Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Terminus Reine 3 stars

5 Avenue de Charles de Gaulle, 52000 Chaumont, France

#7 of 8 hotels in Chaumont

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The landings were slightly gaudy, though entertaining.

    The room was a good size and the en-suite bathroom/toilet facilities were absolutely excellent! Our room was at the back of the hotel with no road or rail noise at all. The breakfast was worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, too narrow and too short. I’m only five foot six and my feet were over the edge. Both mattress and pillows were hard. No kettle or tea-making facilities in the room. There was a toilet smell due to poor ventilation, impossible to get rid of even with window open.

    Secure parking, friendly service, staff always available, historic atmosphere, spacious room with windows that opened fully. Displays of interesting posters for which Chaumont is famous. The hotel has character. We could relax in the bar.The Pizzeria was excellent. Good, central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not that bad, but there were two things we did not liked. We had a lot of fun with my boyfriend because we got there by chance (we were desperate looking for a not complet hotel) and we felt we were in the Grand Hotel Budapest (the movie) so it is a bit surrealisting, however we did not liked 1) The hotel is full of head of animals in the walls, we suposed the boss is a hunter. But there are animals from Africa, and is very sad to see it if you are animal-friendly person. The place where zou have breakfast, a very pour buffet breakfast, is just full of heads. 2) They nearly do not speak french. I went with my couple and he was hungry so he went to have dinner but I staied in the room to finish some work I needed to do. When he was already in the dessert I joined him to be together and talk, but did not want anything to eat. After 5 minutes a woman speaking zero english and everything in french kick me out.

    The room was clean and the bathroom, with a bath, was amazing to relax after a 8h ride with the car. The room was cold because the heater was not working but they just fixed right away, they were very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    workers begin to renovite next room at 8 oclock, impossible to sleep! no bred fir breckfest,girl who were in charge was not interestet to check food. at reception no english spoken girl.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about the many hunting trophies everywhere. Breakfast was overpriced but the coffee was nice. Didn't like the dark blue colour in the room and the shower was very small.

    Loved all the movie posters and the eclectic feel of the hotel. Bed was very comfortable. We slept well. We enjoyed an excellent pizza in the pizzeria in the cellar. Staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good room, good value and well situated by the station. Staff were polite and helpful. There was a great restaurant in town, The Tandem, genuine old style French cooking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong at all

    The staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. The hotel was quirky, full of a wide variety of art and stuffed animals. We loved the ambience! There was a choice of a beautiful restaurant or the pizzeria in the basement. We chose to eat in the pizzeria which was excellent ! Our room was basic but clean and provided us with everything we needed. The use of the hotel garage was a real plus. The hotel is near the beautiful centre of the village and views of the surrounding countryside. We only stayed one night but wish we had more time to spend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor , could do with some improvement in this area.

    Comfortable , clean and good value for a one night stay . Eclectic decor & restaurants are great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit outdated. Would give the room less than 3 stars.

    The brick oven pizza and calzone were excellent. The two restaurants were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had both head and foot boards and was way too short for me. I am 6ft 4in. On check out the receptionist attempted to over charge me despite the fact that I was able to show him the booking.com price via an e-mail on my i-pad. This took some 20 mins, and the attendance of two other members of staff, to resolve. All extremely annoying and, frankly, embarrassing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was O.K.

    Very good overnight hotel on your way to the south/east of France

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We stayed in the hotel on the way, it provided what was required: a good night sleep and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husbands bed was lumpy, not a good night sleep for him

    Restaurant available on a Sunday night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit basic outside communal areas

    Easy parking. Good pizzeria

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small shower.

    Fascinating decor in communal areas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of it

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and ensuite too small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent central location.good restaurant. ..we treated ourselves.good breakfast car parking.Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs major refurbishment, new carpet on stairs and rooms updating, bed looked awful in a box!

    Location, opposite station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    price is maximum price you could ask for a room.

    Good english speaking personnel. Old hotel with a fresh young face!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled to sigarettes which was,very poor, even the towels had a sigarette smell

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning - but it's a budget hotel

    We arrived late and could still get food - moreover the restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Clean comfortable room and good food and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not animal friendly! animal samples are many...it is unacceptable!!

    the situation is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms smelled of smoke, even though we booked non-smoking rooms.

    The pizzeria in the basement was excellent, good value and the food was lovely. Ideal for our group which included teenagers.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room basic, shower room tiny, loo paper back to Izal days! Reception staff personable but restaurant staff perfunctory. Breakfast not great.

    Good central location with garaging. Restaurant had nice varied menu. Food was pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    artsy corridors are too dark. Wifi struggled to cope with coachload of Chinese tourists.

    great staff, helpful directions, covered parking at the back. Larger than average rooms for this pricing.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff left us standing for several minutes while they talked to a friend. No air con(which is not unusual) but all others had a small fan for our use. The room was on a busy street,so could not leave the windows open at night. The carpets were dirty. WiFi poor(again not unusual)

    Size of room and bathroom. Bathroom was clean

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were modern in the seventies, not now. Very noisy rooms. Bed was horrible. Bathroom was small and very outdated.

    Staff at reception was friendly Near railway station

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We travel regularly from UK to family in Provence and the Grand Hotel Terminus Reine is our favoured half-way overnight location. We love the quirky, stunning visual impact of the reception and public areas. The silver-service restaurant provides excellent food presented with professional style.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Couple

    Room very old, bathroom not in good shape, not enough soap

    Staff, location

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable room. Staff very helpful. Convenient for catching my train in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is too dark in the main areas and needs to improve its lighting.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Garage for Moto's

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast service. Indifferent staff and poor selection for prices charged

    Fantastic evening meal/Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Welcoming and great location - right in heart of city.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small pokey room, hard bed, seen bigger bathrooms in a campervan.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    heavily overpriced for the quality of accommodation

    good location. Nothing else

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant service in evening of my arrival day (Sunday)

    Close proximity to train station

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dead animals in reception. Very dark corridors

    Central location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Grand Hôtel Terminus Reine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: