Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

Jardins du Casino , 14390 Cabourg, France

#2 of 57 hotels in Cabourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 696 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave, and return to the real world

    This is a classic 5 star hotel, perfect in every way, so I don't need to list its plusses, they are all of the luxuries and services and service expected in such a place. But, exceptional: Super breakfast in super dining room. They upgraded me to a posh balconied ocean-front room which made my stay there technically economical. The girls at the reception spent hours rearranging my ongoing transportation due to the SNCF strike. Fabulous service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Hotel choice and a good option for seeing the Normandy beaches. The staff went out of their way to help. The only negative was the on site restaurant which was very overpriced with extremely small portions. However, I would stay there again in a heartbeat but I would not use the restaurant on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a sea view room on the 4th Floor which was extremely hot and not comfortable . When we asked if we could have a different room, it was not possible. Therefore, we did not have a pleasant experience.

    Great staff, excellent breakfast and very good location. A beautiful hotel !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Going in June meant that the private beach was not open - it could be opened for June as well as July and August. The restaurant, which is wonderful, is closed on both Monday and Tuesday.

    The grand hotel lived up to its name - accommodation and location were great. Food was absolutely lovely. We had a sea view and a huge room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't seem to work in our room so we had to remove the duvet from its cover to ensure a comfortable nights sleep. Tea and coffee tray was available but not replenished for our second night which was rather disappointing for such a quality hotel.

    We had a very spacious, quiet room, with a deliciously comfortable bed. Our sea view was lovely and we made the most of the spa, sauna and special showers. The concierge booked us a table at an excellent local restaurant as the hotel restaurant was full on our arrival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate (2 of us), at the bar because the restaurant menu was too expensive. The burger I had was disgusting, had missing ingredients, and was smothered in the strongest garlic mayonaisse known to man. I did not eat my meal and when I complained was not offered any recompense! Not even another meal. This was the only ad meal I had in a tour of Brittany! When I mentioned this meal again at checkout I was ignored and still no offer of knocking it off the bill. REALLY glad we didnt eat in the expensive restaurant as the reviews for that are pretty rough too. DON'T EAT HERE 😒

    The bed, quilt, & pillows, decor, were all amazing. Also our garden view was stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Historic hotel of literary importance on the beach at Cabourg. Beautiful in every way from decor to dinner (magnificent tasting menu). The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The custom made rug designs, the fact that there were no fitness room and no swimming pool.

    The charm of the hotel, the good service, the restaurant and the proximity to the sea.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looking a bit tatty on the 4th floor (luxury suites). Heavily priced... hard to see value here. Its really a good 4star chain hotel... not a unique 5 star. Breakfast was OK but forgettable. Some things ran out mid way thru breakfast. Don't bother to eat there in the evening. Room was too small for the very funky furniture. Actually it was the smallest luxury room I ever stayed at. (room 419.. don't accept it if offered as I think its the smallest on the floor). Window was small.. I has expected big windows and a big view. Bathroom was clean but nothing inspiring even with the funky tiles. Just shower above a bath plus WC/basin. No issues with housekeeping but again.. nothing memorable.... except to say this Hotel has the hardest water I've ever seen. Literally the soap does not foam! They should think about softening the water. I would say if its you and the kids for a beach holiday then if you can get a good room rate then it would be fab in Summer. For a romantic luxury weekend away.. then this is not the place.

    location right on the beach and easy to park at low season. View from room was epic. Front desk were competant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a very expensive dinner there, the meat was really tough, the waiter who mainly looked after us spent a lot of time looking after the table next to us, who he seemed to know and not much time with us. Would stay at the hotel again but not eat there again. Very disappointing.

    The location is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replace the curtain in the tub with glass enclosure. It. would save fighting with it when taking a shower

    perfect location. Lovely classic hotel with a touch of history Huge room and bathroom Great selection for the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View - South
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so-called SPA is a joke. They seem to think that no more than 2 people want to use it at the same time. It's tiny. No where even to sit down. No free private parking spaces.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room not ready on arrival - staff offered us a drink in the bar but then forgot we were waiting ! Everything in the hotel VERY expensive . Bottle of wine via the bar €15 more expensive than same at Le Hastings restaurant .

    Excellent location , excellent breakfast but other than that did not use the restaurant due to the prices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay an extra 30 euros for an afternoon on the sun beds by the sea..!!!

    Fantastic service. Excellent breakfast with a huge variety of food. Very large bedroom with a lovely garden view across the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View - South
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not cheap but we were treating ourselves so expected this. We had dinner one night in their " highly rated " restaurant and were very disappointed. My starter consisted of two slimy prawns and a couple of melon and cucumber balls and some foam. The main course I chose was beef.... This consisted of some small thin slices of very tough meat arranged in a circle with a few tiny bits of veg. Truely not in keeping with expectations or the price . We skipped dessert and went down the road and had some excellent gelato. I'd give the dinner a miss . Lots of other much better value restaurants in the vicinity .

    Lovely old fashioned grand hotel, nicely modernised. Helpful staff , all with good spoken English . Huge bedroom and beautiful big bathroom. When I mentioned I was gluten free I was provided with a GF roll and cake at breakfast. Wonderful location right on the promenade.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's clear the owners are trying to get as much cash from visitors as absolutely possible. Meals were expensive (including breakfast). We wanted to use a hotel sun lounger in front of the hotel on the beach. It took ten minutes to find staff to help (it is France...) and when we finally found someone they said it is €45 for a sun lounger. Now I would have thought that if you're paying these rates per night the least they would do is let you use a blooming sun lounger for free. So though I liked Cabourg for a one off trip I wouldn't stay here again unless they change their attitude to customers. Also there's very little to do in Cabourg but the hotel can't help that!

    Perfect location. Impressive room. Impressive building. Right on the beach front.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little pricey at €26 pp. We found a little Patisserie down the street that served a great breakfast for €16 pp. Limited parking.

    The rooms are stunning, the garden view is great, the beds are huge and very comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior decorations of rooms needs to change as soon as possible .Because of the oldness of the rooms interior spaces were smelling very badly.

    Kind welcoming staff on reception with fast check in & out process.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con didn't work, dirty linen bags clogged up the hallways, bathroom tap ware falling out of the wall, no bathroom products (Ie shampoo etc)

    Location in the city.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Beautiful property, full of memories and history. a truly Grand Place to stay in Cabourg!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved it and will be back.

    Very nice stay in Normandie.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the shower we need a carpet the doors in the room are very heavy and don't stay open

    rooms are confortable breakfast is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant staff.

    Hotel location, interior lighting and, decoration

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    FABULEUX...What else?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    eye-wateringly expensive coffee and tea if taken in the salon

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel renovated with good service and an excellent local ion. Too expensive for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Longer stay.

    Magnificent hotel - friendly staff - wonderful facilities in hotel and on their beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say anything negative.

    The hotel was just beautiful. The staff was attentive. The rooms were spacious and the decor was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the perfect place to be in!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtain was unhooked from railing.

    breakfast was good with varied food. Restaurent had a excellent menu. People and service friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View - South
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was closed, rooms was not perfectly clean

    Wide room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Club sandwich from room service was simply awful. Extremely disappointing when compared to an excellent breakfast.

    Nice classical Palace at an exceptional location. A room with sea view is a must.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Keurig coffee machine on buffet table in lobby but apparently not for guests. Should have been.

    Charming and Lovely old world hotel. Room was large & comfortable and the bed was divine. Staff was very helpful and spoke English well. Loved the location right on the beach but also walking distance to town and the surrounding sea side resorts of Honfleur, Etratat, Trouville and Deuville.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff member in the restaurant who takes the plate while I was eating. The same person that does not speak a word of english - in a 5 star hotel! unavailable dishes offered in the menu

    The view from the room to the sea is brilliant! The breakfast! The roomservice during the day! The BIG bathroom! The bar: atmosphere, staff, cocktails!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have expected a superior room to have a bath rather than just a shower and a hotel of this standard to have a pool and leisure facilities.

    Lovely position and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    of course you are paying too much but that is clear before you get there and you get what you expect, was great fun

    it is a great and famous building. Of course it is too expensive but it is a wee once in a life trip just to imagine yourself in that historical and legendary place. Staff give the right amount of attention and it is a special experience in a special place

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise for an hour outside my window at 2am from youngsters. The night service ignored my complaints. The Madelaines were a disappointment. Bonne Mamam make better flavour industrial ones!

    Position , elegance of building and fitments

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had to nitpick, parking may be a bit of an issue as the hotel doesn't have reserved spots for guests. But, although it's a bit of a free for all, one will almost always find parking within a 3-5 (short) block walk of the hotel.

    The facilities were picture perfect, and the staff was the cherry on top. Gracious, friendly and helpful (all without being overbearing). The breakfast was also wonderful, and worth the cost if paid for with the booking.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No mirror in the main bedroom and no power point near the mirror in the hallway, made it difficult to do hair and make up. Not enough selection of tea, milk, sugar etc in the room.

    The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the location just perfect right on the edge of sea and overlooking a well kept park on the other side, just a few minutes walk from the Town Centre. The hotel has a timeless elegance of a bygone age. We loved the restaurant plage, the food and service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to drive around 10 minutes to find a parking spot It rains and you have to carry your luggage up the steps - no help and only inside, somebody asks you if they can help you with your luggage...too late. You ask to make a dinner reservation in a restaurant in Cabourg but nobody gets back to you whether it is confirmed or not ! Saturday morning at 9:30am, cleaning ladies are chatting away from one end of the corridor to the next...quiet please, so guests who have paid their room 400€ are asleep !! It is raining, no umbrellas to be borrowed (basic stuff in 3 start hotel) Anyway, I stay in a different hotel at least once a week around the world. Accor should do the same and align with basic global practices of a 5 star hotel before charging what they charge

    great location Rooms nicely redecorated pleasant staff but not very efficient

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Now even thou i loved the hotel and the staff i do believe it was a little over price for what you get i mean breakfast is not Incl which kind of sucks. Dinner i can understand. I had dinner in the restaurant one night and could not fault it at all %110 Wifi was a bit of let down kept cutting out which did my head in. Oh one more thing have a car with you i did not and had to use the bus's every day.

    The room was perfect nice and cool and warm when need to be the view i had just blew me away staff where so helpful and polite could't asked for more and would recommend this to anyone who needs to relax being on the cost was just to top it of and to eat dinner or have breakfast with the sun coming up or going down just made it %110 . Will be going back again

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed there early April, difficult to get the heating turned down, rooms were a little stifling.

    Beautiful setting, right on the beach front, excellent food/drinks/service. We were there as a base for a visit to the Normandy D-Day landings, but would happily have stayed there just for a lovely R+R break by the sea.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike!

    It is a beautiful hotel, very comfortable and warm. Very polite and pleasant staff everywhere. We stayed in a classic double room with garden view, it was a lovely room and the views were fab! Having breakfast in the lovely restaurant looking out to sea was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    services, parking should be free

    restaurant, location, spa

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no soul, bit old, deco bad taste

    location

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The prices in the bar are far too expensive

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Huge room, with sea view, very comfortable bed, efficient staff, fabulous food

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Couple

    No swimming pool.

    Excellent large beds, proper maid service, location, style.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, super friendly personnel, big and clean rooms, Perfect stay !!!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food/breakfast below expectations

    Comfortable room. Location. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dessert du restaurant

    Situation exceptionnelle Belle grande chambre Restaurant gastronomique

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Absolutely beautiful hotel, we loved every second and can't wait to return

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Location, Staff, Food

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff not very helpful for a 5 star hotel

    great location

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fab!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was "complet" so unable to have dinner in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace, courtesy, smiles, absence of raucous guests.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hefty charge for breakfast

    location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from room

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room design, the bedding, the doors and the noise they make, the washing area (large for no purpose), the food.

    The view.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not great value for money

    location

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All of the 4 bed pillows were very hard (like a rock).

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cocktails and food out of our price comfort zone

    Beautiful location and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good Location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms where huge and the beds were so comfortable. Great views and considerate and helpful staff. Amazing bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location & The food!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It felt like walking into another era, but with modern amenities. The ocean was right outside the doors.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Wonderful old hotel with sea views

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: