Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Evaux Grand Hotel 2 stars

Les Thermes, 23110 Évaux-les-Bains, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Évaux-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    A little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at breakfast (a particular problem when the milk is sour). Rooms very dated in need of a little TLC throughout.

    Lovely building- like stepping back in time. Delightful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    This was a last minute booking via online phone booking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a last minute booking via online phone booking after cancelled booking at a chateau which sold out for a wedding , it's more intended as a spa treatment type of hotel but it's good quite evening meal & breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last minute confusion of booking confirmation.

    We were a little concerned as the hotel tried to cancel the rooms when they realised we were a large group but the staff looked after us food and bar service excellent.,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful staff, but over priced faded glory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, facilities were sparse: no coffee/ tea making equipment. One bottle of water, no hair dryer. No comfortable chair to sit in the room, poor bedding and the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever tried to sleep in. We stayed in room 102. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in places, there were damp marks on walls, the bathroom floor felt like it was about to collapse as it creaked badly whenever you stood on it, and the carpet in the bedroom smelt badly. There was no spare bedding available unless, like us you asked. Breakfast was basic but OK. Dinner is a buffet which is not very inspiring. It was the same each night we had it. The hotel could really be something special if it had a bit if money spent on it. It's faded glory is very worn and sad. And it was definitely over priced.

    The staff were absolutely lovely and very, very helpful. In fact we got lost getting to the hotel and a really brilliant young man cane out in his car to find us and escort us to the hotel! The building is beautiful and the hot spring pool is wonderful. The hotel was very clean, towels were re-stocked each day and rooms were made up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    brief stay whilst visiting family who live nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea/coffee making facilities and the bathroom was a little dated.

    The Spa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Thermal pool and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room.

    Thermal pool and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    3.3
    Very disappointing, very depressing and would never go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room,no facilities in the room, no comfort (see above). No washing facilities i.e.: gel/shampoo hairdryer....nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff extremely helpful, lovely place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing apart from the weather

    Staff extremely helpful, lovely place to relax. Nice base for the area. Pool, Gym, Tennis Court and Spa Bath all included in the cost.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    This is a Spa hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a Spa hotel. Didn't use any of those facilities so couldn't comment. Old fashioned hotel not much updated, but fine. Food OK but unimaginative.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    5.4
    Traditional standards and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were automatically charged for breakfast even though it wasn't part of the booking and we didn't have it. I was only shown the bill after paying and when I queried it the receptionist said the bill had been made up by the supervisor who was not in for another 3 hours. Despite going back later she hadn't arrived so we cut our losses and left it.

    Traditional standards and service.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    Staff very friendly, room very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Diner is light but as usual for a thermal care :)

    Staff very friendly, room very clean.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Browse Evaux Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery