Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Grand Hotel L'Etape 3 stars

18 Avenue De La République, 15100 Saint-Flour, France

#4 of 13 hotels in Saint-Flour

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and well maintained hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything here. Just a word of caution, there may be some road noise for rooms at the front of the hotel. This was not an issue for us at all, but the hotel had very thoughtfully provided earplugs for anyone who may have been affected.

    A very clean and well maintained hotel. We had an excellent room on the 5th floor with a balcony and seating. No air conditioning but the room was spacious and airy. Receptionist (Sarah) was vey helpful. Superb garage facility for cars and motorbikes to the rear of the hotel (free for motorbikes, not sure if there is a charge for cars). Very good quality towels and bedding. We could not fault this hotel and consider it to be a very good choice for a last minute booking when another property, unfortunately, could no longer offer us a secure parking garage. The hotel is not in the old town but has a good selection of restaurants in the immediate area; unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed on the night we were there as the kitchen looks superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Don't be deceived by the dull initial exteriour impression. Excellent quality inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very unpromising arrival with a very tired looking building. Once inside it was excellent. Therefore given that this is a hotel to stay at "en route" and possible on spec it could do with a facelift

    The food was excellent. The room was well appointed and a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This was our second stay at this hotel and it was even better this visit. The hotel was built in the seventies and has not changed in decor but has modernized where needed. It is run by the same family who take pride in the hotel . Some of the rooms at the back have balconies which have fantastic views over the country and old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    A very nice hotel, comfortable rooms, excellent food, close to motorway ,secure parking in garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like to have had Air conditioning, room would be very warm in summer.

    Friendly, efficient service, a very well run hotel with attention to detail. Excellent restaurant and service for both dinner and Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Breakfast was average and expensive,garage was a nightmare,the restaurant does not open on Sunday nor Mondays and the bar closed at 9.30 meaning we had to go out to eat in the pouring rain. One of the poorest hotels we have stayed at in our 30 years of travelling through France.Best Avoided

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    En route to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    GPS sent us to the wrong St Flour. Worth checking your route for yourself before you set off because the RIGHT St Flour is actually very easy to find

    Classy place in a handy position, fabulous disabled provision, staff were so welcoming, dinner was expensive but worth it. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Hotel with angels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely kind owner, Roux Dominique, and staff. I was penniless when I arrived because I was mugged earlier in the morning. The lady told me to pay when I am back in France next time. God bless her.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    helpful staff and free parking a short distance away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel faces a very busy street. ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. The hotel is in the lower part of the town, not in the upper historic part of the town,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom were rather dated

    Excellent restaurant, fantastic evening meal with great choice of food and wine. The restaurant real made our visit worth while.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Travelling south we opted to stay in St Flour not far off the motorway. Easy to find in this little Auvergne town we found the reception warm and helpful. We went out for supper in an active St Flour with a small choice of simple but decent restaurants. Connection back to motorway was rapid. Good experience. Clean and comfortable. Friendly. PS while I was in reception I heard several phone calls where people were being turned away because full.... book early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Great price, quality hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A double bed instead of two singles pushed together would of made this hotel better.

    The beds were comfortable. The room was quite large and the location was great,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent place for a short stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed has only one bedside lamp, no bedside table and lamp on the other side. The room on the street side is a bit noisy.

    The Staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful, it is a pet friendly hotel as well. The reaturant is excellent, it serves quality food. It was perfect for an midterm stay. The city up on the hill is marvellous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel but very, very good restaurant. Parking free in small outdoor car park, I think there is a garage, and on street parking outside. Fifteen minutes uphill to the historic town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Worth a few days stay to enjoy this great family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The very friendly atmosphere set by the staff at reception and in the restaurant. The meal in the hotel was beautifully presented and was fully of flavour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent. The upper town is very pleasant to explore with nice bars, shops etc. I've used this hotel three times over the last 7/8 years for an overnight stop on route to Spain and South of France, and it's ideal for that purpose. Over this time there have been gradual improvements to the facilities which is most welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    great welcome to a comfortable and affordable stop-over.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner is usually superb but on just this occasion, the Paella was dry, overcooked....as a consequence the mussels and prawns were tough and tasteless......I was in the seafood biz for 40 years: you add the shellfish to the cooking-pan for just 5 minutes at the end of cooking.... ON ALL OTHER OCCASIONS, THE FOOD & WINE HAS BEEN SUPERB.

    ALL the staff & Owners are really friendly but always professional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent stop in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather,next morning beautiful views (with sunshine) Never have breakfast in French hotels consider them ridiculously expensive. Price not too bad here.

    Location good,unfortunately it rained when we arrived so had to go to the bar! Friendly staff throughout our stay. Restaurant was excellent,good local dishes. Room very comfortable,we booked a room at the back,spotlessly clean,great bathroom. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.9
    Good old fashioned French hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I have written before the underground garage is very tight for our 4x4 but they do have a surface car park a little down the street.

    Have stayed here on a number of occasions in the past and always try to include it in our itinerary. If you like good old fashioned French Hotels and hospitality this is the place for you. Run by the same family for years and although some areas are a little dated it is very comfortable. Book a room at the back of the hotel for a quieter stay. Excellent breakfast. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Most welcoming, safe parking, excellent food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have booked a room not overlooking the road rather noisy

    Garage parking for our motorcycle, excellent food, family run

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated

    Lovely family hotel, food in the restaurant was wonderful and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Absolutely fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An acceptable hotel and perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    On a stop over from driving to spain from england.The hotel was comfy and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink had a crack in it.

    Staff were very helpful and catered for my gluten free diet perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    All were very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.4
    Ok for an overnight stop but wouldn't go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big air-con unit right outside our room that was noisy.

    Nothing... There was nothing outstanding or even above average.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Secure parking for my motorcycle, good staff and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Secure parking for my motorcycle, good staff and excellent meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Our new memories in French rural town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A brisk and efficient Madam's managing style was impressive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, will recommend to friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed it all.

    Good location, very clean, helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Warm welcome to both us and our dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secure parking entrance much too narrow.

    Warm welcome to both us and our dog. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great dinner and breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location Secure parking Excellent, helpful staff Fine dining

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    A great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly staff. The accommodation and restaurant were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    There was no kettle to make a drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle to make a drink

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable base from which to enjoy St Flour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pleasant typical French small town hotel. The restaurant is excellent and quite serious about its food. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    No restaraunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaraunt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.7
    The restaurant was excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Good stop on our way to Lyon.....
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly. The restaurant was particularly good with local products .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Tussenstop in St Flour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prima restaurant in hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Well received, inviting, helpful would stay again and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the yogurts could have been a bit colder

    Fresh, plenty to choose from

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    pleasant overnight stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit dated and bit warm

    Friendly staff. Clean hotel and rooms. Easy to park. Close to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decour dated

    Good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Individual care. Fine dining and choice of wines. Cleanliness throughout, comfort. An independent hotel tun with care.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Great for an overnight stay or two
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the front of hotel so very noisy with traffic 24 hours a day.

    Great location and perfect service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in centre of village

    Restaurant excellent. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.2
    We paid a little extra for a Comfort room at the back of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving..... a second night would have been wonderful with time to explore the area.

    We paid a little extra for a Comfort room at the back of the hotel which overlooks the hills - very peaceful. Beds very comfortable. Impressively nice new lift, useful with suitcases. Simply superb dinner - do not bother going elsewhere; in fact make sure you book a table, the quality and cooking skills are "impecc" and there's a good range of differently priced wines. Breakfast also good with wide range of lovely bread, eggs, ham etc. Such a good stay on pur trip south that we've rebooked for our trip back north!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Well situated in attractive town, food excellent, bedrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor slightly dated but very well maintained and did ot detract from our stay. Secure parking height limited for our large 4x4 but dedicated parking on street nearby. No problems encountered.

    Well situated in attractive town, food excellent, bedrooms simple but very comfortable. Overall good stay and would use again. Only short distance from A75 motorway.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Food was AMAZING, and locally sourced, bed comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a bad experience, just an observation that it would have been the icing on the cake if the staff had been slightly less efficient and a little more 'chatty'.

    Food was AMAZING, and locally sourced, bed comfortable, bathroom quirky - décor was somewhat dated, but we loved it because of that. Curtains were designed to shut out the light, splendid lift - honestly, every comfort had been considered. Perfect half way stop from Dieppe to the South. We had a room at the back of the hotel and woke to the sound of cow bells clanking on the cows up on the hill - was charming!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    This is not a chain hotel so service was very attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    it's on the main road so rooms at the front can be a bit noisy. However the noise was completely blocked out by the double glazing.

    This is not a chain hotel so service was very attentive and unique.The staff were extremely helpful, particularly Mme Roux. The hotel was really clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Ideal situation for us on our journey to the South West...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no real problems except the underground car park is very tight for a large car, but we knew this from our previous visit

    Ideal situation for us on our journey to the South West corner of France. We had stayed here before and knew the rooms were excellent and the breakfast was good. Would recommend it as a stopover

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    It did what it said on the tin and although we were street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was minor but we had thought there would be more parking

    It did what it said on the tin and although we were street side they had supplied ear plugs which worked perfectly!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    5.4
    Conveniently placed in St Flour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a very noisy road. No air conditioning so on a very warm evening the window and shutters had to be opened to try and cool the small room and the road noise kept us awake until past 3 am.

    Conveniently placed in St Flour.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.9
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road traffic was very loud. The electric blind did not work.

    The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.9
    comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom a little shabby

    comfortable bed. excellent restaurant for evening meal good breakfast friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    8.8
    The restaurant was excellent and the staff welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was excellent and the staff welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    5.4
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    8.3
    Restaurant very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant very good!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    hospitality and reliability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hospitality and reliability

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    restaurant in the hotel was excellent for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning

    restaurant in the hotel was excellent for dinner

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Good food in the restaurant and service throughout was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good food in the restaurant and service throughout was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Surprisingly rich breakfast, scrambled eggs, fruit and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Surprisingly rich breakfast, scrambled eggs, fruit and berries, tasteful cheeses. Comfortable parking. Attentative staff.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: