Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel des Bains 3 stars

15 rue du General Bruncher, 17450 Fouras, France

#3 of 10 hotels in Fouras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lounge bar closed a 9 pm. Would have liked the opportunity to have a night cap.

    Nice location, close to facilities and nice restaurants.Staff were very helpful in recommending one for us and had a brilliant meal. Swimming pool and sauna with sunbeds in the central courtyard area was a bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't realise that the pool and spa facilities were only available for certain rooms (or at an extra cost). The bar closed at 9pm - (was that because we were staying at the resort at a very quiet time?). The rooms were modern and very clean but there is no air conditioning and it did get very stuffy during the night.

    Good self service breakfast. Pleasant staff. Very close to a lovely beach. A pretty resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel looks quite ordinary from the outside but inside its a beautiful chic and relaxing oasis. The staff are lovely and couldnt be more helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and fresh clean linen makes it a joy to sleep in the large bed. The outside garden is a welcome place to sit in the shade and have a cool drink or 2 and there are several local restaurants within easy walking distance serving supurb food. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with plenty of variety and the location of the hotel was wonderful standing opposite a beautiful fortress and just a few meters from a long sandy beach. There was a market on saturday morning which hosted a variety of stalls including many selling all kind of french gastronomic delights and the town itself has many shops selling souviners or local produce. We travelled 16 days through France and this was by far the best hotel we stayed at but certainly not the most expensive Highly reccomended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the price of the breakfast was quite high,i prefer it to be included in the price as the hotel was above average cost of similar hotels,it made the overall cost to stay there more than I would prefer to pay.

    The hotel was quite peaceful at night,no disturbances even with the window open as it was quite warm.The staff spoke quite good English so there was no problem communicating.The location was a short stroll to the sea front and the car park.I would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The indoor pool area was full with signs of what not to do, including not wearing shorts, so we didn’t use that. (As a 60+ overweight male I refuse to wear Speedos.) Their WIFI-solution was a bit troublesome, to say the least. Not the smoothest one.

    Small but well equipped breakfast area. Luckily you can eat in the nice courtyard where there are more tables. Despite the high cost, the garage was very appreciated due to lack of parking spaces outside the hotel. Both a coffe machine and a kettle in the room, but only two pods on arrival. (If you stay more than one night, you have to refill it yourself.) Nice to have a bar in the hotel, but it closes at nine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was way too hot, no fans really needed air-con. The steam room seat was very dangerous it was red hot near the steam exit point. One of our shutters was broken and would not close. (to shut out the heat and light) Can be noisy at night time due to street noise.

    Free parking nearby, The pool, calm courtyard area, relaxing bar area , clean room, close to shopping, beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel with a sunny courtyard where you can sit and relax. The indoor poor is excellent, gowns and towels provided. Excellent value for money and most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, not really an issue as visit during low season, but parking could be difficult in high season.However managed to park in street alongside hotel without too much difficulty. Hotel do have garage parking at a fairly high price if required.

    Comfortable accommodation with excellent location to both beach front and shopping area.excellent helpful staff throughout visit. Room good open view on second floor but a little small compared to our other previous accommodations during this trip. Stairs could be a problem for some, but luggage taken up and and returned from our room by a most helpful staff member.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard. The breakfast room was a bit small and people were asked to come back later as they didn't have enough seats.The steam pipe in the Hamam is not protected enough and is dangerous.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly.The location was wonderful and no car was needed as the beach and town center are so close. The swimming pool was excellent too and we loved that we were given bathrobes, towels and flip flops each to use it.Great hotel for everyone including families.The rooms were very clean and lovely decorated.We would love to come back soon.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard. Relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Proximity to beach and restaurants etc. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fouras is a village with buildings that have maximum 2 stories high, so no fancy hotels by the beach. The main advantage of this hotel is that it has a nice pool with sunbeds in the inner courtyard, so if the tide is too low you can easily use the pool, but not with the standard room. I suggest the privilege room to have the normal european confort, otherwise everything will be very small. In the back of the hotel is the main street with shops, pizzeria, boulangerie, and the most important, the MARCHE, where you will find wonderful things to eat like fresh seafood like nowhere else, cheese made by local farm, and other good things. The staff is very nice and the breakfast...well...french... At 100 m you have the perfect parking space which is free and also very good restaurants, from which I can recomend Ti Sable. It is a great location, very close to the beach and also very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel tucked away in a quiet part of France but what a gem! No bad stuff at all from this hotel staff couldn't do enough to help you. Will be back again for sure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking is a little pricey but we managed to park in a nearby street although this may be difficult in the peak summer months.

    This hotel is in a very convenient location. We were given a very warm welcome by friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent. we enjoyed our second stay in this hotel and will no doubt go back for a third visit!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and bedclothes were very comfortable, but the duvet was too warm for the time of year.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts with a splendid fruit salad and a wide range of fresh sweet and savoury offerings. Furnishing of bedroom and fittings in bathroom were unfussy, tasteful and of high quality.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, helpful staff, close to beach and town, lovely little swimming pool, covered parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was delightful and very helpful. Rooms was pleasant with a view of the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Great hotel, super staff. We were out of season, so rubbish weather but a lovely location, heated pool as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom.

    Great location with safe parking 2 minutes from the beach. Full breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna ungarded slipped on wet floor burned my back small did not repot ad wads going home on did not want the hassle ( I'm fine )

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive hotel , and the breakfast offered was very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was quite small relative to others we had enjoyed on this trip.

    Nice hotel just near to the beach. Friendly staff and clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €12 for a french breakfast was expensive, although in fairness it was all you can eat.

    The location. The courtyard garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the last room which was not a great room. We would revisit this hotel but not in that room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Privilege Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more storage space especially in bathroom. very nice room but little space to put toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    la fermeture du bar à 21 h

    l'atmosphere generale

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh bakery croissants and a timer for the boiled eggs!

    The staff, location and value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...seriously...

    Everything.....jj

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a bit firm.

    Very helpful staff. Extremely clean room. Breakfast plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very helpfull and friendly staff who took all our needs into consideration. Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage

    Clean friendly well located hotel. Nicely styled.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I can imagine in season that parking may be a problem, but we stayed at the hotel in April and parked directly opposite the entrance. We would have liked the bar to have been open a little later for a quiet drink before going to bed as it looked very inviting, but it seemed to close at 21hrs.

    We loved this hotel. Great facilities and staff who were very helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were lovely. The Spa was an added bonus for us, which was very nicely presented. We felt the hotel was very reasonable given the comfort, facilities and location. We would definitely go again.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small for the price.

    The young man at the desk was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owners could not do enough for all of their guests. Very comfortable room and wonderful communal terrace where the owners did not mind if we ate our own picnics and supplied us with excellent service from the bar. Lovely indoor pool and sauna. Fabulous breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location and nice sized room overlooking the courtyard. Paid parking is available on site, but we parked in the free public parking which is just a couple of minutes away. Breakfast was available but we chose to have something in a cafe on the pretty street close to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.But would be nice to have fan or air conditioning on hot nights but not really a problem.

    Lovely room and bathroom looked brand new! Pretty Courtyard very relaxing with inside pool sauna and hammam for guests use.Nice to have a bar. Lovely french breakfast. Staff helpful and location perfect to visit this seaside town with character.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con.it was very warm at night the hotel did provide a portable fan ,but it does need air con .

    The spar was lovely,however the hotel does not allow men to wear swimming shorts ,only trunks ,my husband was called out of the pool ,which was embarrassing .

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived with on bicycle and the staff was very friendly with us and showed us the secure garage where we could leave our bikes. All our needs were met comfortably. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is in a great location and has recently been tastefully refurbished and now also has a lovely indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room, there is also an on-site spa. This friendly family run hotel is excellent. Garage facilities provide off street parking.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds where quite hard, but that's the only thing we didn't like!

    staff was very friendly, very flexible with (young) children. Hotel was clean, great facilities and lovely breakfast. Garage was a bonus, even though you have to pay for that but not a problem for us. Location near the sea is perfect! Loved the pool and spa!!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Near the beach and shops. The pool and hammam. The breakfast. The helpful staff. The stylish decoration.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom very small, sliding door does not fit properly so not very private

    Good location, helpful staff,

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meal😢

    Swimming facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff, relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming, helpful and charming staff. Attractive decor. Location near beach and seafood restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult stairs up to brdroom for old people

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service at the bar. Couldn't use the spa (no speedos!) - no previous notice of this requirement

    Location & ambience

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were very helpful and very friendly! The location was fantastic for the shops, bars and beaches.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly hosts, spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chic, cosy and comfortable smaller well appointed clean hotel with good sized rooms, great staff and garaging for vehicle in pretty seaside town

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel with lovely calm courtyard to relax and enjoy a drink. Close to centre of resort.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    being central friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is so clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con in very hot weather!

    Helpful and very friendly staff Courtyard setting Variety of choice at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Half full cups of cappuccino at 3.20 a go .

    Ideal situation .

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No laundry available.

    Character rooms, nice sunny courtyard, friendly staff. Private secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Nesters so machine in room.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly Staff, Location, Breakfast, Everything

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Grand Hotel des Bains traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: