Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hôtel 4 stars

28, rue Carnot, 86000 Poitiers, France

#8 of 23 hotels in Poitiers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1228 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.5
    Secure car park, central location, lots of nearby restaurants
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 star bath towels in a 4 star hotel. Shortage of toilet rolls. A builders blunder in the room, see picture

    Secure car park, central location, lots of nearby restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely. Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The staff were very friendly. Parking was easy and nice restaurants to choose from and all really close. Location was excellent. Right in the centre of town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    SEE abov e WONDERFUL STAFF, amasingly, kind ,helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Very personal, family very helpful, friendly. second visit so were upgraded to a suite. views from rooms , huge windows with fabulous shutters . In April room lit up in the morning like an operating theatre soooooooooo bright. yes we loved everything, so convenient for restuarants , walking around, .Lovely rooms to relax in. We will be back and would recommend to everyone. Perhaps the BEST Western we have been in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Would defindefinitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff could of been friendlier, and more welcoming, when checking in.Bar wasn't opened on the days when it said it was.

    The room was comfortable and clean.Relaxing and good for chilling out in.The setting was good for shops and bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Nicely surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for our 1 night stay in Poitiers!

    Staff super nice and location excellent. Toom clean, comfortable and had rverything we needed - fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. A lovely surprise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast typically expensive and not all that interesting or fresh.

    Room was spacious and bed really comfortable. Quiet. Staff were very pleasant.. Great location in the center of town...tons of restaurants and bars right outside the hotel entry and easy walking distance to many historic sites. Good directions to the hotel on their website.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Good but for parking instructions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Instructions on Booking form said look for hotel de ville parking when actual parking was below hotel. Should be clear that hotel has own parking within 10 meters of public parking.

    Location , room & breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover on way back to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Excellent location on edge of pedestrian area. Lots of bars, restaurants within walking distance. Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable be, tea, coffee making facilities and fridge in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    For able bodied only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the hotel from the car park was very difficult. I cannot climb stairs due to knee injury. There is no disabled access except via the car ramp. The receptionist was disinterested and offered no help. Thankfully I was not travelling alone. The foyer was nice but the room we had was In need of renovation. We felt that the staff could use a refresher course in customer service.

    The location. Lots of life, bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Right in the centre of town yet with garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the centre of town yet with garage parking. Our dog was welcome. Any number of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes’ walk. Great location, very nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.3
    Poor customer service and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    complicated parking procedure. Staff unhelpful. Given a key to an occupied room! No air con in children’s room. Broken in adult room. Temp mid-30s. Dirty bathroom.

    Good location for exploring. Secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Shambles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find and park. Didn't have the second room we had booked on arrival. Sat and waited for 2 hours whilst they sorted it out (until half past 11 at night, with children.) They didn't seem to know who was staying in what room and no paperwork for us. Nearly left the hotel.

    buzzy town surrounding the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One rude French lady on reception for checkin, room not ready until 2 hours after check in time. 1 of our rooms the window shutters we broken in the closed position. No apologies. Later a helpful French man on reception and a good lady the following morning. Bathrooms old and tired.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Great for a shory stayover or Business trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower facitilities needed modernisation but nothing too drastic.

    Breakfast was good and friendly and the location for a tour of Poitiers is excellent. Very good underground parking cenrtrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    We were there for a wedding in a nearby chateau, so great location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground parking, the car park is shared and the hotel only have about 10 of those, if you have a average sized or larger car it's impossible to get into some the spaces. !

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Please take a little more trouble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONE sachet of coffee and ONE cup in a double room? Come on ... spending another euro or two on the 'facilities' would make a world of differnce to customer satisfaction. Also why advertise that the rooms are ready for occupation at 3 o'clock when you don't let guests in until 4?

    Fantastic location. Good value. Comfortable and spacious. A bath!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Great overnight stop. Had everything you needed and was very comfortable and central
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking spaces quite small for a large car but managed to fit.

    Large suite for family of 4. Located right on n the centre close to lots of restaurants and a supermarket. Secure parking onsite under the hotel. Staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were a bit grumpy and non-communicative.

    Up to usual Best Western standard - excellent location, and being able to park at the hotel was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great service in a terrific location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    French pillows, as usual, were not of good quality. But that would not stop us using this hotel for future visits to Poitiers.

    We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours early just to check out the parking situation and Naomi in reception let us into our room as it was almost ready. It was very kind and saved us hanging around waiting. The hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Although really busy outside the hotel, it was very quiet inside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Location and room size, was very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic glasses, no English tea or milk, very limited services as being updated but that wasn’t pointed out on booking

    Location and room size, was very quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Great City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 'group hotel'

    Very central location. Use sat nav to guide you in (Centre of the old city). We parked in the Hotel de Ville car park (Immediately adjacent to the hotel - 5.2 euros for overnight stay)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our stay location fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and tired we found climbing into bath for a shower quite dangerous however it was clean and tidy at all times

    The location was first class staff helpful and friendly an excellent place to stay for your visit to Poitiers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing there was building work starting when we booked , however we plan to visit again in September

    Everything except the noise From building works the first two mornings at 8 am

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is very dark and grim. Access to the hotel is up a steep, narrow staircase - no lift. Room needs updating.

    Right in the centre of Poitiers with secure underground car parking. Comfy bed. Good breakfast, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    very good hotel and position and excellent staff, friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exiting garage faulty electronic door but receptionist assisted and we were able to depart.

    Position of hotel on the main avenue excellent for walking and shopping during stay.the bed was very comfy - breakfast was good but bread selection not good for toast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is set back through an archway off the pedestrianised street and has a general air of tiredness about it - it should also be made much clearer that there is only one road (Rue de la Tranchee) which allows you to get a car to the hotel.

    The location is excellent (just outside the traffic free zone and within easy walking distance of most sights) and it is close to one good (Bistro Au Boucher) and one excellent (Vingelique) restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay began with the delightful Octavius at reception. Equipped with all the local knowledge and recommendations we set off with a smile on our faces Comfortable room with very good bed and pillow Perfect, quiet location in the old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Parking and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ill informed staff regarding city centre closure on may 27th from 7.00am .we had to leave before 6,60 am to get out off city or would have had to wait until 12.30 pm

    Parking and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was good but hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage parking very restricted room had no air conditioning so was too hot especially as travelling with an animal.

    Location was good but hard to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with upgrading.

    Hotel location is very good, with car park, though spaces are very tight if you have a larger car! Lots of restaurants and bars to chose from in location. Bedroom was spacious, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal tour hotel. It was an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel did not have a bar.

    Ideal location. Easy to find and access with a vehicle. Secure parking available. But then a short pedestrianised walk to town square. Staff very knowledgeable about city and activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    We used this as an overnight stop enroute to Portugal. Served its purpose but we wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated interior decor and furniture. Smell of damp in the lift. Basic bathroom with paint peeling from the ceiling.

    Quiet central location. Comfortable bed. Front desk staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Octavian the front desk clerk was very helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were terrible, bed’s not comfortable, toilet smells, Aircon a bit noisy.

    Octavian the front desk clerk was very helpful and very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff made me feel comfortable and welcome and really took care, felt at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower..

    All he staff where exceedingly professional, friendly and helpful , from the reception, to the lady cleaning the rooms, and a special wonderful breakfast hostess!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Very well located with on site parking . Excelled location with many bars & eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room & tiny bathroom. Everything very dated . Needs a revamp .

    Both reception staff & Breakfast staff were very helpful as we spoke very little French .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent selection for breakfast very varied.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent selection for breakfast very varied. This is a very central location, and takes a while to find within very narrow streets, fantastic if that is what you want but not so good for an overnight stop when making a long journey down the A10 motorway

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Was a better stay last year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room compared to last years booking. Only one coffee sachet each (x2), one milk for a double room is extremely poor considering the status of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Served its purpose as an overnight, good location for local eateries, wouldn't stay again.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night duty receptionist not very welcoming and inefficient - did not activate our key. Parking inconvenient and not explained. Very basic breakfast.

    Spacious and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Beds and sheets are comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could be a bit more user friendly, not having to login every time computer sleeps. Since most of the staff, including some of the maids, speaks English, tells that the hotel must have a large English speaking clientele. At least one English TV channel would be nice.

    Beds and sheets are comfortable. Proximity to shopping and amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Location, location, location +
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is "tired". There is a large dreary bar/breakfast area on the first floor but the breakfast unimaginative and like the whole hotel needs a makeover. We went to a nearby cafe instead.

    Location, location, location + secure underground parking (forget the free public parking next door as there was a queue for that when we arrived on Saturday evening). The room pricing is about right and the bed was comfortable. Kettle in the room but no tea - only instant coffee The Bistrot du Boucher directly opposite the hotel is outstanding (need to book)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    City stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room deco has an "old" feel and needs a revamp. The toilet furniture showed the signs of time and had some noticeable damages. Overall cleanliness of room was not 4 stars (e.g. dust under additional bed and some hairs in bath tub...). Breakfast was appalling...a small boutique hotel breakfast served in a 4 star hotel... very little variety, food on table looks straight out of the fridge. And it was dirty, understaffed, no one cleaned up dirty tables, cereals and food on the floor... Breakfast very expensive for services rendered.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed. Parking is easy to access despite no direct lift to hotel. Wonderful location right next to city center. Although in need of modernization and cleanup the hotel is fine for a quick city visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Adequate accommodation well located with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very slow WiFi. No lift from carpark. Shower over bath. Room was clean but quite stuffy.

    Central location with paid parking. Complimentary coffee/tea making facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A good hotel in a good location, with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was closed at weekends, but it's hard to see how they could justify opening it, with just a few non-business travelers staying.

    A good hotel in a good location, with parking. Breakfast was exceptionally good. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable accommodation but access not brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing the car park was like going into a dungeon and the steps out are not for the less nimble of us. No evening meal.

    Adequate hotel with a good breakfast, though the car park was a trial ! Though there was no evening meal, there are plenty of Bistros about.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Okay, but definitely not worthy of the four stars the hotel has been given
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk attender didn't spreak French or English very well. Told us we didn't have reserved a parking spot (there were very few spaces to park in the hotel), while we did have mentioned we wanted a spot while booking through Booking.com. In the end we did get our space in the parking garage of the hotel, after we were asked first to park in a public garage, and I mentioned I had my car full of luggage, which we didn't want to take into the room for one night.

    Big room, clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair, we can't comment on the rest of the hotel as we went out for the evening and didn't partake of breakfast. The only slight thing I could comment on was the slightly fusty smell in the corridor to our room - minor comment.

    Our room was very comfortable and of a good size. The bed perfect for us, we slept really well, with the terrace door ajar as AC was not required (we tested it out to find it was quiet though). Our room had a handy roof terrace, were we fed our dog, over looking the surrounding buildings but not overlooked. We would have sat out there with our tea if the weather had been warmer! Staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting somewhere to walk our dog whilst they finished making up our room. There were very welcome tea and coffee making facilities in the room and further stocks were available at reception. Underground parking was good at a small cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if the hotel is to blame but I asked for a quiet room, got one at the back,OK,but during the night there was an awful high pitched whistle from outside which stopped us sleeping,and as it was hot the only way to remedy was with the a.cond. But sleeping with the a. con. is really unhealthy,and for us, uncomfortable.As I say, may not be hotel' s fault,but very annoying.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Bizarre attitude to customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were told our booked private parking had been used by other people, use public car park up the road - that's it! On protesting, we were told ok then go and try and park see how you get on. Underground carpark is big but spaces are tiny. We found two spaces together, another driver was wandering round looking for a space. On going into the room, we found the shower panel leaning on the wall by the entrance! Told by strange young man on reception who said we would not be whipped for breaking it or making a mess as they were waiting for it to be repaired! Strange lot. We were booked in for the return leg but but could not face the drive into centre ville and all the hassle so went to excellent hotel near Futuroscope.

    Good location for town centre but it's not really much of a town centre for tourists. We used it as a stopover. Comfortable bed, quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    The best thing in the hotel is the breakfast, the lady there...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not know that you need to call before you arrive to make Reservation for the parking. I arrived late at night and I had to stop some where and walk to the hotel, I think this is not good for such 4 stars hotel

    The best thing in the hotel is the breakfast, the lady there took care of us and she was over nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location. Really bad WIFI. Average the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi does not work. They offer it, but it is all the time down. I told them i had tried many times to connect without success and the woman at the reception answered "yes, i know..." and that was all. The parking is really bad. Super small places to park and you pay 7 euros/day The room is ok. But the bathroom is two stars instead of four. (I was in room 310) Breakfast is acceptable, but no way value is for 12.50€. The whole experience is three starts hotel, including location, the extra star is invisible. I paid 79 for the room, 25€ for the breakfast (2 people) and 7 for the parking. In total 113€ for one night two people. The fair price for the services the hotel provide should be, in my opinion, close to 90. It is not a hotel of 113€.

    Location is good Service is nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    A perfect city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking! Would have been good to have it highlighted that parking was available but needed to be prebooked.

    Location right in the centre of this fabulous city. Super welcoming staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall really loved my stay in this hotel and will definitely return next year👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pre reserved car park but no space on arrival. Not a big problem though as there is a public car park next door and it was perfect. Preference for not having toilet separate to bathroom.

    The location was perfect. We will stay longer next time. Hotel very nice and clean. Bed really comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.2
    Poor staff, poor facilities, good location, better value to be found in Poitiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift stank of damp. The room wasn't particularly clean, lots of hairs on the bedsheets, no shower gel in the dispensers, no coffee sachets, one teabag. The towels were thin and scratchy. Upon checking out staff found it funny that so many things were wrong with hotel. Wouldn't recommend at all.

    Location was the best thing about this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Interesting town; go meet the elephant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not all that communicative and did not offer help. Parking was close buy but we did need directions to get there.

    Good location to stroll around the attractions and the shops. Nice bistro restaurant very close Le Cigale you should book.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Great location, but old and dirty
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the room, was not as clean, neither the fact that they has no parking spot for me eventhough i booked it and i had to pay an extra for the public parking near the hotek

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Great central location with good cheap parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar was closed. Air conditioning didn't seem to work.

    Breakfast was particularly good - with some excellent homemade local cakes, and local apple juice. Perfect location in centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent central location for a stay in Poitiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, this was an ideal stay.

    When we checked in, the receptionist was friendly and extremely helpful. He dealt very well with our additional requests and found secure overnight storage onsite for our bikes. The room was fine, and as an added bonus it had a little balcony where we could sit out and drink a glass of wine. The location was perfect: within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and major sights (cathedral, market square etc).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location in Poitiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception was very rude. Breakfast was also a downside for us as the whole service was very hectic. Disappointing.

    The location and Octavian on reception - he was so helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in Poitiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little confusing. We reserved a parking space with our booking however from the info sent to us thought we were supposed to park in the "parking hotel centre ville". However after entering the exceptionally busy car park, realising we couldn't our car up the ramp (height restriction of 1.9m - our car had a roof box. It is also a very tight car park if you have a large car) we had to leave the car park and do a loop around town in order to get into the hotel car park which is literally right next to the one we were in but has a very tiny sign. This too is also a very tight car park with a height restriction. So if you're travelling further south on hols - please confirm heights etc with the hotel. Best western in your instructions you need to make it clear that the hotel car park is immediately before the other one and has a white garage door - look out for the small sign !

    Booked a suite for 2 adults and one child. The double bed was huge and very comfy. Nice to have opening windows with shutters AND air con. Room was a good temperature on arrival also quiet so we could sleep despite being in the centre of town. Staff very lovely, polite and helpful. Shame we couldn't stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.8
    I won't be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Car parking is an absolute nightmare. We reserved a space but on arrival saw that only two spaces were available, neither of which we could park in (as other guests had parked over the bays -they're small-). The receptionist was apologetic but said there was nothing he could do as they don't record number plates and couldn't ask guests to move their cars. He suggested we park in the public car park - which wasn't an option for us as we were fully loaded and wanted a private car park. ...Super frustrating, given that we picked this hotel as a stopover from our drive back from Spain and were tired and in need of our beds • the room was dirty (hairs in the shower, on arrival) with housekeeping not cleaning it until gone 2:30pm and doing a rushed job. • Air-con was poor • Shower was dismal - barely any power • Majority of the receptionists were rude and dismissive (apart from one guy, Octavio(?) who was superb

    The location is superb - very easy to get to and in the centre of town, making it great to wander around to see everything. ...The restaurants directly next to and around the hotel are great. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel Best Western Poitiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one little thing, it must have been a 'dog friendly' Hotel. Found this a bit strange...a dog and owner checking in! Only heard a little bit of barking. don't get me wrong I love dogs! All good other than that.

    Great Hotel, so close to everything. Very clean city. Hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful and could speak English! Room was spacious, very clean, bathroom nice, had bar fridge and separate toilet...great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't drink the cold water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two fish in the cold water system and took photos. We took the fish in a cup to the hotel management. We have not yet had a reply and therefore are review reflects what we found.

    The hotel is typical best western but the bedroom was a good size and well presented

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little bit cramped and, unlike the bedroom, was showing looking a little bit worn. Perfectly adequate, though.

    Great central location. Tastefully furnished bedrooms. A little thing, but appreciated the separate bathroom and toilet! Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent base for visiting a culturally historic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking was full on our arrival. Luckily there was another lot right next door for a reasonable rate.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk staff and Marie the restaurant hostess at the buffet breakfast who was exceptionally accommodating and pleasant making two Americans feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent with local specialties and a very good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent for an overnight stop over.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion we couldn't open window for air as there was a very noisy air conditioning machine but compensated by giving us a discount on the parking.

    Fantastic location and parking and accepted the dog without any subsidy. Very good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place and super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit tired looking and the toilet too small and took ages for the tank to refill

    Beds were good, breakfast was OK, situation was excellent, and Poitiers was a massive pleasant surprise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Poitiers Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is starting to show its age. Lift is very small and slow. Separate w.c. very small (rooom 318) and those with long legs or impaired mobility would find this a challenge.

    Great central location and private garage for €7 is a huge plus (although space is tight for larger cars). Room size was good with very effective air conditioning and soundproofing. Private terrace was an unexpected benefit, although we did not use due to 36 degree heatwave. Lady who managed the breakfast operation was exceptionally helpful and attentive, and the choice of breakfast options was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Quality room In the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive

    Good sized comfy bed Excellent location Attentive staff - Chamber maid eager to assist with extra towels non slip mat and more coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    GOOQD VALUE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was well located in town and just a few minutes away from the main square and the Hotel de Ville. It was located to the rear of the Main Street. My room was large, quiet, well equipt, modern and clean and comfortable and with a big bathroom. Great breakfast and eggs cooked to order. Pleasant and professional staff. Good value for money. Will return and recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for our 1 night stopover on our way to the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 310 and couldn't have the window open as The noise from the generator was too loud.

    The location was perfect and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy roomy bed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had run out of croissants at breakfast and there was still an hour to go. Car parking is very tight - narrow spaces and big concrete pillars to negotiate.

    Very comfy roomy bed. Great location for central Poitiers. Very pet friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar on the first floor is a joke they had to open it for us then the barmaid started cleaning climbing all over the chairs with her shoes on knocking things over we walked out of the bar and refused to pay.

    It was near the centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, right next to Poitiers city centre, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space was a bit tight, but we already knew this as we had stayed at this hotel in the past.

    Excellent location, right next to Poitiers city centre, with a varied range of restaurants available near the hotel. Ideal property to explore the city on foot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small room. - Very small and old bathroom.

    - Nice although too classic decoration of the room. -Hotel conveniently located, easily reached by car thanks to the Reception's instructions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar closed all weekend! Breakfast not great. Decided to have breakfast not in the hotel second morning. Towels rather thin & not the quality for a superior room.

    Hotel near main square & close to restaurants & bars

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: