Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Barrière Le Grand Hôtel 5 stars

46 Avenue George V Bp 70143, 35800 Dinard, France

#16 of 38 hotels in Dinard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking expensive

    stunning grand hotel with prominent position, very accommodating staff, room very spacious and elegant, excellent breakfast, complementary cycles to use and good leisure facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit small for the price. Also a bit outdated - more usb sockets and plugs would be helpful for the tech-savvy traveller.

    This is an old school grand hotel. It is luxurious in a traditional way. The staff cannot do enough for you. They are very dog friendly - even provide a dog bed, bowls, and treat! Great views of the water and little balcony to enjoy it. Swimming pool and facilities are excellent. Tesla charger was very useful as well. Really enjoyed being pampered here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small suggestion I would make is that the eclipsal running machine in the gym needs service or probably replacement as it is very noisy. The free weights are inadequate as they only go to 8 kg. The 10 and 12 kg dumbbells seem to be missing. It would be helpful for the free weights to go up to 16kg for an adequate workout.

    The bar and breakfast room were excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was world class. We really enjoyed the piano bar and engaging staff through out the facility. We will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not well appointed or very comfortable. Single beds pushed together rather than a queen sized bed, no top sheet, and no AC so quite hot at night.

    Location, style, grand hotel feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel set in a great location in Dinard overlooking the sea towards St Malo. Once we arrived and parked the car we found we didn't need to use it for the rest of the stay as everything is within walking distance (shops, restaurants, beach etc). Even a trip over to St Malo was easy as there are regular ferries over throughout the day, much easier than driving round. The hotel also has complimentary bikes to use, presumably as and when they are available. These were great fun, our first experience of electric bikes, and it was an enjoyable way to explore a bit further. The staff were also extremely helpful and friendly, always saying hello as you walked by and checking everything was ok with your stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk is not friendly at all. Very very very poor breakfast. Delux room is ok, but much worth than to neighbor 5 star hotel Castelbrac.

    Good quiet location, nice garden area with sun beds and and inside swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. You were made to feel a special guest throughout your stay. The hotel is very grand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful hotel with great personal service including valet parking. Lovely dinner in the restaurant with impeccable but friendly service. Treated like valued friends rather than paying guests.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired .They had obviously redecorated and reused the old furiniture. After having such a great experience in the Corniche the night before it was a real disappointment

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service and communication was poor, messages and requests were not responded to. Just 2 examples (there were more): we ordered breakfast in our room but it did not arrive; we asked for our car to be ready but it was not. This was stressful as we had to leave promptly to catch an early ferry. Our stay fell far short of our expectations, particularly for an expensive hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service by the pool and outside garden area is virtually non-existant. If you require help with a sunbed, ordering a drink or food, it is with difficulty. The Grand Barriere is expensive and this should be reflected within the customer service.

    We have stayed in this hotel many times and love its' location. The staff are always very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning offered in any of the rooms; and for a 5 star in summer at a sunner resort that is a surprise and let down. Not the least when combining no a/c with very warm room and need to have windows open which then resulted in terrible noise. Bad sleep the whole stay.

    Great location and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a feel of faded grandeur. It needs a revamp especially as it is classed as 5 stars. The rooms are clean and the size is ok but looking tired in terms of decor especially the bathrooms. In our room the curtains looked worn and did not meet in the middle. There are lots of extras to pay €30 for parking, €28 for breakfast - these charges were too high in my opinion. The staff told us parking was all charging in rest of Dinard which is not true - there is a car park which was free only 10m walk away. Felt like we were being upsold all the time but with no discount for staying. The hotel is not next to the sea although in some pictures it looks like it is - there is only a road in between but no "sea views" from the restaurant - view from room was ok though. The price we paid was reasonable given what the hotel was like but I would probably choose somewhere else to stay if came back to Dinard (which I did love!)

    The staff were really friendly and willing to help Easy to walk into town and just off coastal path Pool, spa and sauna were good although a bit small Garden area is nice for sitting out

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Views Comfy Bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The restaurants were lovely and the hotel location was perfect with views of the sea and easy walking to shops and beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    friendly helpful staff hotel facilities all good breakfast great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no air condition and was very hot in august wont go back for that reason

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Staff attention

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. the breakfast was first class and dinner in the evening excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was disappointing

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful facility with exceptional staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excellent and location is great. The staff did a great job with english and help with directions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historical place but not worth this price

    Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The limited choice on the dinner menu

    The staff were all friendly and professional and were always familiar with our name

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning so the rooms were very ,very hot.

    Comfy beds, lovely breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simply nothing to complain about. Super hotel and the entire staff could not have been more helpful.Superb food and service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air con in the rooms - you wouldn't stay there in the height of Summer!

    All good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Waiting time to be served and/or to be seated at the restaurant for breakfast; - Timing of the breakfast should be from 06:30/07:00 until 10:30 or 11:00, like in other 5 stars hotels

    - Excellent location; - Indicated during the time of booking that would like to have a room located in the 4th or 5th floor, this was not achieved; but appreciated for the 1st night that was allocated in a room with a balcony with view to the sea; - Service attitude of the staff personnel

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is starting to look a little tired - the rooms have not been refurbished in a number of years and they are starting to show their age (although the beds are super comfy).

    Lovely location, great staff, wonderful views over the bay to St Malo and very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A super holiday (my wife says the best in years) due to the food, the continual courtesy and the great location (also near to the boat station ! WE are already planning a longer, next year visit !

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our third visit to this hotel. We particularly like the location in close relationship to the town of Dinard and direct access to the frequent ferry to St Malo. Above all, the staff are exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not experience the hotel breakfast as we considered the cost of 25 euros somewhat excessive.

    Very good hotel with excellent staff. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted professionally and our car was parked for us in the private car park. The room was made up promptly every morning which we appreciated as, in some hotels we have had to wait an age to "get our room back"!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This hotel is set on the front of Dinard overlooking St. Malo. A truly 5 star hotel with impeccable old fashioned standards of service. A welcome change from modern group hotels. All the staff made us welcome, remembering during our visit our names and using them on a daily basis. The room was large and comfortable overlooking the bay. The spa was excellent and the swimming pool although indoors has huge glass doors that can open to make it feel like you are in the garden. In the garden you can lay all day on comfortable loungers. I loved this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy dustbins emptied at6.45am also bottles early morning bathroom small complained had room Change much better

    New room upgraded swimming pool Location and view. And very Comfortable beds in both rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed the air-conditioning and the overall impression is that the hotel is quite old and is missing the features we are used to at younger hotels.

    Breakfast is definitely one of the best we ever had in France. And we liked the bed, it was very comfortable. The view from the terrace on the 1st floor is breath-taking.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food bland and overpriced. Too many extra charges, e.g. for even a short late check-out, and valet parking.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice cocktail bar. Excellent view from sea-facing rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilette separate from the bathroom, although reasonably common in France, is not a very comfortable arrangement.

    Outstanding hotel, superbly located, ample room, very comfortable bed and very attentive staff. We would return whenever possible.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    excellent location wıth magnificant view ,seaside walking trail ,very easy and scenic shuttle boat to San Malo

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, staff, service, comfort, room, all 5 star yet not pretentious!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    24 Euro per night for the garage is too steep.

    Old fashioned but in a nice way. Attentive and efficient staff. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-conditioning.

    Very friendly staff and a comfortable stop for several days.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dinner was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ombiance of the hotel was fantastic . It made my eightetth Birthday a great treat the staff treated me very well/

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely hotel, polite and helpful staff, fabulous food and lovely quiet location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views of the bay...

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough parking, cost of drinks in bar.

    Location, size of room, staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: