Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel de l'Opera 4 stars

Place du Capitole, 31000 Toulouse, France

#22 of 95 hotels in Toulouse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 710 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, charming old hotel with great location and convenient parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the hotel are a little tired, added to the charm for us, but maybe not everyone's cup of tea.

    Loved the old world feel - the orientalist wall paper and the very comfy bed. Wish we'd had longer to enjoy it. Also liked that the minibar included good champagne, even if we arrived too late to enjoy it. The location was very convenient for us on a road trip through France. The parking was right next to the hotel, but we could walk around the center in the morning. The check in was very efficient and easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay. It was convenient for restaurants and sightseeing. A pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great. The entrance to the hotel was impressive. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Fab apart from missing bathrobe and slippers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobe or slippers which annoyed me. I had to ask. It made me feel the room wasn’t properly cleaned.

    My room was spacious. I loved old style wood and drapes. Reception v helpful. Situation couldn’t be better..”

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little tired, and could do with a spruce up.

    Excellent location. Main entrance set back from the busy main road around the Place de la Capitole, so quieter (but not sure about the rooms on the main road). Very central. Nice courtyard area. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect central location--make sure the showers work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2nd stay here was in a room that was gorgeous, and huge, but the shower was placed in the tub area in a way that it flooded everything and was hard to use. Kind of ruined the shower experience. Also, our room was up a narrow spiral staircase which worked out ok for us, but wouldn't work for anyone with mobility problems. There was one staff person who didn't even know how much postage to put on a postcard--I thought that would be basic front-desk knowledge, and wouldn't/couldn't look it up on the web for me. He had stamps to sell, and couldn't even figure it out. I thought that was shocking even if a minor issue.

    Beautiful, spacious rooms. Some of the front desk staff were very helpful, spoke excellent English. They had someone to help us with bring our bags to our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Room ok but could do with a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance hall and lobby looked very "warm out " Access for heavy luggage was non existant and the restaurant adjacent to hotel was very poor quality ( at the entrance of the hotel but doesn’t belong to the hotel )

    Room ok but could do with a facelift

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in the beautiful historic city of Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowded area only on Saturday, but very lively and excellent location for touring.

    The hotel was perfectly located and the hotel itself was excellent and met all of our needs. The room was very comfortable, with twin beds which we were able to move apart as I was traveling with my cousin. The decor was warm and beautiful - a rich red room with dark mahogany wood. Paintings and wallpaper in common areas were very tastefully done. The STAFF were excellent and made us feel warmly welcomed and assisted throughout our stay. Our very limited French posed no problem with any of the hotel staff and they were very willing to assist us with checking on the railway strike, getting taxis and providing us with recommendations. The hotel exceeded our expectations - a great stay in a beautiful city. And even extended our stay an extra day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel in perfect location with charming helpful staff - beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Really comfortable beds - lovely decor - we had a great terrace and Devine decor - room 301- second most sought after room in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Stay in central Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are LOTS of hotels in the Capitole and round about . Out of all the places we have stayed on our cycle route down from England to the Pyrenees and the Mediterranean , we felt the welcome was indifferent , the staff in reception and the brasserie were efficient but not happy ( where’s the smile and that extra effort ?!) It can command a high price because of it’s position , but nothing else warranted it being the most expensive in the square : and the internet would not connect . Disappointing for such a prestigious place . Don’t usually write anything so negative, but not the best !

    Right in the centre in a historic beautiful building and setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal. Very cool boutique hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the third floor and the stairs are kind of treacherous. The elevator is slow and small.

    The bathroom is beautiful and the toiletries a very luxurious. That is also very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff were nice but check in a muddle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a terrible room that was nothing like those on your website and we feel cheated for what was supposed to be a special stay you need to be accurate and speak to this hotel. Not good.

    Staff were nice but check in a muddle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Return visit and will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like tea making facility in room

    central location. Staff helpful and friendly. Organised valet parking. family event everyone loved the hotel Beds comfortable. Bedroom and Bathroom well equipped. Within easy reach from airport by public transport. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Location is why you would stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had smokers underneath our bedroom window, not pleasant but difficult to manage I suppose. No tea making facilities in the room.

    The location is the reason why you stay at this hotel. Right on the doorstep of everything Toulouse has to offer. The staff were very helpful, even phoning restaurants ahead to check dietary requirements we had. Room was pleasant enough. Very small window overlooking the front of the hotel. Bed was S King, comfy, shower WC as you would expect at a 4 Star. We didn’t have breakfast which was steep at 19 Euro a Head. I have no grumbles but would stay elsewhere next time as experience was missing that special feeling

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    A Truly 4 star.+ Hotel! 0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gloominess of the disabled room The impolite receptionist who said OK when I complained about a serious matter and offered no apology.

    Every thing else.. It's an excellent hotel in all respects.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Simply the best location, old fashioned but classy decor a trip back in time with modern comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were hoping to have a drink in the bar but we returned at 11.45 after dinner and it was closed.

    The staff had listened to my request, remembered the communication and delivered. Super helpful. Plus, the bed was extra large and very comfy. Breakfast in our room was a real treat and all delicious. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival it was difficult to work out where to park our car while we unloaded the bags. A sign at the entrance saying hotel pick up/drop off and Valet parking near the entrance would help. Also information with your booking on how this works would be appreciated. The shower screen needs work. As it is open at one end it is difficult not to get the bathroom floor wet when showering. Thanks

    The hotel staff are excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The room is very clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The public rooms are very sumptuous but the bedrooms would be better with properly fitting curtains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were given a room at the top of a very long spiral staircase with no lift, not great with arthritic knees. But it wasn't their fault as they didn't know. The first night we couldn't sleep as although the bed was comfy, the rooms heating was so hot, we couldn't get it lower than 27 degrees. We opened the window which let some cooler air in but then woke at 5.30am to noises outside. Second night was better after the heating had been changed to cooling. The room was OK, nothing special, we preferred the room we had the first time we stayed. Would it really be so difficult to make curtains big enough to cover the whole window so the sun doesn't wake people at 6am?

    We stayed in a standard room which was ok, not great but ok. The bed was comfy and the staff were helpful and friendly. Especially the lady on reception each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for use of the sauna but it was only switched on when I arrived so I declined to have a cold sauna!!

    Breakfast was good, staff friendly and helpful. Charming, old fashioned, classic hotel. Brilliant restaurant, separate but attached so you need to pay on the spot. Public parking opposite is secure and convenient. For the moment the City is being torn apart for road works so navigating it is fraught and very frustrating because GPS is blind most of the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The didn't informed at all how to rich the parking in front of the hotel and there were construction jobs in the lobby

    The location and the classy room's decoration were stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit tired looking. Could do with a refurb considering the price.

    The property was in a great location. Lovely helpful staff. Lovely Lobby / bar area and the outside court yard was a lovely places to relax in the sun. The staff where very kind and accommodated at last minute an early check in for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Location in the Centre of Toulouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting there by car even with GPS, room temperature difficult to regulate, had to open the window.

    Location in the Centre of Toulouse. Clean comfortable room, nicey refurbished hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location but we expected more from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome at the front desk was almost the same as a youth hostel. I was first given a room with almost NO window!! (room 119) I asked then to have another room and was relocated to the Tosca room (a bit better for the window but not for the black hairs sticked to the wall of the shower). There was work in the main lobby ( the whole lobby was cover of platic paper) and I was not informed about it. It was not really nice when we arrived, especially as it was supposed to be a nice surprise to my wife. We were a little late for the check out and we asked for a late check out (one hour) but it was refused despite the hotel was not full.

    The location is ideal !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    I can't say enough nice things about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The in-room safe in this hotel, like every other I've stayed in France, is too small to hold a laptop.

    Sometimes a hotel experience just "clicks," making the stay so pleasant you hate to leave. That happened to us at the Grand Hotel de l'Opera. The staff were the largest part. Anatole and his colleagues parked and retrieved our car--a huge favor to Americans who find miniscule French parking places daunting. Luggage was brought to our room up a flight of stairs. I left a white charger cord on the bed that got caught in sheets that were being changed. The housekeeper went out of her way to find and return it right away. The reception staff gave advice, sold us stamps, and provided extra coffee. Speaking of which: There are espresso machines and bottled water in the rooms, and when we were there, coffee and tea with croissants were provided in the lobby early in the morning and late afternoon (I don't know whether this is permanent or an accommodation because of ceiling repair in the lobby). The rooms and lobby are traditional and plush. The beds are comfortable, the amenities in the bathroom are generously replenished, and the climate control in our room worked well. The furniture is a wee bit worn, but we didn't care about that, or the fact that the lobby was partially closed to fix a ceiling leak. We were so grateful for the friendliness, comfort and convenience of the hotel (everything you want to see or eat is less than 15 minutes' walk away) that we felt entirely at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Location - great. Spa - joke. Wouldn’t recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their spa is a joke. It’s like these two cabins and you have to wait in a queue to get in the really small sauna and steam cabins. I wouldn’t recommend anyone to go here.

    Just the decor. And the location is nice. Everything else falls short of the expectation. Bed wasn’t very comfy either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    awful
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were woken by guys in overalls banging and carrying large chunks of plaster and bags of plaster.We even had to share the lift with dusty bags of plaster. Not whet I expect for a hotel of this standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Quaint historic hotel in a great location right in the middle of the city
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since this is a historic hotel, the layout is not always easy to navigate. Steps and staircases, a bit complicated. Also, the tapestry on the wall is very boudoir style but tends to be dusty.

    Great location right in the middle of the city. This is the 18th century house so it has some quaint charm but there are plenty of staircases to navigate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    All the staff were really very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get given a room number but all the rooms have names instead of numbers on the door. The interior of my room was getting somewhat "tired" and could have done with some minor repairs. That lack of attention to the small details mean to me that its not a top hotel, but still very pleasant to stay at. Another small niggle; the curtains were not black out curtains but light yellow and thin, so might be aesthetically pleasing , but if you don't want light coming in the morning its very annoying.

    All the staff were really very helpful and pleasant. It gets your day off to a good start when the staff at breakfast are smiling, friendly and helpful.Room was clean and tidy. Hotel is excellently located in the centre of the town , while remaining quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Very satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to climb into &I out of the bath for a shower is difficult and the waitress in the breakfast room was inattentive and not interested in her job

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. The central location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Very stale and disappointed by the lack of charm as I was looking for something romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very tired and it fails to convey the charm or splendor of the glorious opera days. It is for the elderly, as I could confirm by the type of clientele.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.9
    I love my trip to toulouse lived in moissac in 1943and after 46 to 49
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for mr and my adults children

    Breakfast was amazing nice service very pleasant we came back at theend of our trip for another nigth experience great hotel will recomanded

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is getting a bit too old now really needs updating but still enjoyable

    Did not have breakfast at the hotel as consider 19euros per person too expensive for a poor buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic heritage hotel: a treat to the senses
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very easily accessible, even in a big city like Toulouse. Alas, it's very expensive (but also necessary). So add some euros to your budget if you're driving.

    Love this hotel. On average, I stay here once a year and I look forward to the visit. The location is fantastic, and the sheer scale of this very traditional heritage building makes it worth staying in. I've had great rooms and, like this year, small ones and all are good. Treat yourself and spend a night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wuite noisy and rather warm in the room without it; calling fan better. Could not stand up straight in the shower.

    Suite had great balcony, very spacious room, very light and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Such a lovely retreat in the center of Toulouse!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't fault it at all.

    I love the room at this hotel -- each one is so unique! The staff is amazingly friendly and the in-room continental breakfast was amazing. I felt so well "taken-care-of" during this solo business trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Central in Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nowhere obvious for us to stop the car to unload our bags as the hotel's signs were not clearly visible to us as we drove up to it. It is only one lane and the traffic behind us forced us to continue into the underground public car park.

    Very central to the main square in Toulouse

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Ugly duckling room in very beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window didn't open and was not see-through so room felt a bit claustrophobic. Fabric-covered walls were a bit stained (they must be tricky to clean though!) and bathroom could do with some freshening up (grouting was blackened in the shower and sink didn't drain properly).

    Amazing location and felt rather lavish, with beautiful furniture, decorations and big winding staircase in the reception area. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Location Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were worn and outdated. Getting to hotel a nightmare for an American. Parking would have been awful had it not been for great valet.

    Valet parking, staff and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Interesting decor throughout hotel although perhaps getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were originally put into a very dark room up a winding staircase. We had to change this as the access was poor.

    Interesting decor throughout hotel although perhaps getting a little tired.Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    2.5
    Choose a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark as a cave. Upgrade to a decent room refused with arrogance by the staff: 'this is our building, we are not responsible of it'. Strong Bad smell in the lobby.

    Central but there many better hotels in the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great find in the heart of Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not keen on the coffee. There was a nespresso machine for espresso coffee in the room. But I personally did not like the style of coffee throughout France - they are not keen on cappuccino!

    Bed large and comfy, bedroom beautifully decorated and fitted. Croissants definately flakey, good buffet breakfast. Excellent location, friendly staff, beautifully restored old building, awesome decor, great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Toulouse short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only coffee was provided. No tea making facility was available. No pillow choice.

    The hotel is centrally located with easy access to restaurants and shopping. Within easy access to many of the historical sites within the old city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Location is everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although this hotel has the trappings of chintz and chandeliers it was more like a show piece than a welcoming hotel. But stuffy and certainly overpriced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, beautiful, decadent interior and super comfortable beds. Our deluxe twin room was really spacious (I was travelling with a friend), and I requested a quiet room (205) and it was very quiet. We were able to sleep easily with the air con on low (and I am a nightmare light sleeper). The location was brilliant, right in the centre of everything - but the hotel was an oasis of calm. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    WATCH OUT IN THE BATHROOM!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Our bathroom had a lethal, unexpected and virtually invisible little step down from the bedroom as a result of which one of us had a bad fall in the night onto the bathroom floor, and the bathroom was small so more bruising resulted. Just lucky that no bones were broken - it could very easily have been a different story... When I mentioned how dangerous this was to the reception staff next morning, and had anyone else mentioned this? the response was that many people complained about the same thing, and had also reported falling, but the management wouldn't do anything about it! (2) Inefficient reception staff. We asked them to order a taxi to take us to the station. It never arrived. Reception was busy and they were unable to cope. We asked again. Taxi never arrived. About 40 minutes later a "taxi" arrived (we were by that time anxiously waiting on the street), raced us to the station, and when I asked him the fare he said it was up to us! At which point we realized it probably wasn't a real taxi at all! But it was a miracle we got the train, so we were grateful and probably gave him more than a taxi would have cost.

    Best thing was location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.5
    Welcoming and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very red and dark. My wife stubbed her toe on the chair leg when attempting to open the curtains and broke her toe. Although we had a "Deluxe Privilege Double room" it didn't look onto the Capitol square. Breakfast croissants weren't warm and/or fluffy.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. Les Jardins...restaurant was excellent. The bedroom was large with beautiful high ceilings and a Belle Epoch feel. The location is good - close to Galarie Layfayette and many other shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Delightful historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed a lit bit of updating but I understand the history of the hotel and why they haven't. But if they replace the carpet and maybe modernized the draperies a bit? Also the windows in the shower room was weird since I was there with a friend not my husband, but we made do.

    The hotel is very Parisian in ways I couldn't have imagined. It isn't "updated" just a old France "use to be" high end hotel with old fashion amenities. For example: the elevator barely fit me and my girlfriend with our luggage! The beautiful spiral stairs creaked each step, it was simply charming! I enjoyed it even though I am a Four Seasons hotel traveler normally (jaded I suppose). Eating was easy with the restaurants all around and walking around Toulouse was a delight. We happened to be there the day everything was closed but still found things to do. The staff was very kind to us English speaking Americans. I'd stay here again if I came to Toulouse again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Quirky, musty, classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is expensive at 20€. However there are many cafes in the main square that serve the same things, in a better surrounding for 6€,

    Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are adequate size. Lovely old charm to the place. We really liked it. We stayed 3 nights. As we stayed an extra night we couldn't keep the same room. The first room was a lot bigger and was on the lower ground floor, so access was easy. The new room, on the 3rd floor, wasn't nearly as big or as well appointed. Also there was a little step into the room and into the bathroom. This meant a lot of tripping and stubbing of toes...... Overall The GHO had a charm of a bygone era and we loved it. The central location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location but not a very practical room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely tiny bathtub - so narrow that no adult could comfortably sit in it. The décor is a rather alarming scarlet reminiscent of bordello chic, and the room was an odd shape, so that there was hardly any room to walk round the bed because the window cut across the bottom of one corner.

    Great location and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    Grand Old Lady.....but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However couple of things let down the overall score. Only 2 pillows supplied and were lumpy and hard. The bathtub was great as a bathtub however not practical for use with a shower over as you couldn't stand flat on the surface which gives you an unbalance feeling. The shower head only raises to approx. 5 ft so not very practical for a 6'1" bather!

    This is a grand old hotel with character and charm. Staff were excellent and facilities were clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    I would not repeat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was totally crappy, dark, too small, and It is not acceptable There were stairs inside! It was very dangerous! I am a sleepwalker and I was afraid! Definitely, It doesn't woth for this expensive price.

    It is a gorgeous hotel in the middle of Toulouse. The reception, hall and the corridor was pretty nice. Very kind and helpful staff, my suitcase was broken and they take charge of it. Good breakfast but a bit expensive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    This Hotel offers a fabulous position for shops, restaurants and sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On several occasions we had to step over hoovers and trollies to get to our room. Cleaning staff should be aware of residents and keep a small path free, they clean well into the evening.

    We did upgrade the room to have a view of the square, was worth the extra.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    We were delighted at the hotel position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only coffee in room. We were a family of 3 in a good room but only provided with 2 of everything. Not introduced to layout of hotel.

    We were delighted at the hotel position. Staff were efficient and friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.7
    A classic french hotel in the centre of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be great if there was a little gym / fitness room next to the Spa.

    Great to stay in a hotel with a little more character than the usual sterile 'business' hotels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    2.9
    Very disappointing – waste of money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos looked great, but upon arrival our room was noticeably shabby and dirty. The bathroom was clean enough but the lack of a proper shower door meant that water went everywhere. This hotel is not deserving of it's four stars. We've stayed in three star hotels in European city centres that were much nicer. The only plus was the location, which is central; however, you can easily find a better hotel for a cheaper price in a similar location. We were very disappointed overall and would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay in center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub should have a full glass door or curtain since it was impossible not to get the entire bathroom wet when taking a shower. Despite being in the center, the hotel area has no taxi or bus or metro. I had to wander around for a very long time trying to catch a taxi to no avail. Be ware! I was told that it is like that all over Toulouse when there is a holiday.

    I like the courteous and helpful staff. The beds were extra-comfortable and the rooms were quite clean and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    5.8
    DON"T book with booking.com. You are asking for trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff at this hotel had no idea about the website booking and gave us bad information which meant we paid for an extra night with a surcharge more expensive than our original booking. The hotel wasn't bad. The staff was ditzy.

    Don't book with Booking.com! It is a total rip off. The staff did not understand the booking by this website and totally misinformed us on what was prepaid and what was not. It was completely unfair.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    If you choose room with large window, this hotel is great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had only extremely small windows and room was very dark We wanted to be asked our preference about upgrade option since the hotel seemed not to full and all rooms we saw in the hotel information had big windows and very bright We were willing pay more if the room was brighter with larger windows

    Location is great and staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.0
    Bad Service- Great Location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in staff and manager were not pleasant, and did not respond professionally to our requests for a decent room. The room was dark, and not well situated. But check in was delayed by the hotel check in staff for 60 minutes beyond the check in time. No real explanation. We can not recommend this hotel unfortunately.

    The baggage staff and cleaning crew were great. The location is the best if old town and shopping is your thing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Ooh La La! - Toulouse excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad design of shower screen which didn't extend far enough to prevent water leaking onto the floor.

    Liked the calmness of the hotel after being in the busy square. Fantastic location with all ths shops and bars closeby. Brasserie food was excellent and staff attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location with slightly faded old school charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite information that you only had to give advance warning on Sundays to use the steam room/sauna, it appeared to be necessary all the time (fine, but let people know before they turn up!). The spa facilities are quite small and not very well laid out.

    Unless you're a fan of ultra-modern minimalism, the decor is great fun and very cozy. The room felt spacious, and the staff were very friendly. And the location really couldn't be improved on - it's right at the centre of everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.3
    Felt let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finishings very shabby Access to rooms difficult a lot of stairs and not suitable for people with walking impairements Would not like to be in this property if there was a fire

    Beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had poor water pressure and the tub sink would not empty very quickly.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Luxury without a hefty price tag, welcoming and friendly staff and location plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was amazing!!! I had the best night sleep in a long time!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    One of my favorite hotels.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms - good food and service in the Brasserie.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old , the carpet , the walls with velvet , the elevator,,the bathroom , it needs Remodelacion and soap and water

    Ubication

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    The location suited our one night stay - a very well run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location suited our one night stay - a very well run city Hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator, too slow

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great location right on central square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on central square. Quiet room very spacious, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Excelllent staff at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with a touch up

    Excelllent staff at reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable,clean,well decorated ,friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable,clean,well decorated ,friendly and professional.Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Expected more to go with location. Seemed dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed old

    Bed ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,all good.

    Great position.Very comfortable bed and well appointed room!.Easy walk to catch the bus to the airport!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in the hotel. Only attached outside.

    I did not eat in the jotel as it quite expensive compared with the restaurants around

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: