Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Lyon Centre Château Perrache 4 stars

12 Cours Verdun Rambaud - Esplanade De La Gare, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#55 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1816 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely Art Deco hotel, with comfortable rooms, great staff and convenient for public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really could not fault it.

    The hotel was built in the early 1900s, probably as the railway hotel, as it is right next to Lyon Perrache Station. The public rooms are gorgeous examples of Art Deco and the bedrooms, while not being so decorative, are quite spacious. The hotel's position made it very convenient for gaining access to the public transport system in Lyon - Buses, Trams and Metro all go to the Station. Lyon is France's second largest city, so the main sights are quite some distance apart. We bought the Lyon City card, which gives free access to the entire transport system; most of the museums; a "Petite Train", which was very good, and included a guided walking tour around the most historic part. If you want to get around and visit several sights each day, the Lyon Card is brilliant value for money. The hotel breakfasts were excellent and the Concierge recommended two outstanding restaurants - Lyon is also the fine food capital of France - Despite that claim to fame, our restaurant meals were not overly expensive and great value for money. Although Chateau Perrache is not in the absolute heart of Lyon, many sights were within reasonable walking distance and its easy access to public transport made it a winner for us!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff,very helpful. The hotel was gorgeous inside with an art decor interior. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms. The location of the hotel was ideal for connecting to the train station. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Perrache Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard although that is a very personal preference. Water pressure for the shower was disappointing.

    Spacious room, excellent breakfast & perfect location. Very quiet despite being so close to train station. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value hotel in slightly out of the way location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's not much in the Perrache area itself and finding our way around the station to and from the hotel took a while. The bed had a very firm mattress but apparently we could have requested a mattress topper.

    A very quiet hotel despite being opposite the Gare de Lyon Perrache. We had a large well appointed room with a spacious shower room. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent with a wide ranging buffet. We were close to a metro and tram stop so could easily get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this hotel! It totally worths the money! My room had a really good view, and it’s big for two people. The bed was super comfy. Everything was clean. Service was excellent. I definitely will stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, beautiful building but a bit of a way out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to be careful, initial 'fast check out' included breakfast which we had not had on any day and only because I had the time to query this was the correct pricing given - which takes away the purpose of 'fast check out'.

    Big comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant staffs, amazing location and clean facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were enormously nice, especially early in the morning. My family had to put luggages before check-in and staffs were really helpful and brilliant. The hotel is located in the centre and the facilities were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Nearly every other thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bed is a problem. I am an 60 kilo person and my husband a real man with a bit more :) but we both layed like on wood / a stone. We both did not sink any cm in.

    Nearly every other thing. Perfect location. Restaurants, station and night life in the very near but quite and with a very nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms pretty small, and it is a bit of a hike to the center of the city. But not hard to get there, just a bit of walking - or the tram.

    Great breakfast in a gorgeous Art Deco dining room. Very pleasant staff, helpful and quick in delivering an extra duvet for our kids. Liked the fluffy bathrobes and slippers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tricky coming and going because of where it’s situated in between several busy roads and the train station but honestly while we were concerned upon arrival it ended up being fine and a nice stay

    The decor and the staff and the plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but a hotel at this level shouldn’t run out of hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ran out of hot water so 3rd person into shower had a cold one.

    Luckily we had spacious room. Would have been better to have a single bed rather than a sofa bed tho.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.8
    More a 3 star hotel and not worth the price at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad value for money, both day and night managers were rude and very unhelpful, the bathroom is tiny and didn't have soap, no glasses in the room, the bed is hard, the outdoor bar area is by a parking lot and train track, the noise of the cars and trains outside the window is loud, the elevator is tiny and old, areas of the hotel need a repaint, room is quite cramped with 1 small cupboard space. Very difficult to get to if coming by car. Will not be staying here ever again on frequent trips to Lyon.

    The pasta room service was good (but was the only thing available from the 24/7 room service menu), tea at the bar was well presented and the barman was helpful. Location is good if you want to be near Perrache station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    beautifull hotel in a beautifull city
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the evening meal was not to our expectations (the meat from the grill was not tender), that's why we didn't return the other 2 evenings (last time in august 2017, this was much better) lots of TV-channels from all around the world, but no german-speaking although clean, the bathroom could use a little lift a rather poor air conditioning :(

    Calm rooms although close to station Breakfast with great variations of good food Good coffee, possibility to get a latte macchiato that's worth the name :) the all around atmosphere of the hotel (ancient building) friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Within walking distance of the town centre and good public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk through the station to get to and from the hotel wasn‘t so nice.

    Within walking distance of the town centre and good public transport. Nice modern rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Lovely building and good position near station and transport to town but food well below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was rock solid and the MOST uncomfortable I have ever slept on. The quality of the breakfast was appalling considering the cost (E20 almost each). The first day the cheese was curled and obviously stale as was the cold meat; it did not improve. The bacon was barely cooked and quite offputting.

    The building itself is magnificent. We have stayed there before and the listed status of the ground floor is fully justified

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient and perfect as our base to explore Lyon from
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. It was a treat to stay in this beautiful gracious building. The only things I would change would be to paint the outside of the gorgeous old windows in the bedrooms and to put more of a shield up on the fence leading to the entrance where the old photos are, to hide the unattractive area on the other side of the fence... maybe cut out metal or bigger pictures. These are small details in the bigger picture. It was a lovely place to stay and the staff were really very friendly and helpful. I would certainly return, especially because of it’s convenience and proximity to the city centre and attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely spacious room, awkward access to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unless you are getting to the hotel via taxi, you have to either walk through a run down shopping centre or underneath the station & bypass. I personally would not have wanted to do this on my own late at night.

    The rooms are beautiful, very comfy double bed, great view and very spacious - just like the photos advertised, if not better. The reception is stunning as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel but very uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and mattress were so hard that you might as well sleep on the floor. No radiators and very weak air con to heat the room which means it was freezing.

    Excellent staff, nice breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    Noisy and small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy room facing the train station was very small yet renovated. The second night cigarette smoke was getting into my room.

    Breakfast was good. The hotel building is old and very beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    We love Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the shower, pressure was very low and water took forever to warm up.

    We loved the look of this hotel, the staff and location was great as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Excellent and thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Oh just remembered. Reception staff helpfully told us how to get to Musée des Confluences. However it was Monday and the museum was closed (unbeknowns to us). Would have been helpful to have been told.

    Staff extremely helpful and lovely , warm, relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful building and decor. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.0
    Beautiful historic Hotel close to the Railway station but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There hotel had a limited restaurant menu served from the bar and I was unable to find restaurants within a reasonable walking distance

    Beautiful historic Hotel close to the Railway station but not the main one luckly though the connection to Paris started from there so that was a bonus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Difficult!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get a table at breakfast, had to eat in the bar. The underground parking was difficult to access, very secure but you had to ask reception via an intercom every time you needed to get to the car. They could do with an Internal staircase for access.

    The Hotel was big and the rooms spacious. They had a nice bar for snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Convenient for the trains but would stay elsewhere if visiting longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and had no chair to sit on in the room. We found our bed to be hard and uncomfortable

    Very nice breakfast and staff, the room was very clean and fresh the position good for those traveling by train as it is right next to the station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely comfy hotel and excellent reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had one bad service from a waitress in the bar area on the Sunday morning where we went for breakfast. V poor. V abrupt. Not around when we arrived and had to go to the reception to ask for someone to serve us. Took away all the cutlery and serviettes off the table and curtly brought us a basket of croissants and lukewarm coffee, and presented us with the bill....we then had to ask her for some cutlery and serviettes and also some butter and jams. We had asked for milk for the coffee but this didn't arrive so had to chase this. Overall not a pleasant experience.

    Beautiful hotel in good location with v comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    overnight stay at the railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot day and the air condition did not work; seemingly this was not a temporary problem because the management excused for this inconvenience - due to hot outside temperatures - on a nicely printed pyramid-shaped leaflet on the desk (I wonder whether the heating does not work in winter due to cold outside temperature). My room was oriented towards south and the window has not even been covered with a curtain. A ventilator was also not provided. To avoid suffocation in this extremely heated room I had to open the window, which was directed at the Perrache railway station and it also felt like staying overnight at the railway station. During a short period at night trains don't go, but there were a lot of other very noisy activities going on during the whole night. A four start hotel should not rent rooms under such conditions. Besides, the sunk was completely blocked.

    All the staff that I met during my stay was very friendly. The building itself is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with a great "family" room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to dislike.

    Good location, right next to Perrache train and bus station. Very nice building. Staff at the reception are friendly, helpful and professional. The room was very comfortable and clean, very spacious ( we are a family of four; parents and two teenage kids), well equipped and well furnished..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    nice stay in a cool place
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can't remember any

    Breakfast was very good. Hotel was clean and calm, although there were renovations done. Staff was very nice and competent. Amazing ancient building. Although close to the railway-station, very calm and good air-conditioned. Go to the bar and enjoy an apperitivo, nice atmosphere and good food and wine. Fast connection via Metro to main place (place "Bellcour") from where you can reach any point in Lyon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not great, situated right next to the train station and the beds were quite hard to sleep on

    The staff were very professional, the breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely accommodation in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although close to the main transport hub, the surround district is not appealing. Evening dinner choice was limited and basic.

    Lovely big room, super efficient staff with excellent english language. Close to the main central city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Poor airco, limited on premise parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor airco. This was confirmed by the staff. Quote "poorest airco of Lyon. I selected the hotel for in house/on premise parking. But at arrival this was full so i had to use public parking.

    Nice clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect!...stone's trow away from the train/tram station. Was worried that it would be noisy but not at all. The staff's friendly & very helpful. Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Lyon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, anotmous family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enormous family room, super comfy beds, even the sofa bed was comfy. Amazing value for a family room. Outside area with toys for kids. Brilliant location in city cenRe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel with smiley staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water came to the bathroom side. Shower didn't work properly in the beginning. But then started to work after 4 minutes of cold water.

    Luxurious hotel with smiley staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I don't like about this hotel.

    Once u enter the room, u feel great. Spaces and clean. They also provide cold drink to customer, free of charge. Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Historical and very attractive old hotel with beautify
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm for me. A fan would have helped. But the weather was extremely hot and we were in a room that had not been renovated yet.

    I loved the original features of the hotel and it's history. Staff were extremely helpful. Located right next to Lyon Perache Train station and 2 minutes walk to Brasserie George.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location and architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had this time the very small rooms on the last floor (5th?), very little light, small windows. This was disappointing in regard to the price.

    Great location and architecture. Breakfast in the Majorelle rooms is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Worst hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all we had huge problems to find the hotel (on foot using a GPS) and the hotel would be well advised to provide guidance how to reach the property. The hotel is nestled in between a 12-lane carriage way, a huge parking lot, an autotrain loading on/off station, and a very busy railway station through which day and night large cargo trains are rattling. No way you could open a window during night. And this with a more or less non-functional air-condition! The neighborhood of the hotel also is rather intimidating with a number of homeless and drunken people. The box-spring beds were making funny noises when turning in bed, and the minibar contained just one small bottle of mineral water (compliment of the hotel!) but the fridge did not cool. To our greatest surprise was the hotel closed at midnight and the night bell was not functioning (at least for two nights). There was a telephone number provided, which is great if you do not carry a mobile phone, ran off power, or just having an international number. Upon my complaint the night staff became really impolite and offensive. It certainly was my worst hotel stay since many years of frequent traveling. And Mercure is not necessarily a particularly cheap hotel chain.

    The staff during the day was very friendly and helpful and tried to make up for the very unpleasant stay at this hotel. The room was clean and had a modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.6
    Overrated and overpriced - misleading reviews as to quality and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom as bit pokey, Shower Appliance fitted to the wall at waist level, necessary to hold it manually to have a shower, not what I expect from a 4 star hotel Location not great, next to an old railway station but a good 10-15 walk from an area that a tourist would normally want to go to (cafes, etc) Overrated for a 4 star status - a decent 3 star may be Toilets in the reception area very basic, limited facilities in the bathrrom there, no airconditioning, not up to a 4 star standard.

    Fridge in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Grand Hotel Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was an absolutely disaster. The once grand hotel had undergone some mayor "reparations" and you can still see very ugly hanging ceilings from the 80's that haven't been cleaned in decades. The whole furniture in our room had, on one hand, the charm of an old hotel but, at the same time some of it was in a state it might have just been collected from an old dump. This gave us overall the impression that the hotel might not been as "neat" or "clean" as we have wanted to, although this might only be a "subjective reality".

    The Hotel is in an old historical building built in 1906 for the purposes of a luxury grand hotel next to the train station. Some of this charm is still ongoing in some of the rooms and in the lobby and dining room. It felt like staying at the Grand Hotel Budapest. This feature was the most amazing thing about our stay. Our room even had a big marble chimney with a gigantic classic mirror! It was a very big room with a balcony towards the city. Also to our surprise, the hotel does have a gym contrary to what we could find all over the Internet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Nice Warm Stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A larger restaurant?

    ALL the staff! They were very very friendly and helpful-- as if at home :) The location of the hotel is agreat advantage if you are not travelling by car.. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on 5th floor rather depressing - very small room and window. Asked for other room, but only available on 5th floor. Very noise from train and/or car traffic. Difficult to access by car.

    Breakfast OK

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    4.6
    The single rooms are below hotel standard. To avoid if not traveling by train!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Single bad room was very in a bad shape. The furniture old and not maintained. Specific smell in the room... Difficult to reach by car because of the specific one way roads that lead to the hotel.

    Position is very good if you arrive by train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, historic hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Superb large bedroom (room201), excellent comfortable bed and clean and very well equipped room, including large screen TV and nespresso coffee machine. Pleasent bar area, great reception facilities with helpful and knowledgable staff. Location is a minutes walk from Gare Perrache, as this was originally a railway hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to access if driving due to the streets in Lyon. Very easy by train or bus.

    This is a beautiful hotel close to the train station and many restaurants and attractions would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    very friendly staffs!
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were no restaurants in the near of hotel and very expensive to eat at the Hotel. food quality at the hotel rest. wasn't so good!

    very friendly staffs! quite location...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    The bar is impressive and beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to cross a park and the metro/train station at night . plenty of dubious looking characters hanging around. There was generally some security staff about but it's a downside of the location that's unfortunately out of the control of the hotel.

    The bar is impressive and beautifully decorated. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    The building and the entire interior is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As in many hotels in France (in old buildings), the elevators are really tiny and the isolation of the rooms not that tight. Also, it might be a good idea to look up the exact location in advance as we had a bit difficulties to get to the right street. The hotel is situated right in front of a maze of roads, and it's easy to miss the right exit.

    The building and the entire interior is very nice. Especially the dining room. The lady at the reception was very friendly and welcoming, checking in and out went very smoothly. As we arrived on Saturday afternoon, the parking after 7 and Sundays is free on the streets, and we found a spot right in front of the hotel, otherwise they have a parking right next to the hotel. The breakfast was really good, didn't miss anything and the service was friendly too. The room was clean and tidy, though very cold when we arrived, but we could adjust the temperature.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    The rooms were big and the mattress very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didnt get cleaned. Furthermore, the train station makes the access to the hotel very complicated especially for pedestrians.

    The rooms were big and the mattress very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.0
    don't book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a standard room, but definitely wasn't a 4 stars room. The room that they gave us had a very old carpet and the roof... mold. We requested to change the room, but the answer was that the hotel is already fully booked. The stuff wasn't friendly at all. After requesting to make a complaint to the supervisor, the reception stuff changed the room. It was a standard room like in the pictures, and the excuse was that not all the rooms were renovated.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Great stay .housekeeping a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room only One tiny bottle of water between two adults. No other liquids. A bottle of shampoo that was almost empty, not replaced or topped up in three nights. My wife and I thought the above two issues were ridiculous

    Great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Place to stay in Lyon..:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was just great. I had some issues with a room since after we came back to hotel at midnight there was some kind of party just below our room. So was quite noisy but must zay that staff at reception was really nice and in the morrning they even offer partial refund. Over all everyting was really great. And would recomend it to all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Very convenient for a business trip in the center of Lyon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View on the highway from the window... but there is not much the hotel could do about it.

    Spacious and clean room in a chateau-like building, very nice!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    The suite I was in on level 2 was very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was extremely expensive for wines and beer's. My friend's on level weren't happy with their small badly decorated rooms.

    The suite I was in on level 2 was very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.9
    Very central for traveling adjacent to various modes of transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast over priced. we found it much cheaper to eat breakfast out.

    location in relation to a wide range of transport from train, metro, trams, taxis and buses. Hotel clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and could speak good English.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    Awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service was a little disappointing (quality-wise, otherwise, it was faster than the 30' you're asked to allow for it to be delivered.)

    Awesome breakfast. The room was soundproofed perfectly so we didn't hear the cars going under Perrache station. Bathroom was clean and shower was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely overnight stay in a classic Art Deco hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to reach by car

    Very clean and functional room. Gorgeous Art Deco hotel. Excellent breakfast. The Brasserie Georges (a famous Lyon Brasserie) is just around the corner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    love the comfortable and nicely furnished rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a private party on the night we stayed at the hotel so we didn't get any sleep at all. The reception staff offered us a discount when we checked out but we woudl have preferred a good nights sleep especially after drivign for a full day to get there..

    love the comfortable and nicely furnished rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Large room, good beds, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit outdated and in run down state. Light bulbs too weak for tge room with small windows under the roof.

    Large room, good beds, quiet. Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.4
    furnishing were quite nice although the room was small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating in the room did not work, staff was not particularly forthcoming, did not seem to care very much

    furnishing were quite nice although the room was small

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast still much to expensive ( 18€ per person !)

    Very clean, modern and quiet rooms Nice contemporary design of colors and furniture. Old lovely "art nouveau" reception Hall and meeting rooms Very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit too hot in the rooms & there was no English breakfast tea in the room. No shampoo, just soap, but that didn't matter too much as had brought my own.

    Spacious room,good breakfast. Excellent location, lovely old building right next to the station and short walk to Brasserie George!! Yum

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in an old building, beautifully refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little out of the way, but once you figured out how to get through the train station to walk to town, it was fine. Satnav eventually got us there, the address wouldn't show up at first.

    Really nice large room with a very comfortable huge bed. Parking was secure and next to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay. Good location.Lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No drawer space in bedroom. Room not cleaned etc on 2nd day.Reception did not appear very bothered or interested.Did not like paper cups to drink from.I asked for a mug at the bar.

    Did not have breakfast. Had two meals in hotel both were very nice.Nice comfy bar area. Bed comfortable.Overall we liked the hotel. Little things that could be easily fixed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Lovely French hotel with a comfy relaxed feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing smells in the bathroom not great! Breakfast nice but very expensive (19 euros ) per person.

    The bar staff were lovely and attentive. The views from the front rooms of the hotel really beautiful at night when lit up. Near Brasserie George, a famous French resteraunt.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent travel location. Would definitely recommend hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roomy, comfortable beds, towel dryer, great shower. Clean lines and towels. Refrigerator. Excellent location to train and bus. Daily maid service. Bottled water complimentary.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    Close to the railway station and close to city center Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Con did not work , was provided a manual heating radiator . The shower broken , room very dark without very few natural light

    Close to the railway station and close to city center Lyon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Beautifully restored Beaux Art hotel near train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a weird intercom system that is unresponsive that you must use to get into the in-hotel parking garage. Much shouting into a speaker on the street.

    Excellent breakfast in gorgeous Beaux Art dining room. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    4.2
    Very Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being as a travel agent from Dubai, could not get any discount. I would like to have the corporate deal rates with Mercur.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Just Ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Privilege Double Room with Single Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was the worst that we experienced in Europe. The bedding looked good but it is impractical to have thick doonas when the temperature is 37 degrees (100f). The flashing fridge light could do with some maintenance.

    Room was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing streets right by the railway station, but once figured out it was convenient to get to and from, and access to public transport.

    Refurbished old building with nice features and high ceilings. Big room, good breakfast. 3 free parking places, otherwise paid parking or street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    there was only one elevator in the hotel, we change the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was only one elevator in the hotel, we change the rooms twice because the AC was weak, the breakfast was 2/5 breakfast and the location was very bad because of the noise of the trains

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Lyon Centre Chateau - Mercure
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    GPS does not find this address easily.

    Wonderful old railway station hotel, renovated nicely maintaining old charm. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Central. Quiet. Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have loved to read about the hotel's history in English.

    Sound proofed rooms. Listed building. Beautifully decorated and cared for rooms. Huge rooms, separate shower room and space for storage.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just perfect hotel

    Excellent location facing Perrache station (metro, tram, train, bus, TGV) friendly & helpful staff, very good breakfast, clean & spacious room with coffee machine

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: