Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Hôtel Abbatiale Bénodet 3 stars

6, Avenue de l'Odet, 29950 Bénodet, France

#13 of 21 hotels in Bénodet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 743 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    super hotel in benodet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some grout in our particular bathroom could do with a bleach or renewing but everything else was spotless.

    The bed was super comfy, the view was wonderful, the staff were all great and the breakfast was FAB! a really lovely hotel in a fantastic position right near the water front. I would stay again if I was going to Benodet and will recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Grand Hôtel Abbatiale Bénodet good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, not a modern one but very pretty in front of the small port. Family room very big with one room for the kids and another room for us. Nice and big bathroom. Not tried breakfast spa and parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    OK overall, no real complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is supposed to be a smart 3-star, charging a top-end 3-star price. The exterior and the reception area are to top-end 3-star, but the room was 2-star standard, dated and basic. For €10 and a supposedly 3-star hotel, I would expect a better breakfast selection; at least some cooked / hot choices apart from toast and boiled eggs.

    OK overall, no real complaints. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced , most expensive hotel of our 2 weeks tour of France and the worse room imaginable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way over priced. Old fashioned bedroom, en suite had wallpaper covering a glass front door, broken toilet flush, paint splashed all over bathroom stool, hairdryer positioned so high up the wall it was almost ceiling height , shower curtain over the bath was far too long. Grubby old fashioned blue tiles . Read that management have started revamping some bathrooms but this wasn't evident in any of the rooms on our floor. No water or tea/coffee in rooms, we paid for a superior room and this is the least we would expect. Breakfast served cheap supermarket croissants, tinned fruit cocktail with fresh apple chopped in it. Sorry but that wasn't enough to fool anyone.

    Position on the harbour . and very helpful staff. Could be a wonderful hotel if the owners actually ploughed back some of the money they are charging its customers into upgrading .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff very kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The moquette, but i've seen that is widespread in France. To me is a problem because i'm allergic to dust mite. Anyway that's not the hotel's fault. I think that moquette should be removed as the hotel could be restructured.

    Staff very kind! Great position near to the sea!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Good budget hotel for a couple of nights in a pretty French town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a small room. There weren’t enough parking spaces.

    We stayed in one of the ‘cosy’ rooms on the 5th floor with a lovely view. The room was quite small and there were no tea/coffee/water etc but for the price and a couple of nights it was ok. Very friendly helpful staff who spoke good English. Parking was available but the car park got full very quickly. We weren’t going to book breakfast but it turned out there was nowhere else open nearby to go to so we did have breakfast at the hotel. It was a buffet and was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location by the port and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location by the port and beach. Rooms sizes were large enough ( we had 3 rooms ). Breakfast: large choice at very reasonable price. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Delighted ( all 7 members of our family) by our stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable,friendly but,disappointed by the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was 10 euros,but,there was no sliced bread for toast! You cannot toast baguettes!As many of the clients were English,some bacon/ other breakfast items should have been available.

    See above

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Loacation+private parking place = perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loacation+private parking place = perfect. VERY kind and professional staff, perfect breakfast, splending view to the sea, marvelous possibility to walk along the sea shore, quite place for the rest. Several restorants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar to speak of, nowhere to sit at night, no atmosphere in the hotel, the decor was very dated. Nowhere to have lunch or an evening meal. Only one member of staff was friendly and helpful.

    The maid service was very good. The location of the hotel was very central close to the beaches. The view from our bedroom window was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    A delightful and most unusual hotel in a converted ancient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Party walls between the rooms are a little thin. It was quite difficult to find but amazing once there

    A delightful and most unusual hotel in a converted ancient monastery buildings. The host was very helpful and spoke good English. We loved the ambiance there, the garden, the large meeting, dining area in the owner's house and the seclusion of the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    If You like authentity in landscape and food you have to visit Bretagne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The openeing hours in the afternoon are very limited , if you arrive 3 minutes afte 2 p.m. most of teh restaurants or creperies do not serve you any more which I found frustrating.

    The location is perfect for exploring the southern area of Bretagne if you have a car with you but You also can make long walking trails along the shore. The city of Quimper is really worth to visit and You can find perfect oister dishes and seefood restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.2
    not recomended, will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    too noisy, fishmonger shop outside window, waking us up every morning at 5.45. Toilet would not work properly, they had to repair it twice in three days. Breakfast was extortionate at 9 euro for basically a cup of coffee and quasant, as they had run out of ham two days running.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Location on the harbour front fabulous views across thr...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired but completely acceptable. Breakfast choice could have been bit more varied on a daily basis.

    Location on the harbour front fabulous views across thr estuary.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    I wouldn't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower with fungus, electric plug /screws of shower loose. Base of bed too small regarding size of mattrass . Breakfast poor in eating hall of the 60's. House and rooms need to be improved. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no drawers in the room, just a small walk in wardrobe. It didn't matter really - we just left everything out on the surfaces. There are no facilities at the hotel apart from breakfast - but then we knew that before we left.

    Great hotel - excellent location - right in the heart of the daytime activities but quiet at night. Staff were wonderful - so friendly and spoke excellent English. Very clean. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Carpet, carpet on corridors, corridors looks so so. Public area not so nice. Bathrooms not comfortable, need remodeling Building across street ( air conditioning) very noisy.

    Size of room, Bed v. comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Bleak hotel in a nice region of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was +/- ok; the restaurant however had a very dull atmosphere (incredible in France in these days!) Our room was far too small for a 3 star hotel (seemed we had the smallest room of the whole hotel). No wardrobe; only a few shelfs. Space between wall and bed was too narrow to roll a travel bag in between. Last but not least: measering 80 by 90 cm our window was the smallest we ever saw in a hotel...

    Location was very good. Staff was polite and always ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    YGWYPF
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No drinks making facility in the room, the drains were a little whiffy too! The whole hotel in in need of some updating, which I understand is about to happen?

    Unhurried Buffet Bfast, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Older but Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows that face the river are also on the street, and the street and restaurant noise (exhaust fans and workers) can be somewhat noisy until fairly late.

    As noted in other reviews, the hotel is a little dated, but was quite comfortable and clean. We had lovely views of the river (we received an upgrade). The hotel is well-located on the "port" with river-beaches nearby. Ocean beaches are a 10 minute walk away. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Fairly good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent locaion, simple but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooling: no a/c ,no fan offered, record temperature. Previous night a fan was provided at another hotel

    Hotel is fairly simple but adequately equipped. Bed comfortable, view superb, parking spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Much to improve on.However, we had an enjoyable/affordable few days in much comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Property is very dated/tired in appearance,although kept extremely clean. Bathroom in poor condition and requires complete refurbishment.

    Location great. Breakfast good value with plenty of choiceat 8 euro per person. Room had an excellent view of the River estuary below, and across to St.Marine. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a King sized double bed. Staff were at all times helpful/friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lovely room with a beautiful view bed very comfy staff very helpful and friendly Great resturants Great boat trip with lunch which was well worth the money the guide was very informative great area to explore and great walks Breakfast was good but maybe some bread for toast and some boiled eggs for those who don't always want continental although there was plenty of choice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed updating if only fresh paint

    The Hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance to everything that you could want. The staff were very friendly, we were taken to our room by the receptionist which was a nice touch. The hotel is a bit dated could do with a bit of TLC but very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stay really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with view of the estuary and comfortable very large bed. We had half board and whilst there is no evening meal in the hotel the arrangement with the restaurant in front of the hotel which has panoramic views of the estuary is really good. Breakfast in the hotel was also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No answer I like all

    I like the stuff they talking very nicely n very kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    The interior is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the property looks tired.

    The interior is very good. We were very pleased.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find fault with this hotel

    Staff were fantastic. Good parking. Excellent position. Breakfast was varied, fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    I like the location, cleanliness and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location, cleanliness and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Bénodet is an ideal location in which to base a holiday. Historic towns, islands, beaches at hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent friendly and obliging staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, in all areas, excellent. Would heartily recommend, staff especially professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con & tiny shower

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect long weekend break - couldn’t ask for better. Benodet is heaven on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like - all good

    Plenty to choose from

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Our Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head would not stay up so had to hold the shower head

    All very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Extremely nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location,lvely views

    Staff where very pleasant an helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have a restaurant where we could eat in the evening.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Easy private parking, pleasant view from the room, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room "Cosy" with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy private parking, pleasant view from the room, well located for local riverside and sea front walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable relaxing autumn break, would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Fabuous view. Very comfortale bed wider than we expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pen Duick

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beverage facility in bedroom

    Brilliant choice of breakfeast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Needs more crepes places around only one that we can find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more crepes places around only one that we can find and was always full

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The disco outside stopped at 5am! Very noisy.

    Great bed and bathroom..really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.5
    Soulless...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and awful, could hear the neighbors!

    Really clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient location and very helpful staff but not a 3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioned rooms and no English channels on the TVs.

    Everything. A very good 2* hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Verry good hotel, nice people (staff)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airco on our room.

    Verry good hotel, nice people (staff)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room I was given had a poor view

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and pleasant hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lateral River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room with lovely view. Excellent breakfast. Good private parking. very good evening meal at partner restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    Great location, dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room Tired decor Poor room for price

    Location Good view from room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.5
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The plumbing was quite noisy. The toiletries were not up to much; 2 sachets of combined shower gel/shampoo a day for 2 of us. This is not what we would expect from a 3 star hotel. The room was a little chilly and the radiator was turned off and could not be turned on. Decor showing it's age.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially recommending a restaurant off the beaten track which turned out to be very good. Location was great and parking was free as was the WiFi (access a little slow and initial log on a bit convoluted). We were also upgraded to a room with a view for free as the hotel was not that busy. Would stay again as price and location good.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.3
    The position of the hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were hard and lumpy.

    The position of the hotel was very good. There was an excellent choice for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.3
    We were upgraded to a wonderful room with view of the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were upgraded to a wonderful room with view of the bay. Staff were extremely friendly.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Le Grand Hôtel Abbatiale Bénodet traveller photo gallery