Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Du Golfe 3 stars

Route De Collioure, 66700 Argelès-sur-Mer, France

#10 of 28 hotels in Argelès-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small, even for an economy option. Alternative to upgrade into a larger room was not offered, even on the second night when over 50% of the rooms were clearly vacant.

    Location was great. Breakfast service was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was very small with insufficient furniture. The restaurant was generally very good but the duck on the dinner menu was seriously undercooked and tough.

    A stylish hotel with goood views and excellent, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Observation NOT Dislike -You can get to the beach opposite through a tunnel under the rail line (note that occasional trains were not a bother to us) but generally, if you did not like that beach or wanted a variety of facilities you had to drive. OK if you are minded to walk a distance but not if you are not a great walker or wanted to ditch the car for a week.

    We had a great room with a view of the sea. The garden planting is well thought out. The pool is a good size with plenty of seating and space. Nice bar and seating areas with sea views. Good if you just want to stay at the hotel and do little else and recharge batteries. Well placed for touring around by car and seeing the sights - the mountains are stunning and villages / marinas interesting with plenty of places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ATTENTION: we have decided not to take the economy room, but rather a room with sea view. It was clearly mentioned in the title and description of the room "sea view" (not "located towards sea" or similar) and we paid additionally for that. Upon arrival, we have been given a room on the first floor. Without sea view... The lady at the reception said she is only receptionist and not manager and thus cannot do anything, but if I look carefully, I would be able to see the sea in between the trees. And they were fully booked. Not helpful and surely misleading description. Rooms quite small and not made for a longer stay. I more and more get the impression in general that reservations via Booking.com are handled with lower priority.

    OK for a 3* hotel, but not more. I appreciated the heated pool, even though we needed to ask the reception to uncover it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to cancel the second night because of road traffic noise. Even with closed doors and while watching TV it was very noisy. The lady at the reception told me it wasnt possible because I booked it with Booking.com. The breakfast was okay, but there were no croissants left at 10 am etc. ..

    The room were clean, even though the soap and mini bar were not refilled.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except if staying for a period of time it seems a little far away from other establishments But we were delighted with our stay

    Beautiful setting in lovely grounds overlooking the sea with balcony Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly We were upgraded to a beautiful room without request from us Exceptional breakfast - best on our trip so far

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't realise it was SO close to such a busy road. This was a great shame as it totally changed the ambience of the whole place. Also meant you couldn't open the window at night because of the noise.

    Fantastic food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful and too small. If as it is likely we stay there again I will take my own pillow otherwise nothing to complain about

    Very pleasant hotel for one night stopover on the way to Barcelona. The restaurant was Extremely good and the local wine a delightful surprise. Will stay there again on any repeat journey by car to Barcelona from other places in France

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was between two resorts not close enough to walk to either. Hotel has a bistro, but menu was extremely limited. Male bar staff very unhelpful . Would not return.

    Room were clean and reasonable standard . Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived pretty late, around 12:30pm and the reception is open only until 10pm or something like that. We entered the gate with some guests who arrived the same time as we, and we were lucky because you need a code to enter. The staff let us our room cards outside and made the check-in in advance for us. That was wonderful and we'll give extra credit for the hotel. The hotel restaurant is pretty good, the location is excellent. Near hotel you have a rocky beach and a bit further a sandy beach which was really beautiful. The view from our room was lovely. Alltoghether we had a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at hotel and did not get a good initial impression. Not close (walking) to food places although advertising indicated that. Restaurant full so no dinner but said room service available. Ordered a sandwich and basically it was just that, a roll wrapped in paper like buying from a shop. Considering hotel cost/rating not what you expect. Finally asked for ice and didn't realise ice is scarce in Argeles. They gave us about 1/2 dozen cubes and when we asked for a little more, it was given under sufferance. I would think they would be just a little more understanding to their guests who had travelled a long way. Understand dining room full but more could be done to make you feel welcome. Would not stay there again.

    Nice room and view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and hot as no air conditioning. Our room was low down so we had no view...a bit jealous othose that did!

    Good location and smart/ Lovely grounds and pool...all well kept

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a wet room, which was - wet! Not ideal. Minor grumble - the hairdryer was very weak/cold, so not much use to me and my wild hair! Otherwise, a positive experience.

    Ideal for a 1 or 2 night stay. Clean. Polite staff. We had a budget room on the ground floor, which was very clean, and fine for 2 nights. No balcony. View over the car park. Sea in the distance. I really liked the pool area, which was lovely and quiet when we were there. There's a small path along the cliffs/sea, so you can walk down to the nearest restaurants and bars and the main beach in about 10 minutes. We parked our car in front of our room, so we could keep an eye on it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No meals offered by the hotel restaurant on Monday or Tuesday evenings. The room was very small and the balcony overlooks a busy road and train line... right in front of the hotel :-( ... to the beautiful view :-) The buffet breakfast layout was disorganised and cramped - people were constantly in each others way.

    Nice view and pleasant gardens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Located 2 km outside Collioure. There is no bus connection. Should at least provide guests with a map how to walk there. And see to it that there are adequate signs along the path(s). Even better would be a shuttle (mini)bus at regular hours, which could be organised together with other hotels in the area. 2. The restaurant was closed for two days. Not communicated in advance despite email contact.

    Good hotel. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel looks brand new. It's quite easy to find and the parking is free. We had a very nice room overlooking the sea. I think they are also well isolated as the noise from the street in front was not disturbing even if we had a room at the bottom floor. We found the location nice, at a few minutes driving distance from Collioure and beaches.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There did not appear to be enough staff around and the service was slow.

    The Location of the Hotel was excellent and the food fantastic. The Bedrooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful sea view. There is a hotel restaurant but being on a budget we decided to eat on the balcony every night. The bed was really comfortable, infact I'm having trouble re adapting to my own bed. Collioure is only a short walk away, and the beaches are easily accessable by foot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took about 30 mins to walk into Collioure. You are restricted with options for eating. Eat here or drive for at least 5 mins

    Because we were going to see other sites it was handy. Parking was on site. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant on the property is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    taste in style

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant modern clean hotel; well located if you have a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on Sunday

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower facilities, room size, uncomfortable bed

    Location, garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame about the railway line in front of the hotel!

    Easy reach of dog walks. Comfortable room, sea view. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the breakfast

    Up grading the sheets and rooms would be even better

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great 70s style!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Excellent facilities all round.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was perfect - nice size. We ate dinner from the bar on the outside terrace and also enjoyed our breakfast. Everything was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The manager was rather grumpy. The rest of the staff were very good.

    Very good for a 3 star hotel. Very comfortable, and near a great beach and walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Lovely clean hotel . Friendly staff . Great breakfast .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper shower over bath in all rooms. just tap hand spray and only quarter size bath. Very small not good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too close to busy main road and railway so a little noisy

    nice modern hotel, comfortable bed, brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and modern hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower in, not even over, bath Dinner disappointing, particularly the vegetarian option

    Bed very comfortable Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We have been told on the phone that the heated pool temperature was 28 degrees (october). In reality the temperature was about 20 degrees ! At check-in we have been told that our children (9 & 11 yo) don't pay for the breakfast. At check-out we had to pay 8 euros for each children breakfast !

    Comfortable Room Clean (even though we found a cigarette pack in the bin) Wifi ok Breakfast ok Parking in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road in front of the hotel can be heard during the day but everything is pretty quiet during the night and early morning.

    Great location in walking distance to the small cove beaches. Short drive or a lovely 20 minutes walk into town with some great restaurants and sand beach. Great rooms with sea view. Lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head holder was broken making taking a shower & washing your hair very difficult.

    Beautiful setting. Description as advertised. Helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small. Toilet was separate from bathroom. Some traffic noise from main road.

    Very good dinner and breakfasts. Relaxing pool area, in spite of some noise from road. Breakfast on sunny terrace was lovely. Good location for driving to Collioure and Argelès plage.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a dinner reservation in the restaurant for 7:30pm and the when we entered the empty restaurant at 7:35 to eat they told us the kitchen wasn't ready. Yet the staff and owner were sitting at a table with a wine vendor tasting wine. When I asked the front desk if we made a mistake on our reservation time, she had him seat us. There was no reason we couldn't have been sat on time to even enjoy a glass of wine. Then after ordering the waiter never really came back to the table to see if we needed anything else. After I asked when breakfast was and told the waiter we would not be there foe breakfast because we had to leave early. When she found out she wanted me to immediately check out of the hotel which made no sense since we hadn't even slept there yet and was more concerned with that then making us feel comfortable to stay.

    Excellent Food and beautiful hotel but if you are an American I would not suggest staying here. The staff was less than helpful and annoyed at every question, even though they spoke english.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room overlooked the car park and was not private enough. The room safe was not anchored at all. The shower was hand held only, not fixed at head height. The pool service bell was out of order.

    This is a modern, clean hotel. The pool area was good. The location is fine for touring the area.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attitude of the evening meal waiters was unhelpful , regarding recommendation of wine we asked for a dry white & was given a very sweet wine , there attitude was, that's all the region has to offer ! Rather than make more of a fuss we put up with it , typical Brits ! Not a big deal but not great for 30 + euros .

    Location & very clean / fresh . The young man on reception was very helpful .

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not quite convenient to reach the public beach, which is perhaps not the cleanest either, but none of this is the fault of the hotel. The swimming pool in the hotel is great.

    Great renovated hotel, recalling some of the original 1970s roadside motel atmosphere in a modernized edition. Excellent, although a bit pricy, restaurant that attracts not only the guests of the hotel but also people from the neighboring cities. Meticulously tended mediterranean vegetation in the hotel garden.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only negative for me was that I like to sleep with several pillows and the ones they have are too small and soft for me, other than that the place was great.

    Very friendly staff and the family ownership gave it a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Boutique Hotel with all rooms having a balcony & sea facing. Breakfast very good, & helpful staff. Excellent of car parking outside hotel and lifts to higher rooms for taking luggage.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sea view from the room was a highlight. For the breakfast, there was a good choice and seem to have thought of everything. I also much appreciated the warm welcome.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absence de restauration

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious comfortable room , with a panoramic sea view. Friendly staff and good buffet breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent swimming pool, beautiful sea view

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole experience was very good

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    separated from the coast by main road and railway( but still quiet).

    Beautifully styled hotel with lovely views. Good pool.Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning

    Great location on the edge of the lake. Good restaurant and bar.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean and well appointed. Nice view towards the sea Comfortable rooms although a little small

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant meal- very high quality and great value

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncooperative attitude of member of management re complaint over undercooked food.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    good standard and well kept

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location overlooking the sea and room with a balcony!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: