Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Nord-Pinus

Place du Forum, 13200 Arles, France

#21 of 42 hotels in Arles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a very minor thing but we did't need our towels changing every day.

    Coming from England it was a wonderful experience to have our breakfast laid out for us each morning in the square - it was the perfect way in which to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no taxis available at the train station, only phones to call. No other way of transportation . Had to walk to property. Pre arrange transfer & have a map with you. I was to the point of tears. No safe in the room. No coffee.

    Very well respected in the area. very pleasant, cozy. Good location, at the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff seemed overworked and put off by special needs and problems. The room was electrically challenged; not enough light to read by in bed at night; best outlet for charging devices was in the bathroom! Outside late night noise was a problem. (thankfully the AC was good so we didn't have to open the windows) The room had the smallest TV one had ever seen in a hotel room! We have stayed at a number of hotels in the central area of Arles that we have found to have all of the positive aspects and none of these negatives and at a lower price. They were however already fully booked at the time of our visit. We will look elsewhere before returning to this hotel.

    It has a great central location and is a physically lovely old French hotel. Excellent air-conditioning. (It was very hot during our stay) The room had a large bathroom and a great shower. Very pleasant common area and outside terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access

    This historical Hotel is wonderful, but the access by car is a nightmare, Unless you call before to be helped through a labyrinthe of narrow streets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom about the size of that of a 2*-3* hotel with no safety deposit box either in the room or at reception. No mini-bar either and the garage was 120 meters and three streets away and required a staff member to accompany one to open and close the garage: not convenient when there was no staff member available - we had to wait an hour on one occasion to retrieve something from the car, and on return the only other staff member had left the front desk and locked the door (at 8 pm). The accompanying staff member had to hammer on the door until a guest came and opened it! Not 4* service!

    Fantastic ambiance in this historic hotel with unique artwork and photographs. Super and large(ish) modern bathroom. Location absolutely in the very centre of Arles: one of two hotels in this location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking: some noted that parking is an adventure. Truth is parking is in the garage near hotel, hotel is in the pedestrian area... you need to call the hotel for them to open electronic barrier to drive in. Out of 4 nights we stayed there only once it worked, all the other times we had to tailgate other cars. Which is not safe, caused unnecessary stress and loss of 30 minutes everyday. Also they insist that you have to leave your keys inside the car while it parked. Room: we got rooms 6 and 7, which are on on the first floor facing small side street. Room hardly had any daylight, lighting was non- existent, dark grey walls did not help so coming back to small dark was very unpleasant and not what you expect for the price. I ask to move to a different room and we got room 4, which was so much better. I had to pay extra for an upgrade ( which is strange to see as out of 30+ rooms in the hotel only 3 were occupied) but in any case it worth extra money.

    Staff are very friendly and trying to help as much as they can. Location is very central and good for pedestrians.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy as the whole market square before the hotel was packed with people eating paella and loud music up to 4 am, as our stay happended when there was also the ferias of Arles. Nobody had warned us about this festive bull fight weekend and the consequences. Difficult to sleep and get a good rest. Full priced for what you get!!

    Nice big rooms with modernised bath rooms. One day housecleaing forgot to clean our room. Upon raising the issue this was quickly fixed and we were offered a drink during the wait.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the hotel was more or less empty. We did see one family having breakfast one day but no one else. We never saw anyone in the bar. So we didn't get the atmosphere we had hoped for. The hotel was clearly closing down for the winter so there was only a skeleton staff and no food except breakfast. We noticed that all rooms except our level - Deluxe plus - were considerably reduced for this out of season period. So we were irked to put it mildly when we got our bill Euros 1329 for 3 nights There was no one around we could take this up with. Shame it ended up being such poor value.

    We liked that look of the hotel our light and airy studio room and we liked being in the centre of the old part of Arles. The lady on the front desk was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn't we like? :). It was old and historical and we loved it ! The staff was exceptional and helpful. Our room was perfect with a view of Van Gogh's cafe adjacent to it and we could walk everywhere in Arles. Fabulous! We recommend it highly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the square can be a problem if you want to sleep before about midnight.

    Freshly squeezed orange juice. Lots of charm. As a non-French speaker the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very welcoming or friendly - it would take so little to make this a more positive stay. The lighting in the rooms is quite dim, fine for one night.

    A character hotel on a lovely square -painted by Van Gogh. Very stylish room. Reserve your parking space in advance otherwise bit of a nightmare. Loved Arles.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfectly located hotel with distinctive style and character. Staff helpful and knowledgeable. How many other hotels have a piece of Roman ruin built into the front?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two types of luxury hotels: those that feature superlative amenities and those that, through a combination of long-standing fame, elegance, tasteful decor and attentive staff, achieve to keep history alive within their walls. The Grand Hôtel Nord-Pinus belongs to the latter, in my view more exclusive category - because one can only build an expensive hotel; making it iconic requires decades of patient nurturing. Admittedly, this historic grace comes at a cost: no spa, no pool, no fitness center, no beauty salon, a rather quirky car park and a somewhat noisy environment owing to the hotel's dominant position over Arles' vibrant place du Forum. In the same vein, bathroom lighting and fixtures could be upgraded and tea kettles or espresso machines included in room facilities. But in all honesty, such considerations pale in light of the hotel's incomparable atmosphere, tasteful furnishings, as well as its friendly, considerate and tactful staff. Staying in the sprawling penthouse apartment conveyed the sensation of a summer holiday aboard a stately, if less than supermodern, yacht moored in the port of Saint-Tropez: the crowd and bustle are right outside, within reach, yet one can keep it all at bay any time by retreating into a vast oasis of privacy, taste, and comfort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the deluxe / quadruple room on booking.com - and had it confirmed - but on calling the hotel to arrange parking found this room had already been booked 'directly' by an existing guest. Although surprised by this - a first when using booking.com for us - we were re-allocated to two doubles without drama, and at reduced cost.

    Although not for the 'picky' traveller - the experience of driving/finding/parking at the hotel alone is nerve wracking - once ensconced you will be delighted by extremely welcoming and friendly staff, authentic atmosphere, and the location - perfectly placed for exploring Arles.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not great value for money - the staff is a bit arrogant, no safe box, lift does not work, rooms a bit noisy

    It has great character and glorious bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small (too small to walk around the bed) and dark (too dark to read). The breakfast (20€) was a piece of bread, a small jar of jam, coffee, and juice (like other hotels, just FAR less.)

    The decor was beautiful, and the manager was very helpful. The hotel is located on the Rue du Forum, and is in the heart of a beautiful square

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a car, don't believe GPS nor google map. The best way is 1) parking near 2) walk to the hotel 3) receive map and instruction.

    The location itself. I stayed a big room, where Napolen III stayed. It has a balcony. Room itself was so so.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I asked for a local map, what I got was a B&W photocopy of a tourist map! It never happened before for all the hotels I went. Breakfast was extremely expensive comparing the price we paid and the food we got.

    Location is very good indeed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in my room was abysmal - impossible to read or apply make-up! Only one mirror - high on the wall over the wash-basin, too small and badly lit. Hideous wardrobe - looked like a shipping crate that had been accidentally left there. Car-parking arrangements complicated and not secure.

    "Epoque" restoration very good, particularly in public areas

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly & helpful, beautiful imposing traditional hotel positioned in the heart of Arles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of. the staff unpleasant and patronizing.

    Center of town. Lively atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Nord-Pinus is entirely unique. Full of character, amazing retro furniture and a great history to the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel style and ambience. Big bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Charactet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit gloomy lighting wise. Would have expected international TV channels in light of pricing.

    Traditional French style hotel but overly priced.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location but too noisy because of it. Didn't get to sleep until 2:30am because of late night drinking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, nice decoration

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all fine. This is a hotel with character

    Eating breakfast outside the hotel on the Place du Forum was a memorable experience

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the bathroom did not work and for the price the breakfast should have been included

    We went for the ambience and the history of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is perfect! The staff went above and beyond. They were amazing!!!!! The food was excellent! Could not be happier with this hotel!!! Highly recommend it :)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is in a popular highly trafficked square therefore noisy for Hotel guests.

    The staff was caring and responsive. Hotel had a great charm and the deluxe rooms are elegant and large.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is good in that it is central - though difficult to drive to through very narrow roads - but the main issue was how noisy it was at night. Not the hotels fault - just a result of its location.

    The style and comfort of this hotel but especially the staff - they were so friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very noisy until late and very, very early in the morning the cleaners move in and makes a huge noise. The was no luggage rack and no mirror in the room which is very poor for a four star hotel.

    The location was good

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving there is a nightmare in a maze of narrow, winding one-way streets. Basic breakfast is 18€ and has to be ordered the day before.

    Hotel has part of the forum within its structure. Lots of cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. All the key tourist sites within 10 minutes walk.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money breakfast poor air conditioning not functioning properly

    Location the welcome help with baggage & parking. Evan fetched the car in the rain for us all staff(ladies) where very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was over-priced and over-rated: it has none of the amenities or comfort one should expect from a four-star hotel. The lack of a safety deposit box was a particular inconvenience. The hotel trades on past glory and its location in the throbbing Place du Forum. Although we requested a room away from the square, we did not anticipate noise from the kitchen, the alley behind the hotel, and the seemingly endless supply of bottles being dumped till 2:00 a.m. Sleep was further undermined by an uncomfortable bed, whose lumpy mattress gave me a lingering backache, and by the lack of shutters to block out the early-morning sun. Meals were over-priced: we ate better at other restaurants on the square. We had to resist pressure every day from pushy staff to eat breakfast and dinner in their restaurant.

    The location - though that generated problems of noise.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's to expensive don't decerve this price level compare with other 4 star hotels. No safe no minibar and the price for the breakfast is highly exaggerated;. This I agree with other guest.

    Nice old cosy typical French hotel with nice friendly staff. Location perfect , close to everything .

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Internet did not work or have a very poor comnection most of the time. If you are planning to work and need to send and receive emails or files choose another location. They don't have hair conditioner, and the hairdryer is bad.

    My room was on the second floor and had a nice open view, but the rooms of my colleagues in the first floor looked to a small street with other windows far too close. Air conditioning was great wihich is not a minor detail considering that the temperature was 33 celsius degrees.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved this hotel. The location is outstanding and the decor is really quirky but very comfortable. It is an old hotel but full of character. Our room had a balcony that opened over the square. It was low season with few guests so the bar and the facilities were not lively.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to drive to. The room was large but lacking amenities like a refrigerator or safe. Needed to walk down 2 steps to get to the bathroom, a safety issue.

    Good location nice staff large room

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very charming hotel located in old part of Arles at the nice square. Extremely helpful staff - happy to suggest restaurant, local attractions, asking how everything was going. Very enjoyable stay!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of all the historical sites, and train and bus stations. It has an interesting history which is reflected in the decor. Our room was spacious, well equipped and comfortable. A variety of cafes and restaurants are nearby.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionists during the day should be replaced by friendly people. Looking at the price at what we booked, they said. Whats that kind of prices! Booking.com charges us x%. As if that's my fault.

    Nicely decorated with much taste

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved our room and the kindness of the staff and the owner, Anne. This is very much a place of understated elegance, true comfort and artistic history. It was beyond a pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is very hard to find this hotel with GPS, and impossible to rich with a car The staff is not friendly and not helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disorganised breakfast arrangement

    Uniqueness and quirky nature

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening food

    Centre of town

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    DO NOT TRY TO DRIVE A RENTAL CAR TO THIS HOTEL. Arles town center is not car friendly and many of the streets are basically impassable

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was comfortable and bathroom spacious but bedroom itself a little small for the price charged and the photos on the internet

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have be3n included.....but no great problemm

    Great location, welcong friendly efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to drive to. Can be noisy at night.

    Excellent location and plenty of character. Hard working and enthusiastic staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Best hotel in Arles, very stylish, central location. We had the 2 room apartment which has stunning views over the main square. Was sad to leave.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the room (l'appartement), the pop up restaurant associated with the hotel the staff the atmosphere of this hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there is only one bath room in the two rooms apartment which is not conveninent to use

    nice hotel staff

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arles is a beautiful town full of atmosphere and the hotel also

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet, discreet hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    driving old town

    took car straight to garage

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very classy.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    outside noise, no mirror in bedroom Bedroom chairs uncomfortable. Lack of storage No fridge Cost of breakfast

    location good, excellent shower

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: