Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Bellevue - Grand Place 4 stars

5, rue Jean Roisin, 59000 Lille, France

#17 of 53 hotels in Lille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1172 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Didn't feel like a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lacked a few items, including a trashcan, as if it was not finished. There is no view in the siderooms, which is disappointing for such a hotel. Check-in couldn't be done until quite late in the day.

    Staff is welcoming. The room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Superb Location and Amazing staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dust in the air because of the ongoing renovation can really bother those with breathing problems big time and booking.com failed to give us this information before hand.

    The hotel is very nice except that currently it's undergoing renovation so a bit dusty and unkept. The hotel people were courteous enough to give us a complimentary upgrade. The room was pretty spacious and so was the bathroom. One of the staff members, Anthony (hope I didn't get his name wrong) is a gem and surely an asset for the hotel. Will stay here again next time. The location is FANTASTIC.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    stuff are really kind and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's some decoration going on when I lived. The environment doesn't look quite satisfying. Breakfast choices are quite limited.

    stuff are really kind and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    That view of Grand Place was everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hope they have those wobbly water taps and shower doors fixed and get the air conditioning and water running as soon as the renovation is over. It would not hurt to warn the guests at booking that they might experience some inconveniences due to that though

    That view of Grand Place was everything... The decor is very stylish and will take you back in time to the days it had just opened as you're making your way through the corridors. Book a room with a view for a romantic trip... and enjoy the authentic artwork on the walls as you're scrunching your croissant in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in the middle of building works (June 2018) and should not have been open at all. The place was extremely dusty and dirty, and badly in need of repair in the rooms and in the main areas. The lift was very slow and there were no toilets on the ground floor.

    The view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been staying there since the nineties and love the place. It is now looking a bit worn out although some rooms are being renovated and it looks messy at the current time.

    The rooms are larger than Parisian Hotels of the same caliber. Rooms overlooking the Grand Place add a lot to the atmosphere, especially at night. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Central hotel , but tired, with poor facilities. Maybe better when the builders move out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not informed that the builders were extensively renovating half the hotel. Would not have booked had we known. Manager told us that we could not have been informed as we had used Booking.com to book. Air conditioner did not work and room very humid. Shower seal broken. Breakfast very average for 16 euros each. Hotel claimed to be 4 star, but was 3 at most.

    Friendly staff. Central location. Quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good service, clean, central location, met all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was that rooms would benefit from some slight modernisation.

    Good service, clean, central location, met all expectations. An enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Would not hesitate to reccommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the shower over the bath took some getting used to as did stepping in and out of a deep bath.

    Location of the Hotel was perfect for us and the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was spacious enough for our needs but the bathroom/toilet facilities were rather cramped which was disappointing. The bed was large and comfortable and appreciated after a busy day. As we requested a room on a lower floor a view was of no consequence for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Do not use whilst renovations are on. They will end in September
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was having renovations so we had water cuts with no ability to flush the toilet. TV was cut off twice. Either you close the hotel and do the renovations or advise customers that renovations are in progress and prices are vastly reduced. Not both! No ramps for pushchair. This is 4 star hotel. It should not happen.

    Location was very good. Friendly staff, especially Juliette. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    The faded grandeur that France does so well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Individual air con in each room was advertised but it had not been switched on by the hotel. This on the hottest weekend of the year so far. The bar's decor was some of the strangest I've ever seen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    A great central location, real value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    `Rooms are starting to look dated and only option is public parking for cars which is pretty expensive

    Excellent location, large spacious rooms and great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the people next door having a normal conversation from our room with both doors closed. Woke up several times a night from people walking by outside our room. Would never stay here again not recommend it to anyone.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff at hotel and local people. My school French was responded to in English!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Windowless Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Interesting city with fine buildings and good restaurants. Provided a base for my main purpose of travelling to Aix Noulette Cemetery extension to visit the war grave of my great uncle. Good breakfast at hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking a shower was risky, slippy floor, nothing to hold onto. No English TV, not a problem for us.

    The grand place view room was excellent, nicely furnished, good bedding, excellent bathroom. Small balcony, great view from floor to ceiling windows. Lots of storage space, a comfy chair. Handy for all areas, close to bars, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent, the hotel has a nice atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi. In 2017/2018 a 4 star hotel should be able have its WiFi sorted out. The speed was slower than my dial up modem in 1996, and often we just disabled WiFi and used the 3/4G network. Get this fixed!

    The location is excellent, the hotel has a nice atmosphere and the standard rooms were large enough. Clean bathroom, friendly staff. Parking around the corner in Nouveau Sciecle parking garage (much cheaper than Grand Pace Parking).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    It was comfortable, cozy & the staff was absolutely charming!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs spme TLC ... doors cud use a paint job. Some carpets can be changed & upholstry shows signa of wear.

    Beautiful Property has an old world charm to it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful short stay in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strong smell in corridoors. Bar was really a cocktail bar. More beers would be nice.

    The View (of the Square)! Excellent Breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic place for a fantastically indulgent weekend of shopping, eating and staying in bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly weird selection of furniture in room...mostly traditional and in character but also a clear plastic chair and horrible MFI wardrobe that looked like they'd come from the charity shop...Didn't need or use the mini bar but contents were pretty rubbish...limited range of teas....Am being fussy and it was clean and comfy but for a couple hundred quid a night this stuff should be automatic surely?

    Traditional comfy friendly helpful hotel, bang in the middle of town - great view over the town square. Wonderful fun bar - although be sure to book a table early if you plan to drink there after dinner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location staff helpful bar busy and different in style would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite got the hang of air con

    Excellent location between two main squares we had a room overlooking square what we expected in traditional French style bar was busy and very eclectic in design

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Right in the middle of everything with really good restaurants around it and next to the christmas market. Good looking hotel old fashioned but in a refined way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a good location and would recommend it for anyone wanting to visit Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about. A nicer view from the room would have been good, but we didn't go there to look out of the window. Ridiculously short lead on the kettle.

    Good location for visiting Lille. Would probably have been able to park nearer to the hotel were it not for the Christmas Market. Lively bar in the hotel (possibly a bit too lively for some tastes).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Pre-Christmas break in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible weather which forced the closure of the Christmas Market, but I can't blame that on the hotel!

    Room was fine for an overnight stay . Bed was very comfortable and a reasonably good shower. Lighting could perhaps be a little better. Breakfast provided a reasonable choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view over the square was lovely and worth paying the extra. However, when we were there the Christmas wheel was in place and so at night there was noice and bright lights.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor was damaged which took the edge off what could have been a really elegant stay. Also the noise heard from the main square wasnt ideal. Didn’t get to sleep until 1am

    Location was awesome. Room was elegant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Slightly disappointed by the hotel, enjoyed Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (321) had an adjoining door with a substantial gap underneath to the room next door. Despite being a non smoking room, The person staying in this room was smoking. A lot. We mentioned it in the afternoon to reception, they did nothing. We woke to the strong smell of cigarette smoke at midnight, alerted reception who again did nothing. In the morning we mentioned again, to a very dismissive member of staff who really couldn't care! Eventually we revived a complimentary breakfast for the following day,and transferred to another room but only after a lot of discussion. Please be aware of adjoining rooms when booking. There is also a worryingly lack of smoke alarms in the bedrooms.

    The breakfast was surprisingly good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Love the hotel, staff and breakfast always welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lounge or bar area

    Hotel a little tired in need of a refurb but told by staff this is happening in 2018. central location about 10 minutes from everything. It could do with a nice seating area, bar, etc for when you return from a day out and what to just relax but not in your room. The Cocktail bar is not actually part of the hotel nor is the main facade that overlooks the square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    Great location, right in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Daylight
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely not worth the money. The rating of 4 star hotel and the price did not correspond to the standard expected from 4 star hotel. Average equipped room with unstable internet connection, bathroom with moving toilet and broken tap. Very unwelcoming stuff. Definitely not what I would expect for the price.

    Great location, right in the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean and pleasant stay in the heart of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say here. Perhaps better wifi but I understand the technical difficulties to supply that.

    Overlooking a main square in Lille with functional facilities, lift, dining room, adjoining bar (more exciting than normal hotel bars). Room was warm (we paid extra for the view of the square which was great because you felt closer and part of the city), clean, bathroom was fine and there was a safe and tea/coffee facilities, telephone and free (not that fast) wifi. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Location was great too - equidistant from old Lille and the Palais des beaux arts. 15 minute walk from Eurostar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Room was nice, clean, the breakfast was higlight of our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too hard, we both woke up totally in pain...

    Room was nice, clean, the breakfast was higlight of our stay! Of course, the Bellevue Hotel has a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Windowless Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 112, really small, although clean and comfortable. Bathroom would not suit large people. Flush on toilet inefficient. Kind of thing you find on a plane. Lots of noise, but has to be repeated several times. Friendly staff

    Excellent variety. Wouldn’t recommend scrambled eggs necessarily. They were tasty, but don’t take kindly to hanging around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looked a bit tired, our bed had once had a headboard but it had been removed and there were still filler patches on the wall. The bathroom had no heating. General corridors didn't smell great.

    The location was excellent. The staff were really friendly, always spoke and were helpful with recommendations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of dust in the room. And we couldn't make coffee. Breakfast is expensive (it's cheaper to get it around the corner in a diner). The hotel looks old and it smells old. It wants to be a 4-star hotel, but it really is not. Only the location is great.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Super room with lots of space, well equipped, extra comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV could use more non-FR channels, but it was still OK

    Super room with lots of space, well equipped, extra comfy bed. Hotel is old-renewed type, but I appreciate the style ;-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location near the Grand Place, but the entrance is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of drains in the reception/lobby area.

    Good location near the Grand Place, but the entrance is not from the Grand Place - even though it was when the hotel was built. Breakfast was a good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise on the street was a bit disturbing during the night. The toilet was quite small and for washing your hands you had to go to the bathroom which was, by the way, nice and spacious.

    Very good, friendly and helpful reception. Clean and comfortable. Merci !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    OK hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar supposedly opens at 18:00 - not during daytime. Didn't even open at 18:00 while I was there. At least there are plenty to visit in the immediate vicinity.

    Good location for Eurostar and domestic train stations. Decent breakfast. Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    The people at the reception were very accommodating, service with a smile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had a dated furbishment. Then again this hotel is itself an old establishment located in d historical part of Lille. This hotel must have played an important part in the life of this quaint area. It must have been grand in its heydays, judging from some photos at the reception. The toilets was detached from the big bathroom. One has to enter through the bedroom to wash one's hands in the bathroom, a bit inconvenient.

    The room was big with king size bed. Bathroom too had a bath tub and a separate shower. Good towels and bathrobes too. Hotel was in a very good location, easy walking from train station. The historic part of Lille and good shops are only a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything.

    We had a very friendly welcome from the staff. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet. It's a very nice old hotel within walking distance of the Musee des Beaux Arts, historic buildings and parks. Very close to a choice of restaurants and shops; reasonable walking distance from Eurostar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Our forth visit to the Bellevue Grand Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is expensive, but there are many places in the city to eat.

    Excellent location with parking across the road in a municipal car park. We have used this hotel four times in the past and find the rooms excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a refurbishment. I like shabby chic but this was very tired and desperately needs updating. Old carpets and curtains, dull wall coverings. Very poor lighting in both room and bathroom.

    Location. Good size room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location but a disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed! Why does it not occur to hotels that the most important thing is a comfortable bed and mattress? The room was quite basic and a headboard would have made it feel so much nicer. The furnishing were quite cheap looking and the corridors smelled of damp. We requested an iron and board and were handed one and told to take it up to our room - what happened to customer service?

    The location could not be better, right in the heart of the city near the main square and just a five minute walk to the train station. We found a car park easily, just a few minutes' walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Central location - convenient parking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night

    A touch noisy as the double glazing is a bit dated

    Central location - convenient parking nearby. Modern, clean room, recommend to reserve room overlooking the square!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay ! Very good hotel at a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff is a bit anonymous.... even after 8 times passing the reception desk the staff does not know who you are and which room you have. (Room keys needs to be dropped off at reception desk). Staff is very friendly though, but clearly "doing their job" rather than being a host to the guest. No enthusiasm to tell about Lille. What to see, where to eat etc. Breakfast (14 Euro per person) is far too expensive.... Therefore we ate breakfast in the City Centre (Paul)

    The location of the Hotel is splendid. Only 1 minute away from Grand Place. The hotel is nice. Nice surrounding, very good beds. Clean bathroom. Shower also accommodates tall people (I am 1.94).... Wifi is ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean friendly central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is no parking. Parked in public car park underground 5 mins away which was fine.

    Lovely central hotel. Helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Very central , parking easy staff very polite, helpful and friendly . The bedroom was very large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was above what we had expected .

    The staff were very friendly and helpful . The hotel is very central , great value for money and parking was very close by in a registered car park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    3.8
    Terrible sewage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the hotel to find something different than my usual Hilton or Marriott stays. Trust me I got it. Check in was just fine parking is not fare away 5 minutes walk cost around 12 Euro a day. Breakfast was ok nothing fancy. BUT 4TH FLOOR smells like SEWAGE had to shut down the AC open the window but still the smell was terrible. I ask the reception to change but there ignored it. Checked each floor the smell was everywhere. The hotel is run down the bar is nice I guess the theme is to sell the hotel like it was in the good old days but run down. By the checkout they told me that they had this problem in the past will be fixed next year. I got 40 Euros of the bill. I could care less about the money. I am not that picky I usually ask only for 2 things Clean & friendly everything else is a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location for visiting Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area was a little crowded, the scrambled eggs looked watery and unreal, otherwise it was fine. There are no real facilities, but that is reflected in the price and was clear at the outset and not a problem.

    we booked a room with a view of the main square and it was nice to look out. Obviously its a busy and noisy square but the double glazing is good and so is the aircon. The room was a good size with a bath and shower. The breakfast is served til quite late which is nice on holiday. (11.00 I recall). The main benefit is the location.The staff were very helpful with a range of questions and free umbrella loan as it was raining. There is a place to park right outside and dump your luggage, but parking is nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Quaint hotel in the center of Lille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere in the room is a bit stuffy - the rooms would need some redecoration work

    Bed was comfortable; staff was nice; if you like quaint hotels, this one is for you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was good but the bed was awful. So lumpy, hard and uncomfortable and we both left with back ache.

    Location excellent, close to Grand Place. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    A hotel that needs money spending on it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the maid spent about 5 minutes in a room to make the bed. The coffee and milk were not topped up and the dirty plastic cups provided in the bathroom were not replaced.

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.7
    Not English 4 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with air con room was unbearably hot. Decor was odd for age of hotel.

    Excellent location near old Lille. If room not on Grand Place then extremely quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of breakfast seemed on the high side and the WI FI was hit and miss.

    Great location, really friendly welcome by the staff which continued for our two day stay. Bang in the centre of everything we wanted to see and do. We had room 109, which was large and had a great bed. The view from the window wasn't great but we were only there for 2 nights so it didn't bother us at all. English news channels on the TV so we could keep up to date with everything. Didn't have the breakfast here as to be honest we thought it was on the pricy side so can't comment on that. Yes to be fair the Hotel is showing signs of it's age but hey ho , so am I. We liked it here and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again if we go back to Lille.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    nice, comfortable and quiet stay in centre of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was in need of updating. Big step up into old-fashioned shower. Bathtub a little small. But all entirely serviceable.

    very spacious room. quiet on the small street the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.7
    The location, the wonderful view on the square, the skyline...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell in the hotel and from the McDonalds close to it. Furniture and bathrooms are nice and well renovated, however floor and doors etc. are not in good shape

    The location, the wonderful view on the square, the skyline with major sites of Lille

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    A hotel with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is only 15 min from the railway station and is located in the heart of the city. We had a bedroom overlooking the square it had great views and nice to people watch and enjoy the free entailment going on. The staff were very polite and made you very welcome. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent central position, friendly grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no hotel bar but they have an arrangement with the bar next door and a adjoining door between the two which was fine for me.

    Excellent location - very central. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is grand in the old fashioned style and I loved the large mirrors and pictures and art deco features as well as examples of inlaid wood furniture in rooms and corridors. Our room had a fantastic view of the Grand Place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel if you have a "Bellevue" room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to stay in Lille while a big congress took place. Therefore the prices were extremely high. But that was the same issue in any other hotel in Lille.

    It is a beautiful hotel with an amazing view from the rooms facing the scenery of Lille! It is worth paying some € more for this view! But also the rooms to the inner court are totally fine and very quiet. The staff does everything they can to fulfill all your wishes - thanks again! :) I would definitevly stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding scenic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar didn't open until 7pm so, sadly, lost our pre-dinner drinks business. Room very hot, still a bit too warm after we opened the window.

    Briilliant location on Grand'Place, we paid a bit extra for the very good view. Good range of choice for breakfast, available until 10.15 on weekdays, v. unusual and much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Great! highly recommended for holiday in Lille
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no "business" room for meetings or a common private area to meet with colleagues and work.

    location is perfect and rooms are old but clean and well maintained. very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.1
    Good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel bedroom and corridors had a damp, stale smell, which lingered throughout our stay. Opened windows in bedroom, but couldn't get rid of it. Hot water in shower a bit hit and miss.

    Good location for shops and bars, etc. Size of room (404) reasonable and very quiet. Good sized bathroom too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    4.6
    There was no charm in the hotel, except for its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no charm in the hotel, except for its location. But it's not at the Grand Place, because you can only enter from a street on the backside of the hotel. The staff wasn't very presentable, however they were nice and friendly. The room was outdated. There is no toilet in the bathroom, but it's in the corridor of the room. There was a yello stain on the ceiling. The red pillows on top of the bed againsg the wall aren't hygienic. Breakfast was good, but breakfast room was tiny, I felt claustrophobic. The glory years of this hotel are over, and it needs investment. I wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the bathroom. The room had no view. Room 409 needs a toilet

    The location was good. The staff was friendly and provided good information. The cocktail lounge was good - good music. The town was friendly and helpful to English tourist

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    5.0
    Does not merit a four star ranking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were dirty as was the bathroom floor- when we told the receptionst his only response was, ok that's noted! The carpet was frayed and the place needed a new paint job! The breakfast was very poor - tinned fruit, stale bread and soggy croissants! I can't see how this hotel has earned 4 stars!

    The location was perfect and he old style interior design was nice and authentic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.9
    We'll be back in the summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As single women, we didn't feel comfortable in the rather masculine bar, and it wasn't suitable for spending time in the day.

    Very helpful staff. Fast and free Wi-Fi. Nice bed and bath rooms. Late check out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Location in centre of town for ease of walking around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room rather stuffy so turned off heating & had window open but then disturbed by Noise from roads outside throughout the night!

    Location in centre of town for ease of walking around

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -On my last morning before check out, I left a Dont Disturb sign on my door whule I went out briefly. On return the chambermaid had accessed the room and removed bed linen and towels, before check out time and despite the dont disturb sign being on the door. -Very strong smell of drains in the room, even though I kept the windows open.

    Good location Pleasant staff at reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Perhaps more coffee etc and toilet rolls in room

    Just very enjoyable. We had a nice room attached to our friend which made it easier to all be ready at the same time.. Loved the bar with the smashing cocktails. Music was great. Spent both our evenings in there. We're warned bout the noise but I think this was unfounded.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Yes the bed was extra-comfy, the bedroom spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were not the best I've ever tasted, but the brioche was very good.

    Yes the bed was extra-comfy, the bedroom spacious and well-furnished. The staff was extra sympathique, helpful and efficient. And the Grand-Place as beautiful as ever. We'll definitlly go back to the Bellevue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Lille Christmas market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit stuffy in the room.

    Amazing location.. We went for the Lille Christmas markets, just 200m away. Our room overlooked the square with the giant ferris as our main vue, perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.5
    Christmas Market break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard, room chilly even with air con right up. more choice for breakfast would have been good considering it's €14. not enough tea and coffee in room had to ask. bit shabby but many would say quaint.

    Excellent location. Good staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Our first room smelt very smokey but we were moved quickly. Our friends on the second floor were kept awake until very late by the noise of the music from the bar. The hotel had no hot water on the Sunday morning a bit inconvenient for us but much more so for our friends who had got up early and gone for a run and couldn't shower afterwards!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Very welcoming hotel in a great location but be aware we had no hot water after a very cold night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one evening and on the morning of our departure there was no hot water in the hotel and when we checked out the receptionist immediately apologised for this but made no offer of any compensation. Very disappointing.

    The location of the hotel is excellent and we booked a superior room overlooking the square which really added to our visit

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.3
    Hotel superbly located in city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View of the Grand Place
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room not very inviting, and a bit simple, but "OKish" for €14 pp. Hotel carpet a bit rundown. Rooms a bit pricy

    Hotel superbly located in city center. I had a room with nice view over market area.Close to all key points. Many nice shops. Public parking nearby. Try excellent pastry at Meert, really a tasting adventure. Eat Thai at Léscale Thai (Rue de Gand), great wines at "les vins gourmands".

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    If you book early Value/Price ratio is extremely high!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is free but it is extremely slow. I guess that is the only bad thing about the hotel.

    Bed was comfortable and place of the hotel is amazing. It is literally in the center of Lille. The bar is pretty crowded and fun on weekends. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hot water and clean toilets in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Bellevue - Grand Place traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: