Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Des Gobelins 3 stars

57, Bd Saint Marcel, 13th arr., 75013 Paris, France

#842 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1363 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Room cleaned daily and towels replaced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in believing I had paid the city tax as it was included on Booking.com. However, I was asked for this tax at check out when the receptionist explained that they had taken the room payment already but not the city tax. Bit suspicious even after I presented paperwork to say I had already paid it, he made me pay it again!

    Room cleaned daily and towels replaced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were very comfortable but small; bathrooms are nice; showers or tubs depending on the room. Rooms had fans which were needed during our trip! Convenient check-in and hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Metro stop was less than five minute walk and the Latin Quarter was less than ten. Many nice restaurants close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast could be until 11 at least, if you are traveling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets are a little bit unconfortable specially the room for 3 pax.

    Breakfast could be until 11 at least, if you are traveling for tourism yo don´t wake up so early for a breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    About 3-5 minutes from metro station on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had reserved 2 rooms for 3 persons each for 2 nights. When we arrived they informed us that due to heavy rain one of the two rooms was unsuitable for living and they suggested that we could take for the first night one room for 2 persons and one old non refurbished mini suite (why did they change both of the rooms ? it is supposed that only one room had a problem ...). In order to make us feel better they gave us 2 small bottles of champagne... We did not accept this silly story, we insisted and finally they admitted that there was an overbooking due to their fault. After a few talks they offered us 2 rooms for 2 persons plus the mini old suite for the first night and 20% discount, which we accepted. However during check out another member of the staff asked for more money than the amount we had agreed and accepted 2 days before. When I said that his colleague gave us another final price during check in, he asked me if it’s written !!! When I asked him to call his colleague he refused ...

    About 3-5 minutes from metro station on foot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Value for money for a group of 7
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet for the Room for 4 a bit tight in space.

    Location is good. Close to cafes, bars, bus and metro. Room for 3 is spacious with bathtub! Have a view of the Eiffel tower from the window. Very friendly staff esp. John at the reception who has been very helpful to us. Free bottles of water and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location and friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small for three people.

    The location was great with restaurants and shopping close by. Also, the metro was not far. Lots of attractions within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    A home from home, to which I would return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    a bit noisy during the day due to construction on street below my window. but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. some decor was dated, but they were actively replacing it.

    exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. attentive but casual. very convenient location. comfortable room with all i needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stay with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should have told us beforehand about their renovation works, especially as the noise started at 8.00 am and you are on holidays.

    Hôtel was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Very new bedroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and hallways being renovated so it could be a bit noisy if you want to sleep until later Could be a very small room

    Very new bedroom 5min walks from 7 and 5 metro lines Several restaurants and Carrefour nearby Great street lighting at night You won’t regret staying here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    It is a nice property and the rooms are large for Paris...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a nice property and the rooms are large for Paris standard. The metro station is 5 min walk away. There is a convenience store 2 min away and good pastry shops around. The natural history museum is also 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room was quite crowded at peak time.

    Excellent location and very nice hotel - my room was recently renovated and well designed with electrical outlets at key places and small working table. Good sized bathroom with tub and shower and window that opened! Wonderful view from bedroom over St Marcel to Tour Eiffel and Panthéon. J'y retournerai sans hésitation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable location with friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy according to age of the building.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, old Parisian house, room renovated, large bathroom with separat toilette. 3 minutes to Metro Station Les Gobelins

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay in a great area of Paris.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was a little cramped at peak time.

    Room was large by Parisian standards and very comfortable. Closet for hanging clothes and storage for folded items. Sizeable bathroom with windows that opened. Bedroom had windows opening on St Marcel with views of Eiffel Tower and Pantheon in the distance. I was on 6th floor so very little noise. very good breakfast choices as well for reasonable extra cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff were really friendly and warm-hearted, while the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was super slow most of the time in my room.

    The staff were really friendly and warm-hearted, while the location is also very nice, accessible by metro and bus. It was NOT noisy at night (could sleep peacefully) with this location in the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, nice, I recommend the Moroccan restaurant Le Sirocco which is just down the road. Book ahead
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were doing maintenence work but I guess that was just unlucky timing so workers were milling about - also I didn't feel that safe leaving luggage in the unlocked bag room - some sort of security for it would make guests feel much more at ease I reckon. But I'm just nitpicking now.

    Nice comfy bed, good size room, good wifi, friendly staff, good location, perfectly adequate for a night's stay as a stopover before our flight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and in a good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom was a bit too small and also the room seemed to lack a smoke detector. Unfortunately some rude guests on our floor were smoking and the smoke crept into our room at night.

    Comfortable and close to transport and all amenities. Friendly staff , good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff and clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated, the hotel are undergoing renovations and our room was yet to be done. Lovely bathroom, however.

    Lovely staff and clean, comfortable room. We loved the location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good location close to the Metro and bus station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room equipment a bit used, very poor noise insualation from the outside as well as from other rooms and corridor.

    Very good location close to the Metro and bus station. Very good breakfast. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    If you feel yourself lucky.. Good hotel with some issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room at the highest floor that is normally have a potential to be a good one, but unfortunately for us the room was very noisy and it was impossible to sleep — not only the noise of the passing street was disturbing (we were ready for it considering the location) but the heating pipes did accurate the unbearable noise that we couldn't stand and we were forced to leave the hotel earlier that we planned, in the middle of the night. It was better to crab an extra cup of coffee before the flight that to suffer another minute in insomnia because of that noise. We told about this issue at the reception but the stuff didn't had a sympathised look. Anyway, I hope they'll do something with that and fix the problem.

    The room was comfortable and quite spacious for this price, there is a good view from the window too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Firstly they gave us a room so small that it was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly they gave us a room so small that it was really impossible for a man to fit! In fact it was so small that there was no space even to leave my small suitcase!! Impossible to walk inside, impossible to move!! ( without any exaggeration, the size of the room did not exceed 6 square meters!) There was only one double bed and no room left to walk normally! Εven for 1 person it is almost impossible to stay there. There is no place to walk (!) there is no place to leave even a small suitcase!! When we complained that we paid for a double room (special offer for that night 80 euro) and this was not enough even for a single person they gave us a normal room for two people but they asked us to pay more 20 euro ... So we paid 100 euro and i am sure that there are much better hotels for this price. So, the second room was a normal one, but the ceiling was so old (destroyed in various places) that it will soon start to drop in pieces on customers heads if they do not renovate it the soonest as possible!!! Also the corridors are extremelely small... in short: the photos that are posted in booking com do not correspond to reality and definitely the hotel needs be renovated the soonest. Also we believe that is actually unacceptable to rent and charge for a double room a room that is not even 6 square meters!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great value in central Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    Very clean, very comfortable, perfect location for us, friendly and helpful staff, great value for central Paris. We didn't have breakfast but dining room looked nice. Stairs or lift. Rooms are typically smallish but perfectly adequate and with modern decor. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    the building is old and the floor squeaks, it's not big...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building is old and the floor squeaks, it's not big deal. However, at first night, around midnight, we got wake up several times by the squeaky sound from the hallway outside our door. Seems someone kept walking on the hallway, passing by our door again and again, started from midnight, till 1am, even 3am! that's creepy, we were afraid that some freak try to eavesdrop or peep through the door. my husband cannot sleep since he heard those noise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for a southern Paris stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is average. I only went one day

    Very clean; perfect location for my professional projects, very nice area with restaurants; tea in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.4
    Bolow par
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very shabby and basic. The walls are paper thin and it felt as though I was involved in the conversation etc of the next room .

    Staff were very pleasant. The hotel is in a nice suburb of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    The room was a good size for Paris and very clean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a good size for Paris and very clean and the bed comfortable. The location is good - right around the corner from a metro stop and just south of Rue Mouffetard, a street wuth lots of gtrat food shops and little cafes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay in the ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t control the radiator meaning it was permanently on, the only way to control the temperature was opening and closing windows.

    Very comfy and the staff extra welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Paris is great for touring, but get larger accommodations before hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small. No place to hang or put things. Had to live out of our suitcases. Morning buffet was the same every day. No hot eggs or oatmeal.

    Desk clerks were very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Cute, cosy and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was however noisy during the night, the room was not well isolated.

    The room was nice and cozy. Standard for Paris. Very clean and the bathroom was pretty spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.5
    The room was comfortable with adequate clothes hanging space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bistro/bar on the ground floor below our bedroom was noisy on the Saturday night until after 1am.

    The room was comfortable with adequate clothes hanging space for a long weekend. The tall windows gave a good view of the street outside. The choice of food on the breakfast buffet was good. The receptionist gave good recommendations for local places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Good basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the room and too noisy with the window open. Lift really slow!!

    Basic but clean and helpful staff on reception. Good breakfast. No bar, but one next door did the job nicely!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Excellent and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not take breakfast as I was meeting neighbors from when I lived in Paris. The rooms are quite small but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is good with very strong and hot water pressure. Very friendly Hotel in a nice area of Paris. The photos are taken in the Market in rue Mouffetard 10 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Cannot recommend to stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff, especially the night staff were impossible! They were extremely impolite and upset me very much. I really do not see any need to deposit the key card (!) when exiting the hotel at all times. Even though it is just a walk to the nearby supermarket. Especially when they started shouting at me, I got very upset and found it impossible behaviour by somebody working in a hotel. I even filed for a complaint with booking.com.

    The beds were not bad. There is a supermarket just around the corner, which is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    5 day and nights of joy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At least 300 m to walk to bus or Metro. Ok for me but could be a prob for others.

    Nice helping staff. Good location near Quarter Latin and Rue Mouffards restaurants. Very very nice delimarket just nextdoors which higly recommend! Nice to view Eifeltower from my room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Staying here with family in August. Very comfortable hotel, we liked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was quite small, but it's typical for Paris

    Excellent location close to metro station, good breakfast, very friendly staff. We traveled with child and had no problem during our staying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Location, close to metro stations and within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room is small, though it is ok for me as I travel alone. You open the door and there is the bed, about 2 feet away. Not enough space to completely open my medium-sized suitcase. Both the room and bathroom is nothing like what's shown on the pictures.

    Location, close to metro stations and within walking distance to some attractions. Very convenient, supermarkets and restaurants near by. Not touristy at all, feel like a local area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Staff was super friendly and helpful, they offered to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly and helpful, they offered to help with my flight's online check in and printed the boarding passes as well. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Reception staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think the chambermaid may have lost her hoover!

    Reception staff were fantastic Lots of restaurants nearby Less than 5 minutes walk to metro station Good sized bathroom with shower and bath Bed wonerfully comfortable Supermarket a few doors away. Boulangerie/patisserie across the road. Fantastic base to see Paris

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Friendly staff and good room amenities with all you need to rest after visiting the city during the day. Room size is fair enough for Paris where everything is very tiny. Uber/VTC from Gare de Lyon train station is less than 10 minutes and 15€. Uber from the hotel to Roissy Charles de Gaulle airport is 50€. Globally, very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed a short break in Paris with lots of walking through the Latin Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small and not much space in it to get around.

    The location on Boulevard St. Marcel is excellent, very close to restaurants and easy walking distance to railroad and metro stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it, charged extra abd wouldn't refund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper ventilation or AC, windows facing a noisy street, and another building on the other side. No proper curtains that would let any air through. Shower had no curtain or barrier that would keep the water inside. The narrow hallway next to the room was used as a towel/sheets storage with piles of them blocking the way. If all of that wasn't enough, I was charged city taxes abdd extra charges for 2 people instead of 1. When asking for the money back the hotel representative claimed they cannot refund my credit card since it is a "debit card" (not true). I still haven't received this money back and not counting on it anymore.

    Staff was friendly, location is close to a metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for visiting Paris on restricted budget
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in nice surroundings, easy to access by public transport. Metro Les Gobelins is some 300 m from the hotel. There are plenty of cafeteria and restaurants near to the hotel. The check-in process was quite fast, the room was ready earlier as expected. The receptionist was friendly. If you are fit to walk, the Latin Quarter is really one of parts of Paris worth to explore.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    3.8
    I would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very very small, especially NO A/C in both of our rooms. It was very hot. Had I known about this, I would not have booked it. Most of my family couldn't sleep at night. I myself couldn't sleep until 4am. There's one fan in the room, but it's out of order, too. I told the receptionist but he seemed not understanding English, so I didn't bother him anymore. It was very uncomfortable. That's why the next day when we visited our cousins, our children did not want to come back to the hotel as they were scared of both the noises throughout the night (since we had to open the windows for circulated air), and especially NO air conditioning inside.

    Location is fairly ok, but very noisy both day and night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    I would not recommend staying here if you are looking for a 3-person room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was extremely small, and without airconditioning. There was quite a bit of noise from the (side) street, as people gathered there to chat throughout the night. Had to sleep with windows open because of the heat and because of no airconditioning. The 3-person room we were offered was not adequately sized for 3 people. There was no room to walk. There was no mini-bar. I am surprised that this is rated at 3 stars considering no air-con, and no mini-bar, and the small size of the room.

    Bathroom was a nice size. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable bed and super shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very comfortable stay. Our room was a bit on the small side (but I noticed there are bigger ones) but the bed was super comfortable and the shower was very good. Would recommend. Transport links are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Paris for our 25th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning in one of our rooms. Would also like a small fridge.

    Ideal location, only 5 minutes walk from the metro. Rooms were very clean. However some are not air conditioned which was a little uncomfortable in temperatures reaching 33 degrees! Lovely bar next door where we had breakfast most mornings as the buffet in the hotel was a little busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms are comfortable, if a little bit cramped (but this is Paris after all, in an old building on Boulevard St Marcel). The area is nice, not as hectic as the more central locations, yet within easy reach of all the tourist attractions on the Metro (les Gobelins station is within a few minutes walk). Le Jardin des Plantes is within walking distance. By Paris standards, the hotel represented good value for money at the time of booking. If you are travelling by car, I strongly recommend pre-booking the very reasonable Garage de l'Essai, a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    Never come back. Grand Hotel was not grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning other than on 6th floor. We had a triple room and had to use a fan. Totally uncomfortable for the 3 of us. Should never have been rated 3 stars.

    Front desk staff helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Reasonable, but not great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was facing a busy street which was very noisy. Since there is no AC in the hotel it was impossible to close the windows or the heavy dark curtains which let no air through, so the room was completely exposed to the neighbors across the street. The ceiling in the room was peeling, no proper curtain or schirm in the bathroom-the water was spilling out. During the day the narrow corridor became a storage for piles of sheets and towels. Overall, I'm nor picky with my hotels if the price is right, however in this case the value for money was just inappropriate.

    The breakfast was okay, and the hotel is located close to a Metro station which is a huge plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Perfect one stop place to stay and relax while touring Paris!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having breakfast at the hotel was very convenient, but a bit monotonous having exactly the same things to eat for 6 days...

    My husband and I, along with my Sister, stayed for a week and it was the best place to have for our visit to Paris! The staff were on duty 24 hours, they all very helpful and spoke english, which was a plus for us non-French visitors! The Metro and bus stops are just around the corner, we used the Metro many times to get to all the monuments! Be sure to dine at Le Refuge du Passé!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for money with all the basics you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fan in room wasnt too strong. Due to the size of the rooms, there isnt much room for a mini refrigerator and that would have been great in the height of summer.

    Great location. Next to a supermarket, cafes and restaurants nearby. Metro closeby also. Location was quiet and not so busy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel at left-bank surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast-room could be a little larger. Air-conditioning in rooms would be great.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, everything ok. Nice surroundings with many restaurants. Good connections with two metrolines.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    no hotel parking, despite the criteria on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel advertises a parking, which is not so common in Paris and which is the reason why we booked it. It turned out that the 'parking' is a just a public parking a couple of blocks away, which is not related to the hotel in any way (no reserved space, and you have to pay for it). I would definitely not call it a hotel parking, this was misleading.

    This hotel is clean and fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Bright ,airy, comfortable hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps up to the lift.

    Bed was huge and so comfortable. Big windows in the room giving lots of light and fresh air. Bathroom was modern and spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, bad receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After our trip in the city, we came back to the hotel 1:30 hour before our train from Gare de Lyon. Since the hotel is very close to the gare İ thought that the time was more than enough to catch a taxi and go to the gare. İ asked to the receptionist to call a big taxi, kind of a van for us because we were five. He was cold and a bit rude from the beginning. He said take a bus, it's better. İ said we have so heavy luggages its not possible. Then he called the taxi but 40 minutes passed the taxi didnt come. The receptionist said 'Taxi took another customer on its way. There's another one coming.' İ knew it wasnt his fault but İ saw no empathy in him saying 'İ told you, take a bus' Then we wait longer, there was again no taxi. We had half an hour to our train and İ said to him 'Sorry but you should have better connections with taxis or another means of transport. İ am calling uber now' He rudely answered saying 'İ told you, this is Paris. You should accept it' Fortunately uber driver succeded to drive us to the gare on time. The other receptionists were kind and smiling but that one with moustache was rude and cold for his customers.

    Easy to access location, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Great experience! Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It is a 3-star hotel, but it was more than comfortable and in a great location for tourists!

    Staff at the front desk were friendly, helpful and very accommodating! They helped us to plan our daily itinerary and gave us tips on what to see, which restaurants to go to, organized a taxi shuttle to the airport for us, and gave us other secret tips that only locals know ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Beds were bit hard.

    Gobelins is a great part of Paris. Felt very at home. Had a great time. Lots of help from the staff. House keeping was very efficient. Metro was a block away and were able to get everywhere in Paris without a problem.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Great place for few days in Paris
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and small cabinet. Felt crowded for two people

    Good service, nice staff, very clean, very close to restaurants, very close to Metro, everything withinless than 5 min walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    It was a pleasure to stay here, excellent location with nearby restaurants/bars/shops/amenities, friendly / helpful staff, clean / spacious rooms. Continental Breakfast served was also very good, with fresh pastries and real fruit juices. Would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    Could be a bit noisy since it's on a busy street but it wasn't particularly bothersome.

    Very clean. Comfortable bed. Convenient to public transportation. Lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Friendly little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that boking .com listed the hotel as having a garage, which they do not.

    Very friendly staff. No garage, although indicated in booking.com. Nice hotel. Clean. Friendly, uncomplicated. Short walk to rue Mouffetard on market days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Best location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less items in breakfast(May be we are use to of English breakfast)

    We really liked all the staff members, location of the hotel, parking facilities around and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi does not allow you to do ssh connections and the desk for work is very small and not much comfortable.

    Good location, nice staff, spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Overall a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and i would wake up in the middle of the night so hot. The staff were lovely but the comunication between them wasnt the best. I had to keep telling them the same thing. They didnt take note of what i said so the next ataff member on didnt know. The breakfast room was very small. It would be nice to have a real cup and not a paper one for tea. Decor is a bit outdated but the bathroom wasnt and it didnt really affect my stay.

    The staff were lovely and helpful. The rooms were clean and cosy. The shower was so strong. The breakfast was very cheap. The bed was comfy. The tv was good. The location is fantastic for restaurants and transport. The 24hour staff made me feel very safe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    - Location: close to landmarks, close to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Elevator is slow and the narrow steep staircase (usual in Paris) is not an attractive alternative to the 6th Floor. - Breakfast: No omelettes or fried eggs, just boiled (however this is compensated by cheese, baguettes, croissants at least for us)

    - Location: close to landmarks, close to public transport/metro, relatively safe neighborhood, nice bars and restaurants - Breakfast (costed 9€ extra/person/night): worth the price if you like french cheese, crispy baguettes and croissants. - Nice, unique rooms (ours on the top floor even had a view on the Eiffel tower and the Pantheon) - Value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    I particularly liked the soothing classical music that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buttery croissants at breakfast?

    I particularly liked the soothing classical music that was in the background at breakfast and in the lobby. It was very relaxing and enjoyable - so different from the deafeningly loud pop music that is played so much in public spaces these days - and meant an uplifting start to every day - thank you. The location of the hotel is also terrific - it's in a less touristy/ more authentic part of Paris.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    The only good thing about this hotel was the location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corridor carpets were very dirty, the room very small. No breakfast included in price. Had just come from Venice, and the hotel there (Hotel Gardena) was 100% perfect, at the same price.

    The only good thing about this hotel was the location and its helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, but clean, very light with two large windows and warm.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good location - easy to walk into more central areas.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Lovely staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in bathroom and room was very small could hear the people next door and above very clearly

    Location was great staff were very helpful view was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.4
    We were near the museums we wanted to visit and across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com had emailed me to say hotel had confirmed early check in as I had a 28 hour trip from Australia with my two sons. The staff member was very dismissive and sharp about this not being the case. We left our bags and checked in late in the afternoon. The room was very small for 3 single beds. The wifi was a real problem to connect with initially however the staff were very helpful with this.

    We were near the museums we wanted to visit and across the road from a bakery.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    Would try and find a better value hotel in the same area next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not clear how expensive the hotel would be for four nights. Did not really get a bargain using Booking.com and on top of that you have to pay a City Tax on leaving!

    Good location for visiting the Left Bank cultural quarters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Good value, very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a special price of 9 Euros and was excellent value. Also we were upgraded to a larger room as the hotel was not full. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.5
    the good and the less
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sorry that a bottle (flacon) of medicine was missing when I left (Passiflora for sleep) important for me in travelling!

    the bed excellent, cleaning super good very important aspect of this hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel and would certainly come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were delighted with this hotel. Good location, value for money and extremely friendly staff. Our bedroom was spotless and spacious, and the generous sized bathroom housed a huge bath. Although the hotel is situated on a busy road the room was well soundproofed and very peaceful. And the breakfast was pretty good too!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    Awesome for a 3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small cramped WC with flaking walls and door that wouldn't close. Should have connected it with the shower which was absolutely awesome in total contrast.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Great wifi. Clean, adequate, well-heated room. Decent optional breakfast at more affordable price than anywhere else in the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Quite an experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well, perhaps the colour and design of the carpets on the floor of the corridor.

    Probably the location and the gentleman who works there called Jean-Marc

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hôtel Des Gobelins traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: