Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel De France 3 stars

Cours Joseph Raynaud, 11230 Chalabre, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Chalabre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I can say is that whoever designed the bathroom should be sacked. Only in a French toilet would you find the toilet, the paper holder and the heater cramped up in one small space. In a rather large Bathroom. Im no design person, but really this is cramped. Otherwise it was lovely.

    I have seen the hotel from the outside many years back. I was surprised and loved how the decor was fresh and lovely. The room was comfortable, quiet and spacious. The bathroom was big - but see below for more comments.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has so much potential and would benefit greatly from a lift. I prefer to have two pillows per person.

    I appreciated the size of the bedroom, the view from the bedroom, the proximity to cash machines, shops and a cafe. The village was quaint and attractive and a good location for distressing and relaxing. I respected the effort made by the owners, and the meal served in the quaint and truly French restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is simple clean and comfortable. The welcome is warm and service helpful and efficient. The food was exceptionally delicious and well priced for the quality of ingredients. We were travelling with three dogs. We were made very welcome. We really enjoyed our couple of days in Chalabre and this was in no small part due to Didier and his team. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing to note , heavy traffic in the street early morning , a front room is possibly better than one situated at the back where we were.

    Extremely good food all home cooked by competent chef and served by his wife with a smile. Excellent convivial breakfast good coffee , overall a very good hotel for a night stop and discover the surrounding area . Chalabre is a charming old village worth a detour , also nicely placed to visit the Cathar castle of Puitvert a small distance away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was real good value for money and loved the locally produced apple juice and fresh fruit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful, one of the staff was unbelievably rude

    Breakfast was great. The chef was very kind

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, we were on the top floor.

    Excellent breakfast if a little expensive. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner and breakfast at reasonable cost

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some area for relaxing.No wi fi in bedrooms.Breakfast expensive no choice

    Very clean very nice people and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan or AC, but it is a 2 star hotel.

    Small simple 2 star hotel. Excellent evening food in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation is very basic, no extra frills and breakfast is not included in the price. The wifi did not work in the bedrooms, although it did work downstairs. I would've expected a bit more for the price.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well placed in the centre of Chalabre.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room as mentioned was tired and needed painting. The restaurant opens at 7.45pm and not before, we tried to get a drink at 6.00pm but they were closed. So much of the time the lights were off and shutters down, not a good ad for business. We stayed 4 nights and most of the time were the only people there, they need to look like they are open!

    We picked this hotel as it's location was just right for visiting Carcassonne, Foix and Mirepoix. The town is small and typically French, with a mixture of different types of people living here. The hotel is tired and needs refurbishment, our room needed painting hence the 2* rating. The Manager, Didier is also the chef, the 2 evening meals we ate there were delicious

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost of breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome from Didier including helping us park the bike. excellevt food and drink at a very reeasonable price. great personal service.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: