Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Negrecoste 4 stars

33, Cours Mirabeau, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France

#12 of 48 hotels in Aix-en-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 926 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t fit properly on the bed although I’m nit super tall (1.82m). Pillows were not of my taste either.

    Stuff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is stylish and extremely clean. The location is also amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very difficult to find and PARK --- needs better signage ---- EVEN with a GPS! so many one way streets!

    suite was roomy, clean and comfortable. Excellent location for visiting and enjoying restaurants etc. Suite was quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, hard to find the hotel entrance, poor reception desk, insulation, unpleasant cleaning material odor, breakfast assortment (skipped it)!

    Hardwood floors, brightness, beds, good staff, fulfilled our room requests!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's prime location on the Cours Mirabeau allowed us to explore the town on foot. The rooms were clean, modern and well equipped. I particularly enjoyed people watching with a glass of champagne on the hotel's restaurant's terrace. The breakfast was tasty but quite limited in choice. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no access to the hotel by car until evening and we no one informed us about this issue.

    New and modern hotel, the staff was nice and helpful and the location was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All night the air condition drop and we couldn’t sleep we tried towel and pillow and nothing and this sound drive you craZy In the morning the manager was angry at us of not calling them to fix it threw the night...ye right like I want to get up and watch a non technician trying for hours to fix it instead of trying to get some sleep in 4 am

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. No hot food. Cold eggs. Croissant were tough. Little fresh fruit. Very limited choice of cereals. Lots of cheese and ham and baguettes

    The balcony and the view and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Try to get there by car :( We ended up dumping our car in a parking garage one km away Forget the restaurant in the same building, it is over priced, there are plenty of better options around.

    Modern rooms in historical building, Comfortable bed, Aix en Provence, WiFi works, Personnel is friendly, and so on... Oh and even the quirky elevator is funny.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing was coffee making facilities in room

    Really comfy bed. Lovely light room with wonderful view over Cours Mirabeau. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. as the hotel was incapable of managing any order on the property. Poor management response (no response). See complaint above.

    From 2:30 am to 5:00 am the hotel was rocking with noise, loud music, people running down the hallway screaming, slamming doors and vomitting! No employee did anything about this unbearable noise which lasted for 2-3 hours, as if it was a music concert in the hallway. When I reported this to the front desk the management responded that they are aware of the noise as other guests complained and they no the guest as he comes often to the hotel. Although I did not sleep, the hotel took my 200 euros, i.e., they did not provide me with any sleep but charged me 100%! This is called fraud in France, to charge full price for a service which was not given, i.e., taking the customers money but not providing the service. Terrible experience, terrible response, I will never return to this hotel (motel)!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel refused my usa business credit card upon check out, and was forced to use my european private card... its commonly known that usa cards are not preferred, and the cards charges were 'abandoned'. I contacted my bank and there was no problem with the card. this practice is ugly and not acceptable behavior.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the Xmas market was on, the street to the hotel was closed so I was unable to access to park my car. Otherwise it would've been ok.

    The location was excellent as it was in the middle of the centre, close to all the shopping areas. The room was clean, has lots of light and comfortable. Overall the hotel was lovely and contemporary. Breakfast was hot with eggs and bacon as well as cold continental option.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the doors were extremely loud when shut and the phonic protection was inexistent. You could hear everything is happening on the corridor, when people leave or return to their rooms.

    Very clean room and attention to details

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was austere and sound (from other residents) carried, giving us a disturbed night.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the outside terrace as nice as anything on the Cours de Mirabeau.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too bulky and firm and the room a bit small. Also, the one chair was slippery on the wood floor.

    The hotel is right on one of the main streets and in the centre of town. When we arrived, there was a large market in full swing. Since we were early, we went exploring. Our room was at the back of the building so it was peaceful and quiet. The shower was huge and modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was next to the staircase. The flooring is tiled and laminate rather than carpet, so the corridor noise echoed until about midnight.

    Comfy clean bedroom in an excellent central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com wasn't clear about the parking. You need to reserve a space with the hotel so we had to park in a parking garage a few blocks away. The staff was pleasant, room was clean and beds comfy. The floors were a little bit sticky but think it was the cleaning liquid. Overall a nice hotel.

    Great location and clean. Easy walk to everything - nice hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching the prebooked hotel car park is tricky. For English speaking guests the hotel needs to produce a much better set of instructions in English rather than the current unclear translation.

    Very comfortable extra wide bed. Effective and quiet aircon. Superb spacious bathroom with excellent shower. Very helpful staff. Hotel is on the main Aix promenade with easy walking access to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start, difficult to get to with luggage. When asking about parking there was zero assistance to us (yes we speak French) only a map of entire city. After driving around and parking we walked 20min to hotel (not a huge deal) but as we finish checking in the clerk offers guest in front of us parking for a fee in a near by lot. Only one clerk on a Saturday night. Bed was super soft and had huge body spots you were forced to lay in. Pillows were thick lead weights. Bathroom door had a big dried blood stain on it

    Great location in the middle of everything. Near great shopping opportunities. Room was mostly redone in modern theme

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit of a nightmare due to restrictions entering the road up to the hotel especially if you arrive during busy periods. No soundproofing so you hear everything as wood floors carry every noise, I would recommend you take earplugs or you may find you get no sleep.

    Brilliant location right in the centre, rooms are very nicely decorated with good finishes such as reading lights smartphone charger by the bed and lovely bathroom with Nuxe toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not in any cheap motel did we experience such a dirty bathroom in an accommodation before. not acceptable. we were just too tired and disappointed to complain. bed cover also stained. room is generally built from pretty cheap substances, reality doesn't hold up to the promising pictures, seemed all quite soulless. pretty noisy air condition.

    very comfortable bed, closely located to the gare sncf and the old town. room to the back very quiet. could store our luggage for the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning unit only just kept up with the August heat Never greeted or even acknowledged by the reception staff when entering or leaving

    Great location Comfortable room overlooking the Cours Mirabeau Eating breakfast outside the front of the hotel Parking in the hotel's enclosed courtyard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surly staff. We reserved parking space but did not realize the complication of getting to the parking spot in the hotel. we ended up parking in nearby public parking space and walking to the hotel to get instructions. Parking required going through two barriers and required telephoning city and the hotel. staff was indifferent when the barrier would not come down and we had to call again. After being given instructions to get closer to the barrier , it did it come down. Hotel could have sent written instructions ahead of time to save some frustrations. that is what email is for ! The room we got undoubtedly had the worst view- a firescape and a wall - It was depressing and claustrophobic. Moreover, our room was over the kitchen and the smells from the kitchen started very early in the morning. Whatever was being cooked it was horrible to smell very early in the morning, I didn't think the hotel was full so they could have given us a better room. Perhaps Booking.com customers get the worst rooms in a hotel! Perhaps this is how booking .com get their profit.

    Great Location, newly renovated rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street in front of the hotel was a pedestrian only area during much of the day and there were no alternative directions for access to the hotel. Had to park in public garage 3 blocks away and walk.

    The room was large and clean. Great storage. Perfect central location for all of the sites we wanted to see. Had a king size bed! Staff was friendly and very helpful. We would stay again without a second thought!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking confirmation stated that we had a city view but they showed us to a small room with a view of the fire escape, dark and dingy. I complained and the receptionist was not very obliging she did eventually change our room to one with a view of the Cours Mirabeau but she clearly wasn't happy about it. I would go back but only because of the location, I will be researching alternatives before I book again. Surly staff wind me up!!!!

    Brilliant location right on the Cours Mirabeau, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fantastic close to the gare routière (bus station) where you can take a bus to the TGV Train station and the Airport (bus 40). The hotel is in the middle of Cours Mirabeau right in the city center - nice pedestrian street with many shopping and market days. Restaurants and cafe are surrounding the hotel and the Monoprix supermarket is 2 steps away. It's also a walking distance to Musée Granet and many other touristic attractions like Paul Cezanne's Studio. Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find parking but got there in the end

    Staff most helpful ...Getting to,the hotel to park wasn't easy but we managed with a helpful tour guide we met !! . But hotel staff super and location excellent !! Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a fabulous neighborhood but a bit complicated to get to by car (ultimately figured out how to pass the security blockade to get to the parking!)

    Very accommodating and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included. We were charged 12 Euro each. It was adequate but no cooked food.

    Beds very comfortable. Room very clean as was the whole hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely newly renovated hotel in the heart of Aix close to all the attractions with car parking. Rooms are restful, with comfortable beds, good soundproofing and great showers. Breakfast can be taken either in hotel or in restaurant attached to hotel which also has a well chosen small lunch and dinner menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most expensive hotel parking during our month in France. BE AWARE: The only way out of the hotel parking area is on a narrow street often blocked for deliveries to the Monoprix grocery store. On check out day we had to wait in the car 30 minutes for the 3 delivery trucks to finish unloading.

    Perfect location, nice rooms, good breakfast, comfortable beds and an elevator / lift. FYI: We really liked the Nino Cafe (When exiting the hotel turn left and it's down a short way on your left). Had 2 out of 3 dinners there and a yummy chocolate dessert (warm cake, soft in the middle) with ice cream. It's on the main menu, but I can't remember the name of it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I remember as a traditional city centre hotel has been done up inside to look 'modern'. That's OK for the rooms but the décor in the corridors and stairs looks a bit out of character. Basic staff on the front desk and looking after breakfast bar. Access to the hotel was difficult as the Cours Mirabeau was closed off, which apparently happens a lot in the season, so we had to phone the hotel for help and get police to move the barrier to let us through. Then more complexity to get into the back yard car park. Some advance warning in an email or text would have helped, eg 'if the road is blocked just tell the police you're going to the 'Hotel Negre' and they'll let you through'.

    A comfortable room and a great location from which to explore Aix.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buzzing place

    Right in the middle of the city, all the energy of the place as soon you get out of the door. My wife says the most comfortable bed on our trip. Parking is available but tricky. Liked it but not longer than a day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Perfect location on Cours Mirabeau which is a beautiful broad mainly pedestrian precinct between the Old Town and the Mazarin district. The beds were so comfortable, and the room decor was a very smart design. The desk staff were very helpful when we needed to change our dates. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just in the center of everything n walking distance t restaurants, sights n shops!, lucky t just happened t b there for the festival taking place right in the same street!, staff really helpful n friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware ground floor room next to breakfast room. It isa good room but noisy when staff arrive early

    Superb breakfast. Perfect location in best street in Aix. High standard throughout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gaining access to the hotel parking is a little fraught. We had adequate instructions from the hotel about how to access the main street, but it took a while to get all barriers open to get into the car park. The bedrooms are little on the small side, but adequate for a short stay.

    Fabulous location right in the middle of town. Excellent breakfast for the price charged. Well appointed bathroom and a very quiet lift! Staff who were eager to provide good service and communicate understandably to a non-native French speaker.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was courteous, but not really friendly most of the time. It was kind of a pain to get there by car, because there is added security against cars accessing the street (I appreciate this as an antiterrorism method). So you have to call the hotel when you arrive to a traffic circle at the entrance to the street, have them phone the police to let you past the barricade. Then you have to call them again when you reach another smaller traffic circle on the road so that they can lower some pedestals to let you onto the street with access to the parking entrance and to open the security doors to the parking area. That said, the parking area is very secure! The breakfast at the hotel is super expensive and not a good value for your money...it's been to go off site to a nearby restaurant and pay half the cost. The main street with this hotel is oddly abandoned on one entire side of the road. Like I felt like we should have been at the heart of everything yet it was somewhat sleepy. I think in general we were not big fans of Aix-en-Provence, so it was sort of hard to love the hotel.

    The hotel was located right on the main pedestrian walkway and a short walk to the main square. It had exceptionally easy access to the Office of Tourism, which is where our wine tour left from. The room felt spacious, but it was pricey too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE ROOM WAS TOO SMALL. WALLS ETC MUST BE PAPER THIN - COULD HEAR DOORS CLOSING IN CORRIDORS, TAPS RUNNING ETC...

    BRILLIANT LOCATION, COMFORTABLE BED, GOOD BATHROOM AND QUIET ROOM. BREAKFAST WAS A BIT PRICEY FOR WHAT WAS ON OFFER.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing could be better - street noise and hotel noise from corridors - having said that, everywhere was quiet from 11 p.m. We didn't use the hotel car park because of road works; it looks quite tricky to access and in any case we found cheaper parking in a multi-storey.

    The bedroom was spacious, light and airy - good lights at night, too. Beds very comfortable - though a little soft, maybe. Pillows not so good - normal hotel thick and big. Duvet ditto - again as usual. We take the duvet out of the cover then use the cover to sleep under. The facilities, wardrobe, lights, shower, all excellent. Breakfast reasonable for the price. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited communal areas. Apart from dining room, small seating area outside only. No bar. Breakfast cost an additional €12 per person per day. Be aware, whereas the local railway station is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the TGV main line station is 15-20 minutes by bus or taxi. When we arrived (quite late) the taxi cost us €39!

    Clean, modern bedrooom and bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast available. Good location, near the centre of the city but quiet and peaceful inside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Cours Mirabeau was closed to public access because of security, so driving to the property was difficult and confusing. The rooms, although newly renovated, could have done with a few creative touches, such as paintings and art pieces to give it more character.

    The property is located on Cours Mirabeau, the heart of Aix en Provence. It is walkable to most of the attractions of the town and is also near transport links. The room was spacious and newly renovated with high quality materials/furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable and reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing that they did not have available two single beds despite my request. Difficult to drive there as it is in a pedestrian area.

    Position and completely renovated hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion about coffee. My husband had breakfast and was told coffee was free so the other 2 of us had some . Other hotels do offer coffee when it within reach so we were surprised to be charged and questioned about how much we had. My phone was promptly mailed to me for a charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Superb buffet breakfast - and really helpful staff. If coming by car - best to call ahead as the road is blocked off & hotel need to inform police to let you in to the pedestrian precinct

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have taken the suit, which hasn't been cleaned since awhile, it was very dusty and simple things like tissues in the bathroom were missing. Moreover, there were many things not working (one of the taps and the blinds were broken, the safe got blocked). We addressed the issue to the staff but nothing was repaired, so we changed the room to lower category room, having paid for it the full tariff of €300. When I asked for a discount they just refused to do anything, saying that I should talk to the manager who was absent during the weekend. I'll not go back to this hotel. Sent from my iPad

    The location is great, but can be very noisy at night if you have a room on the street side.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was difficult due to construction work; should be easily found under normal circumstances.

    All good; nice location. Be sure to visit Cezanne's studio and great local musseum.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike hotels we are used to you can't make a coffee or tea in the room. You can downstairs but it costs.

    Bed was really comfy. Pillows too. Room was quiet - even when market was on downstairs. Good wardrobe and clothes storage. Great shower! Cafes and restaurants were 1min away. We walked to and from train with our bags in 10mins. Supermarket and chemist 1 min. Walk to all main attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The government security forces blocking Cors Mirabeau, the only approach to the hotel by car. My GPS fizzling out trying to find the right one-way street. Ask the hotel for a street map indicating the best approach before you come.

    The staff are great. The location is superb. I had the least expensive room for 7 nights. It was very functional and comfortable once I asked -- and got immediately -- another small table to put my things on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms have been refurbished and the breakfast area too. Love the position, right in the middle of the city centre. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, wifi is working well and the breakfast has food for all the tastes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged for parking on check out, although the booking said it was included in the price.

    Loved the feel of the room and the location is perfect. The place is still being renovated, everything is brand new. Ipod charger in the room was very useful. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking access was impossible. Hotel was being remodeled as we were there and we're not warned in advance. Moved to another city after 2 nights of a planned 3 night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room could have had another chair and small table (additional chair was brought as soon as we asked), and some additional storage room.

    perfect location - ideal for starting the morning with a walk in the surrounding streets, great bed and bathroom, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff did not want to make any kind off effort to be friendly. Would look down when they saw you coming. Would not keep me from staying though.

    The rooms were spacious. The bathrooms felt like home. Drawers for personal toiletries,robes and great toiletries provided. The location in the middle of Cours Mirabeau was great. Lots of cafes to choose from. Rooms were quiet. We were on 1st floor facing street and were not bothered by any noise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there were four young woman behind reception desk, when we gave our name we knew something was wrong but they spent about 10 minutes arguing amongst themselves before I asked in English if there was a problem. One of them then answered me in good English that they had just given one of our two pre-booked rooms to someone who had just arrived before us with a similar surname. While we were getting in a bit of a panic that there were no rooms available there were workmen banging away just off the reception area. It felt like we had walked into absolute chaos. It could have been handled so much better, explained to us immediately and perhaps we could have been asked to take a seat and given a coffee while they sorted it out!!!

    Nice newly refurbished but compact rooms, nice bathroom with good shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving by car (with GPS) we had a horrible time finding the hotel because the nearby market was just packing up AND no one told us that Cours Mirabeau is ALWAYS blocked to motor vehicles. Even after finding hotel on foot it was still difficult to access as police had to be notified by hotel to allow us through the barrier. Getting into their private parking area was also complicated.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and location was great. Hotel has been (almost ) completely remodeled and is lovely and probably the most modern of any hotel we visited in France.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish breakfast was included in room rate to make it more value for money.

    The beds were incredibly comfy! Very clean and modern. I think they are in the process of renovating but the room given was finished to a great standard.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit expensive, especially food and drink.

    The air conditioning worked well and the location was great. Lots of storage space in the room. One member of staff was paticularly helpful in an emergency.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is interesting. And, getting out of the parking area could be a problem if you need to be somewhere at a specific time, as delivery trucks could be blocking you way out to the main arteries.

    Great location. On market day vendors setup directly across the street. Very close to major museums.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to and from hotel by car is very difficult. Car park is safe once you can find it. narrow entrance for wide cars. Ground floor area of hotel under construction / refurbishment

    Modern small bedroom, good bathroom. Central location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the middle of a refurb and will be very smart. Work was still going on but this was not a problem for us. Its quite difficult to get through the one way systems by car.

    Excellent location on Cours Mirabeau in the middle of Aix

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was quiet, the beds were incredibly comfortable, the curtains create a total blackout so we slept really well. The bathrooms are great and the rooms have really innovative storage solutions

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told the hotel was into a refurbishment programme. Also not being told we could not get the car to the hotel without special instructions because of carnival in operation in the boulevard. street.

    The new bedrooms are fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location in Aix . Very central yet not noisy in the hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean comfortable room. Would definitely recommend for your stay in Aix

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was crazy to get into, once we were there, the car stayed put! Room was not quiet with the construction work and people in the corridor. Standard rooms have no outlook, so if you want to look out over the street you will need to book the more expensive rooms. Bathroom drain was a bit smelly.

    Very central location and close to all the wonderful restaurants. Rooms were quite small but very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is centrally spotted could be a bit noisy.

    Excellent location, very clean newly refurbished rooms, excellent staff and relatively good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are refurbishment works going on which were extremely noisy all day long from 8:00 until 6:00. Also all floors are hard which makes the hotel noisy even at night.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable.The bathroom was nicely fitted although rather small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location in Aix en Provence was very convenient. However, we drove there and the streets were closed and could not figure out how to get to the hotel. We then had to wait and one of us had to walk to hotel. We had to drive on a sidewalk to get our car to the hotel. Room on the smaller side; however, very updated and nice!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel is definately where you want to be located..parking on site ..a big plus..!!. There is construction going on but the hotel has done such a good job that you really are not bothered by it. Everyone is helpful and very considerate

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it fully met all our needs

    Location is fab - 10 mins from bus and train stations and in the heart of the town Lovely room. Very comfortable Very friendly staff both at reception and breakfast Breakfast was good - especially when you can take it on the terrace. Arrived at 0100 due to flight delay - this was no problem at all.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt of smoke. Pillows were dirty. You can hear everything in the hallways and get woken up every time someone shuts a door.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lives from the past glory of its name. I would not go back, there are many better options

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room.

    Great location, good WiFi, and our room was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    V comfy bed, good central location. Rated as four star, in my view closer to a high 3.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from plumbing and the corridor in the room 409

    Liked the cleanliness of the rooms and the service of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: