Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gounod

18, Place de la République, 13210 Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

#3 of 19 hotels in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Charming hotel in the center of St Remy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay in the center of charming St Remy. Staff was warm and welcoming. Comfortable room and lovely breakfast. Pool area was an unexpected treat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Charming place, outside doesn't look like much, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming place, outside doesn't look like much, but rooms, garden, pool and reception area very good. Staff was excellent and seemed happy to be there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is absolutely beautiful, located in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be arranged a couple of streets away from the hotel but this needs to be requested in advance. There was no information about parking online or in the hotel's description.

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful, located in the heart of Saint Remy, with a very nice garden, pool and sauna. The decor is lovely and quirky, the room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is not included (15 euro) but it is nice although not very extensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay with excellent hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We were delighted.

    Location of the hotel is excellent, and the interior decor and gardens are just superb. The breakfast was very good and staff attention was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect relaxing ambience located centrally in St Remy...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect relaxing ambience located centrally in St Remy within walking distance of all amenities but also secluded once within the central courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Rustic perfection with style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it was my property I would give the garden a tidy up

    Interior decoration Amazing friendly personal service from host Great breakfast Stylish and spacious rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    It was quintessentially French in decor and appearance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good experience for us as we had a large ground floor room.

    It was quintessentially French in decor and appearance. The location was excellent. The breakfast was satisfactory. The staff were excellent and very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    recommended for leisurely vacation where you spend time outside and not in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room were old but very nice. need a few more electrical plugs.

    staff friendly. Location was great for traveling into wine country or surrounding cities for day trips. City of St Remy was great for resturants and a Wednesday street market.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, great location, perfect staff. We were very pleased!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good lighting in our room, but rooms could use dimmer switches for the very bright lights

    Fabulous, friendly, courteous, and attentive staff—every single person we encountered was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I find the prices of this and ALL hotel breakfasts far too high. What happened to the days when breakfast was included in the price ?? We went out to eat instead.

    Decor was great, room was huge, bed was comfy and despite being on the square, it was completely quiet. We LOVED it!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    A little pricey for the oddball rooms but the location is great, staff accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms seem tiny due to furniture overload and they look like they were decorated by a member of the Addams Family.

    Location of the hotel is great and the desk manager when we arrived was helpful - told us where to buy a picnic lunch and let us have it in the pretty courtyard. Grounds are very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    A delightful stay in a great location in one of the most beautiful, historic villages in Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is in a lot several blocks away and dropoff of baggage before parking is iffy because it is difficult to park near the reception area. A minor invonvenience and not much the hotel can do about it.

    The pool was wonderful, with great chaise lounges and fluffy towels available at pool's edge. The decor is quirky and funky and wonderful. Bed so comfortable we had difficulty leaving it each morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great service, go for a higher tier room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was almost nothing where to unpack our stuff in the standard room until we were upgraded to another room, approx. 50% pricier. Shower curtains are missing. There is no ventilation in bathrooms. Couldn't find note paper/stationary in rooms.

    Location is terrific, the staff is wonderful, pool and garden grounds are lovely and well maintain. And yes, the cat on the property!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous town and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a minibar fridge in the room.... sometimes you just wanted to keep some fruit or cold water handy.

    Hotel staff were very helpful. The hotel interior is exactly what you want when visiting Provence. Breakfast is really good too..... we had it every other day as there are boulangerie/patisserie stores closeby. Rooms were beautiful, comfortable beds and great linen. Great that the loo is seperate from the bathroom. And we had a cute balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    We had a lovely stay here in this cosy hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark.

    The bed was very comfortable, location is great, right in the centre of town and it was very convenient having a swimming pool, as it was very hot when we were there! The breakfast room is lovely too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    a gem of a hotel in St. Remy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    jacuzzi broken😞

    what a lovely place!!! you are transported to a lovely inner courtyard and spacious pool area- excellent breakfast, kind and gracious staff that goes the extra mile. will definitely stay here again!❤️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel well located in a charming Provincial town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a free overnight parking lot about 4 blocks from the hotel and while it was a bit inconvenient, there were many available spaces. Though I e mailed the hotel, I never received a reply confirming a reservation for a parking spot for the rental car, so I phoned to confirm directly, once I arrived in France. A return e mail would have saved me some time and worry.

    The room was beautifully decorated and had a wonderful bath and shower. Our ground floor room opened off of a landscaped garden courtyard with a fountain, and a central grass area. It was a peaceful spot to sit and relax. The hotel is located just off of the town square, and many shops and restaurants were within a few blocks. The receptionist gave us some suggestions for area attractions which we explored the next day by car, and found all to be worthwhile.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, small boutique hotel with a charm of Provence, stay at this property was as being in fairytale.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful pool and courtyard area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful pool and courtyard area...very pretty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room in a beautiful context
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room in a beautiful context

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Great pool, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pool, design, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay in Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee or fridge facilities in room We had a week stay and they charge 4 euros for tea or coffee at the bar

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Staff and location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    Staff were exceptional, location excellent and great vibe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel, perfect central location, very helpful staff and beutiful ambiance, we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff were all outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar in room. Hotel parking a 5 min walk away.

    The staff were all outstanding! Location and hotel itself were fabulous! Especially the pool!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi connection was spotty.

    Sitting in the courtyard was delightful. Beautiful landscaping and just peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    6.3
    Location and most of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tight and bathroom was terrible. The toilet was in a separate closet from the shower and sink. Both rooms were tiny and felt claustrophobic . The room was entered through an outside courtyard. When it rained, you got wet when going into the main house.

    Location and most of the staff. Heidi was terrific.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    the staff, the breakfast and the room is nice decorated, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not only French channels, at this moment all the foreign guests want satellite TV with world wide channels

    the staff, the breakfast and the room is nice decorated, the room was directly at the square and a road with a lot of traffic, but there was no noice. the location was super, close to all

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    It was a shame that I was traceling aline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a shame that I was traceling aline. It's cery romantic. The breakfatg room/bar is a real selling point. Excellent location in the village.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Our room was large, very tastefully decorated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was large, very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast area was very beautiful and the breakfast of great quality. All the personnel were kind, helpful and very competent.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Positioned in the heart of Saint-Remy-de-Provence, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Positioned in the heart of Saint-Remy-de-Provence, the Gounod hotel is a chic stay which is excellently located if, like us, you are keen to explore some of the surrounding areas, such as; Les Baux de Provence, Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape etc. After long (and hot) days of sightseeing the walled pool area was the perfect place to unwind before relaxing in the splendid gardens -- you almost forget that you are in the heart of the city....and what's more, you cannot help but get the perfect nights sleep in the peaceful and beautifully designed rooms. In addition to the hotel, the restaurants are fantastic and the staff at Gounod are more than happy to recommend their favourites. When we return to St-Remy, this will be our first choice.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Loved the room overlooking the gorgeous garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the room overlooking the gorgeous garden. Pool was beautiful also. The owner and her team were delightful and made sure we had whatever we needed. Our room and bathroom were both very spacious, far bigger than the other hotels we stayed in on our trip. L'Occitane products were such a treat too! We will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice helpful staff led by owner (we think) who was on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our duplex had steep stairs; not great for older couple. Small exercise room and mini fridge would have been nice.

    Nice helpful staff led by owner (we think) who was on premises all the time. Hotel had historic character and atmosphere. Pretty interior garden and pool were ideal for hanging out.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Hotel itself is very nice, very romantic and with a soul...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit problem with hot water - weak pressure in our room (Charming room). Parking not included and about 1 kilometer walking from the hotel (10 EUR/night). It should have been included. Breakfast was tasty, but a bit poor and not a value for money (15 EUR/day/person) - we paid just for one day and next day rather ate outside.

    Hotel itself is very nice, very romantic and with a soul (you can feel the history). There is a private pool and we also have got a welcome drink of a local wine. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Grounds were beautiful, location was perfect, accommodations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything!

    Grounds were beautiful, location was perfect, accommodations were lovely and staff was superb. We loved it!! You cannot go wrong if you stay here.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.8
    situation centrale de l'établissement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    situation centrale de l'établissement. acceuil excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Decor gorgeous,great pool, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor gorgeous,great pool, spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    Location was excelkent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was excelkent

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Heidi at reception was so attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. Everything was fabulous!

    Heidi at reception was so attentive and helpful. She went above and beyond.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    The hotel is beautiful - lovely courtyards and our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is beautiful - lovely courtyards and our room was gorgeous and very large. Everyone was so kind, helpful and really lovely.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.4
    Bathroom absolutely needs to be refreshed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location in Saint Remy

    Bathroom absolutely needs to be refreshed Broken furniture in the room Very expensive...

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Location in St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to mention

    Location in St. Remy and in the region Friendliness and helpfulness of proprietor / entire staff

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: