Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Grand Hotel De La Poste - Lyon Sud - Vienne 2 stars

47 Cours Romestang, 38200 Vienne, France

#5 of 7 hotels in Vienne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The three lights on air con couldn't be switched off, so flickered through the night. Also the bathroom light died.

    Great location, very clean, spacious room, light and bright. Safe place for the bicycles. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect just a short walk to local bistro ans bars. Also the historical sites and river.

    Property owners very friendly and have friends and relatives in Australia which made us ffeel like home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, my husband and I missed our morning flight, we arrived later that evening to Vienne, by the time we arrived to the hotel my brother (arrived on time to the hotel) who picked us from airport, let us in to the hotel, we collected our keys from the wall, there was no receptionist. Following day we went to a wedding, return to the hotel around 2am. Shockingly, there was no one at the reception, no one was answering the phone. Because I didn't do the checking personally, I was not told that there is a entry code to the hotel, my brother left the written code at the hotel. Knocking on the hotel door, etc. didn't work. Luckily, we stayed in front of the hotel in our rented car till 7am. Annoying part was there was no bell to ring from outside the hotel and, the receptionist was sleeping in the hotel. He felt sorry for us, he explained that he was only responding inside buzzer.(he was a very helpful receptionist during the day though) So make sure you take your entry code with you.

    Hotel was very quiet, it was walking distance from all the historical places, surrounded by cafes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel decor is extremely dated. We stayed on a saturday night enroute to Sth France. The street parking outside is free and available at weekends. During the week though it would be a problem

    Location is central and convenient for walking around Vienne. Roman museum / ruins are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was outdated. Not many hotels these days have shower curtains it is usually a screen in a walk in shower. The room was dark.

    The location and parking facilities were good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has an air of the middle of the last century about it, but everything is still in good condition. The location in the center of Vienne is very nice and parking was surprisingly easy to find right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have an extra towel to dry hair.

    The hotel is in an excellent position. Near shops and good selection of restaurants. The room is basic but clean. Ideal for stop over one or two nights. You can park you car outside free I think after a certain time. Except for Saturday when it seems the town turns into a market. We parked in the underground car park 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night

    I down grade restaurants in France these days - overpriced and more fast food than gourmet cooking, although we did have a good meal in Le Cloisters. Hotel bang in the middle of town. Small rooms but we knew that in advance, for an overnight stop good but on street parking with max. of 2 hour stay in one place, Nice bar - Soul Food, unfortunately did not do food in the evening. Vienne is good for Roman history, maybe give the town museum a miss.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny, tiny shower. Needs doors rather than shower curtain. No coffee maker or kettle in room (not unusual for French hotels..but those that offer it are truly appreciated). Rooms facing street very noisy (did not bother me too much but should be noted).

    Simple comfortable accommodations. Clean. Decent-sized room. Good water pressure. Excellent location. English speaking owner a great help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy with the windows open for the rooms facing the street. But perfectly quiet when they were shut. Maybe just my experience but logging onto wi-fi every time I opened my computer was a bit of a chore and only could use one device at a time. Not a big deal most of the time but if on business a bit of an inconvenience. The tiny shower stall needs glass doors instead of a curtain.

    Great location. Safe, cheery. Near grocers, bakery, shops, restaurants. Three minute walk to rail station. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist could do with going to charm school, consistently told me there was a problem with authorising my credit card, when there was nothing wrong with both of my credit cards and it was the wrong process she was following. Eventually saying 'oh this happens a lot with other guests'!

    Location is very central

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were arrogant, lied about parking, got stroppy when I didn't have the credit card used to book but wanted to pay cash, asked for payment in advance and wouldn't tell me which room my family, (who went to the room whilst I was parking), were in for some time whilst she rudely kept saying I had to pay with the card and tutted for around 5 minutes. Another member of staff was very rude to other residents children

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well for us.

    The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Perfect location in Vienne, having now stayed here twice and we will certainly go back again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of sound insulation, bathroom poor, parking in public parking 100-200 meters away, nowhere to park in front of hotel when checking in. Basically hotel was okay, nothing more, but way over-priced for what you get. Won't be back.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included and is expensive.

    The city of Vienne is close to Lyon and the hotel is a great opportunity to stay in a calm place. Wonderful localization in town, confortable room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking near hotel, but there was a jazz festival on in town. Hotel a little dated, corridors and stairs etc.

    Breakfast buffet very good, room clean, well sound insulated

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of renovation, shabby but rooms were clean.

    Central location and room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and dingy. Bed not comfortable and walls very thin no soundproofing.

    Location central. Receptionist pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in need of a major upgrade

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    location,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room...shower curtain leaked all on floor

    Very central...good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Reasonanly good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor value for money

    Fair price, good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell of drains and the communal areas were uninviting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money, but a strange gloomy place.

    Bed was comfortable and feather pillows!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, this was the worst hotel room I have stayed in, if we had known in advance we would not have booked.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night time

    Warm and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking, could be awkward as it is a busy place.

    Central location, many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Basic but very clean and comfortable accommodation at a good price. Would stay there again definitely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night

    Immaculately clean hotel - spotless! Good value, great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini bar would be nice

    Very worn and out of date, but inexspencive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated but what we expected

    very clean , friendly staff, town centre location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, the room was small without charm. A bit expensive for the value. One can park in the street in front of the hotel, pay by 2 hours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioning was very effective

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find from the railway station - but it was Mayday, so no-one around to ask. Only 5 minutes walk.

    Helpful staff, very quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little touch up.

    Typical older French hotel with a good location near train station and not far from Roman sites!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a big garage were we could lock up our bikes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    weather

    PH3 brasserie and the sightseeing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La décoration

    L'ensemble

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, clean, typical 2* hotel. Location great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in centre of Vienne. Friendly and very helpful, multilingual staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is next to the station and to all the main points of interest. Cool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room one or two person
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful staff that spoke English

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small well sighted 2 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was wrong, no comfort, not a welcoming staff, bearly clean...

    The location is very central

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one flat pillow

    Staff extremely approachable n helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was poor, the whole key system for the rooms was bizarre and the bed was low to the ground and not comfortable.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better info re parking outside at weekends when the Saturday market is on!

    Location and helpfulness of the staff, who spoke Engllish

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like that it's like an American Bed and Breakfast. Built in 1750, not fancy, but the staff was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not wish to pay extra for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot near bakery and restaurants. At start of great cycling trail on the Rhone river

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little dated

    Staff were helpful. Good location. Room was quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second year I've stayed here and will happily come next year

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The showers are too narrow, impossible to bend (in a basic price room - 59€). The bed was not comfortable.

    Staff friendly & professional. Excellent location, good quality/price ratio.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small, would havé been tight for two I had to take à short flight of stairs to my room, so if you dont do stairs mention it while booking

    Perfectly situated for visiting vienne especially if you are travelling by train (hôtel has on site parking too) excellent and helpfull staff, one of thé most safety concious hotels ever!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The man at reception was not friendly in any shape or form. And the place has a very converted feel.

    The location is great and the hotel is good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great for an overnight or weekend stop, but room too small for longer-term stay.

    Convenient location within easy walking distance of attractions in town as well as big, secure parking lot at the train station.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff made us confirm our credit card number by phone under the rain in front of the hotel, saying they would charge us 33% more if we did it at the reception desk. Not a smile, keys had to be left unattended in the public lobby if we went out, and the manager made some transphobic "jokes".

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Couple

    small bed , cheap breakfast at 9 euros !!, lousy WiFi , complex building , extra charge for breakfast , extra charge for parking due to municipal market on saturday .

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Basic 2 star hotel. Didn't expect much. But there were two problems that even at this type of establishment should not occur. First, when we came in we all noted that the room was smelly. I think that was the high-piled carpeting. Second, in the morning there was a really awful and strong smell coming out of the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking from hotel, before the hotel you can only park limited for two hours between 09.00 and 19.00. You also have to pay but its not so expensive only after 2 hours you have to park it o another place

    Friendly people Location Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Lovely typical old French hotel in great location for restaurants and bars, shops and small supermarkets etc. very clean room and bathroom, comfy bed and perfect wifi in room. Great breakfast with nice choice. Very pleasant,helpful,English speaking staff. Couldn't fault it.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower is too tiny. It's annoying that the shower-curtain stick to my body as I shower.

    I've booked a room in Vienne because it was no room available in Lyon. What a pleasant suprise I've got! Vienne is a picturesque, charming little city, with friendly people everywhere. The hotel stuff were helpful and professionel.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice staff, comfortable room and great location.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    la situation en centre ville

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Hotel is very quickly you "home".

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Helpful management. Period fittings. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no bad experiences.

    The location close to the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Creaky floors.

    The friendly English owner/manager

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable and friendly hotel within five minutes walk of roman temple and theatre and river Rhone.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tv remote chained to wall !!!! staff not allowed to give out town center maps !!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor is a bit dated, could use a renovation.

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    as above

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everythin was old. Airconditioner was extreamly stink noisy and inerfficient.

    Location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: