Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château Hôtel Grand Barrail 5 stars

Route de Libourne, 33330 Saint-Émilion, France

#3 of 7 hotels in Saint-Émilion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 739 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not possible to eat dinner at the hotel. The restaurant was full. We had to order room service and they did'nt delivered what we ordered.

    Nice bed That they gave us the dinner delivered by room service for free when they did not delivered what we ordered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Professionalism of the staff. Welcoming/Reception: Nobody came to welcome us and help us with our luggage when arriving by car, nobody offered to park the car, the reception did not inform us on the restaurant timings, possibilities in the hotel, etc. They just asked for our IDs and tried to sell us a more expensive room. Dinner: the head of the restaurant was very friendly and professional; all the rest of the staff was not. Maybe they were students; in any case it is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. - Pool. It is not as nice as the pictures, as they have put ugly carpet everywhere. Pool was cold, despite they mention that it's heated

    - Location - Beautiful chateau building - Good breakfast - Friendliness of same of the staff (head of restaurant, and person during breakfast) - Room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our room, spacious and romantic with a view across the vines. Breakfast is high quality and the service was good. Check in/out experience was excellent. The staff were helpful and polished. Car parking was convenient and secure also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere in bathroom to hang towels or robes, not enough milk with coffee facilities

    Location, comfortable, picturesque, excellent breakfast, good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor of a “pre-fab bolt on wing” to the main Chateau and in our view very unimpressive for the price we paid .

    The helpful staff and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that I booked two beds and we were only given one. When I asked the front desk staff (immediately upon walking into the room) they said the booking was for only one bed. I was too happy to be in st emillion to argue.

    Beatiful hotel, sweet and friendly staff, perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was actually first rate.

    Beautiful Chateau set in the vineyards of St Emillion. Fabulous vineyard views from our room. Beautiful limestone Chateau. Spa and swimming pool. Chic decor. Intimate restaurant with stained glass windows. Fabulous terrace overlooking the vineyards with quality terrace furniture and waiter service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would expect the menu in the restaurant to change daily - we ate there two nights in a row and it didn’t change. Also, as a 5* you’d expect the hotel to run a free shuttle into st emilion centre or provide free bikes. I paid €20 for the romantic room setup which ended up being petals from about 4 roses scattered in the room. Wouldn’t do that again

    Beautiful spacious rooms. Lovely grounds and pool. Good customer service overall - squeezed us into the restaurant even when it was fully booked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good hotel. However, a mistake was made in our bill and , despite phoning twice and being assured that it will be resolved , I have not heard back yet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very beautiful, peaceful and serene! Staff are very helpful and efficient. Facilities are exceptional. Room service and restaurant both serve exceptional dishes. Since I am a vegetarian they managed to even live up to my expectations. The wine collection was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was definetely not a 5 star hotel room. Old furniture, service not up to the required standard.

    Location was nice and the garden around the castle was pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing except the hot water is not ready for the normally room for one times, I don't know why, but when I have dialed to the room service than they fixed it in time.

    it's one of the best hotel in the Saint-Emilion, historical feeling but quite clean, in the main building there have a better room, but the price is higher than the normally room, especially the bath room was great, and good breakfast, good dinner, every thing was better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent overgenerous breakfast / Excellent Hotel / Excellent location / Wonderfull view / Excellent room / A place to stay and enjoy !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint would be the restaurant. The offering consisted of two fixed price menus....no "a' la carte " possibility for ordering. The preparation and presentation of food was disappointing for a facility of this sort. The wine list was also very limited. The sommelier disappeared after the first course and just stopped pouring our wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant, bar closed on Sunday after breakfast!!!

    The old part of the hotel, the bar, the restaurant and the location. The staff were also so helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was pleasant but not fabulous. Last time we ate here it was exceptional, a much higher standard and more imaginative menu.

    Beautiful decor in restaurant, room with a view of the vineyards

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uneven. Room was stuffy and air con didn’t adjust the room temp. In the amenities, need conditioner. Room is outdated to images online. Bathroom needs updating.

    Concierge. And other staff were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing I would suggest for a 5 star, luxury property would be to improve the pillows and offer firm pillows as well. Not a standard and soft pillow for a king size bed.

    The place is amazing, staff, location, spa, it’s dreamy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    We stayed just a few days in this hotel, and spent most of our time in the cities around. The hotel was great, staff perfect. I will come back for sure. If you would like to visit Saint-Emilion, this is the place to stay. We arrived in advance and they let us go to the room before check-in time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rate of the Euro against the pound. (which probably wasn't the Hotel's fault really)

    The Hotel has excellent facilities, the staff were more than accommodating and couldn't do more for you throughout our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a stunning location! I felt like a princess is her castle! The staff was friendly, dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Loved our stay there and will definetly come back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff was rude and unexperimented Bar was very bad value for money. Hopefully had just a glass of wine. Saw another table ordering some cocktails... aweful, overpriced, and bad behavior during service

    The reception staff is very helpful and knowledgeable The room was very spacious and beautiful The spa is a great and was not packed when we visited

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling with our pets, therefore a carpet room is not the best choice, although as per the photos, there was a room without it. The carpet itself wasn't clean and a little bit old.

    This chateau close by Saint Emilion is a precious jewel of the southern french architecture. Located in a front of a beautiful wine field, you can have a lovely view if your room has balcony. The restaurant in the hotel is a classic french menu style, but a little bit expensive, although really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic start to our holiday. Easy to walk to St Emilion. Staff welcoming on arrival and very helpful. It is a bit out of the way but we knew this would be the case when making the booking. Staff always willing to call a taxi for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed in the size and luxury level of the room. Possibly our fault as I didn't warn them about our small dog resulting in a change or room. We were unable to eat in the restauarant having not pre-booked, but they only opened one part with only 17 covers - strange. Howver we had a really good meal in St Emilion at a restaurant receommended by the hotel, so no big problem. In summary it was a pleasant experience but not quite the special chateau experience we had hoped for.

    Very attractive small chateau with most of the rooms in (attached) outbuildings. Comfortable bed, room has access straight out to the vines, very extensive breakfast. Good staff and easy parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property right outside Saint Emillion. Attentive staff. My husband and I have stayed at several Small Luxury Hotels of the world over the years and all of them have been outstanding in every sense! Grand Barrail wasn't the exception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel promised a great deal but didn’t quite achieve the dream. Also, the layout of bedrooms and facilities was complicated and awkward.

    The staff were well trained and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Count 15 minutes for check in or check out - French speed...

    Great for both a stay with your loved one(s), or business. Restaurant is small but you are only minutes from center of St. Emilion...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the restaurant to have a nice dinner and the staff was absolutely terrible. Sarcastic, mocked me for having bad French, never brought us a second glass of wine even after asking the server and back server. They were unapologetic and indifferent to the fact thy they ruined the dining experience. In what fine dining restaurant are you ever offered only one drink?!

    The property and location were beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant and spa get quite busy so try and make a booking prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. The temperature of the outdoor pool is quite cold so we weren't able to use it during our stay. WiFi was slow and unreliable.

    The property is beautiful, our room was spacious and comfy. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Food served for dinner in the restaurant was delicious and well presented. Quite location about a 5 minute drive from the town of Saint Emilion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food & drink was way overpriced. No decent air conditioning in room, had to leave balcony door open. When balcony door open smoking smell from next room balcony was disgusting Bar fridge overpriced 35 euro for a miniature bottle of Moet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t have lunch in a restaurant because it was booked out. Our fault I guess but stuff should advise us to make a reservation.

    Beautiful Château. Very nice restaurant with great wine list and food just amazing. Comfortable bed. Tea and coffee facilities in a room is very nice touch. Amazing view from the room. Very peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are two very dangerous speed bumps in the main drive which damaged my car the first time we visited two years ago and, unbelievably, they are still there. The staff opened an old access road so that we could get in. The first room we were offered was very dark with very poor lighting and heating. We were moved to another room which was better but still required extra lighting and an additional heater to be brought in. The rooms we saw are definfitely not 5 star and should not require extra effort to allow residents to be able to read and to be warm. The staff did their best to overcome these problems but frankly the bad experience getting in to the hotel and the unsuitability of the rooms has put us off the place.

    Superb building in a beautiful location. Excellent base to explore the wine country of St Emilion and beyond. Cycling through the vines was a delight. The facilities in the hotel are first class with a beautiful restaurant and terrace. The spa looked inviting but we did not try it. Dining in the restaurant was good but expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide internet service that works. I had to leave early because of this. The place represents itself as a first class resort. It isn't. It should charge half what it does. It is "tired".

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing and the wifi was very slow. Considering how much you pay, at least you want to be able to connect to the world in a normal speed.

    Welcoming staff, great massage at the spa, good breakfast in nice environment, quiet rooms and just the perfect place for a honeymoon. The staff helped in recommending resturants and booking a table for us. It is also nice to be able to rent bicycles and go to town - much easier to park bicycles than a car!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room - we were in a separate part from the main hotel and felt a little isolated. Also, wifi practically non-existent when it was advertised as freely available.

    Good location, lovely building, very comfortable, great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was disappointing, there were no vines outside our room...so it looked a little barren. (This is outside the control of the hotel, but as other rooms were available it would have been better to give us a room with a better view) The shower could have been good but unfortunately did not function correctly and leaked water under the door as there was no seal. Insects in the room...okay the property is in a rural location, but a 5 star hotel should still be cleaned more thoroughly. We booked on Booking.com and it clearly states that the room would come with a bath. It did not. We mentioned this to the Hotel on our return, and were told that we should have mentioned this during our stay. However we just assumed that all rooms didn't have a bath. The hotel should have accepted liability for their innaccurate room description. Certainly not up to the standard of a 5 star hotel in the U.K from our experience. Maybe French hotels are rated some what differently.

    We loved the staff, very friendly & welcoming. We loved the location & the food. We loved the comfy bed and slept very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small for the price that was being paid. Also, the breakfast wasn't worth the price. I had to request refills of several of the food and drink for the buffet. Some of the service staff at breakfast didn't seem to be happy to be there.

    The spa!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great little patio outside our room, but within hours we realized the that tour bus waited in front of our patio which ruined the appeal.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paefume smell in the rooms and lobby is very intense. Quite expensive but breakfast is not included.

    Nice location durin visit of St Emilion and Pomerol, good breakfast, very good staff, free parling

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning Hotel Chateau in the heart of the St Emilion vines. A perfect location for visiting the hundreds of vineyards and the beautiful town of Saint Emilion. The Menu Degustation is a must... Just keep lunch lite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/ bath wasn't the best.

    The spa was really lovely and the staff too. Had the couples massage,Scrub and facial. Food in the restaurant was superb as was the service. The six course tasting menu is not to be missed! Really nice bike ride to St emilion through the vines. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff was not service minded at all with an unwillingness to communicate with us. Maybe because we are not fluent in French, but nevertheless.

    Nice room and with a terrace perfect for a glas of champange.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was only available in the evening and was not a focal point and lacked atmosphere. Breakfast (not included) was average with only a fairly limited range of pastries. The restaurant was very impressive but snacks were not available through the day.

    The very imposing architecture was not disappointing, the facilities were first class and the staff very professional and helpful. We were close enough to the Town and Taxis were very good.(every trip was €20 regardless of destination)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was dreadful, weak and lukewarm. As a French speaker I found the Restaurant Staff are rather aloof and don't seem like they enjoy their job, although there are exceptions such as the girl who served me pre dinner drinks on the first night, and the waitress with the glasses at breakfast. I ordered a peach Bellini from the cocktail menu which arrived in a warm wine glass and hadn't been made with fresh peaches -€15 was a bit steep for something so uninspiring - I had to ask for some canapés as well. Room remained unserviced until 2pm on the second day. The sun was very hot on the terrace and I asked for the parasols to be opened, only to be told they couldn't do it. When I asked why, they said it was because they couldn't!

    Breathtaking terrace and views over the vineyards. Rooms with terrace are large, comfortable and well equipped and have sunloungers. Concierge services were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Spa and treatments are excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing.,

    Everything was excellent. My wife and I had very unique moments in our life. Staff was helpful from the beginning. We had a wonderful dinner , enjoyed spa and most important super time in the wonderful garden watching stars and beautiful scenery. Will never forget. We simply thank to the people who created this jewel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bit on the expensive side price wise, but experience well worth it. This is Saint Emillion.

    Staff were absolutely wonderful. They arranged personalized tours at a couple of vineyards and were always attentive to detail. Room was cozy, comfortable and relaxing. I wish we had had more time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant poorly managed. Service is slow and unfriendly. The better option is to dine in Bordeaux where plenty of excellent and professionnaly run restaurants are available.

    Convenient parking facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff in the restaurant were quite rude/abrupt. There was some mold in the shower/bathroom areas. The beds were a little uncomfortable. You could not use the fridge to put any of your own items.

    Stunning location & Chateaux, located just outside the main town of St Emilion (5 mins drive). The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and the pool was a very lovely place to escape the heat. The staff at reception were exceptionally helpful & friendly, & they took control of booking whatever we needed - taxis, restaurants, spa appointments etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An unmarked slope in the corridor caught me out every time. The terrace backed onto a service road where trucks passed with deliveries each morning. Only 2 teabags, one each of breakfast and green tea. The towel rail was positioned at head height and restricted entrance into the shower.

    Very clean and comfortable. The staff went the extra mile to ensure we had a good stay. A very nice breakfast, though pricey...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An offer/option of a tour of their vineyard would have been appreciated as would information on the history of the chateau. €7 for bottle of water. No option of tap water which is common practice in this region. Breakfast average for €24 pp with no menu options.

    Really nice hotel and impressive building Dinner was excellent as was the selection of wines offered with the menu. Lovely setting We had a very pleasant and romantic stay in the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Internet connectivity was basically non existent. No shuttle to the town or the train. Taxi cost prohibitive. Property is NOT close to the town or train and is not walking distance. We felt like the description meant the property was on the edge if town. Walking or riding on the main road to town is dangerous. Would never stay here again.

    Facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool filter was in progress after opening hours one morning with no signs indicating the pool was closed. Book the restaurant for evening meals! We didn't realise the capacity threshold was so limited and with a storm brewing only the inside restaurant space can be utilised unless you want dinner in your room. That said, we were accommodated.

    The buffet and cooked breakfast was simply fabulous as was the evening menu and wine selection. Sitting outside in the sun overlooking vineyards was just the most relaxing enjoyable end to each evening. The hotel staff were very accommodating and arranged tours to two vineyards in the area which we cycled to. Really lovely stay for a couple of nights/ weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying here was the best part of our trip! It's just too beautiful and peaceful ! Like staying in a castle surrounded by vineyards. Spa is lovely. Food at the restaurant was very good! But you have to have your own car as the Chateau is a 6-8 min drive from the main St. Emilion village centre. But it's lovely to drive around the Chateau along the vineyards and other chateaux nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast understaffed. Staff felt fake - not genuine. Messed up our taxi booking (also overcharged for it.) Served breakfast from 7am but no hot food until after 8am - very strange. Restaurant very nice but very expensive.

    nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only slight downside was our room had a large air conditioning unit outside nearby which was a bit noisy but i would still give 10 out of 10 because the place excelled everywhere else

    i booked chateau grand barral as i wanted to propose to my lovely partner of 24 years ( happily she said yes ) it was perfect , the staff were a delight and genuinely wanted our stay to be memorable. it was easy to park close to the chateau within less than a minute walk . the spa was stunning as was the swimming pool . we had breakfast which was a great choice of continental and english with fresh juices and a fantastic selection of teas. The gardens meet the vineyard and there are sunloungers available so you can actually loung right on the edge of the grape vines and you can get a bike from the reception and ride round the estate it simply was magical and we catn wait to go back next year

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was appaling for the level of the property, having to wait 1 hour for the wrong order. The waiter didn't care for the mistake. Wifi in the room is extremely slow. If I ever visit the region again, there are better places to stay in Saint Émilion.

    Bedroom was nice and property is in a beautiful location. They have a spa which we didnt use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa facility is a bit old fashioned, need renovation

    Staff are friendly and professional. Dinner was great and worth to book in advance, it would be great if more available choices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave.

    We were given the option to upgrade to the Royal Suite which I absolutely loved. I must say one of the best hotel's I've ever stay in. It over looked a beautiful vineyard and the room was impeccable. It was so beautiful I proposed to my now gorgeous fiance on the balcony of the suite. The staff were so friendly and happy for us and really accommodating with everything we needed. A special thanks to Shane at the restaurant and Annaig at reception for their hospitality and making the stay so special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and food are probably not their strong point. Also we were told check in was at 3pm but our rooms where not ready till after 4pm.

    This is an absolutely beautiful hotel attached to an amazing Chateau. Great for a relaxing, quiet stay. Very luxiourious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is not as good as we expected. It is good but gives the impression that it is almost of Michelin star standard which it is not. There are better restaurants in St Emilion.

    Good location, nice staff, beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of food at the restaurant ia average compared to the price; quality of service not consistent: good one evening, poor the other one.

    The main building and gardens are quite nice, and the location is convenient to explore the area. The room is big and comfortable with all needed amenities of excellent quality. Good breakfast buffet. Reception personnel competent and friendly. We did not use the SPA, so cannot comment on it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working. They allowed taxis to stand right outside your window, so you had no privacy in your bedroom.

    The staff were really nice, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were especially helpful. But we did find that the service was bordering on surly with other members of staff. The waiting staff at dinner seemed under pressure maybe the rudeness comes from not enough staff to guests. We did find that waiting for someone to take orders for drinks and dinner could take sometime, don't get me wrong I don't like to be rushed but there are limits as to how long you should wait before you start to feel forgotten or at worse, ignored! The hotel is obviously aiming to the high end of the market. It is a beautiful Chateaux Hotel, but a hotel is only as good as its staff and I believe this establishment needs to invest in more staff and encourage curtesy

    The room we had was just lovely, very well decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived in Libourne by train. I had emailed the hotel asking about transportation and they said we should take a taxi. What they didn't mention was that we had to call a phone number and request a taxi which was hard since we didn't have a local sim card so if we knew, we would have asked the hotel to send a taxi for us.

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very nice! The spa is great (massages starting on EUR55).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay €20 to rent a bike.

    Beautiful estate. Looks like a fairy tale castle. Room overlooking vineyards. Close to lots of chateaus and Saint Emilion. Stuff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only thing we didn't care for was the scent of potpourri they used throughout the hotel lobby and our room. It was called, we believe, Fresh Fig. It just wasn't very appealing at all. We put our potpourri jar with scented sticks out on our balcony because it was such a strong smell. Something much lighter would be better.

    We loved so many things about our stay here, it's hard to remember them all! Beautiful property, room was so nice and relaxing! Bathroom shower was amazing. Breakfast was included and so much to choose from. We ate dinner here the first night which was very nice. Many staff members spoke English which was helpful at times. Laundry service was quick and cleaning staff did a superb job! Only a five minute—and easy drive—to the town centre of Saint Émilion which had lots of nice wine shops and restaurants. Make sure you take the Monolithic Church and Catacombs Tour while there (get tickets through the Tourism Office). Many wineries/vineyards to choose from... Chateau la Dominique was very nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinning room (at the end we were sat) was very brightly lit which effected the ambience somewhat.

    Very pleasant stay, the welcome was warm, conversation was offed in both French and English. We were escorted to our room while being given a detailed explaination of the hotels facilities. The room was pressented in clean and comfortable condition there was coffee making facilities (a little more milk would have been nice), in our case we had a good size balcony with table and seating over looking vinyard's with fine views of the area. We arrived late but the staff were flexible and able to accomidate us for dinner in the lovely restraunt. The food was exceptional as was the wine (unsurprisingly), however if I had any concern it would be that the dinning room (at the end we were sat) was very brightly lit which effected the ambience somewhat. The hotels location is perfect for exploring St Emilion and Bordeaux, my wife and I had a wonderful stay at Gran Barrail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members at the bar I found inpolite. Myself and my partner had just got engaged and I had asked for 2 glasses of champagne from the bar and it felt like I was troubling the lady and I found she was not friendly. I would expect better from a Hotel of this calibre.

    The location and setting was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blinds near the bed side let the bright light in all night from the building next door.. plus the bathroom window I felt I needed to cover it with a towel as the side building could look inside when the lights were on.

    cosy and comfortable. the staff made you feel relaxed and comfortable. one could experience the fine dinning without overdressing ( perfect for tourist exploring)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would change is to add a door to the shower room so there is some privacy

    This was exactly what we were looking for when choosing this hotel. It is far enough from the main town to have some peace and quiet but also close enough to travel to the other vineyards and the main area. The spa was an absolute highlight and the masseuse was really good. The staff is really wonderful and made us laugh during our dinner there. I definitely recommend staying in the main part of the chateau as it made the entire stay feel that much more special. This was one of my favorite parts of my trip to France.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at the restaurant we were offered the cheese board that turned out not to be included in the menu we had picked. The waiter didnt let us know. Turned out to be 30€ for 2 pièces of cheese each.

    The site is amazing, the staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a long walk from the car park but this is a good thing as the cars are away from fabulous Chateau and Hotel complex.

    This is a truly beautiful Hotel set in a great vineyard. The staff were wonderful they were professional and warm! The food was excellentour dog loved the experience as she was free to run and enjoy the gardens.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is little bit disappointed... example, orange juice should be fresh squeezed instead of packed one for this kind of the level of hotel

    locations is excellent, hotel staffs are very helpful, wonderful vinyard view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was not very clever, and the switching difficult to understand. Turning on the shower without getting soaked was impossible. There needs to be another single towel rail in the bathroom.

    The ambience was excellent, quiet and subdued. The staff were excellent and the food at both breakfast and dinner was most enjoyable. The variety of types of bread and jams was a delight.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: