Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel le Grillon 3 stars

2, rue Thiergarten, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#48 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When making the reservation it was written that there is an air conditioner in the room, but in fact there is NOT! It was hot at night to stay with just opened window. I felt cheated! If I knew this I wouldn't book this hotel. The people in the room above were so noisy at 3h. at the night. They were drunk, screamed so loud, run down the stairs, knock on the doors and nobody from the hotel staff took care of this. My stay was absolute nightmare!

    Very close to everything you need. The room and the bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only annoying thing has been the Internet connection which needed to be reset from one day to the next as devices wouldn't reconnect automatically.

    My request to be placed in a quiet room was fully taken into account. The room, linen and bathroom spot clean. Room tiny and very basic but had all I needed. I've also requested a late check out on my final day which was granted immediately and free of charge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night because my room was right over the bar but I was so tired from sight seeing I went right to sleep in a very comfy bed.

    The room was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and maps. They let me check in a little early and gave me a place to store my backpack after I checked out so I would have to carry it around. The bar next door was very relaxing atmosphere. The location was within walking distance of the train station, the cathedral and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too much noise from the street

    Nice updated room. Good breakfast. Close to the train station and town center. Very modern look. Got a good price on the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms could be heard a bit, especially rooms on the floor above

    No noise from the bar which is part of the property, great location ford train travellers, quality bathroom fittings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from perestroika bar, especially in friday evening till 1.a.m. It made inconvenient to rest and sleep. Also bathroom was tiny and not very comfortable.

    The location was excellent, very close to the main train station, also alt winmarik train station and just in a few minutes walk distance to Petite France and another sightseeing places. I want especially remark very helpful staff. I asked them to print some pages for work and then bus tickets too. Even if I tried breakfast menu just for one time, I was pretty satisfied. The menu was rich, tasty and I also wanna highlight the excellent quality of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was in the 5. Floor, the elevator only gots up to 3 floor(we had to get out and walk ) The room was in the attic and it didnt look like the pictures on internet The remote control didnt work

    - The Location - Staff - hygiene

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a quiet double room and were given a large but very dark family room with an extra single bed and a sofa bed (also made up) that took up a lot of space and made the room, which had low sloping beams, quite dangerous to walk about in. Not a pleasant room for what we paid. There was also a lot of noise from a group of children/youths in the corridors on both nights of our stay.

    Very close to station and within walking distance of the city centre. Clean bathroom and shower, and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a 1 person room which was very comfortable and clean and quiet, although very small. The location is perfect - it's a 5 min walk from the Central Train station (where the Airport tram comes to) and a 10 min walk in the opposite direction to the centre of Strasbourg. The area that the hotel is situated in itself is great, there's a supermarket and a lovely restaurant called Kuhn (that the staff recommended to me). The hotel has a little bar and the staff were really helpful and friendly and all speak perfect English. The breakfast was good and it's a buffet with a lot of choices, but not worth 9euro unless you had a big appetite. Overall it was excellent - I stayed once on my first night and liked it so much that I came back for the last night of my trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the room were a little bit larger. Barely room to walk to the bathroom (in the triple).

    Directly down the street from the train station. Easy to get to popular spots in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm, professional staff you can rely on for everything you may need during a stay. Location is in the proximity of main arrival point - Gare central and short walking distance to city centre. A room is clean, spacious, with a nice, new bathroom. When you need a drink a bar is just few floors down - depending on which floor you are.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit limited for 9 euros but good espresso machine no complaints. The higher the room the better. Location means a few rowdy voices from the streets below but it is city centre.

    Location just across the square from the central station Especially good if you're going for a night out. Very clean rooms, good tv, good bathroom, elevator, great value all round.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, often discussing guests openly at the reception desk with negative connotations. We were given the wrong room with 3 beds rather than the 1 bed we asked for. Subsequently we were shown 4 other rooms to change to, one of which had no bathroom. Images on the website do not match the site. We were able to move to another room the next morning. Upon return to the room after change we were greeted with the dirty room and bed sheets from the previous guests. They had not changed this. The lift only goes to level 3 and there after two additional levels from there. Staff at the front desk were not even aware of the elevator only stopping to floors up to level 3.

    The location itself was quite convenient. Close to the centre of town and the major train station. Other than that I have few positive comments to make.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location few minutes walk from train station and then 5 minutes to city center. Friendly staff, I arrived at 13:00 and got room key right away no need to wait till check in time was very handy. It was christmas time and cold room had adjustable heater was really convenient. Room is quiet even the windows were to the street and bed mattress was comfortable. Internet was free available in the rooms. Breakfast had plenty of space to sit, nice Christmas music playing in background, they had good choice, cereals, milk, cakes, juices and fresh orange juice to make yourself if prefered, different cheese , boiled eggs, some sliced meet, different breads and croissants also professional coffee machine with excellent coffee. Staf was around to assist and refill clean cutlery and dishes and juices. Had very great stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Promised parking is far away - it is a public parking where the elevator does not work and it is hard to find a free spot. If you change for much closer parking in front of the railway station, you will pay the full price of 54EUR a day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a great place to stay on a short trip to Strasbourg. My room was a quite small single but had everything I needed. It had a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. There was a lift available which was great. They allowed me to check in early and provided a very secure place for me to leave luggage today. It is a short direct walk from the train station. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was excellent value for the price. I did not eat breakfast there which was extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The general area of the hotel at night was fine, but some might find it a little sketchy at first sight. The elevator doesn't quite reach the top floor, so you have to carry your bags the rest of the way if you are at the very top.

    The location is really excellent. The train station is a 5 minute walk away, and the city center is only about 10 minutes away. The single was quirky but spacious enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I had a room on the 4th floor, the noise outside at night came through into the room.

    Very conviniently located between the train station and the historic center. Clean modern rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was a bit smelly - Only one person to deal with the reception and the busy bar in the evenings. Our key was left without attention for 30 min on the réception desk. We could grab it and go back to our room without anyone noticing despite the fact we loudly called the staff many times

    Friendly staff - Good value for money - Excellent location - Ultra soft sheets - Got free breakfast to compensate for our complaint

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was tricky to connect to at the start (but fine once up & running). Access to the hotel by car is quite difficult as this part of Strasbourg is a labyrinth of one-way streets and dead ends, so be prepared to drive around the block a few times....

    Very central location in the city with (paid) secure parking a few hundred metres away, as is the train station. Some nice restaurants within short walking distance. Good little bar on the premises and a nice breakfast. Staff were friendly & courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was awful, also we booked one room in price that it was in sale here in Booking but they wanted more money in the hotel . Finally the parking isn't free you must pay extra . Be careful when you are Booking some rooms have common wc and in the site didn't tell anything .

    The hotel is near in everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good. Night staff was particular helpful and friendly finding an alternative room as one the rooms was very hot. Indeed some rooms do not have AC but this wad not signaled clearly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Grillon, small, and quiet. Located in the very center near the station. had a range of rooms, but for the price was nice. The staff Really were great at accommodating their guests. Answered all the questions I had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallish room. On the other hand, this is France and hotel rooms are small almost by definition.

    Clean, functional and modern, close to the railway station and the attractions of the old city. Got a very good price via this website.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t inform us about the air conditioning was very warm during the night

    The location was amazing near everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom could have been bigger.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast, interesting bar next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly outside city centre

    New rooms , really clean , really confi bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work at all.

    Central location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not that much comfortable

    Friendly receptionist, nice location and bar downstairs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the hotel bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good comfortable location, close to station and city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff apathetic

    Location, clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little expensive for what you get there. It could do with a freshen up. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold because of insufficient heating and toilets were not working properly.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small without that enough cleaning. Moreover, there is no choices on breakfast

    The location is so good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good

    All good from my perspecctive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was fantastic for the location. Of course, you are not in a 4 start hotel, so the room is pretty normal and practical.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbors

    Soft bed and pillow

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Nice price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    70 euro per night in a 2 star hotel in the train station quarter is a bit expensive

    Minute away from train station and little France

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy when on city side, there is a bar next door

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are helpful and kind and the location is great. Itś about 3 minutes walk from the central station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guys at reception give me chance to park motorbike in the yard. Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Availabilty of motorbike parking slot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was too small.

    The staff was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: