Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aston La Scala

12 Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France

#64 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1895 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, not great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not worth the money you pay, very grubby with marks on the walls which is offputting

    Hotel is very central and within walking distance to everything. Staff are really helpful and friendly! Room service is delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.5
    great location but dont go there if you are looking to swim in a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the pool was our key desire but it was just a pond and very crowded - went up every day only to find every seat taken, no shade and no room to sit around the pool.

    great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    Bright, light, modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy when we were there.... loud groups, very loud bar nearby and also from 409 - refuse collection v close after midnight !

    Bright, light and modern very close to Promenade and OldTown

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    Great for location but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool is very small & the prices in the hotel were really expensive - especially for drinks. Although the breakfast buffet was plentiful, it was cold most mornings

    The beds were comfortable & the location was ideal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome accept for the terrible Lido Plage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Avoid Lido Plage as a sunbed location on the beach, staff very rude, also found bits of plastic in my salad.....Very poor! When I tried to order drink the waiter pretended he couldn’t see me. Then he asked for a tip.....Sorry I don’t tip bad service.

    Awesome location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    6.7
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel, it would be nice if staff had some notification of you being a returning customer on arrival, especially as this year my visits were only 7 weeks apart. On this visit I booked a comfort room and sadly it was looking a little tired, the skirting boards had bits missing and some of the basic items such as tissues in the bathroom were missing, and the corridor carpets were a little worn. I’m just being particularly with regard to little touches but in my opinion they do make the difference. On the whole the hotel is lovely and I would stay here again.

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    5.4
    Location mostly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the hotel is renovated the smell in our bathroom was terrible. Similar smell was spread in the lobby when entering the hotel. We believe that beside some clean spots, the smell was related to how old the building was in general. When switching on the airconditioning in the room, the atmosphere was not pleasant due to the air with the smell coming through it. Even though the property is in good location, it did not meet our expectations within its interior. We did not have the breakfast, so I don't know how it was but we had a coffee and fresh orange juice in the terrace. The view is breathtaking, however the price ( 6 euros for a bad quality coffee coming from an automatic machine and 10 euros for a small glass of fresh orange juice) was excessive!!!! It is not the first time visiting Nice, so I would expect such prices in the terrace of a 4*star hotel but would not expect such bad quality and quantity. Similar terraces like the one in Hotel Plaza (also 4*) just some steps after Aston La Scala offer better quality services and accomodation as far as I can compare with the previous time I visited Nice.

    Location mostly!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.0
    Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive place in a very tired shape (lots of painting to be done, holes in the doors, marks on the wall, etc...), room not really clean, low quality breakfast and very very noisy cleaning staff that woke us up everyday around 8am. Would not go there again!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is perfect, in between the fashion...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be more ecologic, mostly for breakfast where everything was in individual small packages. We asked to get our beds separated twice, but that never happened. Not a big deal, but for a 4 star, the service was limited. The pillows were too small and lacking storage space in the bathroom.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, in between the fashion shopping streets, the old Nice with charming restaurants and the sea. The roof terrace is beautiful and the staff is smiling and kind. The rooms are not too small. Our room was facing the inner courtyard, so very calm. The beds are hard (a + for me) and the bathroom is ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    Splendid breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really din’t like the staff at the reception neighter them at the roofrestaurant. The service there where below zero.

    Splendid breakfast. The staff who cleaned our room was very professional and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and amazing views! Perfect way to end our 3 week holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was a bit outdated and in need of some modernisation.

    A great hotel with amazing views over the city. We had a terrace that faced the park I would highly recommend this. Excellent location - walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach. Really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.9
    Great location - close to the beach and the old town - all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location - close to the beach and the old town - all walking distance! Great facilities but wish the pool was a bit bigger - didn’t end up using it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    7.1
    Polite staff and large breakfast but overpriced for a dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool opened at 10:00 and every sunbed was full by 10:01. Cracks in the bathroom floor tiles, in both rooms. First room needed painting desperately and smelled of mold. Would not stay again....overpriced and dated.

    Location was great. Lots of choice at breakfast. They changed our room the following morning, since they said booking.com didn't share with them our twin bed preference. Annoying, but pleased they changed it. Gorgeous view from the terrace. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay immensely and may one day come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only concern would be the shower. It has a lovely big bathroom and rain head shower however there is no raised edge for the water to flow effectively into the drain. As a result of this the whole bathroom floor gets wet when you take a shower. It makes the floor extremely slippery and is in fact very dangerous for someone older who is unsteady on their feet.

    We were upgraded to a larger room which was excellent. Had a lounge and chairs and nice little balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really really small. Not comfortable at all. We had a coffee in the room and thedirty cup was there for two days. Not refill the mini bar

    The location of the hotel is excellent.near the beach , the shopping street. The restaurantas are all near. Staff really friendly and healpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, room could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not as expected, window looking out onto a brick wall and tiled floors in bedroom - carpet and a good view and it would have been much more comfy.

    Excellent location and roof top bar nice enough, if small and pricey. Fantastic views from roof. Did not eat at hotel, as plenty of eateries in old town which was just over the road! Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.3
    Location was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mini bar selection in my room was very overpriced. The window shutter was broken so I couldn’t close it fully. The air conditioning worked but I struggled to get the right temperature. The water pressure in the bathtub was so slow but in the end it was comfortable :)

    Location was really good. The breakfast was excellent- yummy fresh pastries! The view from the room was pretty and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    6.3
    Location perfect - hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room felt very cramped, the view was not pleasant (overlooking some air conditioning unit and shoddily maintained buildings), hard to find anything in English on the TV, The cards we had to access the room stopped working on several occasions which meant that we had to wait each time for someone to come up and sort them out. The pool was much smaller than it looked in the photos on the website; you were not allowed to even take your own water to drink up there and prices, as you can imagine, were astronomical to buy even the cheapest of drinks. In the bathroom the toilet was positioned right beside a radiator; there was not an inch gap between the side of the toilet and the radiator, hence when you did want to use the loo, you had to sit 'side-saddle' - a ridiculously placed WC - the hotel really need to do something about this - unbelievable!.

    The location was excellent; we had easy access to the old town, the newer part of the city, the tramline, etc. It really was in the perfect location and, on that basis alone, I would recommend the hotel. The attentive staff who came quickly when we had any issues, i.e. getting into the room (which were locked out of on several occasions due to the card swipe not working, etc.) Other issues included: no towels left one day, shower gel ran out half way through us getting showered (you could not see through the bottle!), etc., etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.1
    Our room had bad odor and you could also smell it in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had bad odor and you could also smell it in the lobby. We made a complaint at the front desk and immediately the sent someone to try and fix it. He was armed with some good odor spray and also put some detergent in the drains. The day after it had the same bad odor. It seemed to come with the air conditioning. We did not bother to get another room because we had a good location on the 5th floor facing the park. Well, everything else was ok. The best thing about this hotel is the outdoor lounge-swimming pool on the 7th floor. The drinks on the bar were very expensive but the service was good. Our favorite thing was restaurant Le Felix Faure right next to the hotel. Good solid food and drinks at a decent price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    6.3
    Location is the only positive of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Booked a double room, were given a twin room. When we asked reception to move us to a double room, they said they were fully booked.

    Great location, pool on the roof is nice but small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    7.1
    Location and rooms lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff let them down on a few occasions. Front desk was fine but the roof top bar/pool was not great. We had an issue with someone accessing our room which we were told was the cleaner who removed our card but it made us uneasy about our stay. It was our first night on our holiday and was hoping it would a memorable lovely experience.

    Location and rooms lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel but pool closed to early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Time pool closed could of been extended an hour it was to early sure they would of made more money as people were buying drinks between 4 and 5 o'clock so if an hour later pool closed more money would of been made and. clients happy

    Beds comfy breakfast excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.8
    Okay Aston La Scala experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC was a bad in our room, rooftop pool was wery small, like five persons in pool and it became crowdy.

    Location - Near Nice old Town, near the Beach and Also liked the breakfast, it was good. Cleaning of the rooms were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, 7-minutes walking to the sea;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was wonderful

    Excellent location, 7-minutes walking to the sea; clean and beautiful room, there’s a kettle in it; a lot of restaurants and a supermarket nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    5.8
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel generally looks quite tired with old carpets and only two small lifts which are very slow (and one kept breaking down). Room (on 3rd floor) was quite poorly designed (hardly any space to walk around bed) and walk-in shower resulted in water flooding the small bathroom (an enclosed shower would have been better in such a small space). No towels provided for beach. No complimentary water in rooms. Rooftop has no shade/parasol for sun loungers.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    3.3
    3.3 is too high. I give it a 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is old smelly and dirty. The walls are all scuffed and there is mould I’m The shower. The doors are water damaged and the whole room smells. So disappointed. We paid for two nights and spent less than 1. Really terrible. Less than 3 star.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    4.6
    Location very good but hotel didn’t live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom sink blogged, there was a power cut and no electricity for 90 minutes- expected they would have had own generator? Stairways dark and dangerous and had to go to toilet in the dark etc, no apologies or even any sign of acknowledgment. Door key didn’t work and safe wasn’t working properly but made to feel like it was our fault. When checked out staff were rude and dismissive.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were woken up in the morning by floods of water coming through the light fittings in the bathroom. The hotel staff agreed to move us but put us in a room directly across from the lift which was extremely noisy, the windows when fully closed did not block out any of the traffic noise. Very disappointed!! It was my birthday which I told them about and they promised to make my stay extra special yet they did nothing. I requested a double bed and got 2 singles!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    6.7
    Let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms, not worth the price we paid, swimming pool misleading, looks bigger on website, €12 for a beer, €20 for sun bed which you have to book 24hours in advance, I have never been to a hotel which charged such a high rate and had to pay further to use a sun bed which we’re also rammed to close together, they then make everyone leave at 5pm so they can set up tables for dinner

    Comfy bed, good air conditioning, good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool area very misleading tiny. Sunbeds very close together and no space to move them even a little bit. €20 a day charge for sunbeds and a towel which we didn't see when we booked it. Over priced bar. Definately not a 4 star. Bathroom very dangerous floods when you use shower all rooms the same. Pool area shuts at 5 so they can set tables out for the evening.

    Luckily location was good that is what you are paying 4 stars for nothing else. Nice little bar next door to your left.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.8
    Old but Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location, bit noisy hotel. Pool is very small of the top level. first we got wron room. But second night we got our room. But downstairs was construction on going and wake up our family so soon. Missing bed sheets from extra bed. Lot of small problems all the time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    3.8
    this was a very disappointing stay as hotel was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is totally run down, it needs a complete refurb. it wasnt clean either. its totally overpriced and should not be categorised as a 4 star hotel. the roof top bar has an amazing view but the condition of the bar is not great. total shame to this place down like this. dont get the breakfast from the hotel either. overpriced and there are places nearby where you can have breakfast for much cheaper.

    the location is the only good feature about this property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    poor selection at breakfast time. And even though the hotel looks just renewed, it needs some maintenance but other than that the hotel is great and for sure I will go back

    The location is great!! You can walk everywhere and the tram station is just in front of the hotel in case you need to go farther

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    6.7
    Overall a great stay in Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some issues with our room, the staff sorted out the problems.

    Very comfortable bed and extremely clean. Wonderful views from the rooftop pool area, pleasant eating breakfast up there overlooking the park but breakfast expensive for five of us it works out at €99 per day! Nice is beautiful and a very good base to explore the surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent location with the old town, shopping area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were one day late as we missed our flight. Food choices were limited on half board and we could easily have eaten out.

    Excellent location with the old town, shopping area and beach a few minutes walk away. Lovely food served by the hotel restaurant with the profiteroles to die for! The pool on the roof was lovely to dive into after a long hot day wandering.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.0
    Great location but not quite as good as I expected for a 4star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive and not quite as good as we expected. Drinks were ridiculously expensive. Pool area was very small and every one got ushered out at 5oclock daily as they then set the area up for eating! Very disappointed at this because one of the reasons we booked this hotel was because it had a pool and there was no mention of this in all the write ups&advertising!

    Lovely big room overlooking the park. Great location. Nice pleasant staff although we did ask for milk etc for the room a couple of times and never got any!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    6.7
    Under-performs the potential of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy air-con; departing taxi for airport 15min late, despite pre-booking and over-charged previously agreed flat rate; front desk staff were not genuinely wanting to help (saw it as a chore?); loud Jazz Concert kept us awake when trying to sleep; bed and bathroom linen not comfortable.

    Very friendly and competent house-keeping staff - bedrooms and bathroom clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.5
    Would stay here again definitely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t the largest I’ve been in at this price, but was still compensated for by position, and by roof terrace. In this day and age WIFI, for every level of use should be included, without trying to up-sell your usage. There should be an arrangement for some reduction with city car parks in conjunction with hotel Aston La Scala , as daily rate is exorbitant.

    Hotel Aston La Scala was excellent, reservations were so helpful when our flight was changed due to atc strike. Roof terrace and view were just fabulous, a ‘Nice’ experience in itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location near the old town, lovely staff and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there was a very very loud music festival going on right outside our hotel until the early hours of the morning which you could hear very loud in the room. I feel the hotel should have let guests know this before booking and offered a discounted stay as it really was very loud. Also the rooftop bar is quite expensive, even more so than the beach clubs nearby.

    Amazing location near the old town, lovely staff and great rooftop bar/pool area. We stay here every time we come to Nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and waiters /waitresses very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was quite small. Corridors could do with a bit of tlc particularly the carpets and lifts not always working.

    Staff very friendly and waiters /waitresses very attentive. Wonderful dinner organised for Bastille day. Roof top pool amazing and just what you need on a very hot day. Stunning views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would not rate the hotel 4starts, I would give it 3. I found the facilities worn, some require repair. Numerous marks on walls and ceiling indicating recent leak. Bad smell in the room. The pool is small, the amount of sunbeds is very limited.

    The location and staff is good though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    The property was very centrally located in Nice with a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t like the showers in the room (had to do a room change to realise the bad showers were consistent) we also didn’t like the policy for towels. As travellers it’s important to have access to a beach towel that you can take to the beach- not just use in the hotel.

    The property was very centrally located in Nice with a nice rooftop pool and drinks area. Staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    Location awesome!!! But rooms need to be refreshed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although minor, the rooms do look outdated and are in need for a upgrade. Gold Linen and pillows were very old and walls were marked and should be maintained and cleaned more regularly to truly elevate it to a more premium space. If it was a 3 star hotel I feel this would be great but for a 4-star hotel I don’t think it’s up to standard. Pool and dining areas were great which elevate it to 4-star and breakfast was nice. Staff were ok but found the language barrier a challenge for international guests. We left a comment prior to our arrival on booking.com for the hotel but it wasn’t acknowledged at all which was also a little bit of a downer.

    Location was very central. Close to the messena, beach and main strip. The pool area was nice and the room had a towel rack heater which was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Great hotel ! great location ! great roof top experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything about this hotel best in Nice for me.

    Great hotel right in the heart of the old town district facing the water fountains. Dining and sunbathing on the roof was spot on. Go to the roof for a drink see the sunset, yes it is pricey but worth one drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    Go back there again! might not
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some one broke in our room and searched my stuff!! Luckily I didn't leave something valuable.

    The location is really convenient, near almost everything and everywhere. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the heart of Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool looked much bigger in the photos. In reality it's quite small and in an enclosed area. Very packed on the roof with all the sunbeds (all occupied when we went up) and with the bar and dining area. Very expensive breakfast offered, €18pp when the near by cafes were offering nice breakfasts for €6.

    Very good location, clean property helpful staff. Nice cool room. Staff very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    4.6
    Ruined by the lack of customer service and absence of management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning in the room created a constant dripping that kept us awake through the night. When we complained we were told we should have rung for assistance at 2am. We asked to speak to a manager who wasn’t available despite going back twice. We were told the manager would call us but no phone call materialised. Terrible service.

    The hotel is nicely presented and in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.3
    The staff and facilities were very good and the staff were happy to assist us in every way. We will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in our room splashed over the bathroom when used

    The staff were excellent. The rooftop pool was ideal on a hot day. The room was spacious but was showing age and needed an upgrade for a 4 star hotel. The position was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. The staff are very attentive, the roof top bar has the best views of the city and a truffle pizza to die for. The room is small but functional. The included breakfast has an excellent selection of options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooftop terrace bar has amazing 360 degree views of Nice. The hotel is in a perfect location directly beside Parc du Paillon and Place Massena and within short walking distance of Promenade des Anglais the old town and the main shopping street, Avenue Jean Medecin . Location couldn't be better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building work in the room next door. Constant hammering for hours. No warning. No option to move rooms. No apology. Very disruptive. Nails/ debris left all over the floor in the corridor afterwards. Even after altering staff to this it wasn't rectified so hotel guests had to pick up sharp nails from floor and hand into reception. Explained the risk re: numerous people walking around bare foot to the pool. Still no apology or explanation. Very poor service. Sunbathing space around the pool dramatically reduced from the past visit. Very crammed in. Only 2 inches from the person next to you. Full of tables and chairs providing a place to sit and buy expensive drinks. Not a relaxing atmosphere. This was a return visit however I would choose elsewhere next time.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced Rude staff Average service

    The experience was dreadful Shuttle service from airport which was offered without mentioning cost was a colossal €110. Breakfast was poor and overpriced and staff were unhelpful and rude. Great location but wouldn't stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Great will be back views spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't get British programmes on tv

    Great hotel the staff a particularly helpful I asked for a quiet room and they accommodated the room was fantastic really enjoyed the breakfast also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.8
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Aston La Scala is a great location for a holiday in Nice, a short walk to the old town, the promenade and beaches and the shopping district. We enjoyed the buffet service breakfast. The range of food on offer was good and the food was hot. The rooms while not the most modern are still exceptionally clean. They just need better showers as they were not only old and broken but the water pressure was also poor. The customer service was also very variable; the housekeepers and porters were very polite, but the reception and bar staff were disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, v helpful staff - if you're a sensitive sleeper, make sure u get a room with shutters
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the design features look good but aren't practical - e.g. blinds that don't shut out the light. Also, one side of the property smelt pretty bad - think there was a problem with the drains.

    We had a great stay despite a problem with our first room (in some of the rooms, the blinds don't fully block out the sunlight so we woke up with the birds 5am at on our first morning)... but we mentioned our sleeping / lighting problems to the staff and they were all too happy to help. They really looked after us and we enjoyed the rest of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we didnt have the posibility to use the most attractive hotel facility - roof bar and pool due to reconstruction of the roof terrace

    ovarall great experience, spacious and clean rooms, fantastic location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.8
    Low value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress of the bed was terrible, the bathroom was separate than the toilet and the toilet room was very tight, people weighing above 150 pounds will have troubles fitting in there. Breakfast not a good variety and not that tasty.

    The location was great and the rooftop terrace offered a beautiful view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.0
    Location and roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As with most European 4 star hotels this is at best a 2 star to American standards. The staff could not have been ruder. If they don’t like Americans I suggest they don’t advertise to this market.

    Location and roof terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.0
    Highly overrated Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel does not comply with the standards of a four star hotel. It was very dirty. In the bathroom it was constantly smelling like sewage. Our sight was very ugly to the ventilation system. There was a window from the room to the bathroom, exactly were the shower was. Although there was a blind to this window inside the shower, one could see through it and could see every detail on the toilet, when sitting on the bed. Because the blind was inside the shower, the blind was very dirty. The pool was closed still when we have been there, in the end of may, although it was not written on the homepage. I asked the reception for a Taxi in the early morning. They send some private person, without any taximeter, which wanted 10 Euros more, than the official taxis for the same path at the same time.

    The breakfast was very good and had great variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Attentive service makes it worthwhile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a higher end hotel, but you get superior service. From the moment you check in it will feel personal. Large hotel, in a very ideal spot, close to dancing water fountains, shops and restaurants. Good for taking the Hop on Hop bus or mini-train, or walking the Promenade to the beach. The restaurant is lovely, with a rooftop view, good food. As a solo traveller, the main selling point is an attentive staff. I needed assistance and Jonas on reception was exceptional. I don't think I would have received the same help at a smaller hotel. Spacious room, though the shower constantly overflowed onto the tiled flooring, like an infinity pool. I suspect the upgrades are not as functional as pretty. Would definitely recommend this hotel, if budget allows. One item of note, is free wifii does not include downloading anything, otherwise you pay. As long as you are aware you should be okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window between the bathroom and our bedroom. You could see everything.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was superb, close to everything that we wanted. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.5
    Very good on the whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only mishap was husbands pyjamas ended up in hotel laundry . They were found and we had to ask for them to be washed (it wasn’t offered) as they had been with other hotel laundry which was disappointing.

    The position of the hotel central to railway, buses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Good hotel with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard pillow. They did not want to compensate even though we had to leave earlier than planned and missed one breakfast.

    Great location, friendly staff, free Wi-Fi, quite versatile breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is advertised with a stunning roof top pool. It doesn’t open until 20 May. The weather was hot while we visited 3-6 May but they would even let us use the rooftop to sunbathe. It should be made clearer that the pool isn’t available until end May as this would have influenced our hotel choice.

    Brilliant roof top bar with excellent cocktails (€18), had a Privilege Room. We’re first put in a tiny room overlooking the square, but got moved to a larger, more quiet room at the back. Lovely staff. Good breakfast buffet. Perfect 5 mins walk to beach, old town and new town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    a very pleasent stay and something to come back to, defenitely
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel is comfortable, situated in the city nearby shopping, the sea, Promenade d`Anglaise, the old town. Easy to go by the bus from the airport and back. Near very good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed by this so-called four star hotel -- ok as a three star due to excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy, sounds from busy sidewalk/road kept waking me up. Key for the room never worked and had to be remagnetized every day (turned out it was the door). I only booked the hotel because of the pool, only to discover it was closed until June 1 -- no indication on booking.com website that was the case. Staff were not well informed - I was told breakfast was not included in my booking, only to be charged for a tax on breakfast and learn upon check out it had been included.

    Great location for wandering in Vieux-Nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasnt meeting expectations. Didn’t get 2 twin beds as per booking, had to ask for swap. Overall hotel decor dated...felt slightly overpriced.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    A good central hotel with excellent location and connections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel's rooftop pool is not open. Room cleaning took place several days late in the afternoon. The breakfast was varied but the breakfast room, noisy and poorly maintained. The street-side rooms were noisy and the sound insulation was really poor.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. A connection from the airport by bus 98 (6, - per person can be purchased from the driver). A short walk to the old town and also to good shopping areas. In the vicinity of the hotel there are several affordable cafes and restaurants ( Les carcons, Le Bouchon, Le Bistrot d Antoine) . Staff very friendly. Room is big and tidy. Bed very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Nice is very expensive for night life, but thouroughly enjoyed our three day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    continually had problems with room key card, however staff always readily available to reset key card.

    excellent location, park view room superb and view from rooftop bar stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.4
    We will stay somewhere else next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor water pressure in shower, A/C did not work, bathroom a bit tired. 2 single beds pushed together not zipped or bolted, so big gap in between. Cheap weatherproof Mattress protector that made you hot & sweaty like an hospital bed. I am all for protecting mattresses, but there are more luxurious products out there that other hotels use!!

    Good position, staff were very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room below par - lots of little things eg bedside light held together by black tape, shower head mostly blocked so like standing under a tap, wardrobe bottom broken, bathroom bin lid missing, no spoon with coffee making facilities etc Rooftop pool and sun lounge not open - not mentioned in booking.com summary. Bar nice but expensive (9 euros for a small bottle of beer) and lots of non residents ( including a wedding) meaning it was packed with noisy drinkers and bad Mum and Dad dancers and their kids..... hardly relaxing.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.7
    central location, close to main transportation facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy ! concerts on the roof. Badly renovated rooms, narrow, air cond. frequently o.o.service, shower undulating, no hooks in bathroom.

    central location, close to main transportation facilities. Rich breakfast. Friendly personel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.3
    Fair hotel due to suboptimal room comfort. Location very good near the old city.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely small room; two twin beds together without any space in between them, bathroom window covered with a translucent shade/curtain so one can see the outline of the person taking a showed

    Very small room for two people, quite uncomfortable with two twin beds pushed together. A bigger room should be offered to two people with beds separated from each other, even if they are twin beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with friendly and capable staff in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we can really think of.

    Well trained and friendly staff. They put work into making your stay memorable. Our extra curricular wishes were all accommodated. We would like to come back sometime in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast, ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window. Bad sound insulation. Trafic noise all night. Even thoug it was on 6 floor. Not a 4 star hotelroom. ! Roof floor facilities closed.

    Breakfast, ok. Location, super. Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: