Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Du Tonneau D'Or 4 stars

1 rue Reiset, 90000 Belfort, France

#9 of 15 hotels in Belfort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 945 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi somewhat slow (at least in my room)

    Well placed in the center of Belfort, close to everything. Nice hotel, interesting architecture and interior design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic continental breakfast bar for a fairly high price (EUR 13). No milk portions provided for the in-room coffee/tea. Biscuits not replaced for the 2nd night. (Small things, I know, but a shame.) Car park is pretty tiny. (10 places only and difficult to manoeuvre.)

    Everything was basically OK. Entrance hall and main staircase is really nice. Facilities pretty good. Great location for the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice, modern room, albeit a bit on the small side. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom modern and clean. Personel was very friendly and helpful. I was there during the FIMU; hotel is very close to the festival (which I intended) but still calm (if you closed the window).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance. When you walk in through the main entrance and outside the sun shines intensely, you come out of a very bright lighting into darkness and in that entrance there is one unmarked step. I almost broke a bone when I fell. I had not seen this unmarked step. That's very dangerous.

    When a problem occured, the staff resolved the problem vquickly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the lady at the reception was unfriendly and rather unhelpful, but the rest of the staff was nice.

    The location was good and the room was spacious and clean. Most of the staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all good

    Great sized room with the best view in town - the lion and the fortress - and the best location - easy access to old town history and new town shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is worth splashing out for a larger room, as the standard rooms are really small. Luckily we were just sleeping there, so OK for us, but if you want to relax in your room, get a big one!

    The staff are all very nice; the public areas beautiful. Breakfast is good value compared to what you get when eating out at the same meal - unlimited food and drinks for 13 Euros far beats the 6.5 you can pay for coffee, croissant juice in a cafe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very erratic and unreliable.Restaurant was not open on Easter Monday, my arrival day. From the photos, the hotel looked better than real life.

    The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doublerooms facing the backyard are just so-so.. not really the best view, the room was small, and the furniture and overall atmosphere are pretty much standard.

    Great location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dog was allowed in the breakfast room which put most of our party off and they went elsewhere.

    Upmarket hotel at a good price. Rooms very comfortable. Bike parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was not informed about the parking facilities at the hotel and used the public parking in front of the hotel. Worked out fine

    nice hotel in the old city of Belfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel look so nice on the photos, in reality place is old and not that clean. Bed (as well as room) was super small, even though I've paid for a "comfort" room. Will not stay at this place again.

    Great location in a nice suburb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very disappointing....very small (with little space to manouevre) on the top floor....and having booked a twin bedded room to accommodate our height (over 6ft) we had a small double bed. One set of towels during our 5 night stay were worn and had holes in them.

    On the whole the hotel was clean and comfortable. It was in the centre of Belfort, which was very handy and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant/bar next door was very handy for a quick breakfast and a late evening meal. The air conditioning worked for us, thank goodness, but not for our friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were with 3 persons (2 adults and 1 child) and this is the first time that I experienced a full valid 3rd spacious bed in a hotel room. The room was spacious as well, room for everybody, seperate toilet. We had a direct view on the Fort and the Lion, which was perfect! Within a few minutes you can reach the old city with many restaurants to visit, no car needed at all. Whilst hotel offered parking, all lots were filled but we did not have any problems with finding a parking on the street right at the hotel. The breakfast was good, everything available and refilled on time. The price was just unbeatable for 3 persons for a 1-night-stay and for our optional breakfast they did not charge for kids. Really a highly recommendation!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included Not a lot to do nearby

    Gorgeous view of Bastille fireworks from my room Two French doors and balcony Very friendly staff especially....Johann

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking out and moving onto the next place

    This place was superb... massive reception room and the staircase upstairs was superb, rooms are great (ours was overlooking the streets) and the reception staff all helped out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the other rooms were not original, mostly redecorated in a very ordinary hotel-style. Breakfast room was small, waiter should take a shower and wear a fresh shirt. Hotel should have informed us about the music-festival taking place and limited traffic. We could not drive to and from the hotel!

    Location near city-center. Impressing entrance hall and staircase, originally from around 1900. Breakfast ok, cheese boring

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is conveniently close to the city area. It is a difficult desire, but we are happy to have airport pick up service. It was comfortable Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every time we come here we book twin beds and they give us a double bed. They claim it's an upgrade. The double bed is too small for two people to sleep comfortably and certainly not "grand", which is why we didn't want it in the first place. When we insisted on the twin beds we booked, they didn't have any available. I'm beginning to suspect they don't have any. Breakfast buffet is expensive for what it is. In a "grand" hotel I would expect at least some scrambled eggs and bacon. The hose on the shower was far to short and it wasn't possible to raise the shower high enough to stand completely under it. Bathroom heater didn't work. Almost no parking available in hotel and it's reserved anyway. You have to hope you can find something on the street or in the car park a few hundred yards away.

    Staff friendly. Convenient for old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stopped here on our way to a ski holiday. We found the hotel staff extremely friendly. Our room was immaculate with good quality bed linen. We decided to have breakfast in the hotel, which was a continental breakfast of bread, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, juice and much more

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like living in a "Madeleine" illustration. In the Vielle Ville walking through holiday markets, antique shops, watching the snow dusting the rooftops like confectioner's sugar. Quiet and peaceful during the winter holiday season. In the heart of the charming, authentic old part of Belfort and The Lion and Citadel guarding the perimeter. More charming than the hotel which is historic itself. A

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant in the hotel, but a restaurant was connected to the hotel. But the retaurant was more marketing than fine cuisine. The desserts were disappointing.

    A nice hotel in a fine old-fashioned style

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking let it down , but as we were on motorbike we park just out side on the corner.

    nice hotel and in a great spot , a very nice please for a stop over.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    being overcharged for breakfast that was already included in the overall billing.

    The rooms were a good size and they were interconnecting just as we asked

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told at reception breakfast was served half an hour earlier than was the case. Therefore, we showed up half an hour early and the lady preparing breakfast did not handle the situation well, she was rude. Also breakfast was very expensive - not good value for money.

    Great location close to motorway and old town. Nice clean and comfortable rooms in charming, older hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi is a pain - always asking you to reconnect. I really wish they would change providers

    I have stayed here multiple times and the quality is consistently good Location is great. Staff was helpful in tracking down an iron and ironing board and bringing it to my room. Breakfast is good - I like the coffee pod selection which includes intense espresso options.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have more variaty for the price, the room with 2 single beds was on the backside with just a minimum of daylight and technical noise

    the hotel is very good situated in the center of the city, very impressive entrance, the room to the frontside was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be difficult. I counted about seven parking spaces belonging to the hotel and you have to reserve them anyway, so you will almost certainly need to drive around to find some parking on the street. This may be several hundred yards away. Every time we come here we book a twin room and they always give us one with a double bed. It's an old building with no air conditioning and our room got very hot in the hot weather.

    The hotel is in an excellent positon for access to the old town and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view from our room (via flung open French doors of course) across to the magnificent citadel and lion of Belfort. Great location for dining out. Super! Big, clean, bright room with fantastic shower. Cleanest bathroom I've ever seen in a french hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privat parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i asked for one hour extra for the late check out and they did not accept it without payment !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit cold. There is not local temperature ruler

    It is in the center, near to different bistrot/ restaurant/ shop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger parking-lot. It was quite tight

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive.

    Great location, beautiful building. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full, wifi poor

    24hr reception, large bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use a coat of paint.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The lobby is gorgeous and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the standard room was quite small.

    Nicely situated in the center. The hotel has an old style charme.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little and small mistakes, not super clean bathroom - shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hospitality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many restaurants close on Sunday.

    Easy to find parking, short distance to town and attractions. Nice cafe and bakeries in town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RESTAURANT IS MERDE

    IN GENERAL OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged for the nights which I have spent - OK - but I did not get the proper bill at the end of stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in a sort of meeting room without views outside. And rather basic offer.

    Good location. Very spacious rooms and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AS the bedroom was overlooking their courtyard. The dustbins were emptied at 5 am with all the noise associated.

    In the middle of town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mobile air conditioning unit was very noisy

    The staff, breakfast and the bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on arrival wasn't very welcoming. It was not a good first impression!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff barely spoke English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon out of order

    Grand old hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very slow wifi

    nice ambiance palace-like

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming interior, large and confortable bed, excellent service and food. Very professional people. My wife loved it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room & Bathroom need renovation !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weather :)

    no nonsense hyper correct

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar

    Lovely reception areas

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was nice design and recently decorated

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent localisation in the center of the town. Very spacious room and very comfortable bed, very quiet (despite the fact that windows on the street), minibar, desk.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Permanent bad smell in the bathroom and toilettes. Approximative cleaning of the room every day. Multiple stains on the walls, damage chair and table in the room, decoration (frames) not hanging straight...

    Very friendly and helpful staffs. Very good Wifi in the hotel and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel was situated in a central position in the town which enabled us to walk to everything with ease. Our room was very spacious and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! We were slightly disappoined that we were not given a room with a view!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Beautiful hotel where the staff were professional, multilingual, friendly, and very helpful. The location was perfect for enjoying the sights and restaurants of Belfort. Hotel parking and location to main roads was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel parking is quite small. If you are late you likely miss the spot and will need to go rounds to find public free or vallet. Only one internet connection per room supported. The hotel would need some renovation.

    This is an OK hotel although I would not rate it as a 4-star property. Location is perfect, rooms are quite basic but clean and the internet connection is good too.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking garage, but we found a payed parking spot right in front of the hotel.

    Great location, really nice rooms, friendly staff, great experience overall.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed was smaller than typical, and we're not as slender as we were when we first got married! Breakfast options were just okay, compared to others in similar priced hotels. Parking area was small. Room was well decorated, but not the toilet area (dingy). Air conditioner did not work.

    Nice quiet hotel, with a nice view of the fort. Great location close to fort, old town restaurants, market, river, near busline. Old style building, but with modern amenities.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only minor point was the décor in the room was a bit drab.. everything was a dull shade of grey.

    Central location. Clean, comfortable modern room. Lovely foyer and staircase. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Bill was wrong (imagine: we paid too much) - room not cleaned - refrigerator out of order There also was a Fire alarm in the middle of the night due to technical malfunctioning. Everybody was there: firefighters, police, ...

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was a little tight on space this didn't matter so much as we were only there for one night.

    The hotel's location is excellent, right in the centre of the old town. Our room was clean and furnished in a modern style. The brasserie serves nice food with a pavement area and a pleasant dining room.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Charming grand old hotel in a great spot in Belfort.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a bit Spartan

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it would have been nice if the restaurant was open for dinner.

    Good central location with free parking were definite pluses.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is disconnect every mintues

    Hotel is clean

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Petite chambre

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reneovation of the Hotel in the 90ies.

    Based in a wonderful old Grand Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be difficult

    Comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant was sery good , but the wine I had was realy bad. Nothing wrong , just bad.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location and hotel was top notch. Friendly staff.

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: