it could be cleaner. Considering great staff and great location, we would come back here!

    Great location and the best staff always ready to jump in and help with whatever they can! We were able to leave our suitcases before check-in and after check-out for free. We are coming back here for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a dirty and very small room on the ground floor in the first night. This was the opposite of what we have seen on the pictures and what we booked. After complaining the second time on the next morning we could change to a room on the upper floor, which was really nice. Same with the staff. During the night rude and unfriendly, during the day very nice and helpful. A very mixed experience, but all in all not happy with what we have got.

    Great location close to canal saint martin in the upcoming area of Republique/Oberkampf. If you get the right room, its a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Good base in the centre but don't expect much of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite run down and needed cleaning. Shower had a shower curtain which didn't stop the water so the bathroom got wet. Lift was exceptionally small and the stairs were uneven.

    Check in was easy and staff were very friendly. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Across the street from a great Boulanger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and stuffy that opened to a courtyard where people sat smoking including the staff. The drain on the shower was broken and filled up within minutes of showering. We couldn’t open our window because of the smoking. Might be good for college kids who don’t care. Would definitely not stay here again.

    Across the street from a great Boulanger

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The room and the bathroom were very clean;
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than expected

    The room and the bathroom were very clean; the staff was friendly and the location very convenient for Gare de l'Est

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxed, easygoing place to stay with good firm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed, easygoing place to stay with good firm mattresses and quiet room for good sleep. Great location and friendly helpful staff who spoke English. Fantastic Boulangerie opposite the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, but expect tiny elevator - not a problem since I traveled super light. Small scale rooms and bathrooms could be remarkable to someone used to American "everything big" standards.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent value. 24 hour staffed desk. Felt very safe and comfortable - woman traveling alone. Breakfast also excellent value. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Cosy little hotel near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy little hotel near the city center. Approximately 15 minutes walk from the Gare du Nord/du East. 2 minutes walk from the metro station. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Pretty cortyard. There are a lot of restaurants and bars around. Old fashioned bakery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Find a Better Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very small. Our first room had the bed in the center with no walking space to get around it. After struggling with the front desk, we were able to change rooms and find one where the bed wasn't taking up all the space. Then, the fire alarm went off. Then, we had noisey neighbors. Then, our bathroom sink was backed up. Then, our shower handle wouldn't stay in a fixed position. Then, we were accosted by a drank man walking while right around the corner from the hotel. Location, quality, and service all left a lot to be desired.

    There were a couple good shops across the street and it was near the metro. However, there wasn't much else good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Overall, it was what we expected, although it could have been a little more updated and cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found it pretty expensive per night for the cleanliness.

    Expected a very small room but were surprised to have quite a large room, very spacious for 2 people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, central. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy as very hot and had windows open. Quiet with windows closed

    Clean, lovely staff, central, close to metro, good breakfast. Loved the small lift!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are super nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof not good, since the interior layout design. Basically rooms are surrounded the central patio, whenever someone talks in it you will be able to hear it.

    Staffs are super nice and helpful. Good location to walk around, many delicious restaurants and bakery nearby. Scene of canal is relaxing and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    My stay in this supposed “budget” hotel exceeded my expectations by a mile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extra comfy and the room was extremely clean. The staff here are extremely professional and their service matches that of some 5 star hotels!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the ground floor with almost no light, you also get the noise from the terrace. Besides to get to our room we needed to cross a short corridor with an awful smell.

    Staff was nice and helpful. Coffee for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Basic and minimal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures were a bit misleading, overall it is a very simple and functional hotel. It is a bit pricey for being so essential but I guess for Paris it's ok.

    It is just ok, essential and with the minimum amenities. A place to sleep and shower, but nothing more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet just behind the lift area, on the corridor to our room, smelled quiet bad

    Good value for money. Close to a few different metro stops for getting into city center. Nice restaurants close by. Very helpful staff at reception with good English. Clean big room with decent ensuite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and staff! Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the soundproofing in the hotel wasn't very good so you could hear the street and other guests. The bathroom was a bit small and the floor would get wet when you shower. The elevator was also the tiniest thing, so please keep that in mind if you have accessibility issues. On the whole though these were minor issues.

    The location and staff were great here! There were heaps of restaurants and cute little boutiques around. The staff were also very helpful and gave great restaurant recommendations. The hotel is only 2 stops on the metro line from Gare du Nord, so was a very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic stay here and would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was situated close to the canal and metro stations were easily accessible from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The little balcony on the room and its view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little balcony on the room and its view. Small room but perfectly organised. Location near metro station and nice area. Bed cozy and pillows super comfortable! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing major.

    Convenient location, just 15 minute walk to the train station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a tiny cute room at the top floor of the hotel. The bed was very comfy and we had a good nights sleep. There are multiple supermarkets 5 minutes from the hotel and great Mexican bistro just next door. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, really helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is it’s quite a tight hotel meaning you can hear quite a bit through the walls of the rooms and also the corridors themselves are quite tight as well. But it didn’t take away from our stay at all.

    Great location, literally round the corner from a metro stop. Excellent room for the price you pay, a little small but has everything you need, a comfy bed and a decent shower. Staff were excellent, I wrote to them ahead of the stay asking for a set of flowers and a cake to be in our room when we got back in on one day of our stay for my girlfriends birthday and they did it all hassle free and were very helpful throughout the stay, would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Ticked all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central to metro , good individual boutiques and cafes . St . Martin canal nearby worth a visit . This area is as Notting Hill / Portobello is to London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    staff was not helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was cold during the night and when I asked for an extra blanket for the 2nd night the staff answered very rudely that there are no extra blankets, only extra pillows. In addition, the shower was cold and when I complained, the man at the reception just laughed and ignored me. Not a comfortable experience. The second day I did have warm water though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Short stay in a small but quiet room with comfortable beds and heating that works:)
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machine didnt seem to work. Perhaps we skipped a step somewhere but in the end we just bought a kettle and used it instead with our own choice of drinks:) The shower cubicle had a curtain..... well, it means you and the curtain shower together.. floor enjoyed the imminent overflow and the next person all the result of the performance.. Walls were thin and the conversations were audible.

    Super location for metro - direct access to Gare de Nord. Good specialist shops and great restaurants nearby. Several supermarkets on the doorstep. Le Marais with its Pompidou Center and the Picasso museum amongst many others are within walking distance. The restaurant recommended by the young gentleman at the reception was very enjoyable. Room had its own coffee machine - two coffee capsules and two for earl grey tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    We could not fault anything with the hotel. The room was great the breakfast was great and the staff were fantastic. They helped us to get our bearings and told us how to get to places. They even gave us hot chocolate on our way out because it was freezing and looked after our cases all day even though we had checked out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not very comfortable Bathroom did not quite look at some of the pictures Facility and design are ageing a bit

    Amazing location. Very well connected with transport and loads of local shops and restaurant at walking distance Very good value for money to visit Paris

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got twin beds merged into one that cause me stuck in the hole between the two beds.

    The location is great, the staffs are very friendly, free hot drinks after lunch time is really good when you feel cold at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, easily accessible, clean, elevator and in front of the best bakery!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than the last time I was there but may have been the type I booked. Overall great experience.

    Staff are super friendly and it is in front of a wonderful boulangerie! Clean room and bathroom. Easily accessible and very close to metro! There is a lift if you have heavy luggage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    enjoyed my stay - will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor wi-fi, not daily cleaning in the room - no fresh towels, not emptying bins

    location, safe area, friendly staff, unlimited free coffee and tea, metro 2 mins away, warm in the room, helpful reception , fluent english, lots of restaraunts around

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall, good value for money in Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection was terrible. Our room was spacious but very dark and a little on the shabby side.

    Overall, good value for money in Paris. We've stayed here before: previously we enjoyed our stay and we like the location and the neighbourhood. We would consider staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice sleeoing spot in the center of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was a bit on the warm side and cannot control it; bathroom was a bit on the small side. Reception leaves you a bit on your own without giving advice or making you feel too welcome.

    Great location with access to metro; clean and comfortable and free coffee/tea in the room. There is an elevator which is handy to have in a hotel in Paris. Good boulangerie just in front of the hotel for a breakfast on the go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    It's fine, but I may not choose here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is actually quite small, we had a luggage with us and we cannot move freely in the room. Also one of the lights in bathroom did not work well.

    Staffs are really nice and friendly, they gave us many informations like metro station and so on

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, opposite a great bakery and easy walk to...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the nicest area, we felt safe but it was filthy

    Friendly staff, opposite a great bakery and easy walk to metro, great laundromat around the corner. Nice hotel - should be 3 star not 2

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Modern, clean, comfortable accommodation;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean, comfortable accommodation; very well located in walking distance from Gare de l’est and republique; friendly staff; very good breakfast - good value for money!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and perfect location for train travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi could be better. In general it was very slow, and during peak hours it was not even always connecting.

    So far, we were looking for a comfy place close to the train station and well connected with the city centre, and this was exactly it. Conveniently located close to metro station Jacques Bonsergent, in front of the lovely Canal Saint Martin, 5 min walk to Place Republique, 10 min walk to Gare de l'Est and 15 min walk to Gare du Nord. Everything quite new, supportive staff 24h, nice patio and good breakfast. For sure it's a great value for money in Paris, and considering the average rate of other hotels in my opinion it's a deal-breaker!!! To sum up, reccomended hotel, especially for train travellers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Small cozy hotel with a good location and reasonable price :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression was that the room wasn’t that clean, as I had expected. But every day it was cleaned, we were given fresh towels. And I have never liked curtains in the shower)) especially when they stick to wet body.

    Thank you for an excellent service, cozy room, good location with a nice cafes and restaraunts around. Special thanks to Inna, I was surprised to meet russian speaking stuff at the last day of our stay. Inna was so hospitable! Also it worth to notice that heating in the room was excellent. I have payed attention to this, because my previous stays in Paris in another hotels was really cold. Breakfast was rather good for 8€ per person.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, with lots of places where to eat and shop nearby. Walking distance from Gare de Nord. Very friendly staff, comfy beds and fantastic room temperature (considering that outside was freezing cold)!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly located cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is a little cramped, ventilation could be doing a better job moving air.

    Cozy and clean, really pleasant staff, excellent location (3 minutes from the best 5A andouillette place in Paris, Chez Maurice!). Good value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, quiet street at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was on the sixth floor, elevator only goes to the 5th. Not a huge deal but would have been a drag if I were carrying more luggage. The noise from the adjoining room's bathroom and the small hallway was pretty loud.

    Great location, quiet street at night. Comfortable bed. Nice light in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    A good, short, weekend break in Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering that this is Paris after all, I can't really say there was anything that could have been better except maybe the attitude of just one person at reception on one particular day.

    Free coffee and hot chocolate on demand at reception. Very close to metro. Quiet hotel in spite of being central. They even provide gluten-free bread at breakfast for celiacs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't the nicest hotel to look at, rooms were just a bed and bathroom but good for exploring the area and not spending much time in the room.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Super location, kind staff and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the service - everyone on the reception was super nice (thank you!); - the location; - comfortable bed; - good shower (with the exception of the curtain (the water was going everywhere in the bathroom); - having a coffee machine in the room - I did not try the breakfast but they told me a gluten free bread would be possible (super!). I would definitely go again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Location (metro station in 2 minutes and walking distance...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door not cleaned properly/stains on the carpet Windows not soundproof

    Location (metro station in 2 minutes and walking distance from gare du nord/gare de l'est) Confortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location, friendly staff, quiet area, the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be in Paris, breakfast could be better!

    Very convenient location, friendly staff, quiet area, the hotel is close to the public transports and pretty restaurants. Very good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Simple and good hotel for staying a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On two of the four nights we were staying there was a lot of noise in the middle of the night due to people who were moving things outside the hotel

    Simple hotel, but good enough for staying a few nights. Good and clean facilities. Good location near the metro station. Good breakfast and free coffee and tea service in the hotel lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Confortable for a 2 night stay. Good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited and the croissants and pain au chocolat were not good. The shower is quite small. The curtain was sticking while showering. It was quite unconfortable .

    Nice and quiet location, Theatre and many cafes and restaurants nearby. The room was a bit small. I was alone so it was okay, but it could be uncomfortable for a couple. Bed was confortable. Good coffee for breakfast and in the room. I also liked the double door so I couldn’t hear the noise from the corridor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    It was good but, could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The rooms were a bit gloomy. 2. The room which we got was in a attic so the ceiling beams where right above out bed and next to bathroom we banged ours heads more than a few times. It's very dangerous since, ita difficult to know the slanting beams behind your back. 3. Lights in the room were not good, they just had one switch to control them that too at entrance and no switches next to bed. 4. No lift to top floor and small elevator which barely fits a single person with luggage.

    Staff was awesome, the hotel us closely located to a metro station which is a huge time saver.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay. Probably will not return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi went out for two days and the staff could not have been less apologetic about it. I needed it for work so it was quite an inconvenience. The area is also very noisy, especially on the weekend. If you need quiet to sleep I would not recommend this hotel.

    If you like Canal Saint Martin the location is great. It's close to shops, restaurants and the Metro. We loved our little balcony overlooking the street on the 4th floor as well as the french windows. The room was tiny but comfortable and a good value. Loved the free coffee machine in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Small and good for those on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of my room was good but little things such as the walls and wall lamps were a bit dusty, towels were quite small, and I think they need to have a separate room/cupboard for luggage storage under lock and key.

    The complementary hot drinks machine, was nice to have and the extra pillows were very comfy. There are many places to go and eat near by and the breakfast was tasty and fresh every morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast, rude staff, small elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff terrible. Really small elevator. Toilet is not in the bathroom. When we arrived at night we talked with a man staff if it's possible to have a late check out. He check his computer and said that no problem. At morning we talked with a really grumpy girl and she not authorized our late check out and was so rude with us. We feel bad because we had to comeback to our room and organized our staffs.

    Breakfast good and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel by Canal St Martin
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time I stayed in a nice room with a view. This time it was inner courtyard ground floor room, non-descript and poor decoration. Lacked some soul.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location near Canal st Martin, plenty of bars and restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.8
    cheap in all aspects...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is an extra building inthe garden. 3 single beds in a small room. No chairs or other furniture. Very, very noisy with students partying in the garden next door. Do NOT use for a business trip!

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    It was ok for 3 nights stay. we needed a place to sleep and refresh for the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was so small for a family of 3. All single beds, for a couple it is not good to have 2 single beds put together. in the sleep you might fall in the gap between the beds. No cupboard to keep the luggage. We had 5 bags, had to keep them around the bed and left with no space to move around. I would suggest this hotel just to sleep and relax the nights. I would say no internet connection. Wi-Fi was keep disconnecting every other minute.

    close to Train station, Breakfast was ok. Washroom was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Good experience and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast is good but will be nicer if there will be some vegetables as well

    Nice and clean room good location- close to shops, restaurants and metro relative good breakfast helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Booked a twin room for a citytrip to Paris with a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a twin room for a citytrip to Paris with a friend. Hotel is at a nice location, very near metro and train station. Room was nice and clean and good value for money. We were very happy with our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    a relaxing and convenient base for a city break in wonderful Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is very small and if you don't like enclosed spaces then it won't be for you! But there are stairs and maybe if mobility is a problem you could ask for a room on the lower levels of the hotel.

    Garden Saint Martin is a lovely hotel to stay in for a city break in beautiful Paris. The staff were friendly, hard working and courteous and were always available to assist with any queries our group had. The room I stayed in was modern, bright and cosy with a comfortable bed, satellite TV, coffee facilities, toiletries and hair dryer. The room I stayed in (no. 41) was a little small, but average for a city hotel. Our friends stayed in no. 42 and it was a little more spacious. Both were perfect for our needs though. They were tidied each day when we were away and always in good order. The location of the hotel is very suitable for seeing all the sites of Paris as two Metro stops are within a 5 minute walk of the front door. Breakfast was a buffet of continental breakfast and it was fresh and tasty. It included tea/coffee, cereals, yoghurts, juice, cheese, hams, fruit salad, fresh fruit, pastries, fresh crusty breads and croissants - all of which were delicious. This was definitely worth the €8.00 charge. The area around the hotel is lovely, with some cafes and eateries and a bakery just across the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    'very helpful staff'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    size of room and too noisy at night

    3-minute walk from the metro. But just be careful with pickpockets in the metro and around Paris . Hotel reception is manned 24/7. Staff very helpful and accommodating particularly Jean B. . The hotel is very close to shops and restaurants . Good wifi connection. Coffee machine in the room is a bonus .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel 5 minutes from Canal St Martin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall to wall carpet outide the room had an unpleasant smell. That is actually my only complaint.

    Nice and clean room with a view, kind and very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant staff and location, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jean Bernard was fantastic, extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet was good; fresh bread, pastries, boiled eggs, fruit, ham and yoghurt and coffee. Location was brilliant for the Metro and plenty to choose from locally in terms of restaurants, bars and cafe's. We would stop here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    A small hotel at Canal st. martin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldn't be better. A plenty of nice cafes, restaurants and bars to have breakfast, lunch, dinner or a glass of wine. An easy connection to other parts of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, accommodating, convenient
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room cleaning was a little mediocre.

    Staff was so incredibly friendly and accommodating, even though we didn't speak any French. Plus, there were free, delicious espresso drinks available all day. The beds were comfortable and there was a love view from my window. The hotel is also super close to a metro station (5).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    A real Parisian district and experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived at 10 AM and had requested an early check-in, was not available, but the staff did look after our stuff as we went wandering

    true Parisian authentic neighbourhood/arondissement-off the tourist track but plenty to see in the canal area, close by shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't working.

    Friendly staff. Charles is the best! Loved the coffee and tea that was always available. Rooms are very neat, clean and good decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    The neighborhood was amazing, with canal Saint Martin,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke down, and the room is way too small for this price. The pictures are not exactly the same as the room we got.

    The neighborhood was amazing, with canal Saint Martin, restaurants, bars, and supermarkets. The metro station isn't just 5 minutes walk distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Good little stopover room in friendly neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 centimetres between end of bed and wall to access coffee machine and window Not as per picture shown on Booking.com much smaller! Lift out of order when I arrived up to 5th floor so left my suitcase downstairs and got free breaky for my trouble

    Comfy bed and good pressure shower Good continental breaky Friendly reception staff brought up my suitcase when lift got fixed, thanks! Great convenience of espresso machine in the room View of canal st Martin and Montmartre basilic from my room Terrace bar,Bakery, Monop and fruit/veggies shop right at your foot

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Don't believe the pictures you see and insist for a room upstairs, not in the courtyard!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has some rooms in the courtyard. Those rooms are not ventilated at all, have no air-conditioning and no ventilation in the bathroom. In the summer, this is like a sauna inside. At over 100 EUR this room rate per night (based on single occupancy), this is not acceptable. There was also a huge discrepancy between what you see online (the nice and lofty room pictured, under the roof) and what you get, once you are the there (a much darker room at ground floor with no air). This is not acceptable! Nonchalant staff at reception desk. Friendly staff in the breakfast room. Very bad internet connection in my (courtyard) room. With a bit more of transparency, this hotel would perform much better. A pity that in Paris some locations are acting in a deceitful way on booking.com. Unfortunately, part of some Parisians mentality towards visitors.

    Easy to reach, close to Jacques Bonsergent metro station (line 5) and in the Canal Saint Martin disctrict. The interior courtyard is also fine to sit outside if it is hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: